Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

And the winner of dreamer of the year is... Part 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I Was VB wrote: »
    Still I reckon it’s about €4K overpriced with a fresh nct and immaculate bodywork.

Your correct with lads dragging shook looking motors from a hedge and asking stupid money.

Now this is dreamer territory

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/vintage-cars/25583752

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Dallara

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Cars become rare, it’s always been this way. A 3 door e30 was way more rare in its time than a 3 door Escort was in its day, and prices for shells will also go crazy on e30s.
    Humdrum cars that nobody sees the value in when they’ve hit rock bottom go up in value too, again it’s always been this way.

I bought 4 E30s all 2 doors during this "sweet spot" circa 2009. The most I paid was 400eur, for a "red" (faded to pink on bonnet and boot, white on roof) drove it away and performed a full mech restoration, and sorted all the rust underneath... I left the exterior body exactly as found, except a large section of paint that was burned off from welding up the rear quarter. I didnt have any red paint to paint over the burned section, so i used what I had, metallic blue hammerite..! It had a Lexus IS200 rear wing spoiler, 89KK263 It was the best "drivers car" I ever owned, I had a 2 inch thick history file full of receipts the man who bought it from me asked "What would I want that for?"

That broke my heart...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Where are these corolla prices coming from, theses things aren't worth any more than 500 or 600

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-si/25798001

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

That's a 3dr 1.6, i think he's not a million miles away. You'd probably buy it for 1700 or so. It has all the things Corolla people want in one, the Si interior, 4 spoke steering wheel, white face instrument cluster, power windows and sunroof.

I agree when you see 1.3 saloons going for 4 and 5k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

That's nice little car. I'd have it, No bother.

I know it's an si and as much of a E10 Corolla fan that I am, if that was very clean with nothing to do to it I could justify that price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,500 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

PsychoPete wrote: »
    Where are these corolla prices coming from, theses things aren't worth any more than 500 or 600

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-si/25798001

Because some youngfella up around Louth, Leitrim, Cavan is looking at that right now and touching himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

That's a 3dr 1.6, i think he's not a million miles away. You'd probably buy it for 1700 or so. It has all the things Corolla people want in one, the Si interior, 4 spoke steering wheel, white face instrument cluster, power windows and sunroof.

I agree when you see 1.3 saloons going for 4 and 5k.

That's a beauty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-t230-very-rare/25801422

YmM1ZmQ1MDE3Y2RkM2U0YjFhMTgyMzI5YmYyYjI5Y2YWKA63Ckp5r-4uYO_HxMMHaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTUyMTMzMzN8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Original Irish Focus t230, 2.0 turbo.

Is something like this worth €10k? Hasn't had an NCT in 10 years!

Who knows, I doubt even the seller does.

But, it's a very rare fast Ford of a mk1 Focus. I'd say it would surprise you how much it could be worth to the right person. Having said that the seller could of cleaned it up and taken much better pictures of it to at least justify the price. It doesn't look that bad but if you're going asking top dollar a set of mats and a decent camera would really have helped it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Lose the max power rear lights, they're not standard.

There was a wine one in Cork when they were newish. Owner let me take it for a spin at the time. There was some kick from the turbo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Vittu

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-t230-very-rare/25801422

YmM1ZmQ1MDE3Y2RkM2U0YjFhMTgyMzI5YmYyYjI5Y2YWKA63Ckp5r-4uYO_HxMMHaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTUyMTMzMzN8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Original Irish Focus t230, 2.0 turbo.

Not my cup of tea, front wheel looks way too small for that arch I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,478 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Not strictly dreamer perhaps but these Ssangyong things are crazily overpriced. No wonder sales are so poor.

I’m sorry but at this money I’d be off to me local Ford dealer to order a nice new Focus ST line thanks very much. Small SUV my arse.

I just found this vehicle on Carzone.ie https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/ssangyong/tivoli/used-2020-202-ssangyong-tivoli-1-6-di-dublin-fpa-202007271731798

Im not sure if he's trying to convince himself of the punters with that video. "It's a really, really good car..." i dont know if front fogs, front AND rear electric windows and rear cup holders will cut the mustard for the guts of €30k in 2020. Imagine that yoke owed you €112 a week for 5 years.

Dreadful car- I could almost forgive it if the price was €20k but I’d still say it was ****e and buy a used focus or golf. The circa 2010 Hyundai style interior is something to behold. Reminds of the I30 a few generations back

By way of comparison...for at least 3k less here’s what you could be driving instead-
    I just found this vehicle on Carzone.ie https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/ford/focus/used-2020-202-ford-focus-st-line-1-5t-dublin-fpa-202009033283656

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Ahhhhhh, my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

A 2001 PT Cruiser is hardly a vintage car that was a barn find, what state was it in in order to spend thousands restoring it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,320 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Sweet Jesus that's shocking. They're supposed to be a thirsty dog of a yoke. The late Ted Connolly who wrote for car mechanics had one. Thirst and reliability were his main gripes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

Hurrache wrote: »
    A 2001 PT Cruiser is hardly a vintage car
    That's what I was thinking. In whose mind is a 19 year old car vintage? It's not even qualified as classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Horrible car but it has one of the cleanest engine bays I've ever seen!

I like his garage too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

The goggles do nothing....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 ShockChance

Its best not to try and understand the thought process of the owner

It reminds me of the car from national lampoon's vacation movie

1438045188-0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Whoever thought wood panels was or would be the thing......

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Whoever thought wood panels was or would be the thing......

Nice in a shed - oh, wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

This is a bit pricey. worth around 9k and that's thinking dealer price too.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/suzuki-swift-sport-1-6-petrol/26003024

ZmM0Njg1MmQ0ZjI4N2M1NTAwMmFjMzVlODk0M2U5NzYEpiAUB884YADk3XLB43QsaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTY5NjYwMTB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Thought that was atleast 3.5k to expensive. Was thinking of going for another of those Swifts, loved mine pretty fun little car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Killinator

Does that even include VRT on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Killinator wrote: »
    Does that even include VRT on it?

I do not know really bad ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

I do not know really bad ad.

Not showing the UK reg either

Pretty niche market there on that.

And by niche I mean nobody in their right mind would buy that even if it was half the price.

A nearly new Swift would not be a whole pile more would it? Granted lower grade engine but I think i'd take the more up to date spec over a 5 year old one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,364 ✭✭✭.red.

It's even been covid tested till December

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Dunno if it’s a dreamer tbh. It’s not a lot of money really, and when are you gonna find another one?

If you’re into that sort of thing, this would be a great first classic IMO.
    It’s in the right colour, tiny mileage etc.

Yeah I agree, nice tidy car. 3k not a lot of money these days. Somebody will snap that up soon.

If you think that Mazda is bad, check out this

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/car/26039307

ZDFmNmUzODI5ZTQwZjZlNzc2Y2MxODkxYTE0MTQyNDmOvINtpkthsAsRU1SG29sTaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTczMjEyMzB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

€5750!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭dzsfah2xoynme9

ZDFmNmUzODI5ZTQwZjZlNzc2Y2MxODkxYTE0MTQyNDmOvINtpkthsAsRU1SG29sTaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTczMjEyMzB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

€5750!

For that money you'd think they'd give you an interior photo.
    Absolutely horrible thing. Horrible to be in and even worse to drive..

€5750!
    I spotted that this morning. It's a mad price. Has automatic Corolla XLi fever moved on to Opel Astra's now?

As regards the Mazda, if it's as good as it looks and genuinely needs nothing I think 3k isn't far off the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I don’t think anyone has fond memories of 90s Astras unless they got a bit of action in the back of one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

I don’t think anyone has fond memories of 90s Astras unless they got a bit of action in the back of one.

I had a few saloons when I was 17-18 and the nostalgia I get from seeing them pop up is fantastic.

Think between myself and my friends we went through 7 or 8 of them. None of them ever had a passenger mirror though.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-x3-2-5i-se-5dr/26016978

ZGU0NDdkMTQwMGQ0ZjU4MjI3OGY5M2Q3ZDQ4NGY0N2LPL8Pf5cjiCVcDcm-apQrqaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTcwOTkyNTV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Lovely looking example with a nice engine, but no hope of getting €7k for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,516 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    No NCT and 1080 tax. they will be looking at that for a while at that price

I would be suspicious of the mileage too. The interior, and especially the steering wheel makes me doubt the 125k on the clock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭at9qu5vp0wcix7

Tzardine wrote: »
    I would be suspicious of the mileage too. The interior, and especially the steering wheel makes me doubt the 125k on the clock.

12 cent per km in tax alone over its life

Were they not very good for what they were? I’ve never driven one but they had a very good name at the time?

Another Ssanyong bargain...
    forget that RAV4 or 5008 when you could have all this luxury and glamour for a €5 under €40k!!!
    I just found this vehicle on Carzone.ie https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/ssangyong/korando/used-2020-201-ssangyong-korando-elx-p-carlow-fpa-202005289613190

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-x3-2-5i-se-5dr/26016978

ZGU0NDdkMTQwMGQ0ZjU4MjI3OGY5M2Q3ZDQ4NGY0N2LPL8Pf5cjiCVcDcm-apQrqaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTcwOTkyNTV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Lovely looking example with a nice engine, but no hope of getting €7k for it!

That’s utterly sale proof. If it was sub 3k it would be hard shift. It’s from a dealer and they went to the trouble of giving it a detail but couldn’t be arsed pushing out that dent in the rear.

Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,516 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

That’s utterly sale proof. If it was sub 3k it would be hard shift. It’s from a dealer and they went to the trouble of giving it a detail but couldn’t be arsed pushing out that dent in the rear.

Ugh.
    or sticking it through an NCT