Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This weeks Classic Irish bargains that I'm not buying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Long Time Lurker

Piss take presumably?

I couldn't make up my mind !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

I'd say it's deadly serious, he's exploiting a loophole and blatantly adveritising it. Funny how he won't personally take responsibility for attaching vin and reg plates if he's sure it's so above board.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭kyote00

Seller is 'J Wayne" ? John Wayne .... cowboy ....
    Piss take presumably?

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭11wingnut

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭Bus Boy

The Jag was parked outside the Classic Car Show at the RDS for the weekend and looked clean. Passed it a couple of times on the way in.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/selection-of-hilman-cars/11902557

Surely a car, maybe car and pickup truck amongst all that.

Would be worth a look if it was cheap enough

• Registered Users Posts: 20,796 ✭✭✭✭cormie

"reasonable offers invited" - what would be a reasonable offer would anyone know? Are we to assume none of them are working?

Sceptre is sold

800 quid for the 2 hunters and a sandblasted shell

One hunter has dicky clutch one has stuck brakes

Theres a car in there somewhere

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Not bad if one of them is solid enough. At least you'd have a full spares car for the duration of ownership too

Yeah, I lack Time, Space and most importantly, Permission To undertake a task like this.

Ideally try to build a decent gls with the cleanest chassis and parts, see what can be salvaged from the rest, maybe enough for someone elses project, then make a pickup from the remainder, maybe use an e46 330 diesel as a donor

• Registered Users Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

53831711.jpeg
    'Out of the box new' with 138,000 miles on the clock :rolleyes:
    Can't fault his exuberance though. That is only thing I can't fault.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1990-toyota-corolla-out-of-the-box-new/11846349

The road to Hell is paved with good intentions.

• Registered Users Posts: 64,961 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Haha asking price €2,250 and the car hasn't even been NCT tested in what, 10 years?

With a long NCT there just might be someone out there offering a large 3 figure sum, or am I being optimistic there?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I think this is a cracking looking car - If I had the cash .......
    merc 7 seater

That's some collection of paperwork he has :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭w124man

RobAMerc wrote: »
    merc 7 seater

Dual climate control? Yeah right!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

merc 7 seater

It's in remarkable condition. The inside looks like new. Not my cup of tea, but for what it is that's a great price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Seoda1

1966 Jaguar E Type for auction at Merlin Car Auctions soon, I wonder how much it will sell for?

https://www.facebook.com/MerlinCarAuctions/posts/10153703988444833

• Registered Users Posts: 19,307 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Seoda1 wrote: »
    1966 Jaguar E Type for auction at Merlin Car Auctions soon, I wonder how much it will sell for?

https://www.facebook.com/MerlinCarAuctions/posts/10153703988444833

I'm sure it'll fetch silly money, but smaller silly money on account of being a 2+2.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

1981 Ford Escort for sale in Kerry. €3800

I've seen this and can can vouch for how tidy it is. Up on the ramp it looks like it just rolled out of the factory.

54513661.jpeg

I love this colour. Put the original V8 back in and some original wheels and it will be perfect.

Wonder what he is looking for....

53053638.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

1981 Ford Escort for sale in Kerry. €3800

I've seen this and can can vouch for how tidy it is. Up on the ramp it looks like it just rolled out of the factory.

54513661.jpeg

Sorry to pull you up, but the left hand quarter, rear under the bumper, and rear right corner are showing damage. And the price. I'd be expecting a mint XR3 for that money.

It seems like yesterday I was being given yokes like that for nothing.

That range rover looks a lot newer than '79 :eek:

What would be a good price to pay for something like that? 82K miles is crazy for a 37 year old car!

Have to agree with Pablo there, I know a lot of Irish lad's get off on Ford's but I don't think one of those is worth any more than a grand unless it's a hot version.

pablo128 wrote: »
    Sorry to pull you up, but the left hand quarter, rear under the bumper, and rear right corner are showing damage. And the price. I'd be expecting a mint XR3 for that money.

It seems like yesterday I was being given yokes like that for nothing.

Sorry about that, just that I saw that car in the flesh ( and underneath) and its very nice. I didnt say it was mint, just tidy.

I'm sure it would be very nice if you got it for nothing. :D Most classic car buyers in Ireland think that way....

I'm sure you could pick up mint early xr3i's for that money. Whats odd is that sometimes people don't.

kev1.3s wrote: »
    Have to agree with Pablo there, I know a lot of Irish lad's get off on Ford's but I don't think one of those is worth any more than a grand unless it's a hot version.

Possibly. But I would assume that the market for the hot version would be different from the lads who just want an original standard example of the car.

Like I sy, there's plenty who would like to pay a grand or significantly less for it, then stick it on ebay in the UK for a lot more.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,421 ✭✭✭tc20

merc 7 seater

that was for sale not too long ago, it used to belong to Quenching, who posts here occasionally. IIRC he spent sometime sourcing it from the UK and brought it in from the UK

Possibly. But I would assume that the market for the hot version would be different from the lads who just want an original standard example of the car.

Like I sy, there's plenty who would like to pay a grand or significantly less for it, then stick it on ebay in the UK for a lot more.

I agree that the market here is depressed and I think that the reason for that is because a lot of classic cars that pop up on done deal here are rubbish which people use to reference price.
    Fords have always held a premium in this country for one reason or another which I don't understand, I'm not saying anyone's wrong but it's not my particular affection. Mk1 and 2's had scaled crazy prices in the boom with having good rally heratage and rear wheel drive but have come down considerably in the last few years and it's only to be expected that the mk3's will follow suit by association but I still believe that mk3 to be over priced whatever you look at it, even in the uk where there is much more of them still on the road as daily drivers.

No opinions on that range rover folks? What would be a decent price to pay on it. Just thinking classic tax and no NCT requirement, it could something I'd be interested in, I just have absolutely no clue what it'd be worth.

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭fivesixtwo

In reply to questions on RR , you are correct in some aspects , that car could be worth a lot more if it were original ,

ie 1. Engine and transmission.
    2. Interior , later seats and steering wheel fitted.
    3. Bonnet , wrong lettering ,
    4. Wheels , back bumper and body trims , not original .

Maybe it just intended to be a daily runner instead of a true restoration project .better to see the plate on a 2 door anyway , rather than a disco 2 or p38.