Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Hopefully all just precaution but an unfortunate start for Brid Stack in Australia

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2021/0117/1190269-all-ireland-winner-stack-hospitalised-in-australia/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,385 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Looks like it's not as serious as first thought, erring on the side of caution and that she will make a full recovery.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,826 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

If the fans of Cork GAA allow the deal with British worker abuse Kings Sports Direct, they might as well give up any further pretence of caring one eff about their principles in Gaelic games.

They might as well ground share PUC with Cork City FC, might as well allow hare coursing on the pitch, might as well let the National Party hold its AGM in the conference suite.

Not to mention that Cork GAA taking the Queen's shilling in a post Brexit world would make many great GAA people and nationalists puke in their graves.

If the fans won't oppose it, Croke Park must intervene. If that means breaking the contract and opening CGAA up to liability, then Croke Park can use it as an excuse to dismiss the mongrels in PUC who thought it was just grand to sign this deal in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

Larbre34 wrote: »
    If the fans of Cork GAA allow the deal with British worker abuse Kings Sports Direct, they might as well give up any further pretence of caring one eff about their principles in Gaelic games.

They might as well ground share PUC with Cork City FC, might as well allow hare coursing on the pitch, might as well let the National Party hold its AGM in the conference suite.

Not to mention that Cork GAA taking the Queen's shilling in a post Brexit world would make many great GAA people and nationalists puke in their graves.

If the fans won't oppose it, Croke Park must intervene. If that means breaking the contract and opening CGAA up to liability, then Croke Park can use it as an excuse to dismiss the mongrels in PUC who thought it was just grand to sign this deal in the first place.

Alot of bile and vitriol in that post. Probably abit of anti British sentiment aswell which is prevalent in certain sectors in Ireland and its not nice. Lots of republican tropes 'Queens shilling' is a classic ...im surprised you didn't mention 'Crown forces'.
    Cork are after getting a great sponsorship deal. They arent a union or socialists. They are trying to pay off a large debt in a capitalist (best system ever) world. I say fair play to them

• Registered Users Posts: 21,138 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Not arguing any side but any sponsorship source has to be held to ethical standards. Personally I dislike soccer clubs being sponsored by betting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭RedRochey

Sure Dublin's sponsor's AIG had a major impact in the financial crisis and needed a $80billion bailout from the US government, don't see people saying Dublin should turn their back on them

Yes I would've preferred to seen a more local sponsor but as many people have pointed out, we're not in a position to be picky

• Registered Users Posts: 21,138 ✭✭✭✭Water John

They said Formula 1 wouldn't survive without cigarette advertising.

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

Where do we draw the line with ethics if that's your gripe? Gaa players all over the country are wearing football boots made by unethical factories in asia.

Sportsdirect employ plenty of Irish people in this country and haven't treated them badly. Would you like to see them let go? I can't stress enough that the Irish branch is separate to the UK one.

Ephie Fitzgerald staying with the ladies football for a 6th year, Paudie Murray staying with the camogie for a 10th year

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,385 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

That's good news.

new jersey due on Thursday. will be interesting to see how the logo looks, can't be much worse than Chill

https://www.echolive.ie/corksport/arid-40217561.html

• Registered Users Posts: 517 ✭✭✭benji79

new jersey due on Thursday. will be interesting to see how the logo looks, can't be much worse than Chill

https://www.echolive.ie/corksport/arid-40217561.html

I’m afraid it could be worse. Can’t see that logo looking great

• Registered Users Posts: 5,418 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Tomás Clancy has retired from inter county football. He had an injury that kept him out last season.

Best wishes to him while he continues to play for his club after he recovers.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,034 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Photos of the new Jersey doing the rounds. Extremely boring looking unfortunately

• Registered Users Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Coneygree

DuffleBag wrote: »
    Photos of the new Jersey doing the rounds. Extremely boring looking unfortunately

Thought it'd be worse. I was expecting a big fat rectangle of royal blue to be smack in the middle of the jersey.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Nash Bridges

DuffleBag wrote: »

It's an improvement on the Chill logo.

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭raddo

It's an improvement on the Chill logo.

Well they slipped up there first day by not using this one. Prototype.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

48 euro on Sportsdirect and 70 on O'Neills.... why?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,034 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

No personalisation options is disappointing

Kids love getting the number of their favourite player or their names etc

Wonder why we've now two stripes?

Decent saving from oneills but I bet that price will go up

Weird spot lads but the shirts on O'Neills have 3 stripes and on Sportsdirect have 2 stripes....

Nice looking Jersey. Better than what I was expecting.

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭raddo

As far as I'm aware, the 3 striped versions of all O'Neills gear can only be sold in Ireland. 2 striped versions are for all other countries.
    Big difference in price for a stripe though

raddo wrote: »
    As far as I'm aware, the 3 striped versions of all O'Neills gear can only be sold in Ireland. 2 striped versions are for all other countries.
    Big difference in price for a stripe though
    Really? That's very very strange wow

• Registered Users Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Plastik

Yeah the video jerseys are clearly 3 stripes.

Funnily enough, the shorts the guy is wearing on the sportsdirect page have 3 stripes.

2 stripe versions are always cheaper on UK o'neills page.

• Registered Users Posts: 914 ✭✭✭thefa

Not gone on the song but the video has some lovely shots.

Probably a bit too much changing in one go. Liked the simplicity of the collar, shoulders and sleeves in O’Neills last template versus their new one plus the vertical stripes. Ideally would want the sports direct smaller but at least no blue. Will probably have to reserve final judgement until I see it in the flesh or we win silverware in it!

Adidas have 3 stripes exclusivity in the rest of the world I believe.