Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The All Ireland Senior Football Quarter Final Group Stages

• Registered Users Posts: 67,121 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

ArielAtom wrote: »
    And you are in denial. So funny it’s sad.

Kerry's goal came from a Monaghan move on goal that broke down, way up on the wing. That is a move on goal. when we were 3 points up.

That was not playing possession football that is going for a score.

You are making Dub supporters look ridiculous now, you should just stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Dont know about that. They conceded quite a similar one last week v the same opposition!

Ahh I don't know.

It was game over last week. Galway had Kerry well beaten, the goal today and last week were chalk and cheese imo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭LoughNeagh2017

The last Quarter Final game in Clones was in 2001, Derry then lost to Galway the next game, there is a fact for any superstitious people.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,777 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Kerry's goal came from a Monaghan move on goal that broke down, way up on the wing. That is a move on goal. when we were 3 points up.

That was not playing possession football that is going for a score.

You are making Dub supporters look ridiculous now, you should just stop.

1-16 to 0-15 in the 67 minute. Perhaps possession football was the better option Francie.

Patww79 wrote: »

Who knows.

It's aggravating to listen to a couple of Dub supporters STILL having a hissy fit because somebody criticised their 10-15 minutes of negativity two weeks ago.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    1-16 to 0-15 in the 67 minute. Perhaps possession football was the better option Francie.

I was always of the opinion that attack was the best form of defence.
    We'll get over it. This is great squad of committed players, they will be ready to give their all against Galway, have no doubt.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,267 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I was always of the opinion that attack was the best form of defence.
    We'll get over it. This is great squad of committed players, they will be ready to give their all against Galway, have no doubt.

Well, maybe you have learned your lesson now, and will appreciate the ability of a superior team to control the game and see it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭munster87

Who knows.

It's aggravating to listen to a couple of Dub supporters STILL having a hissy fit because somebody criticised their 10-15 minutes of negativity two weeks ago.

Ye really should have taken a leaf out of their book today. Kerry were gone and there should have been no opportunity to get back into that game. That’s why Dublin hold possession like they do I suppose!

You saw in the other thread how the goal came about.
    These things happen in the GAA all the time.

I was more than happy with Monaghan's performance today. We have nothing to fear in Salthill and could now go on to top the group.

Perish the day we play 10-15 minutes of disrespectful negative ****e though.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,363 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Monaghan were very unlucky not to have won today.

Fair play to the young Kerry players who stood up and were counted today. Our 3 best players were 19, 19 and 20.

The expected reaction from a lot of corners never came. A lot of Kerry players hitting a serious lull in form.

Paul Geaney, David Moran, Jack Barry, Darren O'Sullivan, Peter Crowley, Paul Murphy and James O'Donoghue all finding things very difficult these last 2 weeks.

It's out of our hands now, and we can have no complaints if Monaghan go out (as I expect) and beat Galway.

If that is the case the 2 best teams in the group so far will have progressed.

If we are lucky enough to beat Kildare and Galway beat Monaghan, then we have a lot of work to do to prepare for Dublin.

Fantastic day in Clones. Great stadium. Great town. Great supporters. A real plus for the Super 8's, getting to play a championship game in a historic ground.

DDC1990 wrote: »

Fantastic day in Clones. Great stadium. Great town. Great supporters. A real plus for the Super 8's, getting to play a championship game in a historic ground.

Have to agree. It looked and was a fantastic place to be today.

Such a shame the cityslickers of the GAA want to move it all to Belfast. They will be tearing part of the soul out of the game.

I said it earlier, they need to work hard on keeping the intensity and concentration up in the second half's.

Even Beggan's kickouts were lazy when it mattered.

One of those things Pat, if we'd tacked on two or three points there would be nobody talking about naivety.

We'll pick ourselves up and dust ourselves down and build on the 3 points we have.
    We didn't lose and to listen to some here we should be crawling into a hole in shame. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

One of those things Pat, if we'd tacked on two or three points there would be nobody talking about naivety.

We'll pick ourselves up and dust ourselves down and build on the 3 points we have.
    We didn't lose and to listen to some here we should be crawling into a hole in shame. :)

You will prob have an open top bus parade for making super 8s

Dr. Bre wrote: »

:D:D:D Well if somebody had offered me in June that we would have 3 points in the Super 8's after two hard competitive games and that a semi final was in our own hands, I would have taken the hand off them.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭DONTMATTER

It's not nice to see negative play get encouraged. It's a scourge on the game the same as many other aspects. Not good to watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

Dr. Bre wrote: »

Prob should have had that by now so? Dumb post.

Any truth in the rumour that Mickey Harte is saying that Sky actually wanted Healy Park narrowed for their equipment?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Any truth in the rumour that Mickey Harte is saying that Sky actually wanted Healy Park narrowed for their equipment?

Correct, read that today.

Sky needed the space for their cables or something so asked the groundsman if it was possible. He asked Harte who said do what needs to be done for them

How true it is I suppose is anyone's guess

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Correct, read that today.

Sky needed the space for their cables or something so asked the groundsman if it was possible. He asked Harte who said do what needs to be done for them

Heard that today on the golf course and just thpught the lads were taking the p1ss. Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,267 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Monaghan look more and more like the new Mayo. Destined to always fall short.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Fann Linn wrote:

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/mickey-harte-blames-sky-for-the-decision-to-narrow-the-healy-park-pitch-for-dublin-showdown-37142101.html