Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much money have you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

JeffKenna wrote:
    Because some people want to work, contribute to society and make a difference.

BS people work to have the lifestyle they desire. Anyhoo this is off topic. Amazing how even a troll thread becomes a dole bashing thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

Point stands, if the dole and free house lifestyle is so desirable it's amazing so many are in employment.

Your point was actually why doesn't he do it.

I'm guessing some of us feel a certain social responsibility and wouldn't be comfortable with leeching from the public. Some of us too would rather take the chance and try to make a better go of things.

'if it's so good why don't you do it so'? Is something I'd expect to hear from someone in junior infants.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

BS people work to have the lifestyle they desire. Anyhoo this is off topic. Amazing how even a troll thread becomes a dole bashing thread.

Tell that to Nurses...

I'm guessing some of us feel a certain social responsibility and wouldn't be comfortable with leeching from the public. Some of us too would rather take the chance and try to make a better go of things.

You're my hero, would you like a medal/parade prehaps?

Would you like a medal. More of the junior infants stuff.

Ya man whatever you feel is best.

Would you like a medal. More of the junior infants stuff.

You seem to have an strange interest in referring to junior infants. Weird.

Just happens to be the last time I've heard those arguments being made for anything.

Maybe we could change the topic to whether my dad could beat your dad in a car race if you prefer?

Just happens to be the last time I've heard those arguments being made for anything.

So junior infants discuss/argue social welfare and those on it? You hang around with some strange children.
    See if you respond with stupidity expect not to be afforded the courtesy of a reasoned reply.

So junior infants discuss/argue social welfare and those on it? You hang around with some strange children.
    See if you respond with stupidity expect not to be afforded the courtesy of a reasoned reply.

I don't need, or expect a reasoned reply from someone who comes out with 'would you like a medal' and 'why don't you go away and do it so' as his their arguments.

I never said a word about hanging around with any kind of children. Do you like reading things that don't exist? Seems like it.

'if it's so good why don't you do it so'? Is something I'd expect to hear from someone in junior infants.

I never said a word about hanging around with any kind of children. Do you like reading things that don't exist? Seems like it.

How would you know what to hear from junior infants unless you are spending time with them.
    Again say stupid stuff and expect a high brow answer, doesn't happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

touts wrote:
    I work for a living so I don't have any money as the government take most of it in taxes, levies, and charges. But I have so much more than money. I have the satisfaction of driving home late in the evening to my massively mortgaged house after a long hard day in the office and I get to look at members of the welfare class strolling back to their free houses from the off licence and takeaway while still dressed in their pajamas. As I see that I remember that while I will never see the majority if the money I earn and will never be free from crippling debt at least I know my money is making a real and meaningful difference to the lives of so so many others....

I'm really sorry that someone put a gun to your head and made you take out massive mortgage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Nikki Sixx

Got in early on Bitcoin, when it first came out. 20,000 bitcoins on my laptop, whatever they are worth.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Nikki Sixx wrote: »
    Got in early on Bitcoin, when it first came out. 20,000 bitcoins on my laptop, whatever they are worth.

So you have: 92,462,797.00

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

TCM wrote: »
    I'm really sorry that someone put a gun to your head and made you take out massive mortgage.

Is it better to be the other type of person that was described in his/her post?

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

Any time I have money I blow it on nice things, I am not content until its absolutely spent, my problem and I have to deal with it.

Im a disaster with money, buy quality and enjoy it, since I buried a few friends who've been saving up for year's only to get ill and regret not enjoying themselves more.

My mortgage is 157 euro a month, fortunately I had inheritance from a relation in 2003 180,000 bought a house, had 11 left over and got a small mortgage to furnish it, and decorate etc...
    I have a public sector job and love it.
    At the higher end of the scale now.

Im lucky I can blow money save a bit, feck all mortgage.

I dont envy the op, i slagged him off earlier but I genuinely hope he gets happiness and contentment out of his hard earned cash....

Im here for a good time, not for everyone but I am happy enough

How would you know what to hear from junior infants unless you are spending time with them.
    Again say stupid stuff and expect a high brow answer, doesn't happen.

As per the line you quoted "Just happens to be the last time I've heard those arguments being made for anything." most people you'll find, were in school in junior infants class at some stage. And that would be the last time most of us heard the likes of 'why don't you do it so'.

The only person here going on about hanging around with small kids is actually you. It's little wonder actually given what you're coming out with.

As per the line you quoted "Just happens to be the last time I've heard those arguments being made for anything." most people you'll find, were in school in junior infants class at some stage. And that would be the last time most of us heard the likes of 'why don't you do it so'.

So your whinge is centred on the way I worded my comment. You seem to be getting very defensive now, did I hit a nerve?

The only person here going on about hanging around with small kids is actually you. It's little wonder actually given what you're coming out with.

Actually dude you were the one that brought little kids in the comments twice. Would you like me to put up your quotes to remind you?

Lads lads lads break it up now, its Friday

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Hedgelayer wrote: »
    Lads lads lads break it up now, its Friday

Are ye right there folks please...

Actually dude you were the one that brought little kids in the comments twice. Would you like me to put up your quotes to remind you?

Nope. All I said was that your drivel was akin to what used to be said when I was a young lad in school that's all. Then you started going on about hanging around with kids.

Are ye right there folks please...

Time to open the doors let in the cold breeze...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

MOD Rural & Plumb, knock it off with the bickering

All bets are off....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,216 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Jesus - this is grim reading.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

touts wrote: »
    I work for a living so I don't have any money as the government take most of it in taxes, levies, and charges. But I have so much more than money. I have the satisfaction of driving home late in the evening to my massively mortgaged house after a long hard day in the office and I get to look at members of the welfare class strolling back to their free houses from the off licence and takeaway while still dressed in their pajamas. As I see that I remember that while I will never see the majority if the money I earn and will never be free from crippling debt at least I know my money is making a real and meaningful difference to the lives of so so many others....

At least you have your dignity. People like you are respected. Hard working productive members of society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Nikki Sixx

Kimbot wrote: »
    So you have: 92,462,797.00

Great I might buy Copper Faced Jacks

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Kimbot wrote: »
    "Rural & Plumb, knock it off with the bickering"

Sounds like a porn title.

"Madam Bickering was have terrible trouble with her rear entrance. She called her two new neighbours, Rural & Plumb who coincidentally moved in either side of her that very same day.

'The gap is just not wide enough' she explained over the phone. Twenty minutes later..."

*sweating profusely*

Excuse me. I'll have to finish this another time.

• Site Banned Posts: 73 ✭✭Jimmy_oc1998

Nice segment on Newstalk with Ivan this evening a lot of people in this thread could take note. It was about money being a taboo subject.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Nice segment on Newstalk with Ivan this evening a lot of people in this thread could take note. It was about money being a taboo subject.

Especially when you're as hooky as he is.