If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact [email protected]

Severe Weather Snow / Ice Weds 28 FEB ( Onwards ) ** READ MOD NOTE POST#1**

• 28-02-2018 8:27pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

MOD NOTE

This is a busy thread and as a result the Mod Team will be taking a zero Tolerance approach to trolling, flaming and personal abuse.

Don’t say you weren’t warned!!

And please don’t feed - report & let the Mod team deal with Troublesome Posters/Trolls

Time to start a new thread as the other one reaches its capacity!

I'm sure kermit.de.frog will add a forecast and keep it updated for us.

So to kick it off a few mouth watering charts of the snow and cold potential over the coming days, stay safe.

Looking very windy going into Thurs night and look at those windchill readings!

tempresult_bhk0.gif

tempresult_dir2.gif

nmm_uk1-45-35-4_djj8.png

nmm_uk1-32-18-4_zby1.png

nmm_uk1-32-30-4_vtx3.png

nmm_uk1-43-17-4_wgd8.png

tempresult_oxn9.gif

arpegeuk-45-57-0_lkt5.png

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Biblical snowfall here in Cork the last 3 hours. With all the concentration on Storm Emma this has been overlooked.
    An immediate red is warranted

Cork was added to the red warning at 8pm per Met Eireann.

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭twinkletoes

Oneiric 3 wrote: »
    Just watching the 9 news here, and I have to say the panic they are promoting is incredible. 'Stay indoors from 4pm tomorrow'. 'Dangerous blizzard' etc. Have we moved to North Korea?

We are not used to blizzards in this country but as far as I know they are extremely dangerous to be out in as you literally can't see a thing and could easily get lost/hurt/in serious accident etc- they are right to warn people - its actually genuinely serious.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭star gazer

Biblical snowfall here in Cork the last 3 hours. With all the concentration on Storm Emma this has been overlooked.
    An immediate red is warranted
    Warnings
    STATUS RED

Snow-ice Warning for Dublin, Kildare, Louth, Wexford, Wicklow, Meath, Cork and Waterford

Update
    Further disruptive heavy snow showers are expected overnight with significant accumulations.
    Issued:
    Wednesday 28 February 2018 20:00
    Valid:
    Wednesday 28 February 2018 20:00 to Thursday 01 March 2018 12:00

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,595 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Looking good for the return of the beast to south Dublin!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

awww poor pascal being made do a live report out in that freezing cold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

New thread? Sweet :) We've had snow fairly consistently in Kilcock since before 6pm now

• Registered Users Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

poor pascal being made do a weather report out in that freezing cold

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

How does Pascal in Cork not know that Cork has been put in a red warning since 8pm tonight?!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

New thread hype! Netweather showing quite a few heavy bands of snow heading towards cork city. This is great!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Just watching Pascal live on RTÉ News - the real capital covered in snow looks spectacular :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭Saganist

South Dublin could be up in the next half hour / hour.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,406 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Tenner bet this new thread is going to cause 20 minutes of confusion :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭degsie

Full moon out, looking good.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

DOCARCH wrote: »

Beautifully specific

May north dublin bathe in a drizzly gloom for the rest of time

• Registered Users Posts: 847 ✭✭✭wicklowdub

Streamers finally setting up nicely for Wicklow/South Dublin in the next hour or so

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭nimrod86

Finally! Migrated from Wicklow this morning to family in Sandyford to hopefully get more snow! Got to play in the stuff from last night, but need more for an igloo!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

What are those feckin flying yokes on the weather supposed to be?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

Absolutely hammering it down in East Galway, that streamer all the way from Wales has really delivered here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭thomil

Speaking of cold. Snowing pretty nicely again out here in Ballincollig. Temperature now -2.6°C, with a dew point of -4°C. And that big blob on the radar has yet to reach us.

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Looks like Cork City is about to be hammered:

2695fad0b17afa34d4ceee5f56773d66.png

Irish Sea lighting up like a christmas tree again:

526ddb922c5b5a3cc327060deac1d307.png

Hang on to your snowmen!

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭AAAAAAAAA

antodeco wrote: »
    Tenner bet this new thread is going to cause 20 minutes of confusion :D

we bet loaves of bread round these parts

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Stephen Hawkins football boots

Great, Dundrum- sandyford or is that too specific

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Been waiting for this shower in South Dublin for sooooo long... think I'll have a nice bubble bath instead while listening to The Blizzards.

• Registered Users Posts: 847 ✭✭✭wicklowdub

Slight downgrade on the update after the 9.00pm news?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

This can be the #StormEmma Blizzard thread!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,835 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Hi Mod, will there be a link to the former thread, some great pics and info there. Hope you don't mind me asking as that is all I am doing!

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,406 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

nmm_uk1-32-18-4_zby1.png

Jaysus. -78 in Kerry!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

So how long will it be before the usual suspects blame the government for this coming events?

Its already started.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

wicklowdub wrote: »
    Slight downgrade on the update after the 9.00pm news?

None at all , all systems go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Thursday 28th???

Wednesday 28th or Thursday 1st Surely!