Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much money have you?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,432 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Post how much you have . In my eyes its a very simple case of showing off

Ease off will you! So what if you perceive it as showing off? It's pretty obvious to the rest of us it was just an innocent query.
    Because everyone I know who's on decent wage acts like they're just making ends meat. You always hear people "oh I can't wait until payday" or "it's been so long since we've been paid".

So I was wondering what peoples situation is like.

Not only do I live paycheque to paycheque, I've zero savings and a loan and a credit card and an overdraft! :(

• Site Banned Posts: 73 ✭✭Jimmy_oc1998

B-D-P-- wrote: »
    if your 28, where did 1998 come from in your username troll?

What's the point in answering, your mind is made up?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

jester77 wrote: »
    ah give the OP a break

78k over 10 years works out at just €650 a month. Not exactly that hard to achieve when you are young with no kids and probably living at home for the first few of those 10 years.

I dont think at 18 Op was saving 650 a month.

marcbrophy wrote: »
    Ease off will you! So what if you perceive it as showing off? It's pretty obvious to the rest of us it was just an innocent query.

Not only do I live paycheque to paycheque, I've zero savings and a loan and a credit card and an overdraft! :(

What money do you earn? What is your biggest costs?

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭Abba987

I'm not going to show my identifiable details am I?

If you can tell me a way I can do it without revealing any personal info I will do it.

No but I just can't see anything. Are other people seeing a bank statement ?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,362 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Enough.

Mr Micawber's famous, and oft-quoted, recipe for happiness:

"Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure nineteen [pounds] nineteen [shillings] and six [pence], result happiness. Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure twenty pounds ought and six, result misery."

Charles Dickens, David Copperfield

Abba987 wrote: »
    No but I just can't see anything. Are other people seeing a bank statement ?

What I showed was a screenshot of an estatement.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

I have 17

• Registered Users Posts: 6,432 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

What money do you earn? What is your biggest costs?

I'd rather not say what I earn, if it's all the same :D
    But my rent is roughly 40% of my income and then there's car, food and socialising that eats into the rest of it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭Abba987

What I showed was a screenshot of an estatement.

Right genuinely just can't see it. Coming up blank for me.

Irrelevant anyway. If you've saved that fair play to you. Please move it out of a current account.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

At least make it €70,285.52 or something to make it look a bit more realistic.... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

Jummy sounds really cool, I look up to you Jimmy.
    You're up on the higher echelons of society, anyone who is dating or married to you is onto a winner.
    You rock.

I wish I was you at your age.

Hail Jimmy, oh wise one...

Jimmy you're the man.

Let's give a big shout out to Jimmy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

https://i.imgur.com/7UgLeRv.jpg

Link to screenshot of my account 12 months ago. Sorry it's 21k, not 24k in the last year.

I don't know which is more convincing -- your bank statement or the email I've just received from a Nigerian prince.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

OP other people might not have as much saved as you because they might not get a well-paying job after leaving college, they might not be able to live at home and save or they might just go out and blow the lot on having a life - you know, drinking, going on holidays, partying, living it up with friends. Or on hookers and coc@aine.

Everyone is different. Somebody on a modest salary might not be saving much becase they have to rent away from home because a family member might make it impossible for them to live there. Somebody on a good salary might not be saving much because they might be supporting a younger brother or sister in college.

Some people get a kick out of watching porn. Others get a kick out of watching the amount of money in their bank account increase week by week.

If you're not trolling us go see a financial advisor about investing some of that money in your current account for a better return.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

A lot of jealous guys out there jimmy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Because everyone I know who's on decent wage acts like they're just making ends meat. You always hear people "oh I can't wait until payday" or "it's been so long since we've been paid".

So I was wondering what peoples situation is like.

Typically peoples lifestyle grows to meet their income. It's usually subtle because it happens slowly overtime and people don't really notice it until years later they think back at how they used to survive on say 20k a year but now 10 years later they are somehow only making ends meet at 50k a year and they might not even feel like their lifestyle is all that much different.

To demonstrate this point in the extreme here is an article of a couple who earn 500k between them who claim they struggle to save. They didn't get there over night, every item in their budget would have just gotten added on slowly overtime as their means increased. https://www.cnbc.com/2018/03/06/budget-breakdown-of-a-couple-that-makes-500000-a-year-but-cant-save.html

The fact you haven't let this happen to you puts you in a great spot. It's one of the reasons the most common pieces of financial advice offered to young people is to put any increases you get in your salary straight into a savings account if you can, so you don't feel like you have it to spend easily.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭djan

Regardless of the Op sounding trolly, there is some amount of jealousy/bitterness on show here.

Fair play to ya jimmy, similair situation to you and as long as people budget, you can afford multiple holidays and weekends away and still manage to save the figures mentioned on your salary.

I would say the main thing that helps is not having kids at the moment :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

djan wrote: »
    Regardless of the Op sounding trolly, there is some amount of jealousy/bitterness on show here.

Fair play to ya jimmy, similair situation to you and as long as people budget, you can afford multiple holidays and weekends away and still manage to save the figures mentioned on your salary.

I would say the main thing that helps is not having kids at the moment :D

Keeping the revenue guys a small bit in the dark does no harm either.

True, but to achieve the level of savings mentioned by OP, it's not necessary.

For the sake of argument, OP mentioned being on 45k, yearly savings of 21k and paying rent of 300pm.

For a standard single earner that translates to a monthly disposable income of 2,850
    -
    Rent 300
    Savings 1750
    Net Disposable 800

This is more than enough to get by comfortably once you take a bit of care.

I have no idea how much I have. I have a couple of months salary waiting to be collected and I haven't looked at my bank in ages.

Have a lot of other currencies in the gaff as well. I dunno. I prefer to not think about it. The joys of living relatively cheap.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

Someone starting at 18 to work could easily put away 10k each year, while still living at home and if theres no car other expenses would take 2-3 years to be at 30-40k, grand its frugal living but to think that one couldnt put away 10k each year, its not hard really. OPs case is more related that its in Dublin, as hard to account for all the costs but if theres no overheads mentioned above, then surely possible to put away 10k when you make 45k, a year without a sweat.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭wally79

scamalert wrote: »
    Someone starting at 18 to work could easily put away 10k each year, while still living at home and if theres no car other expenses would take 2-3 years to be at 30-40k, grand its frugal living but to think that one couldnt put away 10k each year, its not hard really. OPs case is more related that its in Dublin, as hard to account for all the costs but if theres no overheads mentioned above, then surely possible to put away 10k when you make 45k, a year without a sweat.

But he put away 21k last year

• Registered Users Posts: 23,277 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

It's not so mad that a 28 year old would have 78k in the bank.
    At 29, I had 100k savings from working 2 jobs and undertaking a small business venture.
    Was getting a nice chunk of interest on that too at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

djan wrote: »
    True, but to achieve the level of savings mentioned by OP, it's not necessary.

For the sake of argument, OP mentioned being on 45k, yearly savings of 21k and paying rent of 300pm.

For a standard single earner that translates to a monthly disposable income of 2,850
    -
    Rent 300
    Savings 1750
    Net Disposable 800

This is more than enough to get by comfortably once you take a bit of care.

The savings need to be €2,000 a month to get to €24k a year.
    You're using the 2019 tax credits. The OP referred to last year so that would be €2,832 per month after tax

Total income €2,832
    Savings €2,000
    Rent €300 (seems very low?)

That leaves €532 a month for everything else. Perhaps its possible but I don't believe it.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

Every time I leave the house I struggle to close the door because there is so much money in my hallway. Just wondering if this is normal for most people out there?

BTW I’m 29, single and a compulsive liar.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,077 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

This thread reminds me of National School after Easter

How many Easter Eggs did you get ? I got 20 !

JeffKenna wrote: »
    The savings need to be €2,000 a month to get to €24k a year.
    You're using the 2019 tax credits. The OP referred to last year so that would be €2,832 per month after tax

Total income €2,832
    Savings €2,000
    Rent €300 (seems very low?)

That leaves €532 a month for everything else. Perhaps its possible but I don't believe it.

My bad on using the wrong tax credits. OP mentioned earlier that the savings were actually 21k and not 24k so I went with that. Would still be 782 pm disposable. Something that is pretty comfortable once you get used to it, have done it myself, albeit no car at the time.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

2011 wrote:

I can't decide which is he biggest spoof between the above or the bags of money comment.

Plus you forgot to mention that before you even reached the hallway you'd probably get wrapped up on your middle leg walking down the stairs.

2011 wrote: »
    Every time I leave the house I struggle to close the door because there is so much money in my hallway. Just wondering if this is normal for most people out there?

If you want to tell yourself that I'm lying that's fine. But facts are facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Why is it so unbelievable to some that a 28 yr old could have 80k in the bank?