Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

And the winner of dreamer of the year is... Part 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

homer90 wrote: »

Whats with the seats?

Good luck getting 2250 for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Sure that's the way you sit. Lean back so you can only see further out the road and drive over kids if they run out in front of you as it's out of your vision. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

I love the picture of the crowbar in the boot.

The owner is probably a locksmith - I would say it has opened a few doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

that bmw is a pure chav mobile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ericaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I think this car was up before for very small money because it had mayonnaise in the oil cap. Think all it needed was an oil change really.

Actually, just checked and it’s one owner since 01/02/2001. Wrong car.

Is the seller mental though, or do they have a time capsule car which you just don’t see in excellent condition these days. Rare stuff is valuable. We often undervalue stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭User1998

Yeah I remember that one too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I think this car was up before for very small money because it had mayonnaise in the oil cap. Think all it needed was an oil change really.

Actually, just checked and it’s one owner since 01/02/2001. Wrong car.

Is the seller mental though, or do they have a time capsule car which you just don’t see in excellent condition these days. Rare stuff is valuable. We often undervalue stuff.

The other one was a 3 door black, with 8k miles. Was up for €500, then €3950 iirc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭at9qu5vp0wcix7

homer90 wrote: »

I see this around a lot in the area, was always curious about the amount of gimmicky and tacky modifications to it over the years.

You would think it would be a much more valuable car in its stock state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Interesting choice of equipment in the boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ericaa

I bought a 00 Polo with 90k on the clock two years ago for €350, and its still going. So I can't get over the price of that one lol

Ericaa wrote: »
    I bought a 00 Polo with 90k on the clock two years ago for €350, and its still going. So I can't get over the price of that one lol

Yeah but this one has 15k on it, that makes it pretty exclusive and a prime candidate for keeping as a classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭selectamatic

They'd be worth that sorta money when they are a classic not now though.

If you had a vacant shed space for a future classic and your go to option was a low mileage 1.0 3dr polo for €3k that's 11 years off reaching the 30 year old threshold you'd want your head examined.

I'm a firm believer that any car will have a certain level of desirability as they become classics if even just for their shell alone and the polo is no exception but still...

They way things are going ICE engines will most likely be banned in 20 years time. Maybe even sooner than we think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

They way things are going ICE engines will most likely be banned in 20 years time. Maybe even sooner than we think.

I wouldn't buy into any of the nonsense governments are talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,326 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Ahh will ya stop, it would be physically impossible to charge all the electric cars we’re supposed to be driving in 10 years time..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

CoBo55 wrote: »
    Ahh will ya stop, it would be physically impossible to charge all the electric cars we’re supposed to be driving in 10 years time..

But it will be enough to charge the electric buses.

Bicycles will still be pedal power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭HBC08

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Could have a bit of craic ringing up and:
    Asking if the car's still for sale.
    Making an offer.
    Saing the Ad was too long so you didn't read it.
    Insisting on a test drive.

I was thinking the same!

Or say you were interested, had the money but were worried the transaction might take 6 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

2015 Skoda Roomster 1.6 TDI SE

How much was it?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,511 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

2015 Skoda Roomster 1.6 TDI SE

How much was it?

Half a million sterling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

At least they spotted it early :)

Still a cheap car, but a textbook example of putting something in the vintage section when you think it's worth more than it is. Bonus points for the fantastic description.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/fiat-punto/25558230

Is it cheaper to advertise in the classic section?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Still a cheap car, but a textbook example of putting something in the vintage section when you think it's worth more than it is. Bonus points for the fantastic description.

Not that cheap, I sold a 1999 one for similar money in 2007

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

So many miles on it he's embarrassed to say lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

My sister bought a new Punto Sporting 2 door in 2002. I always thought they were a great looking car. It took awful, awful abuse and lack of servicing. Including 18inch wheels and a belt holding up a loud exhaust at one point.

A noble car.

Jesus I had 15s on mine and they were considered big at the time on a small car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I could be dreaming. She might have swap a set of 15s for 16s or 16s for 17s. They were massive on it.

I’m just after remembering also it was a basic one that she sprayed the little grill things on the back bumper silver to make it look a sporting.

I committed a few sins too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Punto Sportings?

Here is my beautiful example. My first car, bought in 2007.
    It came with stickers up the door, I managed to get some off but the bottom two which are still visible were lacquered over for some reason.
    It had the abarth front bumper, 17s and a noisy exhaust! I loved it :D

522339.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Lovely first car. I had a couple of broom yellow cinqo sporting under my belt ..

Epic fun mobiles
    All about smiles per miles!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25763472

€9950 for a 29 year W124 with no nct, afaik this was up for private sale not so long ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I Was VB wrote: »

€9950 for a 29 year W124 with no nct, afaik this was up for private sale not so long ago?

Assuming it comes with NCT I don't really think that's over priced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Vittu

It is a fine looking car, is it worth 9k? That depends on your situation. Mileage not too bad for the age. Will hold its price if well minded I imagine

The cheap tax is another reason for price. Insurance wouldn't be much either.

But at the other end of the stick I doubt it has any performance even though it's a 3 litre.

I'd imagine it's more of a wafter

Would they be fixing that big hoor of a scuff on the drivers side of the rear bumper for the €10k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

It was actually for sale from a private seller for €10k, I posted it in the classic "bargains" thread about a month ago. Its a lovely car and very rare in that spec and with that engine as an original Irish car. I think if it was a coupe it would probably fetch close to it.

I used to see it around Sutton and Clontarf with its original owner until fairly recently.

I sold my 94 W124 last year for €1950, admittedly it was a 2.0 with fairly basic spec. Thought it was right money.

Could a 2.6 24valve that’s 3 years older be worth €8k more?

I sold my 94 W124 last year for €1950, admittedly it was a 2.0 with fairly basic spec. Thought it was right money.

Here’s a 300E for over less than half price, lower miles and leather https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25769210

Co Cavan
    524438.jpg

Co Cavan
    524439.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,531 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Vittu wrote: »
    Co Cavan
    524439.jpg

what do your pics have to do with dreamer of the year?

They're on the way up in value, it's a large engined, well specced Merc. The other thing is it's at a dealer so that'll have an impact. It would want to be near mint however hence I qualified my comment that it would need an NCT, someone else spotted a scuffed bumper which I missed. I'd also expect that being done.

There was a good explanation posted a while back about how and why dealers charge more for cars like that, especially the likes of Deane's Motors, but in short they know more people and have a bigger customer base in the specific market.

I do think if the car is turned out right and in good condition then the price, while high, isn't overpriced. You could use it every day in perfect comfort with cheap tax, insurance and maintenance and if you look after it properly it shouldn't lose much value.

The overpriced stuff will follow now however with lads dragging cars out of hedges and asking €5k if a good one can be sold for €9/10k. I've seen this happening of late with automatic mid 90's Corolla XLi's on donedeal for over €5k. Now fella's are looking for €1k + for scrap cars. It's a mental bubble.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    They're on the way up in value, it's a large engined, well specced Merc. The other thing is it's at a dealer so that'll have an impact. It would want to be near mint however hence I qualified my comment that it would need an NCT, someone else spotted a scuffed bumper which I missed. I'd also expect that being done.

There was a good explanation posted a while back about how and why dealers charge more for cars like that, especially the likes of Deane's Motors, but in short they know more people and have a bigger customer base in the specific market.

I do think if the car is turned out right and in good condition then the price, while high, isn't overpriced. You could use it every day in perfect comfort with cheap tax, insurance and maintenance and if you look after it properly it shouldn't lose much value.

The overpriced stuff will follow now however with lads dragging cars out of hedges and asking €5k if a good one can be sold for €9/10k. I've seen this happening of late with automatic mid 90's Corolla XLi's on donedeal for over €5k. Now fella's are looking for €1k + for scrap cars. It's a mental bubble.

Still I reckon it’s about €4K overpriced with a fresh nct and immaculate bodywork.

Your correct with lads dragging shook looking motors from a hedge and asking stupid money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Are the front and rear lights original on the €10k Mercedes 300 -24?

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Dallara

This is the best one I've seen in a while:

On donedeal: 89-e30-bmw-325i-rolling-shell-no-book

No engine, so its not a 325i then, is it? I would go on, but its a shorter list of what IS there.

No logbook? Not really even the seller's car then...

"e30 bmw 325i 1989 clean rolling shell driver side floor well will need to be replace apart from that solid book needs to be applied for no logbook" - "clean rolling shell driver side floor well will need to be replace" ?? Not really a clean shell so, is it?

Someone may buy this car out of sympathy though, as the money could be put to good use for literacy education, and some glasses for the seller, not to mention anti-psychotics, or maybe just a ride home on a rocket from whatever planet the seller is living on

Cars become rare, it’s always been this way. A 3 door e30 was way more rare in its time than a 3 door Escort was in its day, and prices for shells will also go crazy on e30s.
    Humdrum cars that nobody sees the value in when they’ve hit rock bottom go up in value too, again it’s always been this way.