Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[MERGED] Your Main PC - Pictures, specs and discussion <IMAGE HEAVY>

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Siskods9

So after using the X34A for a few days and considering its hefty price tag, I have opted to return it for a refund.

Basically there were quality issues that I just couldn't live with:

1. Excessive Back light bleed in corners – glows like the sun.
    2. Discolouration cloud – 30cm in from left and about 11 down, 2cm wide and 4 long. (blue-ish / purple hue)
    3. Slight coil whine from G-Sync @100Hz
    4. Banding issues on dark colours
    5. Colour uniformity / patchy panel

It also irked me that there is frequent lack of native 21:9 resolution support and even with tools like Flawless WideScreeen the result is not always what you're hoping for.

I guess I'll go back to my 1440p G-Sync Acer until next year. I'll probably look at 4k G-Sync at >120Hz + HDR when they debut.

Oh well...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭.G.

I'm looking at a new monitor too and it's a massive pain in the arse how focused the Industry seems to be on ultra wide and they aren't even doing them very well! I just want a bloody big screen with a normal aspect ratio.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,179 ✭✭✭Serephucus

I've been keeping an eye on things generally, and it's really good to see monitor tech finally changing, but I'm not a fan of all the build quality problems with the 21:9 stuff. Unless someone comes out with a very nice VA panel, I'll probably just wait for OLED.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,128 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

All settled in new house, pretty happy with the setup

QtI400O.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 36,165 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Have that little mechanical key tester too, still running a membrane G510 :p

• Registered Users Posts: 23,128 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

ED E wrote: »
    Have that little mechanical key tester too, still running a membrane G510 :p

Yeah got it from massdrop a while back. It's ok I guess.

For anyone asking, I had GREAT intentions of doing cable management this time. And then once I had everything plugged in, massive case of not arsed

And for anyone admiring those monitors thinking "oooo they look nice" one of them will be going up for sale shortly. Forum rates for anyone interested ;)

As you mention cable management, this is what I spent TWO HOURS doing yesterday.

It's held up with zip-ties, fed through little adhesive hook yokes. Seemed like they'd be absolutely strong enough at first... then about 45 minutes in... needed to go back and screw loads of them into the desk... Ended up being pretty tidy though, and no more feeling cables when I'm sitting at the desk.

XaD9wI1h.jpg

Probably a harder job than most, as for some reason I have a lot of external crap with its own wires all over the place.

(Believe it or not, this is with the blind pulled down. Dunno what the hell my phone was at with this exposure)

DxnL0Znh.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Siskods9 wrote: »
    PC Spec:

Caselabs Magnum M8 case with optional 31mm top

How much did that case cost you in total?

Just the case not the components? Lets see...

I wound up buying a lot of options for it from Caselabs at the time I ordered the case as I didn't want to have to go through the hassle of the lead-times and additional import duties etc involved in placing a second order at a later stage if I discovered I needed an option part etc - so when all was said and done (inc import duties) - I didn't have much change out of a grand.

When you buy a Caselabs case, its empty - you have to spec out every aspect of it. If you want brackets for HDDs or Optical drives etc that's all extra $$$.

Though I will say, it is phenomenal. I've mod'ed other cases before to take rads and water-cooling gear but with Caselabs, none of that messing around is necessary as their stuff is purpose built for water-cooling.

Expensive but worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Siskods9 wrote: »
    Just the case not the components? Lets see...

I wound up buying a lot of options for it from Caselabs at the time I ordered the case as I didn't want to have to go through the hassle of the lead-times and additional import duties etc involved in placing a second order at a later stage if I discovered I needed an option part etc - so when all was said and done (inc import duties) - I didn't have much change out of a grand.

When you buy a Caselabs case, its empty - you have to spec out every aspect of it. If you want brackets for HDDs or Optical drives etc that's all extra $$$.

Though I will say, it is phenomenal. I've mod'ed other cases before to take rads and water-cooling gear but with Caselabs, none of that messing around is necessary as their stuff is purpose built for water-cooling.

Expensive but worth it.

Cheers man.

I knew they were costly and that you had to order extras but not down to that level of detail :eek:

And there isn't just one type of bracket either... long, short, ones with extra vibration dampening and the list goes on and on :-D

My advice to anyone thinking about it is design your case and how you want it to look on paper first. Sketch it out even.
    Do up a list of all the parts, rads and tubing etc and then research which CaseLabs products will take the number of rads and at the lengths and depths you have in mind etc. Diagram out the rad position the and the airflow direction and whether or not you want push - pull fan config or just push or pull etc and also the details of your WC loop.

Revise it and check it over and over again before pulling the trigger on your order.

Caselabs build each case to order (at least they did last Feb 2015 when I ordered) so it takes them 30 days to fill the order and then you can add about another week or so for delivery. So about 5 weeks roughly from the time you hand over your cash to when it arrives at your door.

I found Overclock.net (Caselabs owners club section in the forums) to be a great resource for learning during the planning phase of my project / build. You can really learn a lot from other people's build logs. Really there are some craftsmen / artisans out there who I am in awe of. Inspiring stuff. http://www.overclock.net/f/380/case-labs

These guys are the most impressive WC components supplier in terms or range and stock availability but expensive delivery from the U.S. to Ireland
    http://www.performance-pcs.com/

Other than that I used the EK online shop and also the usual suspects, Overclockers.co.uk and Scan.co.uk

New Haswell build, 775 -> 2011V3 is a big jump.

Phvbp1Kl.jpg
    II5CkAKl.jpg
    ko2HIy7l.jpg
    vBZDvTll.jpg
    Tezak3xl.jpg
    0vPwT7kl.jpg
    XQ19Doql.jpg

Build thread
    • Sorry about the fingerprints
    • Using onboard until I fit the GPU (testing now)
    • AIO pump had to be upside down :(

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭thegreenbean

Nerd Porn :eek:

sugarman wrote: »
    What case is that? Was about to pull the trigger on something but that looks very tidy

Corsair 600C. PSU in the "attic" is nice alright. Just note its backwards(mobo upside down, door on right).

• Registered Users Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Corsair 600C. PSU in the "attic" is nice alright. Just note its backwards(mobo upside down, door on right).

I've the same case - can't recommend it highly enough tbh. I need to take a few decent pictures now mine is relatively done :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

IOQN5uq.jpg

Gtmq8Z4.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

That card is fecking huge. Inno3d 1080 iChill x4 is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭kevovek

Nice setup, what case is that?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I'm pretty sure he got a 1070. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭chewythefirst

Hey guys, so there has been a good few upgrades to my rig since i last posted.
    Firstly, I got another 8GB of corsair Vengeance LP ram, I had 8GB of black LP ram so I was on the hunt for white for the other two sticks since my build is black and white. I picked them up a while ago, looks slick I think black white black white combination. Second i got a new GPU, Radeon 290x! big upgrade for me since i dont have that much free cash :) My house mate was buying a load of water cooling gear off a guy from adverts and he had a XSPC water black + backplate for a 290x for sale and cos my house mate was buying so much off him he sold it to me for a crazy good price, I dont know his name on adverts or here but if you are on here and see this thanks again man, you are a legend!!! So i have my CPU and GPU on the loop now :) Never got to pick up the light strip from over clockers that time was out of stock and forgot all about it then, looking at the build now i think it is the only thing i am lacking and is going to be for sure the next buy. I am waiting on a 8 pin white braided extension cable to come, so for the mean time i have to look at the crappy black with red header one from my PSU. (should be here soon) anyways have a look guys and tell me what you all think.

IMG_1582_zpsb7ajhhoc.jpg

IMG_1587_zpssqgfxbgb.jpg

IMG_1583_zpshkykuh0k.jpg

IMG_1584_zpss3x3djr7.jpg

IMG_1585_zpsgyjhg2de.jpg

IMG_1593_zpsliowkt7u.jpg

IMG_1590_zpsjnxpkzwc.jpg

IMG_1595_zpstzdeb8bq.jpg

IMG_1601_zpsjy9hvcav.jpg

IMG_1594_zps1aq2jm4x.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

kevovek wrote: »
    Nice setup, what case is that?

Yup, it is indeed a GTX1070 iChill, the X3 model over the X4 though, ordered an x3 and x4, sold the x4 though. Was going to run in SLI but at the moment I'm not gaming much so it would have been a bit of a waste.

The x4 has an extra fan on the top of the card but all in all they're pretty much identical.

It's a Phanteks Pro M, beautiful case and my last 4 builds have used it! Definitely a first for me but I've yet to find a case I love more. So easy to work with and looks the business, pictures can't do it justice.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭Nedved85

Work in progress - Need to do some cable management at the back of the PC and around the desk itself.

Case is a Phanteks Evolv ATX Tempered Glass edition :)

€50 in steam credit? Summer sales over mate ;)

LED lighting can go so wrong but that really works well, nice job.

Love that case. Tempted to do a new build purely to use it...

€50 in steam credit? Summer sales over mate ;)

LED lighting can go so wrong but that really works well, nice job.

Yup, got a 50 euro one for all voucher so bought me some credit! When's the next sale?! :)

Serephucus wrote: »
    Love that case. Tempted to do a new build purely to use it...

Its a really nice case, very easy to build in. Solid as a rock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

V.nice - My old build had white cables. Don't fiddle! They get grubby really easily.

Wireless peripherals for gaming; tut, tut! :pac:

V.nice - My old build had white cables. Don't fiddle! They get grubby really easily.

Wireless peripherals for gaming; tut, tut! :pac:

Yeah.. The old wireless keyboard and mouse. I'm not entering any csgo or the like though :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Finally got around to (just about) finishing my new setup/build, really delighted with how it turned out, the desks are a bit big for the room (or so the other half says :D) but i love the space. Just need to save up for new GPU to put into this and I am set. Any advice or tips to improve the whole setup?

cpu - i7 6700k
    mobo - MSI gaming pro carbon
    ram - 16gigs corsair vengeance led
    case - corsair 760t
    cooler - arctic liquid freezer 240 (changed 2 bottom fans to corsair air cooler 120's)
    psu - xfx xtr 750w
    gpu - amd 7970
    ssd - hyper x 960gig
    hdd - toshiba 2tb

IMG_20160723_152721.jpg

IMG_20160723_152744.jpg

IMG_20160723_152752.jpg

IMG_20160723_152811.jpg

IMG_20160723_152902.jpg

IMG_20160723_152911.jpg

IMG_20160723_152937.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

My house mate was buying a load of water cooling gear off a guy from adverts and he had a XSPC water black + backplate for a 290x for sale and cos my house mate was buying so much off him he sold it to me for a crazy good price, I dont know his name on adverts or here but if you are on here and see this thanks again man, you are a legend!!!

You're very welcome! :pac:

Glad to see it's gone to a good home!