Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

deelite wrote: »
    I don't buy into his lovey - dovey attitude with Judy. I feel so sorry for her. As me gran used to say there's none so blind as those who don't want to see.....

Like I told Geoff (who plays Tommy), I am watching out for you :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

I just hope Dolores doesn't get with Pete - what fun would she have - he's prone to back ache.

I can't wait for that little guy Alexander to re-appear next week - he's a fantastic little actor and I love his scenes with Keith and Sarah. Keith is a real hands on fella with little Alex and Sarah is the total opposite. Also I'd love Sarah to babysit Ruth - can you imagine her face changing nappies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Kid Shilleen

angel01 wrote: »
    Like I told Geoff (who plays Tommy), I am watching out for you :D

Now, you're just boasting. :)

:D:D
    I just hope Dolores doesn't get with Pete - what fun would she have - he's prone to back ache.

I can't wait for that little guy Alexander to re-appear next week - he's a fantastic little actor and I love his scenes with Keith and Sarah. Keith is a real hands on fella with little Alex and Sarah is the total opposite. Also I'd love Sarah to babysit Ruth - can you imagine her face changing nappies.

I like Pete, If Pete doesn't go with Dolores, who else could he go for... Esther, That would be hilarious. I am going for Leo & Dolores :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

either pete or leo would be good for delores. poor leo though, he's had his fair share of women over the years and it all seems to go pear shaped!

i really want to see jennifer and ray together haha .. i just don't buy deegan's relationship with her. seems a bit......bland. ray is more craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 MR.VICE PRESIDENT

Zumo is a hero .. That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭eimearcmh

either pete or leo would be good for delores. poor leo though, he's had his fair share of women over the years and it all seems to go pear shaped!

Hope it will be Pete!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Laois_Man wrote: »

Like. Some old characters have to come back. Played by new actors if necessary.

Same character, different actor destroys credibility. Fair City has a terrible track record in this regard - why make it worse?

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    Same character, different actor destroys credibility. Fair City has a terrible track record in this regard - why make it worse?

I think their record is quite good for example Dolores, Floyd, Mark, the only significantly bad one I can think of is Farah - I think they changed her 3 times in the matter of months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭eimearcmh

I am used to the new Mark now but i don't feel the same about the new Declan in Neighbours.

Okay, I want to be the first to say it. If Suzanne and Damien don't both get iftas or Tvnow awards or both, then the awards are a joke.

They were brilliant tonight. And that's not a word I use very often.

Back to my box.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭max life

It's no wonder Damo strayed. Suzanne can be such a cow. She was so smarmy. I would feel like strangling her!!! What a bitch!!

Okay, I want to be the first to say it. If Suzanne and Damien don't both get iftas or Tvnow awards or both, then the awards are a joke.

They were brilliant tonight. And that's not a word I use very often.

Back to my box.

The character Suzanne should have the witch music from the Wizard of Oz every time she appears on set. Poor Damien - at least he had the nerve to show her the text from Dean.

Loved Mark's facial expressions in McCoys.

As for the Awards they won't get any in my opinion not because of their acting but due to the fact the red carpet only gets rolled out for the UK soaps. Lets start a campaign to Vote Irish....:D

max life wrote: »
    What a bitch!!

Or in other words SOAP GOLD.

Sign that actress to an ungettoutable long long contract, Fair City. We know you read. Angel told us.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Fantastic episode tonight. Damo and Suzanne stole the show as usual, and Robert and Mark were on top form too... Great to have Denzo back, and Paul's impression of Zak was priceless...

• Registered Users Posts: 31 jynx59

did anyone notice in Sundays episode 3/10, when charlie was handing out the leaflets he gave one to Zumo and Zumo looked at it and said to charlie "you want me to go to this" or something to that affect, meaning the party in the park, as Zumo is not supposed to be able to read!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

jynx59 wrote: »
    did anyone notice in Sundays episode 3/10, when charlie was handing out the leaflets he gave one to Zumo and Zumo looked at it and said to charlie "you want me to go to this" or something to that affect, meaning the party in the park, as Zumo is not supposed to be able to read!

Maybe he did not want anyone else to know. How many other of the Characters know.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

I think their record is quite good for example Dolores, Floyd, Mark, the only significantly bad one I can think of is Farah - I think they changed her 3 times in the matter of months.

I agree. The new actors they've brought in have been better. Most recently with Mark. The main reason I mentioned new actors is cos honestly, even tho he did improve, David Mitchell was one of the poorer actors in it IMO and it'd be no harm to replace him.

Deise Tom wrote: »
    Maybe he did not want anyone else to know. How many other of the Characters know.

Charlie only started teaching him 2 weeks ago and he's nearly finished reading a book already.

Think I might hire Charlie to teach my son! :-D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

Charlie only started teaching him 2 weeks ago and he's nearly finished reading a book already.

Make him the Minister for Education.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

The frequency of actor changes is what I'm getting at.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=65840535&highlight=noeleen#post65840535

nlgbbbblth wrote: »

That list includes child actors replaced by other actors for adulthood. To say that ruins the credibility of a show is itself not credible. Was "Walk the Line" also not credible because 2 different actors played Johnny Cash - one as a child and one as an adult?
    Or what about Coronation Street who've replaced almost every child character at least once. How many actors have played Nick Tilsley? 3? The latest change actually in adulthood. His sister too? And Tracy Barlow?
    Home & Away did it alot too!

I don't think there's anything wrong with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 soapfanatic

Depends on the book. If it was War and Peace, your point is well made. If it is a child's early reader or a book of phonetics, then I fear, sir, your argument founders.

On another note, Damien and Suzanne. I want more, much much more of these actors and this story.

I also want much more of tonight's Paul and Niamh.

Was going to post last night but my eyes were killing me anyhow..

I thought there were some extremely powerful scenes with Suzanne & Damien, the abuse has turned very mental now. Mental abuse can be much worse than physical. She has turned so evil and isn't sorry at all for what she is doing to him, It is engrained in her that Damien is at fault and that excuses anything that she wants to do to him.

Even the scenes where she got so clinical about this was the perfect time to concieve, something that is so special and loving has turned into a clinical act and rather than doing it in love, they are just going through the motions.

I thought it was sad that Damien couldn't just go and enjoy himself, the control element by Suzanne was always present, when she said "you would rather spend time with Dean Dowling" and then laughing came across very strong.

I just want to leap through the tv and hug Damien :(:( He is so isolated and he can't tell anyone, I just want him to tell someone, I wish he would tell Dolores, he could even go stay with her. He deserves so much better.

Thought the Dillons were great last night, though I wish they would stop the stroppiness with Caoimhe, gets a bit repetitive and annoying. Can see something with her & Robert happening. Speaking of Robert, he was really good last night.

I thought Mark was very funny, loved the facial expressions and I have come to like him. :)

Nice to see Zumo's brother back, though I can never pick apart the other two brother names, Loved Charlie's wig :D It is nice to see the nicer side to Zumo when he was interacting with Charlie Kelly.

I actually was laughing at the impersonation of Zak by Paul, that was really amusing. I am still smiling when I watch the show because I can remember seeing all the places that are featuring :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

suzanne was OTT last night. like she was supposed to be working so is damien not allowed to socialise when she is working? he didn't know she asked for the night off... then she goes and destroys his phone. proper cow there last night. she needs to cop on! hope damien finds out about her love for louie haha

poor robert, he really is dealing with the breakup very badly!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meeja Ireland

Great episode last night. Did anyone else notice the French pun? Zak holds up the egg to Dearbhla and says "This is all the gave me." She replies "It's un oeuf."

First James Joyce, now bilingual jokes. They're getting cocky. :D

I was getting angry at Suzanne for even going through Damien's phone :mad:

angel01 wrote: »
    I was getting angry at Suzanne for even going through Damien's phone :mad:

It's that trust issue really isn't it with her - I think she was expecting to find a message from Nessa. She's cruel - I hope Damien gets the snip done behind her back - that would soften her cough for her....:D

haha, now that would be fun.. (not so much fun for poor Damo :( )

I like it when you see the softer more fun side to Niamh & Paul, I am still laughing away at him doing that impersonation :D:D:D

Depends on the book. If it was War and Peace, your point is well made. If it is a child's early reader or a book of phonetics, then I fear, sir, your argument founders.

It was "The Famous Five" - hardly early reader material!