Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Uniform

12346»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Heard the new uniform and spray is now off the table ared as any new cars. Jeez, surely the budget we still have would allow something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

..? I have yet to be issued such shorts!

The first groups of cyclists received trousers that had detachable lower halves to become shorts. I've been issued straight trousers..albeit with pockets galore.

You can always just wear the skin tight cycling shorts with plenty of "padding". Im sure it will impress the ladies !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭pa990

If you need a new car.. Just get it PSV'd

They will always fail. Thats what we do every 2 to 3 yrs

Having said that .. i'll be mighty p!ssed off if we dont get our spray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭FGR

Great news, Karlitos! I was hoping that I would have the opportunity to continue using my first issue three year old patrol jacket for another three years.

Regardless of the fact that 'Garda' has faded from the back of it. Same goes for my fleece and Stab Vest covers. I'm already doing undercover work! ;)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 lyingeyes

The lads in town have a brand new, just out of the box white mondeo, its a beut.... but already the hubcaps are gone, kinda takes from it a bit... I think there must be a back log on marking, they would hardly use anything as obvious as a white mondeo for unmarked!!
    I always laugh at the lads when they drop their keys/change down their batton pockets, i couldnt understand at first why they were so intent on constantly scratching down that far,, i realise now there just checking to see nothing is missing and not being cockey... lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

The ladies can still be issued skirts on request.
    Booo....
    Klinger7.jpg
    Equal opportunities for women of all sexes, I say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 lyingeyes

deadwood, i see you have already met my mother......:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

deadwood wrote: »
    Booo.... Equal opportunities for women of all sexes, I say!

Ah, surely your not the lad that refuses to wear socks because women get issued tights but men have to buy socks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Ah, surely your not the lad that refuses to wear socks because women get issued tights but men have to buy socks?
    I am now!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭shanehillview

going to sound like a very stupid quetion, but whats the story with wearing hi vis jackets, are guards told by the s/i in charg when they have to wear them or is it a personal choice wether to wear them or not. and are all gardai issued with there own or do you have to use the ones supplied by the station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

are all gardai issued with there own or do you have to use the ones supplied by the station

All Hi-Vis jackets are personal issue and have been for over 10 years at this stage.
    going to sound like a very stupid quetion, but whats the story with wearing hi vis jackets, are guards told by the s/i in charg when they have to wear them or is it a personal choice wether to wear them or not.
    Depends on the sergeant/inspector in charge of the unit really, some may say wear them all the time, some may say wear them at night. Some don't specify and it's left up to the individual Garda whether or not they wear them. For certain events (St. Patrick's Day parade, Football matches, Protests etc.) you must wear them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Saw a Guard outside the GPO in the new hi-vis (I presume) today. Looked very unsubstantial, like those cheap yokes you see in Penneys for cyclists but just with GARDA stamped on it.

sdonn wrote: »
    Saw a Guard outside the GPO in the new hi-vis (I presume) today. Looked very unsubstantial, like those cheap yokes you see in Penneys for cyclists but just with GARDA stamped on it.

If it was the new one then they are great for keeping you dry, especially on days like today were it is also warm. You don't have to wear the patrol jackets under neath them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

So they're not 'tunics' then, they're proper (whopper) jackets then?

Also, are they identifiable by the hi viz epaulettes?

donvito99 wrote: »
    So they're not 'tunics' then, they're proper (whopper) jackets then?

Also, are they identifiable by the hi viz epaulettes?

They are proper jackets in their own right but can be worn over the patrol jacket. There is no heat in them though. If i'm out in the car i'll take the new jacket with me, as i don't have to carry it. (it doesn't fold up). If i'm on the beat on nights i'll take the fold up one on my belt. my station doesn't have to wear them all the time (thank god).

I have my "new" hi viz from operation freeflow. (the only good thing about it). And everybody is given the hi viz epaulettes, some just lose them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 gdamedic

foreign wrote: »
    If it was the new one then they are great for keeping you dry, especially on days like today were it is also warm. You don't have to wear the patrol jackets under neath them.

+1 Great for keeping you dry. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

are the jumpers still available i saw a super on rte news a while back wearing one but ive yeat to see any others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭source

shakin wrote: »
    are the jumpers still available i saw a super on rte news a while back wearing one but ive yeat to see any others?

I think they only go to college staff and Gardai involved in admin/office work, open to correction on that one though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭sunshineoh9

does anyone have a pic of a garda out of the high vis jacket? (standard uniform just without the jacket)

please and thank you! :D

does anyone have a pic of a garda out of the high vis jacket? (standard uniform just without the jacket)

please and thank you! :D

Have a look here

uniform_jacket.jpg

uniform_stabvest.jpg

foinse wrote: »
    Have a look here
    thanks! the pants are dark blue right? (kinda color blind)

dark navy, those pics i put up make it look a bit brighter than it is.

ah, okay.. for a while i thought the pants and uniform were all black... thank you for clearing that up for me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Do the stab vests offer any degree of ballistic protection or are they only of value against sharp instruments ?

delancey42 wrote: »
    Do the stab vests offer any degree of ballistic protection or are they only of value against sharp instruments ?

They do offer some ballistic protection, I can't remember what level exactly. Someone else may have that info available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

They do offer some ballistic protection, I can't remember what level exactly. Someone else may have that info available.

Me thinks we'll leave that detail out on the public forum......

That's kind of what i was hinting at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 MissEmcee

gdamedic wrote: »
    +1 Great for keeping you dry. :D

I agree - especially on some of the nights we get!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Spartan09

That's kind of what i was hinting at.

Sorted....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

I think we will let this thread go due to its age.

Chief---