Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Uniform

• 07-07-2008 3:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭

The other day while out walking back from the shop to my apartment I saw an unmarked Garda car (Toyota Corolla I believe) pull over a car.

The Garda got out and went up to talk to the driver. The Garda wasn't in the usual uniform. He was wearing dark trousers (might have been the standard blue ones), a dark t-shirt and had the stab vest on. No hat either.

I'm just curious, do the uniform and unmarked car signify anything? Specialist unit? He seemed to be on his own.

FWIW, I walked off and the car came around past me again, so whatever he stopped the guy for it didn't take long or he decided to let him go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Sounds like you saw a plain clothes unit. No uniform and an unmarked car is usually the clue ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

He wasn't in plain clothes. It looked...almost paramilitary(!), for want of a better term.
    or else he was wearing his mountain bike gear!

Do they wear a black shirt instead of the light blue? Could have been! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Depends on what you class a shirt and blue too be honest. that sounds stupid I know but the reality is some units have polo shirts etc that can be worn sometimes or depending on their district. Then some people wear some older parts of uniform, some new recruits have newer versions of the uniform that havent become general issue yet and so on.

really depends or maybe it was an RSU uniform or a trial item thats just been put out?

Also know that some Chiefs are letting people ditch the tie when wearing their vests and another that makes averyone wear high vis 24/7 even in the cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Our traffic inspector demands we wear the high vis all the damn time, annoys the bejeebus out of me.

Gets caught on the seat bits in the mondeo, one of these days I'm going to fall out of the car after I pull someone over. So much for high visibility checkpoints! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

really depends or maybe it was an RSU uniform or a trial item thats just been put out?

It wasnt RSU as there not out yet and havent been issued a uniform.

yayamark wrote: »
    It wasnt RSU as there not out yet and havent been issued a uniform.

Yeah I know but I figured maybe there was some form of trial uniform for them thats being tested somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Could just as easily be members on plainclothes duty wearing their uniform vests. Happens quite a lot. Possibly Op Anvil?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Gets caught on the seat bits in the mondeo, one of these days I'm going to fall out of the car after I pull someone over. So much for high visibility checkpoints! :D
    Time for a hi-vis vest for the stab-vest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

RSU have a uniform, i seen them down the college, dark blue combat pants but still quite smart looking with a creese. Poloshirt and a checkered firearms baseball cap. Although RSU are never alone.

Could have been any plain clothes unit detecives ctf drugs ocu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭steven22

its their summer uniform for the rostered staff. Not all gardai e.g trainee guards will have the uniform.

steven22 wrote: »
    its their summer uniform for the rostered staff. Not all gardai e.g trainee guards will have the uniform.

What do you mean rostered staff? Rostered for RSU duties?

the locust wrote: »
    RSU have a uniform, i seen them down the college, dark blue combat pants but still quite smart looking with a creese. Poloshirt and a checkered firearms baseball cap. Although RSU are never alone.

On a more trivial note, why have the Guards opted for a checkered baseball cap? Is it that this is now a recognised symbol for armed police in the UK and Eire? I personally always associated it with UK police, and pics I've seen of ERU in baseball caps, have been navy with Garda in gold.

Why this change to UK uniform pattern?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭spannerotoole

Perhaps they are appealing to skangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

or nicked them from the english police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭spannerotoole

or perhaps sasanachs

Why do Skangers wear Burberry?
    Because it sounds like Burglary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

the locust wrote: »

That uniform youve seen is just a training uniform for mucking about, a proper uniform is on the way

Perhaps they are appealing to skangers

Thanks for the insight. Priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

can i be ignorant and ask what RSU means?? road safety unit?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭source

Regional Support Unit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Jack O'Neill

Tuesday August 12 2008

The garda wardrobe is to be extended at a cost more than €12m, as the force prepares for a major makeover.

Gardai are to be provided with a new range of safety gear, including state-of-the-art body armour and stab vests as they up their efforts to stamp out violent crime.

A massive contract has been awarded to a Monaghan company who will now be charged with dressing the entire force for the next three years.

Included in the new attire will be a fashionable new uniform, ballistic equipment and public order equipment.

The contact, which was advertised by the Government Supplyies Agency, is worth €12.69m to James Boylan Safety Ltd.

The company, which operates from five office and warehouse bases around the country, will supply clothing until the end of 2011.

The firm already hold the contracts for other high profile customers including the Defence Forces.

Listed among the items are a “new look” uniform, including tunics, polo-shirts, T-shirts, rainsuits, shirts and trousers.

A new range of helmets and anti-stab vests will also be purchased as gardai continue to face more vicious criminals. The order also includes public order coveralls and riot shields.

Announcing the move, Junior Finance Minister Dr Martin Mansergh said that it was the “largest ever uniform contract”.

The last selection of uniforms cost around €5m and seven years ago it was just over €1m.

The exact design of the new uniform will not be revealed until later this year, but it is expected to be visible on the streets by next summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

Baseball caps are ideal for a number of reasons, including

: They're easy to (conceal if in plain clothes), just tuck them in your waistband and easy to put on and off quickly

: Will generally stay on your head if running down the street, Glock in hand

: People can identify them easily from any angle, as opposed to a raid jacket and people will generally look at someones face/head first...

Baseball caps are ideal for a number of reasons, including

: They're easy to (conceal if in plain clothes), just tuck them in your waistband and easy to put on and off quickly

: Will generally stay on your head if running down the street, Glock in hand

: People can identify them easily from any angle, as opposed to a raid jacket and people will generally look at someones face/head first...

More comfortable as well and I would inagine, cheaper and easier to replace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

metman wrote: »
    On a more trivial note, why have the Guards opted for a checkered baseball cap? Is it that this is now a recognised symbol for armed police in the UK and Eire? I personally always associated it with UK police, and pics I've seen of ERU in baseball caps, have been navy with Garda in gold.

Why this change to UK uniform pattern?

Metman,
    It's not just AGS who have done this. Mangement of the ambulance service adopted the green pant/white shirt that most of the NHS services in the UK use. Also what is really upsetting is we had a distinctive logo before we became a national service like AGS. Lo & behold our "new" logo arrives out. It's identical to the NHS logo except the English crown was replaced with an Irish Harp. The mind boggles.

On a side issue, I'm glad to see a different company than the one based up North getting a contract for the supply of uniforms. I hope that the new uniforms are better quality than what we got

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Airport

Seen the new AGS Bomber Jacket today, very profesional looking have to admit.

It seem like alot of the emergency service seem in the process of updating the operational uniforms at the momment. Good to see! :D

Where did you see this, Airport? I'm interested in seeing it myself!

The most important thing coming is the new Hi Vis, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

All of this uniformity has stimulated my grey cells(!) :p

Many years ago in the era when the Vauxhall Victor 3300 (Straight 6 engine out of the Ventora) was a front-line squad car I seem to remember Garda drivers having a distinctive cap.

The drivers cap (If thats what it was) was of a smaller diameter with a far flatter profile and broader soft rim.

Any of the boring old farts on board confirm or deny this hazy recollection ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

AlekSmart wrote: »
    All of this uniformity has stimulated my grey cells(!) :p

Many years ago in the era when the Vauxhall Victor 3300 (Straight 6 engine out of the Ventora) was a front-line squad car I seem to remember Garda drivers having a distinctive cap.

The drivers cap (If thats what it was) was of a smaller diameter with a far flatter profile and broader soft rim.

Any of the boring old farts on board confirm or deny this hazy recollection ?

They were 'floppy' caps, they did exist.. but not for too long,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭doingmybit

I would say that the RSU would go around in two's min. not just one as the original poster said, so i would say it's a guy who got his hands on a unmarked car, through his highvis in the back (as you stand out like a beacon driving around), doesn't wear a shirt / tie but the polo shirt and as regulation states, you are not insured out there if you haven't your stab vest on, so hense the stab vest over there polo shirt. Why, he took so little time, i would say just a regular traffic stop. mmmmm;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Jay112

Airport wrote: »
    Seen the new AGS Bomber Jacket today, very profesional looking have to admit.

It seem like alot of the emergency service seem in the process of updating the operational uniforms at the momment. Good to see! :D

Weve a new bomber jacket?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Airport,
    Where and when? Lots of rumour about the new gear. Eager myself to see if its up to much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Any description or anything?

bomber-jacket.jpg

Something like this?

high_viz_outer.jpg

Or this, I have seen Gardai wearing hi viz with the yellow on top and a small navy section on the bottom.

EDIT: That one looks quite smart.

http://www.jbsgroup.ie/html/specialist.html has a good outline of what they are currently providing and what they will provide. No pictures though, sadly.

Any members of the Defence Forces here who can outline the quality of their kit?

Also got a look at the RSU's standard uniform recently. Their stab vest covers have a larger 'GARDA' label on the front, as well as on the back. The same can be said for their fleece. Their trousers are also the ones we've been seeking for some time with plenty of pockets to spare.

If we even get those decent vest covers and a larger "GARDA" label on the back of our hi vis jackets..then we'd be doing fairly well.

I won't dare suggest that we get jackets that cater for wearing the vest underneath..as that would be common sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

I have seen those vests myself. My skipper has one. They are a different vest with a higher ballistic rating! (hes an ex DO)

I thought AGS had opted for this jacket

matt_oconnor.jpg

Similar in style to the NYPDs

cops.jpg

Why another change?

metman wrote: »
    I thought AGS had opted for this jacket

matt_oconnor.jpg

Similar in style to the NYPDs

cops.jpg

Why another change?

Alot of people dont find them practical! i like them though. curiosity is getting the better of me now, any description airport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I've seen Gardai wearing hi-viz jackets that appear to be sleeveless or maybe have navy sleeves. They look like they are too small for the Garda, with the waistline of the jacket being about 1/4 length off the actual waistline. Anyone of the Gardai here see/use these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

city4life wrote: »
    and a tri colour on the other sleeve

? In case you forget what country you're in ?

eroo wrote: »
    I've seen Gardai wearing hi-viz jackets that appear to be sleeveless or maybe have navy sleeves. They look like they are too small for the Garda, with the waistline of the jacket being about 1/4 length off the actual waistline. Anyone of the Gardai here see/use these?

Those jackets are for the bike gardas. They do get alot of stick for wearing them. They sometimes forget that they are not on the bikes or are they trying to make a fashion statement. Was caught wearing it once or twice caus i forgot the standard highvis myself:D

Verb wrote: »

Well, we write our names on all our gear to remind us who we are:rolleyes:

city4life wrote: »
    i would like we had a proper crest of our shoulder like the nypd

and a tri colour on the other sleeve

Actually I like this idea a lot.

My understanding was the jacket would be slightly longer and wont be elasticated at the bottom like the current one. Personally I think the jacket is one of the nicer parts of our uniform

Verb wrote: »

It's called having pride in ones country.;)

City4life, I'm glad you highlighted the tricolour. I think it is something that should feature on yer uniform. Just look at the States, every police, security, military etc uniform has the US flag on it.

My understanding was the jacket would be slightly longer and wont be elasticated at the bottom like the current one. Personally I think the jacket is one of the nicer parts of our uniform

I would agree with you on that. The high vis is like putting a black bag on you on hot nights, not that we get much on those here. The jacket is very comfortable to wear.

It's called having pride in ones country.;)

City4life, I'm glad you highlighted the tricolour. I think it is something that should feature on yer uniform. Just look at the States, every police, security, military etc uniform has the US flag on it.

The french police, german police, italian, spanish, well nearly all eu countries have them on their jackets except us and the uk.

doingmybit wrote: »
    The french police, german police, italian, spanish, well nearly all eu countries have them on their jackets except us and the uk.

Should be the same here!

Ah jaysus it will be similar to the old trench coats that were used prior to our current uniform??, Like yourself i think the current jacket is one of the nicer of the gear!

Jay112 wrote: »
    Ah jaysus it will be similar to the old trench coats that were used prior to our current uniform??, Like yourself i think the current jacket is one of the nicer of the gear!

I think its a mix between the current and the old jacket we had around 2003/2004.

Of course then we have the silly issue of the stab vests, external body armour being worn underneath a jacket even though neither item is designed for it and then theres the ties.

Said it before, either incorporate the high vis into the jacket or give us a small high vis similar to the mountain bike ones that can simple be slipped on and kept in place (who the hell thought a v neck was good?). Ever run while wearing a high vis with the radio clipped on?

Lets be honest, the uniform needs a LOT of work.

Should be the same here!

Agreed;)

I think its a mix between the current and the old jacket we had around 2003/2004.

Of course then we have the silly issue of the stab vests, external body armour being worn underneath a jacket even though neither item is designed for it and then theres the ties.

Said it before, either incorporate the high vis into the jacket or give us a small high vis similar to the mountain bike ones that can simple be slipped on and kept in place (who the hell thought a v neck was good?). Ever run while wearing a high vis with the radio clipped on?

Lets be honest, the uniform needs a LOT of work.

Have done with the mic piece clipped on, nearly lost an eye on several occasions!:rolleyes:
    The vest is terrible uncomfy with all the gear on (talk about sweat) and in some places you cant take the chance leaving the vest off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OK-Cancel-Apply

Two plain clothes Gardai in an unmarked car stopped me to ask if I'd seen a fight down the road. They were wearing what appeared to be marksman's goggles. Why is that?