Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tv Licence Letter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

If someone I didn't invite into my house, no actually, if ANYONE opened my door by their own accord there'd be some hell to pay.

That inspector will certainly have a Garda escort that visit, and by that I mean Garda escorting him off my property for breaking and entering or intrusion.

You need to learn the law

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Atari Jaguar

mansize wrote: »

Where in the broadcasting Act 2009 does it state that an inspector may let himself in if he doesn't get a response from knocking on the door?

It would be my understanding that sir would require a warrant and a member of the Gardai present before coming in.

I've read the legislation and it says no where that I can see that License inspectors may just walk in to your house. That'll hold up in court right enough.

"Well, judge. I knocked and no one answered, I just said sure jaysus I'll go in and have a quick root for the license save a trip back"

Even Gardai aren't allowed just let themselves in, in what world do you live in that you think an inspector is? Have they more power than Gardai?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,407 ✭✭✭✭elperello

cbreeze wrote: »
    Now we know how Anne Frank must have felt ;)

I know you are just attempting to be funny and lighthearted but there is no fun to be found in the tragic story of Anne Frank.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

elperello wrote: »
    I know you are just attempting to be funny and lighthearted but there is no fun to be found in the tragic story of Anne Frank.

Jaysus.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

It would be easier to pay the license if we got the service to match.

Where is the rollout of DAB radio? (TV license goes towards radio as well, I assume?)
    Why do we have such a bad RTÉ player? It needs to be more like the BBC iplayer.
    Why does RTÉ have to rely on so much advertising, including their website?

It's horrible the comments made about her.
    That license inspector was relentless in his attack against her and it's no joke. The fine was huge I hear.

Anne frankly I find it disgusting people make jokes about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,362 ✭✭✭corner of hells

timthumbni wrote: »

Jaysus.

I thought that myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭Oodoov

TV inspectors can't just let themselves into your house ffs. Who in their right mind would think that?

We moved into our house in 2007 and after about a month a TV inspector knocked on the door asking to see the licence. I told him i don't live here was just minding the property and he'd have to come back when the owner was here. He didnt return again not at least when he where home. After about 6 months of them sending payment requests and threatening letters to the "The occupier" they gave in and we haven't heard nowt since then. I think once they have your name linked to the address they have you by the balls for life so i genuinely feel sorry for anyone who has to pay a cent for the tripe RTE churn out on a daily basis.

corcaigh07 wrote: »
    It would be easier to pay the license if we got the service to match.

Where is the rollout of DAB radio? (TV license goes towards radio as well, I assume?)
    Why do we have such a bad RTÉ player? It needs to be more like the BBC iplayer.
    Why does RTÉ have to rely on so much advertising, including their website?

There are far more licence payers in the UK...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

timthumbni wrote: »
    If they haven't your name then ignore it. And if you ever do answer the door to any of these morons then DO not, I repeat DO not give them your name or sign anything.

Say you are just working at the house and ask them if they want their drive tarmaced boss, along with saying you have some very reasonably priced power tools and saucepans for sale if they are interested. They won't return.

Being from Norn Iron I have no idea what sort of ****e RTe puts on but if it's anything like the BBC then I'm not surprised you don't want to pay it. The Brixton Broadcasting Corporation is a cabal of out of touch leftie luuvie types that would find it extremely hard to get a wage packet if it wasn't for the legalised extortion that is the TV license.

In the UK a lot of people have stopped paying the TV licence for the reason you describe.

The law over there is slightly different to us, the licence is not merely owning a receiver but picking up real time broadcasts on it. People are getting rid of whatever cable packages they had, cancelling the licence and buying one of those kodi (?) sticks with streaming services such as Netflix and Amazon Prime. Those sticks also have BBC and ITV player so if you're desperate the programmes are there.

The inspection service is outsourced to some crowd called Capita. Funnily enough they only seem to knock on doors in white middle class areas, the payment rate over there in urban ghettos is next to zero.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

No, I think you do.

Where in the broadcasting Act 2009 does it state that an inspector may let himself in if he doesn't get a response from knocking on the door?

It would be my understanding that sir would require a warrant and a member of the Gardai present before coming in.

I've read the legislation and it says no where that I can see that License inspectors may just walk in to your house. That'll hold up in court right enough.

"Well, judge. I knocked and no one answered, I just said sure jaysus I'll go in and have a quick root for the license save a trip back"

Even Gardai aren't allowed just let themselves in, in what world do you live in that you think an inspector is? Have they more power than Gardai?

Opening an unlocked door isn't always trespass

No, I think you do.

Fine, I don't see it every month.

There's a lengthy discussion on this elsewhere. The Broadcasting Act 2009 states:

"146 (3) An officer of an issuing agent may enter at any reasonable time any premises or specified place for the purposes of ascertaining whether there is a television set there and a television licence is for the time being in force in respect of the premises or specified place authorising the keeping of a television set at the premises or specified place."

So they can without a warrant.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,262 ✭✭✭greasepalm

does the post office not do tv savings stamps to spread the cost of a big bill?

There's a lengthy discussion on this elsewhere. The Broadcasting Act 2009 states:

"146 (3) An officer of an issuing agent may enter at any reasonable time any premises or specified place for the purposes of ascertaining whether there is a television set there and a television licence is for the time being in force in respect of the premises or specified place authorising the keeping of a television set at the premises or specified place."

So they can without a warrant.

You're interpreting it incorrectly.
    An officer of an issuing agent in this particular situation would have to be appointed and it would have to be a Garda in order for a search to be carried out; and if it comes to that; that same Garda would have to have a a certificate stating that he/she has bee appointed by the issuing agent.
    Your standard TV licence inspector does not have any power at all to enter your home.Only a garda does for the purposes of a search

• Registered Users Posts: 6,368 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

If you walk through it though you're trespassing.

I can assure you that entering a private residence without permission whether it be through force or if the door is unlocked is trespassing. Unless the occupants have given their permission beforehand no one is in their right to enter a property. Even Gardai can't go into your house uninvited without warrants. If that was the case you could have anyone who likes walk in off the streets.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

You still need it because it's capable of receiving saeorview should you decide to buy a box.

You can cut out the aerial port on your TV but then you can get a Sky box so you need a licence

Funnily enough, I could have a sky box and PC monitor connected with HDMI, I wonder if I then need a licence.

This is why they wanted to bring in the (Failed) Broadcasting Charge.

It was a blanket charge that covered everything. It would have been very easy to spot the dodgers.

I suppose you would still have a device that is capable of receiving a signal via HDMI?

I've yet to see a successful overturn of conviction based on the trespass argument you put forward.

Have you any data on it?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

In the UK a lot of people have stopped paying the TV licence for the reason you describe.

The law over there is slightly different to us, the licence is not merely owning a receiver but picking up real time broadcasts on it. People are getting rid of whatever cable packages they had, cancelling the licence and buying one of those kodi (?) sticks with streaming services such as Netflix and Amazon Prime. Those sticks also have BBC and ITV player so if you're desperate the programmes are there.

The inspection service is outsourced to some crowd called Capita. Funnily enough they only seem to knock on doors in white middle class areas, the payment rate over there in urban ghettos is next to zero.

I'm after getting a "To the Occupant" letter and I've launched it in the bin. Where I live you'd want to be a brave boy coming around knocking on doors here.

Firefox11 wrote: »
    This is why they wanted to bring in the (Failed) Broadcasting Charge.

It was a blanket charge that covered everything. It would have been very easy to spot the dodgers.

I suppose you would still have a device that is capable of receiving a signal via HDMI?

Yeah but what you're receiving in that instance is a HDMI signal. You'd then need to charge anyone using a DVD player connected to a monitor with HDMI or whatever means they used.

I've yet to see a successful overturn of conviction based on the trespass argument you put forward.

Have you any data on it?

How is that relevant? You said it's not trespass I assure you of one thing that it is.

I've never heard a case where the inspector just let himself in.

How is that relevant? You said it's not trespass I assure you of one thing that it is.

I've never heard a case where the inspector just let himself in.

Entering an unlocked door is not necessarily trespassing is what I said

Also refusal and obfuscation can lead to higher costs in court

YES IT IS.

sorry but you can claim the former as much as you like, if I enter your house via unlocked door or otherwise I am uninvited and trespassing. You really shouldn't go outside if you're so confused about the law.

YES IT IS.

sorry but you can claim the former as much as you like, if I enter your house via unlocked door or otherwise I am uninvited and trespassing. You really shouldn't go outside if you're so confused about the law.

Thanks your patronising reply really backed up your argument

• Registered Users Posts: 6,214 ✭✭✭emo72

If someone just appeared in my house uninvited I would be very frightened. I'd assume I'm probably going to be attacked. You'd have to be crackers to walk into someone's home uninvited.

I once worked as a delivery man, and even if the front door was wide open I wouldn't walk in. Crazy.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 5,374 Mod ✭✭✭✭aido79

When is Ireland going to get beyond 1986? The tv licence is outdated. They should get rid of it and find other ways to increase revenue such as through advertising fees.
    I can watch rte on my phone/tablet/tv in Australia. Should I have a tv licence?

It is trespass.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

aido79 wrote: »
    When is Ireland going to get beyond 1986? The tv licence is outdated. They should get rid of it and find other ways to increase revenue such as through advertising fees.
    I can watch rte on my phone/tablet/tv in Australia. Should I have a tv licence?

I find it hard to believe you can do that using authorized means.