Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Womens Attitudes in Nightclubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Wagon wrote: »
    Ever westled another woman covered in batter?

I dont do batter, how about jelly?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

Why is it not okay for a woman to go out at night to hang out with her friends with no interest in talking to random men??

Why is a woman automatically "so stuck up" or "rude" just because she doesn't find you in the least bit attractive??

We're not commoditities and you're not in a shop when you go to a club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭hottstuff

Kiera wrote: »
    Oh i'm not for one min saying i'm sound :) But i do go up to lads. I dont have a problem with it at all.

Good girl!!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

I wonder if Irish Gays and Lesbians have the same problems in clubs?

Monkey61 wrote: »
    Why is it not okay for a woman to go out at night to hang out with her friends with no interest in talking to random men??

??

Well why go to a place full of mindless monkeys dancing around with their cocks in hand??

hottstuff wrote: »
    Good girl!!;)

Oh you didnt just say that!!!!

Why dont you pat me on the head next time you say it!!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Koyasan

Relevant wrote: »
    I struggle to remember any time where someone wouldn't at least engage in a few seconds of pleasant conversation but then when you come home you go up to some fat bird (for a perfectly innocent conversation/question) who thinks she is the sh!t and that she is too good to be talking to you and that she is gods gift! well i say "back in your box you moonpig!"

This reminded me of one time while backpacking. I was meeting loads of girls, all game for a laugh and a chat, all enjoying a little bit of two way banter and charm, none automatically thinking I was hitting on them (I usually wasn't) or being rude. All except one girl. A moonpig. Can you guess where she was from?
    Neesa wrote: »
    For example, when holding a door for someone.

Maybe I've been gone too long or maybe I was in a nice place here, but I remembered men AND women holding doors for EACH OTHER.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I dont do batter, how about jelly?

OR we could get one of those lady men! The ones who aren't either here nor there! But you just want to cover yourself in ice cream and dog biscuits and set the cats all over your naked flesh!!

Mods? How far can i go before im banned?

Oh you didnt just say that!!!!

Why dont you pat me on the head next time you say it!!;)

Sh!t , never thought of that.:)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Get back in your box you ;)

Whose box?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Why is a woman automatically "so stuck up" or "rude" just because she doesn't find you in the least bit attractive??

I think the point of this topic is the rudness encountered by men chatting up women, i.e. being told to foff when a simple polite 'not interested' response would do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Anyone given any thought that perhaps Polish (or Asian, or American etc. etc.) women are possibly just as rude to their own compatriots when they're socialising in their own country???

Whose box?

haha duuurty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭Publin

In all fairness, you can only form opinions based on your personal experience.

In working as a bar man or bouncer (through college), I did find that Irish women were more likely to be rude to the guy trying to talk to her.
    I also did find that Irish guys were more likely to be pissed drunk by the time they get the courage to talk to the women.

I think that it is a circle.
    Irish guys think that Irish women are hard to chat up, so get a bit of "dutch courage" before hand. The Irish woman is sick of drunk Irish guys falling all over here so tells him "Fu(k off" thus reinforcing his sterotyping but also propagating the sterotype to "quiet, nice guys".
    Who from then on will talk to foreign ladies with more ease and in a more natural way, as he is not afraid of the reaction, thus getting a more friendly response
    Well being an Irish woman myself i can safely say thats total BS. I have never once been rude to a guy in a club. I'm there for a laugh and thats what i have. I was brought up with manners so its not in me to be rude. Painting us all with the same brush is crap!

I'm newly single and feeling very deflated now that you guys think we're ALL ássholes!

Woah there Kiera! He's not painting anyone with the same brush. He said that in his experience working as a doorman and barman, that Irish girls were more likely to be rude to guys approaching them. He also said that Irish lads were more likely to be hammered when trying to chat them up.

He's not saying you're all asshole.

I think the "circle" that he described above is incredible accurate actually, and far from BS as you suggest. I know plenty of good guys who are afraid to approach girls in case they get the "f**k off" response, and so drink a lot beforehand. Then when they do go over, they're too drunk and this is obvious, which leads to an increased chance of the girl responding rudely. Next time they're out, they drink more because of past bad experience and alcohol helps this to be forgotten. And so the cycle continues...

I think it's worth bearing in mind that the majority of people posting on here are speaking from experience of going out mostly in Ireland, and hence most girls they chat up would be Irish. Therefore, the odds of chatting to a rude Irish girl is increased, as men speak to more of them on a night out than they do foreign girls.

Also, just to point out that posters are saying that - all rude girls they've met in nightclubs are Irish, not that all Irish girls are rude. Nightclubs are just pretty crap here IMO.

So in summary ladies, please stop taking things so personally!

Publin wrote: »

So in summary ladies, please stop taking things so personally & put out more!!!1

Spot on.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Nobody said its not ok, the issue here is some (alot more then just a handfull) seem to take the non-polite/rude approach when telling someone this.

If a guy approaches a girl and she says she's not interested for what ever reason in a civilized manor than that's no problem*.

Its when a guy approaches a girl and she bites the head of him before he so much as finishes a sentence that's the problem.

*on a related note, some guys need to learn when to quit.

Considering that a majority of women expect the guy to make the first move & there are so many women out there who act in this inexcusable way when approached, its a wonder that we manage to reproduce(a bit far fetched but you get the point).

Ye fookin hoorebag! :D;)

On a serious note though. I presume when you say nightclubs, you mean Redz or 21s or some swanky crapper like those. Why bother going to nightclubs if you expect this treatment from lads?

On that note, where's a decent place?

And lads, I have a great solution to your problems.

Imagine you're out.

See that Irish woman over there? The one that's dressed up, uncomfortable shoes, lots of make-up, fake tan, looks like she spent well over an hour getting ready?

Ignore her.

See that girl beside her. Yeah, her. The one wearing comfortable clothes, confident, comfortable with herself, maybe a bit of makeup.

Go talk to her.

Now, ladies and gentlemen, something that hasn't been addressed and really should be (possibly on another post.)

Where does this type of lady hang out? Fibbers?

Koyasan wrote: »

Where does this type of lady hang out? Fibbers?

Well according to some of the lads here , Poland!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Quick solution: Start going to Lillie's, Renard's or Krystle, where the women and the men are equally as stuck up as eachother...

Boycott crappy clubs and go to a good place with live music and nice people. The usual places that us long haired types normally cultivate in :D

Get a haircut you hippy!

Dirty hippies. Everywhere, coming over here, taking our jobs.

Get a haircut you hippy!

Kiera....why aren't you making me a sandwich?

Get back into that kitchen!

*combs hair impressivly*

• Registered Users Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Get a haircut you hippy!

You sound like the man, man....

Koyasan wrote: »
    Dirty hippies. Everywhere, coming over here, taking our jobs.

I'm irish. you can keep your women :p

Kiera....why aren't you making me a sandwich?

Get back into that kitchen!

*combs hair impressivly*

Oh no you didnt!!!

*goes off to burn bra*

Oh no you didnt!!!

*goes off to burn bra*

Typical woman. Always burns everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭IzzyWizzy

I for one am sick of being approached when I clearly want to be left alone, so I would be fairly frosty/polite/formal (never rude) to someone who approached me. There are several reasons:

The main thing men don't seem to realise is that it can be very intimidating to be approached by a total stranger, especially if you're on your own. If I'm standing alone at a bus stop or walking through the park, the last thing I want is some man coming up to me and chatting me up. How on earth do I know if he's normal or a crazy weirdo? In my experience, I've had nothing but hassle from men who do that, so now I just give them all the cold shoulder. Sorry, but I put my safety above hurting some randomer's feelings. I'm extremely friendly to guys I meet in college, at clubs/societies/friends of friends, but when I'm on my own, I have my guard up.

Another major thing is that so many men mistake friendliness for flirting. I'm sick and tired of not being able to have a conversation with a man in a pub without him thinking I want to go home and shag him. I even had one idiot call me a c*cktease because I was friendly when he came up to me and talked to him for 10-15 minutes, then when he asked me what I was doing the next day, I said I'd be at my BF's house, and he called me a pile of names!! My friend couldn't believe it, it was the most banal conversation about college and jobs and your man thought I was interested in him? SO many men are like this, and it's another reason I'm very very careful about being friendly to someone I've just met.

Another thing is some men don't seem to realise that we go out for many other reasons other than to score someone. When I go out, it's always with friends and just to have a laugh. I'm not interested in scoring randomers, and as I said above, I'm very wary of talking to guys who approach me and are clearly interested. I want to be left alone to enjoy myself with my friends. Why on earth is that 'snobby'?

I just feel like it's a lose-lose situation most of the time. If you're friendly, they get the wrong impression. If you're frosty, they think you're a stuck up b*tch. I think a lot of men have a sexist, arrogant attitude, thinking they can get anyone they want, and simply not understanding the reasons a female might be wary of them (as I mentioned, safety, having a boyfriend, just wanting to be left alone). If a girl obviously isn't interested, why don't you just let it go? There are plenty of girls dying to score someone any night of the week, why waste your time on someone who clearly isn't interested?

Typical woman. Always burns everything.

Do you have a death-wish??

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

the usual retort to that is 'I wasn't wanting to hit on you, I'm gay, but I just wanted you to know that your backside looks big in that dress'

That should ruin her night:D
    I will definitely use that one.

Beruthiel wrote: »
    Manners cost nothing.
    Indeed. It's just that some people are sadly lacking in manners.
    Moving to AH as this is not a PI.
    B
    Grumble grumble words grumble.

on a related topic

how do you get the Troggos and the Mongtards to go away ( especially th Mongs as you can see a Troggo before they aproach) without ,to a lesser extent Hurting their feelings (there is still no polite way totell someone yer not interested without hurtin their feelings) or more importantly not appearing to be shallow and self centred to any of the oher ladies in the area that are not Mongtarded Troggos?

advice please
    What?

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Celtic Tiger. We hake a bit of cash, we think we're BIG. Who was it that described Ireland as a pimp in a halting site...? Certainly attarcting the 'hos
    It was like this before the Celtic tiger.

gabgab wrote: »
    "you must be so proud of how you conduct yourself"
    "are you kidding I would'nt **** you for practice"
    "aaaaw, did the nice man with the porsche heart break your heart....."
    "easy there princess, I'm pretty drunk and you looked pretty easy, no big deal"

My mates have endless supply of smart comebacks to these "ladies"
    Heh. Brilliant.

monosharp wrote: »
    In fairness I already stated I should have said "most".

And just to consider your hypothetical situation.

Asian women are generally far more beautiful and generally far better people then Caucasian women. I don't find Caucasian women attractive anymore in the slightest. If she was an Irish woman, that'd be another tick against her.

Better ?
    Hey, I don't find black women attractive. Most of them anyway. Stacey Dash would be an exception.
    Point is, it's personal preference.
    I find Irish women far more attractive than any others.

In the defence, it is much easier in a foreign country for a guy to score.
    Parker and Stone covered this one nicely.
    Chicks dig confidence.
    In a foreign country you are far less likely to see these women again, so you really don't care if you get knocked back.
    Your friends aren't there to take the piss if you are knocked back.

In Ireland, you will probably see this girl again and it will cause embarrassment and discomfort.
    She'll tell her friends that you tried to hit on her. They'll laugh because they don't want to seem uncool and that's a whole group of girls that you will never have a chance with.
    Then again, you're probably better off staying away from bints like that.

Listen. If you dress up and go to a club, you are going to be hit on.
    If you wear a low cut top, we are going to look at your cleavage.
    If you wear a tight skirt/ jeans, we are going to check out your arse and legs.

You know this, so don't start moaning about it when it happens.
    It's fúcking human nature for men to look at women they find attractive.
    Women do the same thing to men they find attractive.

Men are not commodities either, but women still ogle us (not me. I'm a fat ugly bastard, but my good looking friends are always ogled by women in pubs and clubs).

Enough of this double standard crap.

you dress up so that people will look at you.
    Cave women wore make-up to attract a mate and women today still do the same, so stop moaning when someone tries to chat you up.
    Just politely tell them you are not interested. It only takes a couple of seconds. If they persist, then tell them to fúck off.
    When they stop chatting you up, then you have something to complain about.

OR we could get one of those lady men! The ones who aren't either here nor there! But you just want to cover yourself in ice cream and dog biscuits and set the cats all over your naked flesh!!

Mods? How far can i go before im banned?
    This far and no further.

So here's the deal; OP is sober, approaches woman and she tells him to fúck off.
    This woman is quite obviously a complete cúnt.
    Does this mean that all Irish women are the same?
    Of course not, but a large percentage of them are.

There are some genuinely nice women out there. It's just a matter of finding them. When a woman tells you to fúck off for no reason, then just thank your lucky stars that she did it right away and before you got involved with someone who is quite obviously a bitch.