Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It’s Monday Mourning & we are in the midst of a Sahara Desert if Shocking Statistics:

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    "Oh, Joe, we all make mistakes, I made a mistake."

Well, you spineless catalump, a mistake on your expenses is something like wrongly adding up a column of figures or misplacing a decimal point, like happens to everyone from time to time.

What is NOT a mistake is finding old documention from a defunct company and submitting entirely fraudulent claims for fictitious equipment, or fraudulently claiming milage expenses for many thousands of miles you didn't travel.
    You fecking arsehole.

And one other thing; the whining self-pitying voice you put on just fills me with a desire to kick your arse.

Don’t forget that when Calorie was caught, instead of owning up and admitting it, he blamed it on a friend who had taken his own life. How classy.

Just watching a playback of a recorded tv program of Joanna Lumley visiting Haiti, where she discovers lots of voodoo inspired art composed of scrsppagd from the earthquake and ton of human skulls. Locally it is regarded as a kind of honour if your mortal remains become part of an art piece. It’s a wonder Joe hasn’t made a beeline there already for a little Caribbean breakeen.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

But if you hear the clips they use for the ads for the show, RTE seem to relish the fact that he is now somewhat of a shock jock and they are happy enough to do this as long as he keeps bringing in the numbers.

They've never pushed \Duffy as much as they're doing these days, ie, well before xmas. (BX) They're doing their best to make him relevant to a younger generation cos a lot of the old petals and SOTE Dubs, who fall for his auld plámás, are dying off. Woke McDermott is plugging him. The whole Normal People, "It's a disgrace Joe. Worse than porn, Joe" thing was orchestrated.

The Ivor thing is working out a treat for them too. Now the mirror and sun by scandalising him are, by default, advertsing LL for free.

Have a few jars down . Hope all that makes sense.

Just watching a playback of a recorded tv program of Joanna Lumley visiting Haiti, where she discovers lots of voodoo inspired art composed of scrsppagd from the earthquake and ton of human skulls. Locally it is regarded as a kind of honour if your mortal remains become part of an art piece. It’s a wonder Joe hasn’t made a beeline there already for a little Caribbean breakeen.

He told Joanna about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,674 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Aside from the Duffy angle I like her travel series along with portillo and his British empire series.. Certainly beats watching Hector leppin around the place actin the eegit shoutin look at me aren't we mighty gwan there black fella stick on that gaa Jersey yer just like t'irish so ye are

• Registered Users Posts: 23,622 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Joe on cover of RTE Guide again this week
    inside more or less pleading to keep his job, painting postcards to send to every nursing home in Ireland, conducting the interview "as he motored into RTE to crack the whip on yet another Liveline"

sligojoek wrote: »
    They've never pushed \Duffy as much as they're doing these days, ie, well before xmas. (BX) They're doing their best to make him relevant to a younger generation cos a lot of the old petals and SOTE Dubs, who fall for his auld plámás, are dying off. Woke McDermott is plugging him. The whole Normal People, "It's a disgrace Joe. Worse than porn, Joe" thing was orchestrated.

The Ivor thing is working out a treat for them too. Now the mirror and sun by scandalising him are, by default, advertsing LL for free.

Have a few jars down . Hope all that makes sense.

Makes perfect sense to me!

zell12 wrote: »
    Joe on cover of RTE Guide again this week
    inside more or less pleading to keep his job, painting postcards to send to every nursing home in Ireland, conducting the interview "as he motored into RTE to crack the whip on yet another Liveline"

Vomit inducing, sycophantic nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭golondrinas

fritzelly wrote: »
    Was listening to Adrian Kennedy (?) the other day - had a better call in show about covid than Duffy ever did

There is a broadcaster on SE radio who got a national broadcasting award for covering coved 19. Worked in rte for a while. He does it for “normal” money. See it can be done

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/barpark-closed-charlie-chawkes-takeaway-pub-shut-down-after-crowds-gather-39250116.html

Mr. Chalke won’t like being referred to as a publican in that article as he’s a restauranteur now so to speak as they say.

If I hear Ivor spluttering his way through an advert for LiveLine again.......:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

https://evoke.ie/2020/06/02/showbiz/gossip/i-could-be-thrown-out-tomorrow-joe-duffy-on-his-contract-fears

Talk to Joe’ is a phrase that has become more or less synonymous with everyday Irish life.

For over two decades the radio host has been the nation’s sounding board and shoulder to cry on. More recently, with everything that has been going on Liveline has become somewhat of a lifeline for listeners struggling to process the strange new world we live in.

With 21 years under his belt, you would think that nothing could phase Joe but that moment finally came last month when Normal People’s racy sexy scenes and the ensuing uproar garnered worldwide attention.
    In the aftermath of the story which cropped up in the likes of The New Yorker the host was asked to partake in a tribute to the Sally Rooney and gleefully thanked her for making him a household name. Proving that he doesn’t take himself too seriously Joe also took to Twitter to joke about phoning in sick the day after some of the most ‘scandalous’ scenes were aired.

Next year he turns 65 a time when most of us look forward to taking a step back from our daily grind. So will the host be hanging up his headphones? Not by the sounds of it.

Unlike some of his RTE co-hosts who have had to retire at 65, Joe is a self-employed contractor which means he won’t be forced to step back and take statutory retirement but he is still mindful of keeping his show in it’s winning spot.

In an interview with RTÉ Guide he described how: ‘With my contract, I could be thrown out of here tomorrow if they wanted.’

‘We’ve been number two for something like ten years so I am on the ramparts beating off all-comers,’ he went on. For someone so seemingly confident and so adept at refereeing on-air spats Joe told the publication that he has sleepless nights before the listenership updates come out.
    Of course, it’s this relatable quality that is the key to his success and something he inherited from his mother who told him: ‘You’re never as good as they say you are just as you’re never as bad as they say you are either.’

If Joe decides to stay on the air he will join the likes of Don Conroy who recently spoke out about having to retire at 65.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,407 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Circa 4 ton in fees a year, you troy live on dat sometime, let me tell you it's difficult so to speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,488 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Irish bar in Minneapolis with possible RTE link, handy start to the week for the Liveline Research Team.

https://www.morrisseysuptown.com/

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Noel Kelly earns his 30% alright.

Circa 4 ton in fees a year, you troy live on dat sometime, let me tell you it's difficult so to speak.

His inner Pee Flynn So to speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,502 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Liberal vir signals yesterday in dublin breaking lockdown observe me as the viper once said will joe cover dis?? lol yeah

PieOhMy wrote: »
    https://evoke.ie/2020/06/02/showbiz/gossip/i-could-be-thrown-out-tomorrow-joe-duffy-on-his-contract-fears

Talk to Joe’ is a phrase that has become more or less synonymous with everyday Irish life.

For over two decades the radio host has been the nation’s sounding board and shoulder to cry on. More recently, with everything that has been going on Liveline has become somewhat of a lifeline for listeners struggling to process the strange new world we live in.

With 21 years under his belt, you would think that nothing could phase Joe but that moment finally came last month when Normal People’s racy sexy scenes and the ensuing uproar garnered worldwide attention.
    In the aftermath of the story which cropped up in the likes of The New Yorker the host was asked to partake in a tribute to the Sally Rooney and gleefully thanked her for making him a household name. Proving that he doesn’t take himself too seriously Joe also took to Twitter to joke about phoning in sick the day after some of the most ‘scandalous’ scenes were aired.

Next year he turns 65 a time when most of us look forward to taking a step back from our daily grind. So will the host be hanging up his headphones? Not by the sounds of it.

Unlike some of his RTE co-hosts who have had to retire at 65, Joe is a self-employed contractor which means he won’t be forced to step back and take statutory retirement but he is still mindful of keeping his show in it’s winning spot.

In an interview with RTÉ Guide he described how: ‘With my contract, I could be thrown out of here tomorrow if they wanted.’

‘We’ve been number two for something like ten years so I am on the ramparts beating off all-comers,’ he went on. For someone so seemingly confident and so adept at refereeing on-air spats Joe told the publication that he has sleepless nights before the listenership updates come out.
    Of course, it’s this relatable quality that is the key to his success and something he inherited from his mother who told him: ‘You’re never as good as they say you are just as you’re never as bad as they say you are either.’

If Joe decides to stay on the air he will join the likes of Don Conroy who recently spoke out about having to retire at 65.

Don't you be givin' me any of yer auld guff.

Just wondering how it works with NK. Say a hitherto almost unknown worker in RTÉ who is usually on one or other of the production teams then shows great ability at being a broadcaster; they have holes to fill so to speak with the retirements and sad deaths and they then offer the talented production assistant a job at hosting one of the bigger shows. Is that worker then told to sign up with Noel Kelly “as that’s who we do business through”? Does that worker themselves approach NK, on advice from other RTÉ people in his stable? Does NK be haunting de studios so to speak on dr search for talent dat he himself chooses to be in his stable? It’s all so mysterious.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Liberal vir signals yesterday in dublin breaking lockdown observe me as the viper once said will joe cover dis?? lol yeah

No media is touching it, all playing it down, they were outside, had masks etc. What a load of me boll1x, we cant see family, go to funerals, castigated for wanting too. Yet this is acceptable, they can call feck right off now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,502 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Canary joe

pc7 wrote: »
    No media is touching it, all playing it down, they were outside, had masks etc. What a load of me boll1x, we cant see family, go to funerals, castigated for wanting too. Yet this is acceptable, they can call feck right off now.

I was in a popular supermarket franchise branch not too distant from where I live, and it was packed to capacity. I gave out to them about it, and two staff members quietly hinted to me that it was manager-driven. One staff member whispered to me that “it is all wrong”. A customer said to me that the numbers inside really isn’t
    acceptable and that it is getting worse each day. The shop is run by a community orientated man who actually employs more staff than he needs. Personally I believe that he has found he has to keep the shop packing in to maintain his Quaker-style model of business which would likely be low earning for himself/partner. To compound matters the shop has particularly narrow aisles of densely packed shelves, which makes social distancing a challenge even when shop has relatively few people.

Joe left in the dark, during these dark times...so to speak.

Ha Ha. Joe got bad lined by Ronan.

All I know is my crystal-clear crystal ball tells me there will most certainly be a bigger wave of Covid to come. Even a normally realistic & intelligent relative of mine is in denial about this pandemic and believes it is probably over. This is now a widely held belief, alas it’s going to prove otherwise.

ray darcy giving ronan training on thee zoom

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭steinbock123

Little Joe Horner speaking from the corner - microphone chaos on Ronan’s show . .

Lovely day here but what's happening in the USA.

Dark dark days

Tweets by Trump. Zero about police officers.

Rubbish left at beaches.

That and more.

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭williestroker1

Trump again:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 17,781 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

dvcireland wrote: »
    did the woke protestors remember to wash dere handz yesterday

Joe wasn't there to remind them unfortunately. :(