Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment (Archived)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭8bi1ctzegfouva

i found i had plenty of time to write the actual statement, but taking notes was hard enough, because if you missed one bit of info it scewed up a lot of other things. so it was hard to keep up with it and take decent notes at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭FGR

Griffen: Did they tell you when you might hear from them?

I seem to be the only one that was told this week.

The report was alright though I might lose a lot of marks for the quality of my handwriting as well as the (100) amount of times I crossed certain things out.

Hopefully the news in the post will be good.

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭Griffen

Hey foregone,

No they didnt mention anything about when id hear from them, i didnt ask either cause i added something in at the end i think.

You must have done reallly well that they told u that u would hear from them in a week. I was expecting to be waiting a few weeks anyways but the others seem to be saying in two weeks so dunno really.

How did u find it anyways? what ya think of the video?

i too was also told that i would be hearing within 1 to 2 weeks.

foregone, i think everyone had loads of things crossed out. i had a good few, and also i screwed up my layout with the paragraphs, so i had 3 arrows showing i wanted to start the sentance at the margin and not where i had it.

i wrote my statement out in pencil so i could rub out any mistakes, i wonder is that ok or were ye told to use pen??

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭NeverHappy

I wrote my report without paragraphs. Not sure if it is marked like that, but I thought that it should be written as one long passage so that nobody else could insert any text ( in a real report that is). I gave a report once about a car accident I witnessed and that was the way it was done. Probably not important.

Interesting to see that the May entrants have already been notified, with no interview or medical - have I read right?

Good luck to all.

NH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭oceallachain

RE: NeverHappyInteresting to see that the May entrants have already been notified, with no interview or medical - have I read right?

If you're refering to me then No, you aren't right. I applied in the 2003 competition and did my medical in November 2004 and my physical in December 2004. My penance has been payed I can assure you!! :D

I applied for the present competition prior to being accepted for a February 2005 entry and then I deferred due to me only having 4 months left at college (U.L.). I pulled out of the current competition as soon as I was guaranteed my place in May. I didn't even do the interview (I was supposed to do it yesterday).

I'll have a B. Sc. in Computer Systems come May. Does anyone know if the commisioner would put you straight into IT when coming out of Templemore? This is a big fear of mine. I hate computers. If I wanted a job in IT then I would have applied to Dell or Intel or something. I'm joining the police because I want to police. If anyone has any info then I'd appreciate it so much if you could throw it up on the board or PM me - doesn't matter which. Thanks again guys and good luck in the competition neverHappy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭JackieChan

I'll have a B. Sc. in Computer Systems come May. Does anyone know if the commisioner would put you straight into IT when coming out of Templemore? This is a big fear of mine. I hate computers. If I wanted a job in IT then I would have applied to Dell or Intel or something.

oceallachain,
    This does beg the question, "Why did you spend 3-4 years on a computing degree"?????

JackieChan "Why did you spend 3-4 years on a computing degree"?????
    I was young when I chose the course man. I didn't really know what I wanted when I was 17/18. It seemed like the right thing to do at the time. But yes I suppose it wasn't very clever.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭NeverHappy

RE: NeverHappyI'll have a B. Sc. in Computer Systems come May. Does anyone know if the commisioner would put you straight into IT when coming out of Templemore? This is a big fear of mine. I hate computers. neverHappy

Well to assure you that in no way will you be put in IT. I'm kind of the opposite, 9 years in IT with a diploma and would like to go to the fraud squad. Not into Phoenix park to do IT, that would be the same job for less money - stupid in any language.

I did a lot of investigating in this area. I would have to serve at least 3 years as an ordinary officer before being eligible to even apply for a specialist service. And at that you have to apply for the post, and its quite difficult to get in. Not sure about phoenix park, because I never asked about the IT section, no interest in that side. Got the feeling that they hire expertise from outside the force for those jobs anyway.

In relation to the degree, that will jump you a few pay scales so its is a great thing to have from the start.

In my opinion, thay are looking in the main for ordinary guards to fill the streets and the traffic corps.

Hope that helps,
    NH

All Gardai are required to undergo normal Uniform duties for at least three years after passing through Templemore.

Basically every trainee in this competition will be on the frontline.

rang the public appointments office today.

Asked when should we hear with results of our interview, the girl said in the next three weeks. Hopefully it will be sooner.

Griffen wrote:
    rang the public appointments office today.

Asked when should we hear with results of our interview, the girl said in the next three weeks. Hopefully it will be sooner.

I don't think they know themselves.

Remember that issue Detective had trying to find out the scoring system for the aptitude tests?

I'd say they're playing it safe by stating three weeks.

I just don't understand why I was told within a week and the rest 2/3.

i reckon if they are letting people know for the 3rd of may start that they will be letting people know about a week after, two weeks was probably just being on the safe side as foregone said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭alfie

anyone know if you can defer your entry, i've my interview tomorrow, and if I get the 3rd May start i wont be able to go as im in my final year in college and dont want to miss out on a degree by not doing my final exams which are around may 17th

yeah as long as they haven't changed it, you should be able to defer. if i were you i'd ask after the interview, or ring up the garda appointments office.
    i'll have a look for the number, or if you look back to my previous posts you'll find it in one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭alfie

Yeah il check back for that number cheers

alfie wrote:
    anyone know if you can defer your entry

I was under the impression that, for this new campaign, that you were entitled to defer your application until the next intake though not beyond it.

It's all down to the commissioner's discretion. Does he want to have empty spaces when the Department of Justice (for this once in a blue moon occasion) is trying it's best to take in as many trainees as possible.

RE: deferral
    If it's the same as the 2003 campaign then you can only ever defer until the next intake but once the next intake comes around then you can redefer again and so on and so on. You used to be able to do this until you no longer had a legitimate reason to defer or until the current competition's last intake.
    However foregone is absolutely correct in saying that it is in the hands of the commissioner.
    Does anyone know what kind of benefits there, if any, in being a Garda. I'm speaking in relation to special mortgages, car insurances etc etc. I know they have a medical society and a credit union. I'm espeicially interested in finding out if there are deals on car insurance (I have the young < 25yr male provisional license disease) :( .

I've heard they benefit of a very good insurance deal.

Trust me, I'm interested too. @ 3,000 insurance quote.

Just stating the obvious here but will you guys post if you get any response from the public service?

Just so I know when to go complain to my post office as my letter will inevitably be late.

alfie in case you couldn't find it, the number is 6662362. best of luck.

Contacted both the Recruitment Section as well as the Civil Service in regards to intake and time of response.

RS told me that the intake for May will be based on the speed of your backround checks. From what I assume..That means your referees better respond quickly otherwise you're going to be waiting until September. ;)

The Civil Service told me that I should wait over the next fortnight to get my letter.

Tsk Tsk @ Interview Panel.

yeah a mate of mine rang up today, he should have had his results today, and was also told two weeks, said everyone will be getting them on the same day.
    so annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

Has anyone any clues as to when the next lot are being interviewed?? In theory there needs to be 4 intakes this year to meet the targets set by the minister.

I'd say the interviews would be continuous. They brought forward 750 people for interview specifically for the May 3rd batch and seeing as interviews started four weeks ago it may be less than a month before they brnig forward the next group of candidates.

Just a rough estimate on my part anyway. Detective may have it better. Being that our backround checks might take forever we could be in September and the second batch may not be interviewed until mid-summer.

I could be wrong however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭lilolil

Eh - Interviews started on March 14th - two weeks ago...
    L :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

It would be interesting to get proper stats for the process. I talked to a recruitment specialist recently who said they would be lucky to get 350 from group of 750.
    In theory I should be in the next batch for interviews...but I know as soon as I arrange holidays etc... they'll coincide with the interview date. According to the civil service I'll be called "in the coming months"..nice and vague!

Best of luck to anyone waiting on the outcome of the interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭lilolil

JAYSUS!!!!!! I just rang psc and asked when I'd be hearing and they said in about 2-3 weeks(I did my interview on 14th!) So it's not looking like any of us are going to be starting on May 3rd!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭sarahb

mcguiver
    if you came in the first 1000 or so your interview will probably be in july or august.