Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Angelus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

does anyone have a link to the spoof angelus that played before bruce almighty in the cinemas, i looked but could not find it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

religion should have no place on a publicly funded station. dump it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,485 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Don't care.
    InFront is one of the few people here talking sense. Why are some people here so blinded by a hatred of the catholic church and faith (not the same thing!) that they have to find anything it does or touches offensive.

I sure as hell prefer watching/listening to the angelus than watching some eejit spouting about why i need another loan/credit card or even worse some dickhead in a Harvey Norman uniform.

I'm catholic, but if I was in a predominantly Muslim country i'd love to hear the call to prayer. In fact I think it's a bit odd that the Mosque in Clonskeagh doesn't issue a public call to prayer.

Will they want to ban my local church ringing its bell soon?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭sweet-rasmus

Don't care.
    i enjoy the angelus; it's good for a laugh, and very easy to take the piss of :) prime time tv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Zonko

Was raised a catholic with RTÉ, and yet... I've never noticed it. I guess my family weren't very good catholics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Sangre wrote:
    Well, we never had that crazy notion in the first place. Have you ever read the 1937 Constitution?

This isn't America.

Touché! It's actually pretty embaressing the level to which our constitution refers to religion.
    Red Alert wrote:
    Will they want to ban my local church ringing its bell soon?

I would think so if it violates sound pollution laws! :D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

IIRC there was a 'debate' within the media about this a few years back. It was proposed to get rid of it by some whilst others wanted to keep it as a moment of reflection which is what it became.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Hate it. Can't stand it. Get rid of it.
    It was proposed to get rid of it by some whilst others wanted to keep it as a moment of reflection which is what it became.
    In which case, I wonder would it appease both movements with a compromise solution by replacing the bell with some appropriate music, or even silence. Of course, that would upset people who want the Angelus...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭ArthurDent

Not Catholic, but it doesn't bother me - except for the naff actors (especially the poor teenage sap playing the tin-whistle :D ) , I think a minutes reflection shloudn't be something to get your knickers in a twist about.

• Registered Users Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Gautama

I sometimes as non-nationals what they think of it. They find it very unusual.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭mackerski

Sangre wrote:
    Well, we never had that crazy notion in the first place. Have you ever read the 1937 Constitution?

We have changed it a little since then...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

ArthurDent wrote:
    Not Catholic, but it doesn't bother me - except for the naff actors (especially the poor teenage sap playing the tin-whistle :D ) , I think a minutes reflection shloudn't be something to get your knickers in a twist about.

Good point, but... Moment of reflection: yes. Religious aspect: completely unnecessary. Why not just have a serene picture and silence for a minute? More effective, don't you think?

If we are a multicultural society, as claimed to death by the Gov, why not have the Muslim call to prayer 5 times daily? Shut down RTÉ at sundown on a Friday for the Sabbath? etc.

A state run or sponsored body should have no political or religious bias. The whole European separation of Church and State thing has yet to catch on here even though it's official in the EU, to the best of my knowledge.

At least with the Sunday service yoke, there are Protestant services and Jewish ones and talks from Imams. The Angelus and "An Evening Prayer" really annoy me. I pay my licence fee for this? I was born and raised Irish in Ireland, and have never been in a Catholic church, I'm not Catholic(never have been), yet I am expected to pay for soft-core papish propaganda? Get away.

</rant>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

It's hard to stiffle a laugh when you're in the home of someone who says the Angelus and RTÉ is on when it goes six, because of course they turn of their television to say the Angelus.

It's only people who don't see it who see the broadcast.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 29,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

The Angelus bell is totally irrelevant to me, but it doesn't bother me either.

I don't have any problem either when abroad with the muezzin, or with the sound of Buddhist prayer bells.

If we can be tolerant of and sensitive towards the beliefs / practices of other faiths and cultures, should we not also give the same respect to those who retain a more traditional Catholic faith, and acknowledge that, while times are changing, that is the traditional majority faith in this country.

The fact that a lot of the very serious flaws in the Catholic church as an organisation have come to light in recent decades isn't really the core of this particular argument. This issue isn't about the institutional church, but about the faith / practices of ordinary believers, as someone pointed out earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

wouldnt say i "Hate it. Can't stand it" but i feel it has no place on publicly funded television. get rid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

i just think its funny...LOL

i remember the now cancelled tv show Bull Island :( did a skit of it with lots of people doing stuff and then staring up in the sky at nothing, like in the angelus.

some guy taking a p*ss in the toilets then looks up pointlessly. some scumbag robbing some old lady and then looks up. LMFAO. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kwekubo

I have no real issue from it. The current version is a far cry from ten years ago when you had some Catholic/Orthodox icon staring fixedly at you for 60 seconds. I'd even say it's nice to have a moment to reflect.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,173 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Personally, I believe religion has no place in society at large, never mind in the running of the state. RTE being a state body, it should not be showing religious propaganda like the angelus.

That said, I'd consider wresting control of our education system back from the Catholic church a far higher priority than removing the Angelus from our television sets. Though I would like to see it removed.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Remix that ****. Call it Angelus Redux.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Replace it with 60 seconds of hardcore pornography.

I for one would tune in more often. Sixty seconds is all ya need sure if your quick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Don't care.
    Sleepy wrote:
    That said, I'd consider wresting control of our education system back from the Catholic church a far higher priority than removing the Angelus from our television sets.

"Wresting it back?" To my knowledge, there was a time in this country where Catholic Christians wouldn't have received any education of it wasn't for that chruch. Today many members of the community you live in (wherever that is) still thank the same church for their education, as well as important figures in irish society.
    Although education is totally different to the angelus, and I certainly agree that the national Catholic ethos in education is severely outdated, I think the term "wresting it back" is quite ungracious.

Never watch it, when we first moved here, I waited for the six-one news a couple of times. Now I watch the 5:30 news, avoiding it completely.

It will stay as long as enough people want it to, But I don't care for it!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭gucci

Don't care.
    i think it shows the way the irish society has gone when we cant tolerate 60seconds of bells because its boring/religous/some other excuse. not everyone prays during this time, perhaps just take a moment to sit quiet or reflect,or just get the kids to shut the hell up before the news headlines!!!
    the news is usually bad anyways so a little peace time/cheap comedy in the form of the actors on the angeleus before hand is welcome in my book!!!
    im sure if rte did withdraw it there would be massive uproar and the people who would be giving out would be ridiculed on these boards also. let it be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Don't care.
    Don't see any harm inviting people to have a moment of reflection in their busy days. One doesn't have to say the Angelus or anything and I don't see any harm in taking a moment out to draw breath.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,437 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Depresses the bejaysus out of me...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Originally Posted by Constitution Preamble, as of November 2004
    CONSTITUTION OF IRELAND

In the Name of the Most Holy Trinity, from Whom is all authority and to Whom, as our final end, all actions both of men and States must be referred,

We, the people of Éire,

Humbly acknowledging all our obligations to our Divine Lord, Jesus Christ, Who sustained our fathers through centuries of trial,

Gratefully remembering their heroic and unremitting struggle to regain the rightful independence of our Nation,

And seeking to promote the common good, with due observance of Prudence, Justice and Charity, so that the dignity and freedom of the individual may be assured, true social order attained, the unity of our country restored, and concord established with other nations,

Do hereby adopt, enact, and give to ourselves this Constitution.

Reading that makes me feel sick. What a ****ing banana republic puppet state we are.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭gucci

Don't care.
    Stephen wrote:
    Reading that makes me feel sick. What a ****ing banana republic puppet state we are.

well america, leaders or the world in freedom use the "gods" name for a number of different agendas, do you think muslim dictatorships and the like are not strongly controlled by religion and outdated laws based on religion? at least in ireland apathy towards religion has its positive as we have some independent thinkers, it took 100 years to get this far, hopefully in the next 100 years we will be thinking even more liberally while also keeping our morals

Don't care.
    admiralgar wrote:
    agreed, it may be on for only 60 seconds but i find it grossly offensive
    Why is it so grossly offensive?
    You can change the channel if its so "grossly offensive".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

Don't care.
    **** sake, this seems like a thread for people looking for something to complain about.

What's wrong with RTE broadcasting it, in changing what's shown on screen from the old religious icon, to what they have now, it's clear that rte regards it as a call for prayer and reflection, regardless of what religion the viewer is.

The problem here isn't rte, but the moany ****ers looking for something to find offensive.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Don't care.
    I like it, but mainly because I am a fan of tradition and in my house, as soon as those bells chime, my Dad always tells us all to Bless ourselves.
    Sometimes, if we seem a bit reluctant to do so, he tells us to Bless ourselves for luck.. which I would have thought to be a bit of a contradiction in itself, but hey, its tradition, so I go along with it.

Side tracking slightly, but he also instructs us to bless ourselves whenever we leave the house, pass a church, or hear the sirens of an emergency services vechile.

Did I mention that the only time he actually goes to Mass is for a Wedding, Christening, Funeral etc?

Ah he's a gentlemen though, and I love him.