Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Waffle Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 60,310 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

He still got more first preferences than the Sinn Fein and Labour candidates.

Looks like we will be a Fianna Fail lead County.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭Nokia6230i

Looking also like Adrienne Wallace will take a seat; could be the 6th or 7th; she was looking up at Wayne Fennell, now she's closer to Tom O'Neill I think.

Cue an occupation of council chambers, a Kum Bay Ya or Ging Gang Goolie sing song around campfire with beans & marshmallows....

Wallace has been elected!

Last 3 in Carlow town were JC, Tom O'Neill (Ex Cllr.) & Wallace.

Life in council chambers has suddenly got a whole lot more interesting......pity the council staff she & her supporters harangued in Summer 2017 & Summer 2018 who now have to co-operate with her.

She owes them a big apology for the scummy behaviour; it was outrageous and she'll claim no responsibility or see nothing wrong with it either.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭votecounts

Carlow is screwed if the best they can produce is Wallace as a Cllr, big drop for SF, should have kept Cassin

• Registered Users Posts: 19,388 ✭✭✭✭road_high

She scraped in but I guess she was transfer friendly in the end

Looks like we will be a Fianna Fail lead County.
    I'd say Deering will be worried when the GE comes around, Murnane or Phelan will take his seat

votecounts wrote: »
    I'd say Deering will be worried when the GE comes around, Murnane or Phelan will take his seat

Absolutely. FF hugely strong in Carlow and also Kilkenny.

Absolutely. FF hugely strong in Carlow and also Kilkenny. SF seat now on borrowed time

If FF were smart, they would go with Phelan as he's a better candidate then Murnane. Whatever happens, I hope Carlow has 2 tds as opposed to 1 now.

Phelan would get Kk votes. Murnane wouldn’t get many

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭Be well and win

Well one things that can be said for certain is that the Shinners made a complete and utter hames of it in Carlow Town. No fan of Cassin but I bet he's having a good chuckle this morning.

Interesting to see what Wallace will be like now, no harm to shake up some of the numpties in the Council Office but will she try and be pro-active or just be a typical hard socialist and say no to everything. ?

Shame no Green candidate this time around in the town

I thought Wallace was quite sanguine as she knows she only barely got in and hadn’t any massive mandate and certainly no alliances. Apart from rabble rousing in the inside I can’t see much going on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 HenryWoods

Will anything change after this local election? NO.
    Carlow is still a dump with lot of serious problems.

The Co Councillors have no power, go to any of their Fbook pages and see how they respond to problems ''I rang the County Engineer/Manager, he said X Y Z will be fixed later..'' we voted for messengers.
    What have the Councillors been doing the last 5 years? NOTHING.

The hogs and sows that run Carlow were not elected or will they ever be voted out and they sit slopping in their trough in the Council Office on the Athy Road, which is convenient as most of them are blow-ins from Kildare and Laois anyway.
    Their just sitting there waiting for the WagonWheel Festival and the Ploughing Championship so they can sit around telling each other how great they are and how lovely their visions of Carlow are.

Wallace will stomp her feet and have little meltdowns on Facebook, but as soon as she's given the form to fill out her expenses claims and is told how things really work as a county councillor, she'll quieten down and do feck all for the next 5 years but spout lefty-commie spiel for her fanbois to lap up.

In local news, Walters has finished trading in the town, it's shut up and gone. Again.

To be fair to Wallace she's now a bit like a square for a round hole.

Who does she align herself to?

Who wants to align themselves with her?

I know she has to sit somewhere but crikey it'll be like 1st Day at Primary or National School.

Charlie Murphy Ind. is Pro Life so no match there.......John Cassin NP maybe?

No chance of her aligning with Labour; Cllr. Quinn is only Labour when it suits and I don't think, if his young wan wasn't gay & he wasn't also participating in by-election at same time that he'd've been on the Vote Yes in Mar Ref; he was a closet Vote No in Repeal so polar opposite to Ms. Wallace.

His party colleague (unusually the only gay AND C of I in the chamber); can't recall him taking a stance on Repeal though he was, openly, a Yes to Mar Ref & campaigned.

Labour gave members a free vote I think.

On H & H FF & FG're the antithesis of what she wants so that's 2 groups of 6 ruled out; if she formed an alliance she'll be regarded as a sell out.

So in reality unless she has specific demands and is willing to acquiesce & compromise she might struggle in terms of policy & motions.

Wallace on Ivan Yates now- opposes a carbon tax of course !

Wallace on Ivan Yates now- opposes a carbon tax of course ! Agree with her on that

Also getting swallowed up by the other 4 in terms of input in spite of trying to interrupt....

Said that she'd taken a FG seat in first bit......she did in her hole; there were 7 seats and 2 were vacant; Tom O'Neill beat her into 6th place and he wasn't an outgoing Cllr.; so her logic's baffling.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Jennifer Murnane O'Connor has already been selected as Fianna Fail's candidate in the next General Election.

Also for Carlow to get two TD's, the Carlow turnout would have to well exceed the turnout in Kilkenny. If last Friday can be used as a barometer, that certainly won't happen!

Is she def already selected?

Yes - she announced it only last week

The problem is she expects people to "Vote Carlow". Sorry Jennifer but FF're toxic to a lot of us; always have been & always will be & I for one have never given them a scratch in 23 years of voting.

It's a lazy way of trying to get elected; I'd rather a strong TD yes; but not from FF or SF and I'm not voting either of them just to keep it local or some parochial clap trap like that.

Nokia6230i wrote: »
    The problem is she expects people to "Vote Carlow". Sorry Jennifer but FF're toxic to a lot of us; always have been & always will be & I for one have never given them a scratch in 23 years of voting.

It's a lazy way of trying to get elected; I'd rather a strong TD yes; but not from FF or SF and I'm not voting either of them just to keep it local or some parochial clap trap like that.

I wish there was more people with this line of thinking - Unfortunately too many people either never accepted that FF were toxic, or have forgotten it already! And Carlow is one of the worst offenders in this, where even when anger at FF was at it's most palpable at the 2011 General Election, Carlow gave them 10% more votes than the national average and the constituency as a whole was even higher! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Laois_Man wrote: »
    I wish there was more people with this line of thinking - Unfortunately too many people either never accepted that FF were toxic, or have forgotten it already! And Carlow is one of the worst offenders in this, where even when anger at FF was at it's most palpable at the 2011 General Election, Carlow gave them 10% more votes than the national average and the constituency as a whole was even higher! :eek:

I'd love to vote for someone else other than FF or FG but that's where I come unstuck.

Would I like to see SF in power - absolutely not. Economic suicide.
    Would I like to see Solidarity - PBP in power - absolutely not. Economic suicide.
    Labour Party - not exactly ringing my bell.
    Green Party - absolutely not. Economic suicide. Tax everything 1000%.
    Independents for Change - absolutely not. Tax nothing. Free everything. Economic suicide.
    Independents - ah here. Look at some of the nutcases that have been elected.

Like it or not, and I don't like it, but I'd rather FF/FG than some of the other looneys.

I would have been a FF voter in the past. Changed to FG because of the balls-up that FF made of the country. But the longer that FG stay in power, the more I see them wasting money left, right and centre. And I'm not happy with that.

But when you look at the alternative, I am not happy with that either.

I have little doubt in my mind that a near identical economic crash would have occurred if FG had been in power 10-years ago and in the number of years leading up to it. So I was hoping, in my naivety, that Renua would make a fist of growing into a meaningful alternative - but it seemed like nearly everyone for some reason was dying to see them fall on their arses, and the obliged. But we needed an alternative and we still do

I see all signage and advertising for 4 Star Pizza has been taken down form the location they were due to move into.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 astragte

I see all signage and advertising for 4 Star Pizza has been taken down form the location they were due to move into.
    Apparently there was no planning permission sought from what i has been told by a former employee of the filling station

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭D_BEAR

Was wondering what the holdup was.
    They got planning for a cafe/restaurant so probably wouldn't cover a takeaway.
    http://www.eplanning.ie/CarlowCC/AppFileRefDetails/16372/0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭ScallionAyter

Speaking of holdups - Boylesports beside Supervalu robbed again! They must have thought it was an easy job last week, and returned for more.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭BabyWillis

Anyone know if Keltruck on the O’Brien road is still open? Taught it looked empty in there the last two weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭iano.p

BabyWillis wrote:
    Anyone know if Keltruck on the O’Brien road is still open? Taught it looked empty in there the last two weeks.

Think it's only temporary closed they are hoping to be back open in the end of September from what I was told.