Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celeb spotting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Dumb

I seen Gary Linekar on Dame Street about 6 years ago.

Also seen Eamon Dunphy in some pub on Parnell Street. Johnny Giles in the Jervis Centre. I seen Twink at the Cliffs of Moher and Heath Ledger at the Giant's Causeway 5 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭MrMojoRisin

Let us not forget the dozens of Cork fellas now aged approx. 36+ who have been goin around for the last 18 years sayin,"I was there in Sir Henry's (nightclub/venue) the night Nirvana supported Sonic Youth, before Nevermind broke into the charts, biyyyyy". :rolleyes:

One witness I came across swore that himself and his mates met Kurt Cobain that night. Whether it's true or not, God only knows.. His story went along these lines...

"Myself and the mates were there to see Sonic Youth but we stayed by the bar at first because there was some sh!t band opening for them. They were just noise really and no-one in the place took much notice of them. After the gig,when me and the lads were sat by the bar again, a small,thin fella with blond hair and dressed in a cardigan who we recognised as the singer from the sh!t support act, came up and ordered a drink. He said to us,'Hey guys', got his drink,and walked off again.

It wasn't until around a month later, when Smells Like Teen Spirit came out,that we realised that the sh!t support act was Nirvana, and the blond fella who spoke to us at the bar was none other than KURT COBAIN. We had no idea at the time that they were just about to be huge."

He swore it was the truth anyway...

Let us not forget the dozens of Cork fellas now aged approx. 36+ who have been goin around for the last 18 years sayin,"I was there in Sir Henry's (nightclub/venue) the night Nirvana supported Sonic Youth, before Nevermind broke into the charts, biyyyyy". :rolleyes:

One witness I came across swore that himself and his mates met Kurt Cobain that night. Whether it's true or not, God only knows.. His story went along these lines...

"Myself and the mates were there to see Sonic Youth but we stayed by the bar at first because there was some sh!t band opening for them. They were just noise really and no-one in the place took much notice of them. After the gig,when me and the lads were sat by the bar again, a small,thin fella with blond hair and dressed in a cardigan who we recognised as the singer from the sh!t support act, came up and ordered a drink. He said to us,'Hey guys', got his drink,and walked off again.

It wasn't until around a month later, when Smells Like Teen Spirit came out,that we realised that the sh!t support act was Nirvana, and the blond fella who spoke to us at the bar was none other than KURT COBAIN. We had no idea at the time that they were just about to be huge."

He swore it was the truth anyway...

Yea, of course he did. :rolleyes:

Dumb wrote: »
    I seen Gary Linekar on Dame Street about 6 years ago.
    I hope he didn't eat your Walker's Crisps. :D
    Also seen Eamon Dunphy in some pub on Parnell Street.
    Yeah that sounds about right alright
    I seen Twink at the Cliffs of Moher
    there were CLIFFS! Why didnt she make use of them?! :mad: :p
    and Heath Ledger at the Giant's Causeway 5 years ago.

FCUK OFF! :eek: Are you serious? Did you talk to him or anythin? Did it look like he was on his hols, or what? He was a well-known, high profile actor even then,like, before he played The Joker and tragically died, and all.

My sis used to share a house with a girl who was originally from Dingle. Her family ran (and still do, i think) a guesthouse down there. This girl said that Julia Roberts stayed there with them for a few weeks (until the paparazzi found her) to get away, following her very public break-up with Kiefer Sutherland at the time. This girl told my sis that she remembers standing n their kitchen at home numerous times chatting away to Julia, who was really lovely and down-to-earth apparently. This girl (can't remember her name :() was only a child at the time and didnt fully realise who Julia Roberts was until a couple of years later. But how cool is that?! :)

Ah shur,don't they all, these Sir Henry's 'witnesses'? :D :rolleyes: Its a good story tho,true or false.

probably false false false :(

I hope he didn't eat your Walker's Crisps. :D

Yeah that sounds about right alright

there were CLIFFS! Why didnt she make use of them?! :mad: :p

FCUK OFF! :eek: Are you serious? Did you talk to him or anythin? Did it look like he was on his hols, or what? He was a well-known, high profile actor even then,like, before he played The Joker and tragically died, and all.

My sis used to share a house with a girl who was originally from Dingle. Her family ran (and still do, i think) a guesthouse down there. This girl said that Julia Roberts stayed there with them for a few weeks (until the paparazzi found her) to get away, following her very public break-up with Kiefer Sutherland at the time. This girl told my sis that she remembers standing n their kitchen at home numerous times chatting away to Julia, who was really lovely and down-to-earth apparently. This girl (can't remember her name :() was only a child at the time and didnt fully realise who Julia Roberts was until a couple of years later. But how cool is that?! :)

Gary was actually eating them funny enough!

Poor Twink. The hoor:D

Oh yeah. I sat down on the basalt and had a wee chat with the fella. He was a good bloke.:pac:

Gary was actually eating them funny enough!

It seems the promotional work never stops for auld Gaz. The Walkers Crisps powers-the-be must have it written into his contract: EAT OUR CRISPS IN PUBLIC AND MAKE SURE YOU'RE SEEN SHOVELLING THEM INTO YOUR GOB AT ALL TIMES.
    Poor Twink. The hoor:D
    Or 'Adele King' as she insists on being called... I prefer 'hoor' tho
    Oh yeah. I sat down on the basalt and had a wee chat with the fella. He was a good bloke.:pac:

U did in your fcuk! :pac:

What Kurt really said to the lads that night was probably: "Howrye ye LANGERS! Hows tricks, biyyyy?? Dat Thurston Moore tool is SEP-TIC, like!"

U did in your fcuk! :pac:

Yea. A nice fella I must say. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Saffy

I saw Geoff from Home and Away last Summer when I was in Sydney:D

I saw Shayne Ward in Galway once.

someone from High School Musical in London 2 years ago (according to my 8 year old niece).

I saw a few "celebs" at the ploughing championships last year.

Keith Duffy in some shopping centre years ago!

Louis Walsh in Dublin.

and my fave......
    Jimmy from Fair City in New York:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

Over the last month I stood beside Thomas Jane waiting to get out for a smoke at the Hatton fight in Vegas then passed Chuck Zito on the escalator. No one I tell knows who these guys are though so I rarely get any recognition when I mention it.

Was at the Shawshank Redemption the other night and was seating an aisle seat away from Clarke Peters. Being the huge Wire fan that I am I was stoked by that. Should have spoken to him but decided to let him be rather than make a fool outta myself.

Saffy wrote: »
    ... and my fave......
    Jimmy from Fair City in New York:pac:

so they really do let jim-eeeeee out of fair city?? :D
    what a leap - from fair city to new york city! :p

Yea. A nice fella I must say. :)

Providence was shining down on u that day, compadre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭neilisagam

met mick foley the wrestler in o hare airport and got him 2 sign his autobiography i was reading. One of the guards from the green mile on the dart.(this guy http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0001556/) Took a peno on shay given at a football camp when he was a nobody with blackburn. Met Ray houghton at the bernard dunne fight. Brendan o carrol in florida. The band the foals in dub airport.Those english rappers N-Dubs in dublin bout 2 months ago. Brian McFadden in greystone when he lived there. Conor Deasy from the thrills down in cork years. The guy that plays jack duckworth in corrie when in spain.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,573 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

Wouldn't consider them celebs but I was at a birthday party in town last night in Odessa (I think that's what it was called) anyway not my kind of place. The upstairs bar seemed to be populated by wanabe extras to a coke ad and who should glide in to brighten their lives but those yolks from expose on tv3. I think it was them as they only briefly removed their heads from their own arses, but the girls I was with seemed to know them.
    The one who left in a huff was also there, jayus but she fairly eats the fags. I'd give the small older bottle blond one a dart, as for the tall dark haired one, she was a bit too front row for my liking. Lost interest there after as I didn't really know much about them or to be perfectly honest care.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭lenomark

i was working backstage at take that in croke pk and had the privilege of escorting both bands to there wheels after the gig lucky me lol:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

Archimedes wrote: »
    Met Brendan Grace in the Gleneagle Hotel in Killarney many years ago, very polite man I must say.

Also, was in a restaurant in Germany, Leighton Hewitt (sp?) and Kim Clijsters and 2 friends were having dinner at the table next to us. It was a school trip, however, I was only with one classmate and 3 teachers at the time. I would have made more of seeing such famous sports stars but I was mildly concussed having just had an x-ray in an uber-scary German hospital after a particularly bad snowboarding accident. lol. Didnt stop my Art teacher interrupting their meal and asking for autographs. But they were very nice about it.

Shook hands with John Rzeznik of the Goo Goo Dolls (greatest moment of my life lol) but it was after a concert so Im sure that doesnt count...

oh dont get me started on brendan grace absolutely wonderful man on and off stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭claireloopy

okay the most recent ones are delta goodrem and brian mcfadden at the bruce springsteen concert last saturday

The guy that presents nationwide a few times he lives in waterford.

Hector and richie kav(perv)

And my brother met paul mcgrath in a pub in Dublin few years ago.

My friend met John C reilly in the duiske in kk one night.

oh and kevin doyle is always out in the stores nightclub in wex :) I hear

brad and ang were down in the dunbrody house a few times too

:P

• Registered Users Posts: 605 ✭✭✭unichick

Saw Damien from Fair City on Grafton Street earlier this month!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Saw KYYYLLLLIE from Fair City @ Oxegen :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭claireloopy

My bro said all the skins cast were behind him in oxegen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭LittleKitty

saw joe mccaul running for the train in drumcondra!

my mate and i saw dati o se chatting to the doorman of brown thomas (hes actualy quite hot in real life, dati, no the doorman)

oh, and brian ormand, jim corr, sophie ellis baxter, a few of them models that are everywhere and the young one from corrie were in Mantra night club in Maynooth last week. no ronaldo though.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 15,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

I seen Louis Walsh in the airport a few years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 aoifemonaghan

Met all the sligo lads out of westlife, didnt realise who mark was, my friends asked me to ask the group of lads beside us for a cigarette, me being the confident one of the group went over not a bother, asked one got it, thanked them and came back to my friends, i thought nothin of it and was about to head to the bar when one of my friends said do you not know who that was...i was like who...looked over again and copped!! he is tiny!! im 5ft 9, he would of being a good 2 inches shorter than me and he's the tallest out of the lot of them!! met kian one night out aswell, he is a plonker!! i was well on but i was trying slyly to take a pic on my fone, he spotted me and told me and i quote "**** off u bitch!!" dickhead, then met shane walkin down the street with his wife, god she is skinny, didnt really think much of her looks wise in magazines and stuff but she is very striking in real life!!

Question : Has anyone heard of anyone famous getting married tommorrow around monaghan?? the castle that paul mccarthy is fully booked out, a wedding planner from the U.S is over decorating the catherdral, the flowers alone are said to be worth 5 grand...my friends mam supplied some of them, seems any1that works in the castle is under a confidentiality agreement...could be just someone with loads of money or could be someone famous...rumours goin round the bride is from the midlands...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭tangerinepuppet

my mate and i saw dati o se chatting to the doorman of brown thomas (hes actualy quite hot in real life, dati, no the doorman)
    I can well believe it!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,714 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Met all the sligo lads out of westlife, didnt realise who mark was, my friends asked me to ask the group of lads beside us for a cigarette, me being the confident one of the group went over not a bother, asked one got it, thanked them and came back to my friends, i thought nothin of it and was about to head to the bar when one of my friends said do you not know who that was...i was like who...looked over again and copped!! he is tiny!! im 5ft 9, he would of being a good 2 inches shorter than me and he's the tallest out of the lot of them!! met kian one night out aswell, he is a plonker!! i was well on but i was trying slyly to take a pic on my fone, he spotted me and told me and i quote "**** off u bitch!!" dickhead, then met shane walkin down the street with his wife, god she is skinny, didnt really think much of her looks wise in magazines and stuff but she is very striking in real life!!

Question : Has anyone heard of anyone famous getting married tommorrow around monaghan?? the castle that paul mccarthy is fully booked out, a wedding planner from the U.S is over decorating the catherdral, the flowers alone are said to be worth 5 grand...my friends mam supplied some of them, seems any1that works in the castle is under a confidentiality agreement...could be just someone with loads of money or could be someone famous...rumours goin round the bride is from the midlands...
    tommy tiernan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 tyrocks00

Man, I'm jealous of all these celeb sightings. I haven't seen any big names, but I've seen a few contestants from So You Think You Can Dance. Oh and one time I was having lunch in LA and I saw the chick who won Paris Hilton's bff. The paps were going crazy which was pathetic because I don't even think of her as a celeb. So I guess none for me.. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I worked with Bairbre from Bosco! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 gilly1

I just spotted a celeb...I see Rosanna Davison getting spanish hair extensions on you tube..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=INqKLjUkTNA&eurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.hairspray.ie%2Findex.html&feature=player_embedded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭xanthor

Tubridy, early one morning on Grafton St a few weeks back. If he wasn't so well dressed, i'd think he was on hunger strike. Skinny? More like gaunt.