Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PSNI Recruitment - Stage 1 - The Initial Selection Test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭wannabe2010

Lol elaborate but effective! My old school is too far away from where I'm currently living..

I think GCSE Bitesize will do the trick for me - it refreshes the old memory on the methods for doing all the different types of maths... after that, scoot onto one of the timed test websites and bob's your uncle... or something to that effect :)

GCSE Bitesize + practiced time managment/non-panic under pressure = sorted! :D

I think that seems the best formula for this test :| for me anyways.. here's hopin eh!

At the moment though, I have too much uni work to be getting on with unfortunately :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 roboturnip

Hello all,
    Been browsing the forum for a while now, after applying for the psni there in Febuary. Joining the police has always been something i have wanted to do.

Got the IST coming up soon.

I was wondering if there were many young people applying? Im 18 soon to be 19, dont want to the the only baby there!

Good luck to all thpse with their IST's coming up. :)

Hey robo, I'll be 21 on Thursday (yay) so I'm young I suppose lol.. I first applied when I was 18 cuz I thought I wasn't gunna get into uni, but I did and so I cancelled my application and didn't even sit the IST... and here I am, almost finished a completely pointless degree after wasting three years of my life with absolutely no job prospects :D haha awk no, it's not that bad :eek: I've wanted to be in the police since I was like 3 years old and playing cops n robbers with my mum! Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Agito

I'm 19. So you're not the only young person here. :rolleyes: Yeah, Police is one of a kind career with massive possibilities. Though my initial idea was joining the RAF, but I've decided to go for the Police because I just can't resist the PSNI uniform. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 roboturnip

Aw well thats good to know. The only other thing i was worrying about is my height. Im about 5'10", seen plenty of police men alot taller and only a few my size. Im reasonably fit and will be joining the gym to beef up a bit more if i was to be successfull, i guess im just being paranoid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭beca

Bifbert wrote: »
    Yeah that was me they just passed me cause they felt so sorry for me :D

really?? damn! forget working fast and efficient, iv got a new strategy now ;)

roboturnip wrote: »
    Aw well thats good to know. The only other thing i was worrying about is my height. Im about 5'10", seen plenty of police men alot taller and only a few my size. Im reasonably fit and will be joining the gym to beef up a bit more if i was to be successfull, i guess im just being paranoid?

I'm 5'5"! :) A lot of male police officers I see are pretty tall but have you seen the females? Most of the ones I've seen are like 5'0"! No joke. I'd doubt size matters buddy; e.g. if you got ju jitsu on your side, doesn't matter if they're 6'10" they ain't gunna fight back when you're twisting their arm off lol. As I said, I'm 5'5" and 9.5 stone yet I can throw 16 stone men over my shoulder... I strongly recommend ju jitsu :)

I'm 6'1''. :rolleyes: Ju Jitsu is definitely good when you're dealing with one or maximum two opponents. Though I'd say Krav Maga takes the crown at crowd control and one against several, hands down.

Agito wrote: »
    I'm 6'1''. :rolleyes: Ju Jitsu is definitely good when you're dealing with one or maximum two opponents. Though I'd say Krav Maga takes the crown at crowd control and one against several, hands down.

guys this should be on the general thread probably... but cant resist to chip in :rolleyes:

do yous not know that short officers are the best, ya can bite them on the ankles and kick their shins!! works everytime on my bros :cool: :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 peter_green

a.k.a Laptops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 forestgrump

AGITO: whats so great about the psni uniform??? havent saw it in person but i really dont see the attraction from the pics on the net!!!lol:)

WANNABE: If i make it to garnerville i hope im not in your class for the physical...i may start hitting the gym... im 6'1 male and reckon youd have me easy lol:o

GENERAL:has there been any confirmation of how many are bein recruited this time?? There was quite a lot of advertisements for this intake in the national papers in the republic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Fatony

Could be a big final drive to get as many RCs in before the patten report ends,so it could be a big recruitment drive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 forestgrump

Fatony wrote: »
    Could be a big final drive to get as many RCs in before the patten report ends,so it could be a big recruitment drive!

cheers fatony,good point...maybe your right! are you a member or just an applicant at the moment??

AGITO: whats so great about the psni uniform??? havent saw it in person but i really dont see the attraction from the pics on the net!!!lol:)

Well PSNI uniform is discrete. If you look at the Canadian police, you might catch my drift there. ^_¬ Besides, I like solidarity. When I see a policeman/woman in uniform it inspires me and I just want to come up to them and tell them how thankful I am for them being there. The person took a job not only for himself/herself but for others sake too. By wearing the same uniform I believe I share the purpose and I'd feel honored to be a part of such a great organization while looking stylish at the same time. lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 HellHammer

Hey there,

Can somebody tell me if the IST part of the selection process is just psychometric testing or does it also involve interviews:confused:

thank,
    HH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

HellHammer wrote: »
    Hey there,

Can somebody tell me if the IST part of the selection process is just psychometric testing or does it also involve interviews:confused:

thank,
    HH

The P.S.N.I. Website has all the info you need ;)

cheers fatony,good point...maybe your right! are you a member or just an applicant at the moment??

Im a first time applicant.

WANNABE: If i make it to garnerville i hope im not in your class for the physical...i may start hitting the gym... im 6'1 male and reckon youd have me easy lol:o

Lol aww shucks :o Height can be a bit of a bummer though, cuz you've gotta pull them down to your level to get advantage.. however, if you end up on the ground, all height advantages are nulified - go Brazilian Ju Jitsu :D
    Agito wrote: »
    When I see a policeman/woman in uniform it inspires me and I just want to come up to them and tell them how thankful I am for them being there. The person took a job not only for himself/herself but for others sake too. By wearing the same uniform I believe I share the purpose and I'd feel honored to be a part of such a great organization while looking stylish at the same time. lol

Just for that, I really hope you get recruited! :D I couldn't agree with ya more :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭B182

o Brazilian Ju Jitsu :D

really good for fitness i only done it for few months before i needed an opt on my neck and i never went back

think if i pass the first test il need to start getting back in shape and il be doing it after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Blaze90

chunkerz wrote: »
    really good for fitness i only done it for few months before i needed an opt on my neck and i never went back

think if i pass the first test il need to start getting back in shape and il be doing it after

Yea I had a bad rugby injury 6 months ago and I have struggled to get back into the swing of things.

Need to get the motivation and the kick up the rear to get started, thank goodness I have this lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Robocop_N.I

Hello all,

I've read a few people recommend GCSE bitesize maths revision books for the ICT, from a quick research online these seem to include algebra & shape space & measure tests.

Are we *really* going to have to brush up on algebra for a police selection test?

I just want to make sure I don't waste any revision time on areas that aren't beneficial :confused:

Hello all,

I've read a few people recommend GCSE bitesize maths revision books for the ICT, from a quick research online these seem to include algebra & shape space & measure tests.

Are we *really* going to have to brush up on algebra for a police selection test?

I just want to make sure I don't waste any revision time on areas that aren't beneficial :confused:

no no algebra or shapes. multiplication division addition and subtraction thats all you need, and a sharp eye! so learn your times table off by heart again, they are invaluable

My oh my, what a speedy reply!

Cheers Beca, it might not even be worth buying a revison book then, I might use that brain training maths thing on the nintendo DS.

Any idea if we have to work out percentages manually or anything like that?

It was a bit daunting reading the instructions that were posted out, that we're not allowed to write down any workings out, I'm bricking it!

My oh my, what a speedy reply!

Cheers Beca, it might not even be worth buying a revison book then, I might use that brain training maths thing on the nintendo DS.

Any idea if we have to work out percentages manually or anything like that?

It was a bit daunting reading the instructions that were posted out, that we're not allowed to write down any workings out, I'm bricking it!

lol im online at work all day 9-6 so i get updates as they come in

percentages arent likely to come up but have a good grasp of x, /, + and - and youll be fine. its time pressure and stress not difficulty of questions.

you will get rough paper to work out on but cant mark on the exam booklet. im on the hunt of the lend of a nintendo DS brain thingymajigger :rolleyes:

I find the wee DS brain trainer a good job, plus theres a good wee 30 second brain teeser in the 2nd page of the Daily Mirror i do every day..

Fatony wrote: »
    I find the wee DS brain trainer a good job, plus theres a good wee 30 second brain teeser in the 2nd page of the Daily Mirror i do every day..

borrowed one from my brothers inlaws last night, think it was a 11 year old girls Xmas present :eek: i feel kinda bad! lol i was on it for ages last night, totally addicted now! if only studying for A-levels had been this fun :P

Beca, you seem to know everything, so tell me this ;)

You said its mainly addition,subtraction, multiplication & division.......

do you reckon theres any chance of long division, that totally scuppers me, or multiplication, division of fractions (they're easy enough, mind)

Beca, you seem to know everything, so tell me this ;)

You said its mainly addition,subtraction, multiplication & division.......

do you reckon theres any chance of long division, that totally scuppers me, or multiplication, division of fractions (they're easy enough, mind)

lol ill pm you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭B182

can i get a pm also i need all the help i can get lolol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Dannyboy1987

what are the chances of making it