Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WTF? Girls wearing pyjamas in shopping centres?

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭neoB

I know i've worn mine out more than a few occassions but not to be "cool" or anything. I can't find anything, and if it's to drop off a film, or run in the store to get something really quick .. why not? Especially if I'm just off from work(had a shower and wasn't planning on going anywhere) why get in perfectly good clothes just to grab something? But mine aren't as bad as some peoples who just look skanky or dirty. But to each their own :P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

neoB wrote:
    I know i've worn mine out more than a few occassions but not to be "cool" or anything. I can't find anything, and if it's to drop off a film, or run in the store to get something really quick .. why not? Especially if I'm just off from work(had a shower and wasn't planning on going anywhere) why get in perfectly good clothes just to grab something? But mine aren't as bad as some peoples who just look skanky or dirty. But to each their own :P.
    How much more difficult is it to throw on a pair of jeans and a t-shirt though? Or even a pair of tracksuit bottoms (still not great) and sweatshirt? PJs are for wearing to bed if you wear clothes to bed or the couch for hungover Saturdays and rubbish on tv:)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

It's certainly not new, but I hadn't realised that it was no longer an exclusivly 'knack' thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭neoB

its very difficult as if I don't like wearing things twice. that is twice more laundry to do to just step out for a second. I'm lazy and its a hassel to put on some jeans and a shirt and then get back home and refold and or hang them up. Pftts...There is nothing wrong with that at all. and not eveyone wears pjs to bed. My pjs just happen to be more comfy than some clothes that I own. It isn't hurting anyone at all. If i can deal with watching big people walk around wearing tight clothing or some other bizarre things, someone can deal with seeing me walk in a store or what not for a sec in my monkey pants and white tshirt/hoddie.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,236 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

kizzyr wrote:
    No matter how nice or hot a pair of PJs look they are still PJs and don't belong in public. They may look great on the floor of your bedroom but not in public. :)
    Well, I don't even own a pair of PJs nor would I wear them at night, much less on the street. Each to their own...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

neoB wrote:
    its very difficult as if I don't like wearing things twice. that is twice more laundry to do to just step out for a second. I'm lazy and its a hassel to put on some jeans and a shirt and then get back home and refold and or hang them up. Pftts...There is nothing wrong with that at all. and not eveyone wears pjs to bed. My pjs just happen to be more comfy than some clothes that I own. It isn't hurting anyone at all. If i can deal with watching big people walk around wearing tight clothing or some other bizarre things, someone can deal with seeing me walk in a store or what not for a sec in my monkey pants and white tshirt/hoddie.
    So you wear just everything once? And if you were to be really brave (:D ) and wear jeans out to drop off a dvd or pick up some milk once you got home you'd be taking them off again straight away? and then what put on your PJs? and what about them, do you wear each pair just once? cause if you do the laundry argument doesn't really stand up does it? I know not everyone wears PJs to bed, I don't unless its cold beyond belief (which usually means that I'm not in my own house where I can keep it perfectly warm) but most people don't wear them as outside clothes either.
    I'm not having a go at you or anything and in the grand scheme of things it doesn't matter a damn but personally I find it weird that people do it. Also the comfort argument doesn't really work for me either because that means that you must spend everyday while at work in the utmost discomfort in ordinary clothes:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I very nearly set up a website dedicated to the Pyjama People of Dublin, but I figured if I went around taking pictures of girls in their pyjamas, I'd either get a serious kicking, or end up in prison..

This subject gets raised on Boards in various different sections, every few months. I'm actually surprised when I hear that some people still haven't witnessed it. But then I remember, that it's mainly the city centre that it occurs.

It grosses me out tbh.. And you begin to wonder if they're wearing underwear. Did they just get out of bed? Have they gotten dressed at all in the last few days? Are they not cold as they brave the weather to get to the local Spar?

I think it's one of those things that will always be there..

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭littlesurfer

i saw a girl in pink pj's the other day....riding a bike down the street!! now thats a step too far i reckon....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

I think people wear pajamas out 'cause they're comfortable. I know a girl who wears them to class each day too... haha.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,236 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

i saw a girl in pink pj's the other day....riding a bike down the street!! now thats a step too far i reckon....

Wouldn't the PJ legs get caught in her spokes? How did she manage?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

But why do the Mammy penguins make the arduous journey to get the food? Surely its a job for Daddy penguin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

DaBreno wrote:
    *Cough*. Good evening Sir, Might I enquire to the names of these clubs?

Haven't a clue....unfortunately :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

Pighead wrote:
    But why do the Mammy penguins make the arduous journey to get the food? Surely its a job for Daddy penguin.

At first I was like "Huh??" then I remembered your post in the other thread.
    Yes. It does cause confusion.

Carry on....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Those women - to me - are about as welcome as a fart in a spacesuit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Get over yourselves! Who cares what other people wear as long as it doesn't affect you, really none of anyones business. I am guilty of going around in my pyjamas but not into town centre or anything. If its a rainy Monday and i've rolled out of bed for lectures i'll throw on a hoodie and go get milk in mace. It save time and plus i get home in time to watch doctor phil with a cup of tea and still be in my pjs. Obviously I dress properly the rest of the time. Try it! Ignore the gawking/beeping/laughing though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

fade2black wrote:
    Students.
    Bull****, we students can't afford pyjamas

• Registered Users Posts: 40,861 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

It's just the buggy pushin, hoop earred scummers that I've seen doing it. Bringing down poor Winnie the Pooh and Eeyore's reputations like that......Disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭RapierX

shur havent the gooks being doing it for years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

Pighead wrote:
    Like shopkeepers who have to be responsible by not selling cigarettes or alcohol to minors, clothes stores also have a responsibility not to sell sexy clothes to heffalumps.

ROFL,
    Oh sheesh, I'm easilly amused these days, this thread has me giggling like a pyjama'd schoolgirl!
    "Dublinpyjamapeople.com" somone *has* to do this!! LOL

Its rife around here, every day and night when I go to the local super-valu I see the latest range in sleep-atire, be it winnie the pooh or flannel. It is truly bizarre!
    And even weirder! Some recently have taken to wearing these skate-shoes along with the pj's!

You dont know what fear IS till you have had winnie the pooh in a blur of neon pink flannel holding what appears to be a 6-pack of cheap cider, hurtling down the frozen food isle towards you at 100mph at 10pm at night!!

Mentioned it to a neighbour once during a passing conversation, she pointed out that the majority were pushing buggies or looked like they had just had babies (ie: more than a bit disheveled), she's of the opinion that it might have started as now (specially in this area) kids are having kids and PJ's are more comfy when you have recently popped out a sprog! :eek:

*sigh, I remember a time when somone running about on skates wearing pj's would be escorted by a guarda home to whatever hospital or mental institution they had escaped from lol

LOL

B

• Registered Users Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

I've seen it a few times in Dublin but not yet in Carlow. Actually I think I'll start the trend. I'll pop over to tescos later in my jammies and gauge reactions.... I wonder is the the place ready for such horrors!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

flanzer wrote:
    Did I miss something here? Is this the latest fashion trend? Did we adopt this trend from our American friends of something?

A few weeks ago I was shopping in Tescos in Clare Hall on the Malahide Rd. and spotted 4 girls shopping in what looked like their pyjamas but wearing a jacket on top. Then on Tuesday night I went shopping again in the same store and spotted 3 different girls buying a load of drink at the checkout dressed in a similar attire (this time wearing slippers also!) Then when driving home I spotted 2 girls walking in what wouldn't be a 'good area' wearing similar night wear!!

Is this only happening at this shopping center or has this been seen elsewhere?

With Winter fast approaching, I'm worried for these people!!! :confused: :eek:
    I've heard of girls wearing pjs to their lectures in American colleges...
    people are just odd...
    tbh though I'd prefer that to seeing them wandering around in tiny miniskirts in the middle of winter... I don't want to see someone's thighs on the bus, thanks! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭fifib

on my way to work this morning woman hopped outta her car to drop her kids to school. not only did she hold up a whole road full of traffic but she was in her pjs n furry slippers...no shame
    id be mortified if my mum ever dropped me to school still in her pjs. id disown her :p

Brought this up a while ago in the thread 'knackers in pyjamas'!

If anyone has not witnessed this phenomenon then click on the attachment..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

oooooh I am sooo tempted to steal the idea and do the website dedicated to pjpeople

ok so I went ahead and reg'ed that domain :)

dublinpyjamapeople.com :)

So start you picture grabbing - pyjamas@vertigoproductions.biz

I will organise a gallery over the next few days so people can post directly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

lol this should be fun.
    Must remember to post the link on various tourist boards! ;)

B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

Seen a half dozen of them in Limerick.One walking down O Connell St[main st] in the POURING RAIN!!!! And wearing pink fluffy slippers!!!An No there were no lads in white coats with a big butterfly net after her either:D . I put it down to bone idle laziness or just missing an average of 100 IQ points.Either that or a new disease is upon us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

someone stick up some pics im curious as to how stupid these knackers look.

we dont get pyjama people down here in carlow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 nasher

If these "ladies" are dressed in their jammies all day and night ,do they change their underwear?!!:confused: also why do they bother putting on a full orange face and their lovely gold earrings if they are not going to change out of their nightwear!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

My ma goes to the shop with her dressing gown on :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

This trend gets the official fap mod seal of disapproval tbh.