Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

things that used to be in waterford ya can remember

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭meldrew

The fanning Institute where government buildings is now
    Timber toes where Redmond Bridge is now
    The Tramore train
    The gaol where the guards barracks is now
    Goldcrust bakery
    Leahy's cake shop on mayors walk
    Henry Dennys where the Hyper is now
    The Jute factory
    Clover meats
    The national board and paper mills

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,032 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

meldrew wrote: »
    The fanning Institute where government buildings is now
    Timber toes where Redmond Bridge is now
    The Tramore train
    The gaol where the guards barracks is now
    Goldcrust bakery
    Leahy's cake shop on mayors walk
    Henry Dennys where the Hyper is now
    The Jute factory
    Clover meats
    The national board and paper mills

Jesus you are showing your age with some of those ones;)

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭lynnemc

Anybody from Johns Park area remember Ming, the Chinese trailer that used to be outside Brady's pub back in the 80's ?

Or token clothes shop in town !

• Registered Users Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭JohnC.

meldrew wrote: »
    Clover meats

Grandfather used to work there. One year they had an Easter party for kids related to the staff and we got an easter egg and other sweets.

• Registered Users Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Woodgate

anplaya wrote: »
    egans bar-soon to be made into pennys
    roches stores- debenhams
    porters-books and things
    the book centre used to be further up the road if i remember right?up by where the 2 euro shop is now?
    You're not goin back very far with those wans!!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

Woodgate wrote: »
    You're not goin back very far with those wans!!!!:D

i suggested the thread as stuff ya remember when ya were a kid in waterford that arent there /moved etc,far as i rem they were all there when i was a kid.just cause im not goin back 30 or so years:rolleyes:

Remember the mobile chip vans that used to go around the city ? I'd say they were probably breaking a heap of hygiene regulations but the stuff used be lovely out of them

Aquos76 wrote: »
    Jesus you are showing your age with some of those ones;)

Ah sure I remember being at Edmund Rice's funeral when I was a young fella and before anyone says anything it was his second one during the forties ! I was at his third one as well jaysus he's after getting some send offs !

lynnemc wrote: »
    Anybody from Johns Park area remember Ming, the Chinese trailer that used to be outside Brady's pub back in the 80's ?

Or token clothes shop in town !

I think he was out in Larchville as well , did'nt he get a hiding at sometime?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

kryogen wrote: »
    Elvis, and what about Tawdy? easiest way i can spell the name that might sound right :)

then theres the fella who i think is still going around, still shouting

"ITS MY TOWN!!!!!"

I know him, yes.

Also 'spare a euro' guy, who adjusted nicely from 'spare a pound' guy a few years ago.

Anyone know Gus the lovable tramp?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,624 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

blitz record shop beside enterprise home care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

efla wrote: »

Also 'spare a euro' guy, who adjusted nicely from 'spare a pound' guy a few years ago.

is that the guy whos always at the back of dunnes stores,by the francisian friary?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 araisaris

johnny fortys take five next door to paddy browns lisduggan

• Registered Users Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

araisaris wrote: »
    johnny fortys take five next door to paddy browns lisduggan

johnny fortys dog called einstein

Kahless wrote: »
    Grandfather used to work there. One year they had an Easter party for kids related to the staff and we got an easter egg and other sweets.

i had an uncle who worked there and every easter me and my cousin went to the clover easter party.
    a session for children...all the sweets you could eat and a easter egg and goody bag on the way home...............good times

anplaya wrote: »
    is that the guy whos always at the back of dunnes stores,by the francisian friary?

Thats him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

The kk discount store as well...where sherwoods is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

the man utd shop down be shaws.

seanybiker wrote: »

Did T&H's extend into that after they shut down?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

seanybiker wrote: »

Good to see at least some improvement in the city centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Good to see at least some improvement in the city centre.
    down with that sort of talk lol.
    The nettle camp in hillview was class.
    Bollockys field for the ould knacker drinking was fun.
    Crystal vision, the video shop at the cleaboy.there was a video shop in the petrol station just down from the cleaboy aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 322 ✭✭j walsh

Anyone remember Mark Waters record shop upstairs in shaws?
    What was is called?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 deise69

Here's some for you

Video World
    Mork From Ork
    Hawaii Five O
    Chips Computer Shop ?? I think that was the name

Anyone go drinking by 'the wall' in the park?

j walsh wrote: »
    Anyone remember Mark Waters record shop upstairs in shaws?
    What was is called?

god i remember the record shop but the name escapes me.
    i bought my first record there.. a alice cooper album....

there was a cafe directly across from it where we used to get ice cream floats.........a slice of ice cream in a glass of orange.....good times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

About twenty years ago - all vinyl - beside the cafe?

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭whittler

omg...breens!!!!!!!!!!!!im feeling rather cringingly nostalgic at the thoughts of it!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭whittler

efla wrote: »
    Anyone go drinking by 'the wall' in the park?
    i have some fond memories of the white wall at the back of mountsion, a bottle of cider, and the brothers chasing us over the gate!

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Revvy

Chipper opposite St Johns Church ..... maybe the Golden Fryer or something
    Cassidy,s clothes shop, where Dunnes ladies section is now
    No inner ring road (through the bogs and over the black pipe to get home)
    Paint shop where instanbul kebab house is
    Alice and Philomena in the shop at the park
    Buying salt petre in george whites, mixing it with sugar (I think) and making smoke bombs. Sorry Alice and Philomena.

Found this earlier thread too
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055137476

the 3 screens in the old cimema...the mini...the pullman..and the palace