Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Becoming a fan of the John Creedon show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Two days late....but loved johns story on Thursday night about visiting a record store in NYC some years back and asking the proprietor whether he'd heard of a group called the Golden Gate Quartet. "Heard of 'em?" the man replied. "Hell, I know them!" Ended with John leaving some time later with 2 LPs under his oxter that he later had to flog to raise some much needed funds during a barren time. Just delightful. As were aforementioned Golden Gate Quartet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,221 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Never heard the Stevie Nicks version of ‘Free Fallin’’ before...excellent :)

#fiachnaforevercreedonnever :pac: :D

He's gone rogue... Motion to ban WM forever from this forum?

‘Sweet Little Mystery’ by John Martyn!

Is Creedo back already? :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Great song. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

a seriously over-played song at Radio 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭Doblin

In the papers this morning that RTE are to close & sell their cork studios which will likely mean the end of The John Creedon Show

Seem to remember only a couple of years ago they opened bright, shiny new premises in Cork, now its been shut down! Strange lot you have to say. As for Creedon, take bit more than this to get him off the air i reckon. Limerick or Waterford not that far away, a bit of a commute but no bother i'd say. If Phillip King can broadcast from Dingle, then John will find a way.

Always good to hear World Party.

Karl Wallinger, if you’re reading this, can one politely pull his finger out and release some new material? :)

Anyone listening to this Culture Night Concert?

Horrific Beatles/Queen medley, followed by some ropey hippity-hopper...all backed by the RTE Concert Orchestra.

*awaits sane response from Atlantic Dawn*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,438 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Did anyone hear who was the female singer from Melbourne that Fiachra played tonight? It sounded a bit like In Tua Nua for a while, with some strong fiddle going on there.

Plastic Bertrand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Lads, I've only been tuning in sporadically over the last 2 weeks but where's John gone? This replacement just isn't the same!

Creedo on holiday, back next week :)

Fiancha O’Hothouse Flower sitting in.

Fiachna's not the same, but as replacements go I think he's possibly the next best thing. My ideal RTÉ music programme line-up would be Creedon in the evening (obvs) with Lillian Smith and Fiachna alternating between Late Date and 12pm slots (it would probably wreck the head doing Late Date full-time).

I hope Keith Walsh's current, temporary stint at 12pm isn't a bad omen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,986 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

John and Lillian, the 2 best djs on Irish radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Creedo on holiday, back next week :)

Fiancha O’Hothouse Flower sitting in.

Cheers for the heads up.

I agree with the other poster, Fiachna is not a bad replacement at all. He is easy to listen to, knowledgeable, and a bit of craic too. Does everything John does, but just not as well. Like stepping from a Rolls Royce into a Volkswagen (not that I actually know what that feels like! :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,725 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Is auld turnip head on hols?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Is auld turnip head on hols?

I presume so. Is poor old John yet another fella you don’t like? That’s a mighty long list, Brendan.

Aah here John, less of the shade being thrown in my direction.

Poor John is ok, trousering a nice wedge for being the avuncular dude and friend of the common man.

Took over that niche nicely, you see John, you gotta have a niche in the Montrose hierarchy.

Like, for instance, Pauric Lodge cornered the racing niche after poor Colm

Be certain that 95% of Pees inserts will have racing reports, naming the jockeys the stable lads and stuff.Thats how it rolls dude.

A female presenter has cornered the boxing gig after poor Jimmy
    So she has the ‘niche’.

So poor John has cornered the what I would call the ‘Ordinary Joe’ niche, great lad loves a pint ,ordinary lad, you’d see him in the chipper on a Friday night kinda guy.

Auld TH had definitely cornered that niche.

So John I don’t hate the lad, I think he is quite good, but like to point out the little stuff some people miss.

Top hole.

Wait, The Golden Horde had another song other than ‘Friends In Time’?!

giphy.gif

Shane’s version of ‘What A Wonderful World’ with Nick Cave - good call :)

HE’S BACK!!

happy-dance-animated-gif-image-46-2.gif

Ooooh-ooooooh...

ISRAELITES! :cool: :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,239 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Grover Washington, Boz Scaggs and Carlos Santana was a groovy cat way to end the show tonight.

Surprised that Talking Heads never took the writers of ‘Mama’ by The Spice Girls to court.

The one and possibly only time you’ll see The Spice Girls mentioned on the Creedo thread :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Surprised that Talking Heads never took the writers of ‘Mama’ by The Spice Girls to court.

The one and possibly only time you’ll see The Spice Girls mentioned on the Creedo thread :D

Hopefully its the only time Talking Heads and Spice Girls are mentioned in the same post!! :D

Anyone get the title of that Richard Hawley song?

NIMAN wrote: »
    Anyone get the title of that Richard Hawley song?

‘Not Lonely’.

Those two tracks from yer man from Dumbarton were amazing.

RIP IT UP AND START AGAIN!

RIP IT UP AND START AGAAAAAIN!

I HOPE TO GOD YOU’RE NOT AS DUMB AS YOU MAKE OUT...I HOPE TO GOD.

I HOPE TO GOD

:):):)

John pretending not to know that it’s John Prine’s birthday.

Like he doesn’t have the date circled in his calendar :D

‘Torch’ by Soft Cell!

Oh yeah :)

Seriously, how good was that version of ‘A Change Is Gonna Come’?

Goosebumps, I tells ya :)

Seriously, how good was that version of ‘A Change Is Gonna Come’?

Goosebumps, I tells ya :)

Not able to listen tonight.
    Who sung it?

Not able to listen tonight.
    Who sung it?

Otis Redding.

Good choice of Elvis Costello songs tonight too :)

‘Arclight’ by The Fat Lady Sings - classic :)

RALPH MCTELL!

Play it! :D

Peggy Seeger on flying form :D

Any C&W mixed melodies?

Nice to hear John thanking Fiachna for covering his show when he is away touring with the Flowers :D

Nice bit of classic 60’s ska :)

"The Velvet Underground for those that have had that sort of day". :)

Well said John!

Creedo finishing? :confused:

*checks watch*

Damn you, Derek Mooney!

Byyyyyeeee! :D

Is auld turnip head packing in?

Missed the start of Mooney. Did john say why he was packing up early?

RTE is having a whole big week of climate change propaganda.

Would that be it?

RTE is having a whole big week of climate change propaganda.

Would that be it?

Could be it alright.

The full version of ‘Marquee Moon’.

Used by DJ’s as an excuse for a pee break and a trip to the vending machine. :D

Kommen Sie bitte, und listen to Kraftwerk. :)