Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk XI: Team of nervoUS MOD warning Post 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

It's funny you say that. Completely agree with you.

I mean, our results against Wales in the Summer count for nought apparently from most, but the Twickenham game holds its value. That narrative has wound me up no end since the summer.

I don’t count any of the games, they where warm ups....have zero relevance .....

molloyjh wrote: »
    Yeah, I think there's a lot to be said for this when it comes to settling in new guys. For me I'm probably settling more on the below for Scotland:

Healy Kelleher Furlong
    Toner Ryan
    Stander Doris VDF

Cooney Sexton
    Aki Ringrose
    Stockdale Larmour Conway

Herring, Kilcoyne, Porter, Henderson, POM, Murray, Byrne, Addison

Kelleher would be best served being surrounded by guys he knows when it comes to set piece. So with Healy and Furlong in the scrum and then Toner and Ryan for the line out. I also think that with a relatively weak Scottish pack we can afford to take a risk at 2.

This also gives plenty of carrying options in the pack. Then Herring and Henderson would be familiar with each other, with POM giving added line out solidity in the absence of Toner. Kilcoyne, Porter and Henderson give good ball carrying options off the bench too.

Sexton can help ease Cooney in while Murray helps Byrne. At FB I think you can switch between Larmour and Addison during the tournament. Both being real impact off the bench and cover multiple positions. Aki probably edges Henshaw, but I wouldnt be surprised to see rotation there too.

I would agree with the Sexton Cooney and Murray/Byrne. It would be suicide to start Cooney/Byrne in a match if Sexton is not fit. Yes Cooney is in form it it’s not like Murray is awful. He has been decent but no where near 2018 form

I would pick Aki, Henshaw is making slow progress and starting to build form but he is constantly thrown in deep end and then gets another injury....

For me at 15 I would have Larmour, I just think he would have a field day against Scotland, maybe Addison later in tournament

• Registered Users Posts: 16,757 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Listened to the 42's rugby podcast today. Murray Kinsella was making out that Larmour probably won't be ready for the Scotland game.

He also mentioned a really interesting stat on James Ryan. He's made the most lineout steals of any Irish international this season. Turning into.a very good lineout operator, adding to his world class open field game.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,021 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

Clegg wrote: »
    Listened to the 42's rugby podcast today. Murray Kinsella was making out that Larmour probably won't be ready for the Scotland game.

He also mentioned a really interesting stat on James Ryan. He's made the most lineout steals of any Irish international this season. Turning into.a very good lineout operator, adding to his world class open field game.

Definitely the area of his game that needed the most work, not that it was bad, but just the area that needs an extra bit of time to mature. If he even approaches the level say POC was at as a lineout forward then we'll run out of superlatives.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

aloooof wrote: »
    The RWC pool draw seems to be getting earlier and earlier; this will be almost 3 years before the tournament takes place. That doesn't seem reasonable to me, WR rankings could have changed dramatically by the time the tournament comes around.

Is there a reason that it takes place so early that I'm overlooking? (I've a feeling someone's going to use the world "repechage").
    to sell tickets. It doesnt make sense apart from that. It would actually aid so much more if we did it later and helped get more sides to be more competitive at every level.
    Repchage isnt anything to do with it. Only have to look at mess of last time round in Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,923 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

aloooof wrote: »
    The RWC pool draw seems to be getting earlier and earlier; this will be almost 3 years before the tournament takes place. That doesn't seem reasonable to me, WR rankings could have changed dramatically by the time the tournament comes around.

Is there a reason that it takes place so early that I'm overlooking? (I've a feeling someone's going to use the world "repechage").

The 2019 draw was in May 2017!

Even that felt too early at the time!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,755 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Sure if Kelleher needs Toner then maybe Cooney needs Burns, who in turn needs McCloskey and who could probably do with Addison as well to help him out.

If Kelleher is good enough then he will be grand with whoever Farrell picks in the second row.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,745 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

bilston wrote: »
    Sure if Kelleher needs Toner then maybe Cooney needs Burns, who in turn needs McCloskey and who could probably do with Addison as well to help him out.

If Kelleher is good enough then he will be grand with whoever Farrell picks in the second row.

To be fair I never said he needs those guys, just that it might work better for guys new in to have experienced guys they are familiar with where possible. I'd have thought that fairly obvious though, no?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

He had the most line out steals at the World cup too

Herring needs more help at the lineout than anyone tbf, Ulster's lineout has been the worst of any province this season comfortably.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Herring needs more help at the lineout than anyone tbf, Ulster's lineout has been the worst of any province this season comfortably.

This. Has been shìte when Rory was there too.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,911 ✭✭✭jacothelad

It's been awful for years. It often looks as if they have never had any l/o practice. It is the ruination of the prospects of the team. It's a shambles. Is it Herring, the jumpers, the lifters, the lack of wit in calling, lack of invention or all of the above? Answers in a text to Dan McFarland.

jacothelad wrote: »
    It's been awful for years. It often looks as if they have never had any l/o practice. It is the ruination of the prospects of the team. It's a shambles. Is it Herring, the jumpers, the lifters, the lack of wit in calling, lack of invention or all of the above? Answers in a text to Dan McFarland.

I recall thinking after the Ulster v Munster game what the score could have been if Ulster had a functioning lineout. Think we'd a similar story against Clermont, away declined points, went to the corner and lost the lineout. But Herring with Henderson being the senior lock in the team calling the lineout (because Ryan will start) doesn't fill me with confidence.

• Administrators Posts: 53,428 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

jacothelad wrote: »

I think the whole system is broken. Literally need to go back to basics in training.

I think we're not helped by not really having a lineout specialist anywhere in the pack.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,169 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

awec wrote: »
    I think the whole system is broken. Literally need to go back to basics in training.

I think we're not helped by not really having a lineout specialist anywhere in the pack.
    Isn't Henderson a specialist in that area? Seem to recall him having that responsibility when playing for Ireland on a few occasions.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,911 ✭✭✭jacothelad

prawnsambo wrote: »
    Isn't Henderson a specialist in that area? Seem to recall him having that responsibility when playing for Ireland on a few occasions.

Apart from Hendo Carter is good but injured. Treadwell is 6'8". O'Connor is 6'5" and not over heavy. Timoney is the ideal lightweight 8 for throwing up quickly. The makings of a functioning l/o has to be there. It just looks naive and shambolic. How often do they throw long and get picked off? They opponents often simply follow where Cooney is. It's as if the opponents know the calls.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

The amount of times over the years that ulster have had an attacking lineout right on their opponents 5m line and went for some ridiculously complicated manoeuvre, where the ball ended up being thrown directly to the opposition 10 is beyond all comprehension.
    You know you have a shìte lineout so throw to 2 and secure possession.
    Its really that simple.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

mfceiling wrote: »
    The amount of times over the years that ulster have had an attacking lineout right on their opponents 5m line and went for some ridiculously complicated manoeuvre, where the ball ended up being thrown directly to the opposition 10 is beyond all comprehension.
    You know you have a shìte lineout so throw to 2 and secure possession.
    Its really that simple.

Except the opposition know that and have someone like POM jumping at the front... ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,179 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Team I want to see!
    1. Healy
    2. Effort
    3. Porter, deserves his chance
    4. Toner
    5. Ryan
    6. J.O.D
    7. VDF
    8. Doris
    9. Cooney
    10. Byrne
    11 Stockdale
    12. McCloskey
    13. Ringrose
    14. Conway
    15. Larmour

16. Kelleher
    17. Kilcoyne
    18. Furlong
    19. Hendo
    20. Stander
    21. Luke.
    22 Burns
    23. Addison.

Most likely not even close. But, I would like to see it.
    A lot of pundits and others would say to keep the experienced lads in, but the new lads would gain experience by playing. It's a great chance to really move in another direction. More expansive play less static one out runners.
    My take is, we know what Aki does, and Henshaw. Let's see what Stu can do. For me. Conway has been the best wing around for quite some time, he starts if fit. Stockdale is coming back around and is playing well. If Larmour is injured, I would have Addison at fb and DK in the 23 shirt.
    I think each match should see a couple of changes in the 23. I. E. Sexton starts v England and France. Stander also with Deegan getting the 20 shirt.
    Exciting times and a relatively new squad filled with young players.

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭thegreycity

"Johnny, you're my captain. There's no better man to lead this team."
    "Brilliant Andy thanks, it's my dream come true. The knee is feeling good too, should be ready for the first game. Gonna be a big moment for me."
    "First game? Who said you were getting picked? No way, I'm going with Ross, with Billy on the bench."
    "Yea ok boss, doesn't bother me, just let me know when you need me."

• Registered Users Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭shootermacg

For my money, you need CJ in the team at six.

He's a leader on the field, constantly screaming encouragement and slapping backs. And his actions speak loud.

If he has a good pack around him with some decent ball carrying threats, you're probably going to see the best six in Irish rugby do his thing.

I remember when PoM was injured at Munster and CJ took over as captain, there was talk of renaming the MotM award the CJ Stander award, because he was literally MotM every game he played.

I'd also love to see him take the captains armband at Munster.

He's a leader on the field, constantly screaming encouragement and slapping backs.

That settles it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Stander would be better off carving out a different trait for himself. He'd only be keeping chief back-slapper warm for James Lowe

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

That settles it.

James Lowe for 6!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,481 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Killer
    Herring
    Furlong
    Toner
    Ryan
    POM
    VDF
    CJ
    Murray
    Sexton
    Earls
    Bundee
    Henshaw
    Conway
    Larmer

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭daddy pig

Killer
    Herring
    Furlong
    Toner
    Ryan
    POM
    VDF
    CJ
    Murray
    Sexton
    Earls
    Bundee
    Henshaw
    Conway
    Larmer

Why don't you stick O'Gara at 10 and Hayes at 3 when you're at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,757 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

If we're doing teams. Going for a pack that offers the most grunt but has footballing ability. Gone with Kelleher because I don't think Herring or Scannell are good enough to be test players and we may as well go with the young prospect. Was very tempted to go have Toner in the squad, but he's a starter only. He's an excellent ball player but we need to give the Henderson/Ryan pairing more of a chance to develop. Dillane is more impactful off the bench. Same story with POM. If he doesn't start then he isn't in the squad at all. And he's not playing well enough to merit a start. I'd go for Larmour at 15 but he's injured. However, if he recovers then slot him to 15 and Addison to the bench.

Healy
    Kelleher
    Furlong
    Henderson
    Ryan
    Stander
    VDF
    Doris
    Cooney
    Sexton
    Stockdale
    Aki
    Ringrose
    Conway
    Addison

Kilcoyne
    Herring
    Porter
    Dillane
    Deegan
    Murray
    Byrne
    Henshaw

• Registered Users Posts: 11,291 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

If we're doing teams. Going for a pack that offers the most grunt but has footballing ability. Gone with Kelleher because I don't think Herring or Scannell are good enough to be test players and we may as well go with the young prospect. Was very tempted to go have Toner in the squad, but he's a starter only. He's an excellent ball player but we need to give the Henderson/Ryan pairing more of a chance to develop. Dillane is more impactful off the bench. Same story with POM. If he doesn't start then he isn't in the squad at all. And he's not playing well enough to merit a start. I'd go for Larmour at 15 but he's injured. However, if he recovers then slot him to 15 and Addison to the bench.

Healy
    Kelleher
    Furlong
    Henderson
    Ryan
    Stander
    VDF
    Doris
    Cooney
    Sexton
    Stockdale
    Aki
    Ringrose
    Conway
    Addison

Kilcoyne
    Herring
    Porter
    Dillane
    Deegan
    Murray
    Byrne
    Henshaw

I’d say this is very close, I’d suspect Deegan ahead of Doris, don’t think Kelliher will start purely because he’s been out.

Killer
    Herring
    Furlong
    Toner
    Ryan
    POM
    VDF
    CJ
    Murray
    Sexton
    Earls
    Bundee
    Henshaw
    Conway
    Larmer

If this is the line up I think a huge question mark will be put over Farrell without the ball even getting kicked

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 247 ✭✭car_radio19834

Has there even been any indication from Farrell on the style of rugby he's going to play?

He hasn't been a head coach for a long time and if it goes bad he won't get the chance again.

Think of it this way. You're Andy Farrell, part of Joe Schmidts boring style but you're seen as very successful.

Would you stick with what you know? Or risk more expansive and potentially embarrass yourself? Andy Farrell personally would jump at the chance to replicate the last 6 years even though world cups are disappointing.

I think it'll be the same old boring rugby and then against Italy and the likes we'll throw it around and people will claim he's doing great and playing more expansive despite us doing that under Joe anyways.