Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 10,863 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Banjoxed wrote: »
    Good aul' Ding Dong Denny O'Reilly.

All together now, "Flow river flow, f*ck off to the sea..!"

Is it actually him? Loved that stuff, "the craic we had the day we died for Ireland" and "you dirty English bastards" were personal favourites

mark_79 wrote: »
    Those new 'Eir' adverts are pretentious as ****. Ooh, look at us and how Irish and wonderful we are.

**** off you ****. You have to be the most clueless and incompetent company in this country and by Christ that is one serious, serious achievement.

Savage tune though in fairness! :P
    The Aldi ads with the kids. Actually, any ads that use kids, it's twee and irritating, like we don't get bombarded with enough crap about peoples kids on social media.

Ugh, yes.
    The Andrex one is particularly bad. It doesn't just annoy me, it actually disturbs me. That squeaky kid at the end who says "as clean as gold pants" and then does this horrible giggle.....genuinely creepy. *shudders*

• Registered Users Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

That new Lotto Advert, when the Dad buys stuff for his family i.e His Dad makes a Western film, His daughter gets a trip around the world, his Twins daughters get a massive Fish tank with a shark in it. He buys himself a "pool table" a table in a pool.

I just hate how smug everyone is it (especially the oldest daughter), maybe they chose the wrong actors for it or they are given bad direction but they come off hateable in just two minutes, I think also the fact it's played at every Cinema screening I go too doesn't help :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Turtle_

Looper007 wrote: »
    That new Lotto Advert, when the Dad buys stuff for his family i.e His Dad makes a Western film, His daughter gets a trip around the world, his Twins daughters get a massive Fish tank with a shark in it. He buys himself a "pool table" a table in a pool.

I just hate how smug everyone is it (especially the oldest daughter), maybe they chose the wrong actors for it or they are given bad direction but they come off hateable in just two minutes, I think also the fact it's played at every Cinema screening I go too doesn't help :D.

Aren't they meant to be hatable? In a "Don't let it be them, make sure you win and play" sorta way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

That eirtricity one, the pigeon or whatever fowl it is moaning as if she's in a porno, it's almost uncomfortable sitting sitting with the folks listening to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

That new Rachel and Steve advert - Rachel in the first one looked like she'd merely ride Steve like the clappers after playing charades but now I'd be worried about Hipster Dude's personal safety :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Ibbo

I'm probably breaking the rules on this one but I'm really really enjoying the couple of new Meteor ads. The one's with the extra talking to the woman on the fake carpet and the one where he tries to get into the super fancy restaurant. They have me in stitches but the problem I hate myself for liking them. It's a large bugbear of mine, when a large company makes an ad that makes me giggle. I always feel dirty afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭FelineOverLord

The Donegal Catch ad, all of them, but particularly the one with the 'they'll keep my idea on file' bit. I so fricking hate the ad, everything about it sucks and DC fish is awful anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

The Donegal Catch ad, all of them, but particularly the one with the 'they'll keep my idea on file' bit. I so fricking hate the ad, everything about it sucks and DC fish is awful anyway.

I like it... In a filing cabinet kind of way...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

jca wrote: »
    I like it... In a filing cabinet kind of way...

Tis a keyabinet not a cabinet :P

The Keep it Up for Blue something or other, the guys with the football. The guy kicks the ball round the room and loads of stuff falls over... why does an alarm go off? Do they have their furniture alarmed to go off when it falls down?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Thought I'd seen the last of that wretched ad but some bright spark decided to resurrect it after three or four years.Utterly hate it,want to punch that four eyed twat who says that line.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

Banjoxed wrote: »
    That new Rachel and Steve advert - Rachel in the first one looked like she'd merely ride Steve like the clappers after playing charades but now I'd be worried about Hipster Dude's personal safety :pac:

In my opinion, that's the worst advert on TV at the moment.

It's not just that it's irritating (although it is), but its central message --"you can't pick your neighbours"-- is surely the last thing you want to put in people's heads when you're trying to sell them a mortgage?

It would make a better ad for renting than buying...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

The one with the two ginnets falling asleep on the train.....gets the mute button every time.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Any AIG ad. I want the fella with the insurance fetish to seriously injure himself. His mate also has a very punchable mug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭FelineOverLord

That Irish Rail ad. Firstly, if I were on the train and some random stranger sat in the seat directly in front of me at the table, instead of on the outside seat I'd be pissed off and consider them some sort of personal space invading freak. Secondly, most people prefer to be left in peace when travelling on public transport, not forced to make small talk. Last time I was on a train we chose the quiet carriage yet had to endure the journey from Limerick Junction to Dublin listening to some cnut talking about utter sh*te for the entire journey. Seriously, at one point I just wanted someone to beat him to a pulp or gag him, anything just to shut the fcuker up.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Omackeral wrote: »
    Any AIG ad. I want the fella with the insurance fetish to seriously injure himself. His mate also has a very punchable mug.
    I was making a cup of tea the other evening after a sh1tty day at work where we didnt get out until 7pm and that ad came on and I seriously nearly fcuked the mug at the tv, it genuinely upset me, I was raging after it. It was the one where he brings in an elephant and keeps saying AIG over and over again :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,638 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

VHI adds are really grating on me lately. "I'll never give up my VHI, it's like a security blanket"

Pretty fcukin expensive security blanket when it costs €1500+ a year, every year. Just to feel 'secure' from the mess that is the public hospital system, which we already pay for through taxation :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 824 ✭✭✭magicmushroom

'My dentist said I need to go 'pro' with my toothpaste - I'm like what? Why do I need to go 'pro'?'

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD SOMEONE PLEASE TAKE THAT STUPIDLY ANNOYING WOMAN OFF THE TV

• Registered Users Posts: 10,863 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

'My dentist said I need to go 'pro' with my toothpaste - I'm like what? Why do I need to go 'pro'?'

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD SOMEONE PLEASE TAKE THAT STUPIDLY ANNOYING WOMAN OFF THE TV

My dentist said I need to go 'pro' with my toothpaste. My new dentist, who is competent, said that this was meaningless and dangerous gibberish indicative of a fraudulent shill and I was right to run away and get a new dentist ASAP.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

The Dr Okter pizza add on radio, with the one that sounds like shes trying to impersonate Rachel Allen, serve the pizza with a few candles, the accent is as annoying as the original, yam yam...

• Registered Users Posts: 19,275 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Thargor wrote: »
    I was making a cup of tea the other evening after a sh1tty day at work where we didnt get out until 7pm and that ad came on and I seriously nearly fcuked the mug at the tv, it genuinely upset me, I was raging after it. It was the one where he brings in an elephant and keeps saying AIG over and over again :mad:

I love to hit the goon who just rolls the eyes a good thwwwaaack across the chops with a sock of damp slurry.

Big block head on him.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭Dickie10

yeah hes very annoying, actually the two of them are bordering on obese, not rreally good examples of people to have on tv. the guy who reads the book really is not a good specimen at all, terrible hair style, bad choice in clothes has a flower shirt with the top button done up and a cardigan , come on did any man ever pull a woman loooking like that? whats wrong with these lads?

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭LithiumKid1976

selous wrote: »
    The Dr Okter pizza add on radio, with the one that sounds like shes trying to impersonate Rachel Allen, serve the pizza with a few candles, the accent is as annoying as the original, yam yam...

i actually thought it was rachel allen in this add. was thinking was there anything she wouldn't lend her name too? :)

her PR people should look into it,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭Dickie10

theres a new windows and doors advert for aluclad or something, two old pensioners probarbly in their 70s with extreme south county dublin accents are ranting on about how cold the house was last winter, the aul lad in a bid to sound somewhat working class comes out with "yeeeeaaaassss Baaaaawwwaltic so it was" Then he says "ah well at least we dont have anything to complain about this year" to which the wife, who sounds like the mother/wife from hell that my own ma always told me I was lucky i didnt have, says "Feet OFFthe table" and the aul lad in a bet down voice says in a big half teenage drawn out whine "Almost"

This ad must be for all the old pensioners rotten with money across ireland, theres very few who are actually not filthy rich, my own aul pair even say that and there not looney lefties, they say that pensioners should pay for some of the free services they get and give the squeezed middle a break. anyway i digress, but the aul lassie on the ad sounds very uppity, bossy and one of these liberal new "moms" of the early 1970s there quite annoying old people now, they are usually to be found in middle class south dublin suburbs or other upper middle class areas of towns and cities. You know the type , not at all afraid of random interviews or calling up joe duffy live on rte, if it was my aul ma she would either start laughing uncontrollably, cry or repeat the same word over and over.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

selous wrote: »

"It's been one of those days and it's my turn to make dinner. I wanted something fresh...."

... so I decided to get something frozen which I had no hand at all in making!
    Logic for wagons 101

• Registered Users Posts: 9,199 ✭✭✭maximoose

As has been said plenty, that new Eir ad is atrocious, but this bit really pisses me off:

hV8gUkS.png

Are we supposed to believe they've gone all high tech now?

Maybe they spent the 16m buying Tony fûcking Stark's house

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭Sounds
    EMar Sounds

Thank Christ this ad will be gone hopefully tomorrow Tina Malone's new body on tlc, I will never watch that channel and never have

• Registered Users Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

maximoose wrote: »
    As has been said plenty, that new Eir ad is atrocious, but this bit really pisses me off:

hV8gUkS.png

Are we supposed to believe they've gone all high tech now?

Maybe they spent the 16m buying Tony fûcking Stark's house

And some of us still can't get their so called Super fast broadband where we're at. A$$holes

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭Sounds
    EMar Sounds

Their whole company is atrocious.