Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Uniform

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

On the other hand.....

Police inquiry into 'mobile film'

_45293881_000235755-1.jpg

Four officers have been suspended during an internal investigation into alleged misconduct, the Police Service of Northern Ireland has said.

It began after an officer told superiors he had seen mobile phone footage he was not happy with. It is understood the clips show police officers performing high speed handbrake turns, or "donuts". Another shows an officer pulling a handgun inside a police station, in a kind of practice draw. Deputy Chief Constable Paul Leighton said four other officers had been "repositioned" pending inquiries.

DCC Leighton said that since they were pursuing a criminal investigation, he could not release any details about the content of the film.

"The police service is rightly proud of its reputation for professionalism, ethical behaviour and service to the people of Northern Ireland, that has produced high levels of public confidence. Sadly, there are always some individuals who intentionally, or unintentionally, have a disregard for that reputation."

He said that the internal investigation was being headed up by the PSNI's professional standards department.

Source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,031 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

What's a 'hunter'?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭FGR

Fortunately the helmets do have "Garda" printed on them. One of the guys at work had the Police helmet however got a new one in a matter of weeks. He puts it down to the fact that members of the public pointed it out to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

esel wrote: »
    What's a 'hunter'?

A member looking for uniform

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭source

A member looking for uniform

it's the company that supply the uniform at present, from up north, which is changing out to a monaghan company in the new year.

metman wrote: »
    Foinse - have you seen this? Don't know if its legit or not, but worth checking yourself.

yeah i saw that alright, have looked at my own set, but it looks like the set in the video were stressed before making the video, the set i have are very solid.......they also make it easier to control a prisoner compared to the old chain cuffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

foinse wrote: »
    yeah i saw that alright, have looked at my own set, but it looks like the set in the video were stressed before making the video, the set i have are very solid.......they also make it easier to control a prisoner compared to the old chain cuffs.

You can do that with my set but I dont see the point too be honest, you have to force them sideways and its never happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Bren1609

You'll get to use them once and then they'll "disappear"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

I know the ASP agent in Ireland, I can confirm that he had to get King Cobra to make the baton pouch especially for the Gardai after they rejected the ASP scabbard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

No doubt about that. It shows the reality of policing compared to what people assume while also showing people what idiots they can be at times. THat said, I have little faith in such a show being done credible in Ireland.

Is it true traffic cops(Police show from England) have filmed in Donegal/Sligo area?Heard it will be shown on BBC soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

All i can say is that i have seen a camera man sitting in the back seat of a traffic car while talkin to the driver up that direction. He said it was an RTE show on Traffic Cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

ScubaDave wrote: »
    All i can say is that i have seen a camera man sitting in the back seat of a traffic car while talkin to the driver up that direction. He said it was an RTE show on Traffic Cops.

Nice!Should be fun listening to the Gardai on the show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Re ;Garda Uniform

VISITING IN CHURCHTOWN /DODDER / RATHF. area on Sun. saw 10 -12 members in dk blue/white collar 'Parkas' with GARDA on them. Seemed to be conducting a 'sweep' of the area for something, marked Land Cruiser and Focus's parked nearby.

Possible Divisonal Search Team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Capri wrote: »
    saw 10 -12 members in dk blue/white collar 'Parkas' with GARDA on them.
    Were they wearing stone washed jeans, boot runners and P.L.O. scarves in a post modern, ironic throwback to the 80's kind of way?

Possibly Fashion Police.

Maybe this is why they won't issue combat trousers.
    (With thanks to metman)

Taken from here http://inspectorgadget.wordpress.com/- well worth a look.

Donald, where are your trousers?

June 27, 2006 by inspectorgadget

I am told that the new “combat” style trousers that were issued to the County forces in the last two years (no doubt at vast expense) are to be withdrawn. The reason for this is that the Health & Safety Stalinists have decided that they are too dangerous for us precious flowers on the front line. Apparently, anything we place in the side leg pockets would injure us if we fell over. After dealing with a snarling, drunken, violent wife-beater the other day, I have to confess that the last thing I needed was to be crippled by my warrant card, duty sheets and mars bar. You couldn’t make it up. (If you were wondering what I was doing at said call, we ran out of troops again; besides - I just can’t get it out of my system, know what I mean?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

deadwood wrote: »
    Maybe this is why they won't issue combat trousers.
    (With thanks to metman)

Taken from here http://inspectorgadget.wordpress.com/- well worth a look.

Donald, where are your trousers?

June 27, 2006 by inspectorgadget

I am told that the new “combat” style trousers that were issued to the County forces in the last two years (no doubt at vast expense) are to be withdrawn. The reason for this is that the Health & Safety Stalinists have decided that they are too dangerous for us precious flowers on the front line. Apparently, anything we place in the side leg pockets would injure us if we fell over. After dealing with a snarling, drunken, violent wife-beater the other day, I have to confess that the last thing I needed was to be crippled by my warrant card, duty sheets and mars bar. You couldn’t make it up. (If you were wondering what I was doing at said call, we ran out of troops again; besides - I just can’t get it out of my system, know what I mean?).

I like that blog

TheNog wrote: »
    I like that blog
    Yeah, it's good stuff alright.
    Don't know if anyone would get away with it here. You'd find yorself stamping caps in the depot fairly quickly!

(see the way I kept it on topic there?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

deadwood wrote: »
    Yeah, it's good stuff alright.
    Don't know if anyone would get away with it here.

The Guvnor would be in the sh*t if the PSD found out who he is, potentially for 'bringing the service into disrepute'. Nothing hurts like the truth!

Re Gardai on Traffic Cops....that'd be good as they've already covered PSNI.

Back on the Garda Uniforms - i seen the new hi vis that was issued to the phase 4's that just went out on Freeflow! They look the job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 lyingeyes

does anyone know could the recruits possibly get near the garda horses.. or is anyone out there on the mounted force and would like to share with us what it is like or what the uniform is like?? Do the gards on the mounted force have previous experience with horses or are they clueless with horses and then trained!??

Back on the Garda Uniforms - i seen the new hi vis that was issued to the phase 4's that just went out on Freeflow! They look the job!

that'd be the freeflow high viz pretty much every freeflow phase gets them, everyone else gets the ****e ones.
    lyingeyes wrote:
    does anyone know could the recruits possibly get near the garda horses.. or is anyone out there on the mounted force and would like to share with us what it is like or what the uniform is like?? Do the gards on the mounted force have previous experience with horses or are they clueless with horses and then trained!??

surely worthy of a thread of it's own.

lyingeyes wrote: »
    or is anyone out there on the mounted force and would like to share with us what it is like
    We can see your house from up here!
    garda_mounted_unit.jpg

deadwood are you in the mounted force?

Deadwood's more like a jack of all trades in AGS. You see him on boards.ie most of the time as an AC really doesn't have much a do these days..

As for the Mounted Unit - You'll be required to do a minimum of two years service before you have the opportunity to apply for it. That said; many applicants would be expected to have had a lot of equestrian experience and certificates/awards/medals to that effect.

If you're considering it then best of luck! It must be one of the most unique parts of this job!

Did anyone else hear anything on this?? Mabe it was some randomer chancing his arm........... having the lads on??

As for garda uniforms, i think they should do somthing about the trousers, you'd melt under them in summer!! Why cant they design shorts for the lads?? They should also bring back the pencil skirts for the bean-gardai!!

The ladies can still be issued skirts on request. As for shorts..No thank you. Bicycle Members got laughed at when they were issued back in the olden days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭pa990

As for shorts..No thank you. Bicycle Members got laughed at when they were issued back in the olden days.

Olden days... they still get laughed at nowadays

Having said that .. i'm sure that there are one or two days of the year when you would like to wear shorts

..? I have yet to be issued such shorts!

The first groups of cyclists received trousers that had detachable lower halves to become shorts. I've been issued straight trousers..albeit with pockets galore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭pa990

..? I have yet to be issued such shorts!

The first groups of cyclists received trousers that had detachable lower halves to become shorts. I've been issued straight trousers..albeit with pockets galore.

they have been issuing pants with legs that zip off up until very recently..