Atari Jaguar wrote: » If someone I didn't invite into my house, no actually, if ANYONE opened my door by their own accord there'd be some hell to pay. That inspector will certainly have a Garda escort that visit, and by that I mean Garda escorting him off my property for breaking and entering or intrusion.
mansize wrote: » You need to learn the law
cbreeze wrote: » Now we know how Anne Frank must have felt
elperello wrote: » I know you are just attempting to be funny and lighthearted but there is no fun to be found in the tragic story of Anne Frank.
timthumbni wrote: » elperello wrote: » I know you are just attempting to be funny and lighthearted but there is no fun to be found in the tragic story of Anne Frank. Jaysus.
corcaigh07 wrote: » It would be easier to pay the license if we got the service to match. Where is the rollout of DAB radio? (TV license goes towards radio as well, I assume?) Why do we have such a bad RTÉ player? It needs to be more like the BBC iplayer. Why does RTÉ have to rely on so much advertising, including their website?
timthumbni wrote: » If they haven't your name then ignore it. And if you ever do answer the door to any of these morons then DO not, I repeat DO not give them your name or sign anything. Say you are just working at the house and ask them if they want their drive tarmaced boss, along with saying you have some very reasonably priced power tools and saucepans for sale if they are interested. They won't return. Being from Norn Iron I have no idea what sort of ****e RTe puts on but if it's anything like the BBC then I'm not surprised you don't want to pay it. The Brixton Broadcasting Corporation is a cabal of out of touch leftie luuvie types that would find it extremely hard to get a wage packet if it wasn't for the legalised extortion that is the TV license.
Atari Jaguar wrote: » Where in the broadcasting Act 2009 does it state that an inspector may let himself in if he doesn't get a response from knocking on the door? It would be my understanding that sir would require a warrant and a member of the Gardai present before coming in. I've read the legislation and it says no where that I can see that License inspectors may just walk in to your house. That'll hold up in court right enough. "Well, judge. I knocked and no one answered, I just said sure jaysus I'll go in and have a quick root for the license save a trip back" Even Gardai aren't allowed just let themselves in, in what world do you live in that you think an inspector is? Have they more power than Gardai?
yosser hughes wrote: » No, I think you do.
mansize wrote: » There's a lengthy discussion on this elsewhere. The Broadcasting Act 2009 states: "146 (3) An officer of an issuing agent may enter at any reasonable time any premises or specified place for the purposes of ascertaining whether there is a television set there and a television licence is for the time being in force in respect of the premises or specified place authorising the keeping of a television set at the premises or specified place." So they can without a warrant.
mansize wrote: » Opening an unlocked door isn't always trespass
Atari Jaguar wrote: » You still need it because it's capable of receiving saeorview should you decide to buy a box. You can cut out the aerial port on your TV but then you can get a Sky box so you need a licence Funnily enough, I could have a sky box and PC monitor connected with HDMI, I wonder if I then need a licence.
Mrs Shuttleworth wrote: » In the UK a lot of people have stopped paying the TV licence for the reason you describe. The law over there is slightly different to us, the licence is not merely owning a receiver but picking up real time broadcasts on it. People are getting rid of whatever cable packages they had, cancelling the licence and buying one of those kodi (?) sticks with streaming services such as Netflix and Amazon Prime. Those sticks also have BBC and ITV player so if you're desperate the programmes are there. The inspection service is outsourced to some crowd called Capita. Funnily enough they only seem to knock on doors in white middle class areas, the payment rate over there in urban ghettos is next to zero.
Firefox11 wrote: » This is why they wanted to bring in the (Failed) Broadcasting Charge. It was a blanket charge that covered everything. It would have been very easy to spot the dodgers. I suppose you would still have a device that is capable of receiving a signal via HDMI?
mansize wrote: » I've yet to see a successful overturn of conviction based on the trespass argument you put forward. Have you any data on it?
Atari Jaguar wrote: » How is that relevant? You said it's not trespass I assure you of one thing that it is. I've never heard a case where the inspector just let himself in.
mansize wrote: » Entering an unlocked door is not necessarily trespassing is what I said Also refusal and obfuscation can lead to higher costs in court
Atari Jaguar wrote: » YES IT IS. sorry but you can claim the former as much as you like, if I enter your house via unlocked door or otherwise I am uninvited and trespassing. You really shouldn't go outside if you're so confused about the law.
mansize wrote: » Entering an unlocked door is not necessarily trespassing is what I said
aido79 wrote: » When is Ireland going to get beyond 1986? The tv licence is outdated. They should get rid of it and find other ways to increase revenue such as through advertising fees. I can watch rte on my phone/tablet/tv in Australia. Should I have a tv licence?