Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pimp my home - Attic conversion megamerge

• Registered Users Posts: 17 pipzeus

JanneG- Just wondering what the total of your attic came to as a matter of interest? I am in a 2 bed and I do feel 20K is a little excessive especially in today's climate.

Did anyone consider putting in a small en-suite? I spoke with a builder who mentioned I wouldn't lose too much space off the room...? Has anyone tried this? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 pipzeus

Matt,
    Just wondering do I need an engineer/ architect cert if the attic is considered 'storage' as opposed to a bedroom?

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Matt Le Tissue

I think the cert is more for structural reasons, as in if you remove wooden joists then you must replace them with load bearing steel ones etc etc.
    However I do think the cert also allows you to call your conversion a "bedroom". But you can check this out with your builder. I'm no expert.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Matt Le Tissue

pipzeus wrote: »
    JanneG- Just wondering what the total of your attic came to as a matter of interest? I am in a 2 bed and I do feel 20K is a little excessive especially in today's climate.

Did anyone consider putting in a small en-suite? I spoke with a builder who mentioned I wouldn't lose too much space off the room...? Has anyone tried this? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

we didn't get an en suite, not enough room, but we were offered a wc, we declined though..
    If you have more than 1 bathroom or loo in your house, why bother taking up floor space with another one?
    Although if you have daughters then perhaps an extra en suite could be called for?

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Earlsie

Hi Folks,

Quickly skimmed through this thread so appologies if I have misssed this already,

I have 3 Bed Mid-Terrace (Charlesland Court), any Ideas on how much to convert attic and if anyone has done so have they any pictures,not sure in the current climate if its worth the money.

Cheers

Earlsie

• Registered Users Posts: 386 ✭✭JanneG

The total inc. VAT was close-ish to your quotation of €20K but then I don't know what's included in that quotation.

Forgot to mention that a radiator was included in the €14K + VAT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 bobafet

I am new to this site and I'm hoping someone can help me with my query. I am thinking of converting my attic (2 Bed Terraced House, Charlesland with front kitchen). I was wondering if anyone has removed the original wall of the back bedroom, created a new wall for the now smaller bedroom and ran the staircase up the outside of this???

Any photos? Would really appreciate any advice that can be offered on this!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Hi Bob...welcome to Greystones and Charlesland forum!

There has already been a number of threads started and you'll find the megamerge thread here with all the info:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054916485

For photos you can look at this site: http://www.cdbc.ie
    and the photos are here

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 AMM

I live in a three bedroom terraced house in Eden Gate. I have 2 young kids and would like to add more space to the house. I am considering converting my attic at the moment and in time may also consider extending. Has anyone else in a similar postion in the area converted their attic and/or extended? If so, would you have any recommendations for builders? Did you find the attic conversion a better option than putting on a traditional extension? With the property market in freefall at the moment, I do not think moving is an option for the foreseeable future. Any feedback welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,253 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Friends of ours extended the kitchen and put in an amazing living area there. It really looked great. It took up half the garden, but there was still enough space for a decent deck and lawn. He is very handy though, so did lots the work himself and was able to supervise the bits he couldn't do so he wouldn't really have a number I could get for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 AMM

Do you know if their house is a three or four bed as they are very different layouts? Three bed house has kitchen to the front whereas four bed has kitchen in the back.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,253 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Their kitchen was to the back, but I didn't think it was a 3 bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Hammiepeters

AMM wrote: »

I live in a three bedroom terraced house in Eden Gate. I have 2 young kids and would like to add more space to the house. I am considering converting my attic at the moment and in time may also consider extending. Has anyone else in a similar postion in the area converted their attic and/or extended? If so, would you have any recommendations for builders? Did you find the attic conversion a better option than putting on a traditional extension? With the property market in freefall at the moment, I do not think moving is an option for the foreseeable future. Any feedback welcome.
    Just having a 3 bed EOT attic converted at the moment. Michael Scanlon of Dorm Quality Developments id doing it. Doing a great job. PM me if you want his number.

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭Moobui

Does anyone know of anyone who has done an attic conversion in the 4 bed EOT in Eden Gate? We live in one of these houses and would like to get the attic converted but I am not sure it is possible due to the roof?

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭sso

Just wondering if anyone has had a recent quote for attic conversion on a two bed in Charlesland Park. We'd like to convert and would like to do as much of the work ourselves as possible (othr half is pretty handy). Obviously stairs, plumming, and windows we would leave to experts. We'd like to put in an ensuite ideally also. Any prices with descriptions of what is covered would be gratefully recieved.

Many thanks
    SSO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Newcomers

SSO,

We got it done for €15k in total. Used a company called CHI Attics, www.atticconversions.ie. They did an amazing job, really neat, and used a specialist for each part (plastering, electrical, joinery, etc).

For that we had a new wall erected in the back room, new door and stairs to attic put it, attic floored & insulated, big velux window with blackout blinds, lighting, smoke alarm, electric radiator (our choice, could have got a radiator connected to heating), storage area with access under both eaves, architects cert of compliance. Everything we needed was included, with option extras available which we didn't want.

Hope this helps

I have see some of their work before but not in Charlesland. Very neat and tidy I have to say (and experienced)
    Newcomers wrote: »
    new door and stairs to attic

Each roof is always slightly different...just wondering how many joists did you end up cutting through to get the stairs in?
    Newcomers wrote: »
    architects cert of compliance.

Also what is the cert of compliance for? What is the work complying with?

thanks for that. I'l give them a call. Any other suggestions? Just thought it might make sense to make a few calls and get a couple of quotes.

SSO

Hi again.

I got an quote from an independent trades person today. Person seemed to know what they were talking about and I got a good feeling. It was less than 10K for convertion with stairs, velux window and an ensuite bathroom. Only thing not covered would be painting and carpet and tiling (as we said we'd do those things to keep cost down).

I asked about a cert of compliance and was told that I'd have to contact an engineer for one.

What do you think?

SSO

If anyone would be willing for us to have a look at their attic conversions could you PM me. I would love to see what a finished product looks like and how much space the stairs take up.

Thanks a million
    SSO.

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Mullie

Can you PM me the details of the guy you got the 10k quote from?
    I just got a quote of 15k from CHI attics, their work looks great but I'm told by a trademan I know that 15k is far too much at the moment. 10k is about right.

€10k?! Come on...these guys won't have any insurance at that rate.

Hi Mullie,

I PM'd you.

SSO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭woofie87

sso wrote: »
    Hi Mullie,

I PM'd you.

SSO

hi sso could you please PM me that guy's details as well? Thanks a mill

pm sent
    SSO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 JAYG

We had our attic converted just over a year ago. Two bed mid.
    It cost about €17k un decorated and after the fitted sliding robe and paint etc probably cost €20k

The 17K included moving the back bedroom wall and installing staircase.
    We are very happy with the conversion and it is the largest room, we didnt go for on suite though as for two of is it really wasnt worth it.

I will post some pictures so you can see what you can get.

I would have to look up the guy that did it for us, i think he was Bray based.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 JAYG

Here are some pics.
    It is hard to see on pictures the size of the room and height of the ceiling but it gives you an idea.

attic.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Barn Owl

Fair play to you, that looks really well but I am trying to figure out from the picture how you managed not to go in on the bedrooms? Did you move the hot press up into the attic or how did you do it? We have 2 bed terraced, and when you come up the stairs the hot press is immediately to your right and the first bedroom is immediately left.......
    Would like to know how NOT to infringe on one of the bedrooms...
    We had thought of going up again where the hot press is and moving the tank etc up into the attic....has anyone done this? Is it possible?
    Thanks guys :confused:

Barn Owl wrote: »
    Would like to know how NOT to infringe on one of the bedrooms...

By the look of the work in the above pictures, the back bedroom was compromised. The wall for the back bedroom would have been where the handrail for the new stairs is now! So about 3 foot off the back bedroom (with alcove under the stairs).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭trustno1

sso wrote: »
    Hi again.

I got an quote from an independent trades person today. Person seemed to know what they were talking about and I got a good feeling. It was less than 10K for convertion with stairs, velux window and an ensuite bathroom. Only thing not covered would be painting and carpet and tiling (as we said we'd do those things to keep cost down).

I asked about a cert of compliance and was told that I'd have to contact an engineer for one.

What do you think?

SSO

Hi SSO,

Just wondering - did you go ahead with the conversion?, and if so how did you get on?.. thinking about getting my own attic converted seeing as the prices seemed to have dropped a lot!.. ;)