Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Opinions on onlyfans and adult entertainment industry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

banie01 wrote: »
    That gave a headstart to anyone seeking to take down files.
    I don't believe that it is totally an issue of links going dead though.
    The mega.nz file for instance is a torrent, only way it could have been viewed and assessed by victims alliance was by downloading the file.
    The same with anything on discord that was viewed, discord doesn't cache files it downloads directly to the recipient.
    With torrents though there's plenty of metadata visible that allows a client to report on states like # of files, size, directory structure, etc, without actually downloading the data.
    With this you can build a proxy client that presents torrent in a Dropbox-style browseable format, but if you want to download the actual content, you get redirected to the torrent.

Don't know a lot about discord, but if it's a P2P network, it's probably using torrent under the hood for file transfers.

There's every possibility that the original torrents still exist, they're just not being published in the original place and this group lacks the know-how to track them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Gatling wrote: »
    Because it's the belief that you can become rich and famous one girl here gave an interview saying she went from Minimum wage to 70k a 6 Month's or so and all she has to do is post videos and images ,
    As you said the place is saturated but to keep themselves making money and attracting new subscribers they will have to go further and further to Keep them coming back ands that's before they end up having to meet up for cash Jobs .

It's a slippery slope

You are right it is.
    Sure many a woman who got into stripping turned to being an escort. Some then full on production style porn. Goes hand in hand.

Ah sure let these women do their own thing. If I posted my true thoughts I'd get a ban. So I'll leave it at saying they are hardly the type you would bring home to meet mammy and daddy, marry and have this wonderful faithful marriage. Etc.

:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

I saw a tweet from Megan J Renee saying there is a Google Doc going round of the file.She told people not to open it but to send it and any chats to her not the Gardai.Why is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Because it's the belief that you can become rich and famous one girl here gave an interview saying she went from Minimum wage to 70k a 6 Month's or so and all she has to do is post videos and images ,
    As you said the place is saturated but to keep themselves making money and attracting new subscribers they will have to go further and further to Keep them coming back ands that's before they end up having to meet up for cash Jobs .

It's a slippery slope

Well done to that girl (if true) but how sustainable is that? There's only so many ways you can show the same tits and arse before punters get bored and move on to the next flavour of the month.

OnlyFans is a race to the bottom. The only people who make money are the ones who got in there early. The average girl hasn't a hope. It's probably better money than the dole, but since anyone who gets a CV instantly googles the name, what future is there for an OnlyFans girl who's pics are leaked all over the internet?

Sardonicat wrote: »
    A slutty pose?

Have you seen any photos taking nowadays?
    I see an Irish girl on Twitter giving out a man gave her a compliment saying she is beautiful but her profile picture is in underwear set and her shorts open
    Sexy/raunchy/slutty/erotic pose to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,926 ✭✭✭✭banie01

seamus wrote: »
    With torrents though there's plenty of metadata visible that allows a client to report on states like # of files, size, directory structure, etc, without actually downloading the data.
    With this you can build a proxy client that presents torrent in a Dropbox-style browseable format, but if you want to download the actual content, you get redirected to the torrent.

Don't know a lot about discord, but if it's a P2P network, it's probably using torrent under the hood for file transfers.

There's every possibility that the original torrents still exist, they're just not being published in the original place and this group lacks the know-how to track them down.

True, it could be that they cached the torrent to an online debrid caching service or similar, but that would and without meaning to sound pissy about it.
    Seem beyond their technical acumen.

I'd agree the torrents are likely pulled and re-upped with different trackers and that'd be another reason that vigilantism in this area is poor practice.

It's an area that requires a high degree of technical proficiency to ensure is tracked and sourced.

The race to be seen as relevant has caused damage both to any likely investigation aswell as, given the sources of the shared files that are acknowledged publically, a potential issue with victims of abuse rather than copyright theft coming forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    Well done to that girl (if true) but how sustainable is that? There's only so many ways you can show the same tits and arse before punters get bored and move on to the next flavour of the month.

OnlyFans is a race to the bottom. The only people who make money are the ones who got in there early. The average girl hasn't a hope. It's probably better money than the dole, but since anyone who gets a CV instantly googles the name, what future is there for an OnlyFans girl who's pics are leaked all over the internet?

That's the thing. These young ones won't be thinking about their future. How can they... They're young and naive to the world as we all once were.

Like take that girl who said she makes 70k. That's 48k take home (if she pays taxes - which she'd be mad not to given she's putting yourself out there) so she gets roughly around that for the next 5 years then things dry up. Then what? As you say it'll only take a Google of the name to find her out. Even if she thinks she's clever and takes a name of "daisy dublin" her real name will come out once she gets popular.

These women are mad :pac:
    Same thing has happened for decades in the porn industry. Some young hot woman makes good money for doing porn - then no longer flavor of the month - resorts to doing things she wouldn't normally do (gangbangs, watersports or whatever that may be) and most moonlight as escorts on the side. Can't give it up and accept that they had their run.

And the funny thing is most of the girls won't even have a run. Making a few euro putting it all out there.
    The real winner of OnlyFans is the guy who owns it.

I learned another thing from all this on Twitter
    Irish girls who are FinDoms

And the funny thing is most of the girls won't even have a run. Making a few euro putting it all out there.
    The real winner of OnlyFans is the guy who owns it.

For anyone who's interested, there's a free podcast on Audible called "Butterfly Effect" by Jon Ronson.

In episode 1 he meets the guys who founded Pornhub and basically stole porn and made it free to access, and are making a killing off the ad revenue.

In episode 2 he meets porn producers and porn stars who are barely making a living shooting porn six days a week, because it's stolen and uploaded so fast. But they have no other option as they're tainted by the stigma of working in porn they can't get work anywhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

For anyone who's interested, there's a free podcast on Audible called "Butterfly Effect" by Jon Ronson.

In episode 1 he meets the guys who founded Pornhub and basically stole porn and made it free to access, and are making a killing off the ad revenue.

In episode 2 he meets porn producers and porn stars who are barely making a living shooting porn six days a week, because it's stolen and uploaded so fast. But they have no other option as they're tainted by the stigma of working in porn they can't get work anywhere else.

Sounds like rectal prolapse rates must be seeing exponential growth.

Hot girls wanted paints a bleak picture too.
    Its on Netflix and is worth a watch.
    Society and sociological issues play a huge part in these girls decision's and the fall out they encounter.

I saw someone post earlier that there will be a civil case?
    I'm very interested to see how that develops?
    Particularly in the context of EU digital media ownership initiatives.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Hot girls wanted paints a bleak picture too.
    Its on Netflix and is worth a watch.
    Society and sociological issues play a huge part in these girls decision's and the fall out they encounter.

I saw someone post earlier that there will be a civil case?
    I'm very interested to see how that develops?
    Particularly in the context of EU digital media ownership initiatives.

Surely women in question who were financially reimbursed for their services are opening a whole can of worms with a civil case. Eg. ere they paying tax on their earnings? Do you need a visa to work in another jurisdiction?even if it was online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,407 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

sasta le wrote: »
    Have you seen any photos taking nowadays?
    I see an Irish girl on Twitter giving out a man gave her a compliment saying she is beautiful but her profile picture is in underwear set and her shorts open
    Sexy/raunchy/slutty/erotic pose to me

Sexy =slut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭Feisar

Sounds like rectal prolapse rates must be seeing exponential growth.

Roses are red
    Violets are blue
    Don't take to much cock
    In the poo poo.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,020 ✭✭✭✭anewme

You are right it is.
    Sure many a woman who got into stripping turned to being an escort. Some then full on production style porn. Goes hand in hand.

Ah sure let these women do their own thing. If I posted my true thoughts I'd get a ban. So I'll leave it at saying they are hardly the type you would bring home to meet mammy and daddy, marry and have this wonderful faithful marriage. Etc.

:P

Somehow with that attitude,I don’t think you need worry about there being a queue of women wanting to go home and meet your mammy and daddy. Unless of course you are bringing home your plastic dolls?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭h2005

When the time comes when these people aren’t making money from this what do they do? I wouldn’t be hiring them. Even if they were very capable I’d just bin their CV if it arrived.

Relationship wise I’d imagine they will suffer too. How many people are comfortable going out with people that have this in their background?

All I see coming from this is short term monetary gain followed by a lifetime of regret.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

h2005 wrote: »
    When the time comes when these people aren’t making money from this what do they do? I wouldn’t be hiring them. Even if they were very capable I’d just bin their CV if it arrived.

Relationship wise I’d imagine they will suffer too. How many people are comfortable going out with people that have this in their background?

All I see coming from this is short term monetary gain followed by a lifetime of regret.

May be seen by some employers as a good thing.

Of course there may be some associated ... expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Purgative

Sexy and slutty are different that's why the poster used both words rather than one of them.

There is an overlap between the meaning of both but the meaning is not the same, happy to clarify fuether if you still don't understand.

Great user name. I foresee a long Boards career.

Isn't that the case with all synonyms though?

Purgative wrote: »
    Great user name. I foresee a long Boards career.

Isn't that the case with all synonyms though?

A Tommy Cooper fan obviously.

Gone.....Just like that!!!

anewme wrote: »
    A Tommy Cooper fan obviously.

Gone.....Just like that!!!

Oh my. Makes my post even more irrelevant than usual.

LimesTimes wrote: »
    There's a certain kind of woman that gets very bitter on threads like these, they usually resort to personal insults rather than engage in constructive debate and discussion.

This type of woman was likely treated badly by men in the past, perhaps treated like a cumbucket and discarded like trash. Awful to be treated like that of course. But this type of woman never processed that emotional trauma, it sits in them like poison and infects them on a daily basis, and it results in them being abusive towards other people, especially men, as they generalise that all men are the problem. It's quite unfortunate.

I seem to have seen this post about three times now from three different new users, who then rapidly disappear.

I'm just off to the conspiracy theories forum.

I seem to have seen this post about three times now from three different new users, who then rapidly disappear.

What it really does show though, is that aew some right weirdos out there and that harassment legislation does need to be enacted against hate speech.

This person has registered numerous times posting the same type of crap, hiding behind a cloak of anonymity.

Clearly does not like women. To go a bit further, clearly does not like himself either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Your not wrong it's appeared else where today

Someone must have learned how to use cut and paste and is practising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

A very interesting video on how much "internet models" make.

In one month she made over £10,000 with most of it coming from onlyfans.

VNT3Rs3.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭robinbird

More and more this campaign is coming across as our version of "Home taping is killing music"

Image based sexual abuse "sharing of porn" is hurting the income of the irish onlyfans "models".

robinbird wrote: »
    More and more this campaign is coming across as our version of "Home taping is killing music"

Image based sexual abuse "sharing of porn" is hurting the income of the irish onlyfans "models".

That's precisely what it is.
    The efforts of the Victim Alliance to paint Onlyfans girls as victims in this debacle is and should be an affront to anyone who has ever been subjected to Image based abuse and control.

The issue is copyright, not criminal.

Loss of income is unfortunate, but again not criminal.
    The backslapping and victory laps taken by some on this issue are quite premature.
    Entering an Industry that has become free due to ad monetisation and expecting to have a right to privacy for images that were produced for public exhibition at a fee?
    Absolute lunacy, and a case that even with the new bill, will be impossible to successfully prosecute IMO.
    Any half competent solicitor would get any criminal case based on harm suffered a creator due to sharing/pirating paid content thrown out.

The remedy is copyright, the success of that remedy in the current climate relies on deep pockets and successful identification of the sharers and downloaders and quantifying that loss.
    The harm is financial, it is ridiculous for a creator to take a position that they have incurred a criminal harm, when that harm is eliminated or ameliorated by receiving a royalty payment.

VNT3Rs3.jpg

Can you do the same?
    No :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭Vic_08

That's precisely what it is.
    The efforts of the Victim Alliance to paint Onlyfans girls as victims in this debacle is and should be an affront to anyone who has ever been subjected to Image based abuse and control.

The issue is copyright, not criminal.

Loss of income is unfortunate, but again not criminal.
    The backslapping and victory laps taken by some on this issue are quite premature.
    Entering an Industry that has become free due to ad monetisation and expecting to have a right to privacy for images that were produced for public exhibition at a fee?
    Absolute lunacy, and a case that even with the new bill, will be impossible to successfully prosecute IMO.
    Any half competent solicitor would get any criminal case based on harm suffered a creator due to sharing/pirating paid content thrown out.

The remedy is copyright, the success of that remedy in the current climate relies on deep pockets and successful identification of the sharers and downloaders and quantifying that loss.
    The harm is financial, it is ridiculous for a creator to take a position that they have incurred a criminal harm, when that harm is eliminated or ameliorated by receiving a royalty payment.

You keep posting this but can you point to any voluntary publisher of adult material having claimed a right to privacy?

Copyright infringement is and has for a long time been on the books as a criminal act, here and in most other countries.

Worldwide many cases have been taken through the criminal courts, mostly by the film, music and luxury goods companies. Some people have even got custodial sentences for it.

Vic_08 wrote: »
    You keep posting this but can you point to any voluntary publisher of adult material having claimed a right to privacy?

Copyright infringement is and has for a long time been on the books as a criminal act, here and in most other countries.

Worldwide many cases have been taken through the criminal courts, mostly by the film, music and luxury goods companies. Some people have even got custodial sentences for it.

Megan J Renee, Eboni Burke and Linda Hayden have all taken a position that sharing of the images is Sexual Image Abuse.
    The head of Sexual Image Abuse at Victims Alliance is a bright and driven young lady who has had an awful experience as a younger woman with Sexual Image Abuse and has valid and devastating experience of the impact it can have.

Unfortunately she is now also an active and fairly prolific content creator for Onlyfans who is drawing a false equivalence between her actual instance of abuse, and her current instance of claimed lost income.

They have drawn an equivalence between loss of income and coercive sexual control, blackmail and abuse.
    It's not!
    Equating someone downloading your willingly produced and published content via a means that cuts out ones royalty payment is none of the above.

Regarding the criminality of Copyright infringement, with particular regards to sharing digital content.
    Yes it is criminal, it is however rarely prosecuted.
    The sanctions for proven digital copyright infringement in Ireland currently rest upon the ISP strike system in the main.

The issue around taking criminal cases for what amounts to low value copyright infringement.
    The entire evidential process for such cases as it stands, generally rests with the large industry bodies providing evidence of the seeders, file sharers, the downloaders and the quantifiable loss.
    The DPP then make a call on prosecuting.

The issue with the above is that film/music/digital industry bodies have a near zero success rate in obtaining convictions and have taken to holding the ISPs accountable.
    Hence the strikes system.

Now on the civil side, the burden of proof required is lowed and apart from some instances of punitive damages in the US that amount to huge sums awarded against people who have near zero assets?

There is minimal success.
    Be it Albums leaked before release, pirated movies and TV, pirated games or software.
    All digital content, all protected by Artists, Companies and Industry bodies with incredibly deep pockets.

All finding that criminal sanction for copyright isn't arresting the spread of their content without royalty.

Now should the Onlyfans girls wish to pursue Criminal Copyright charges against anyone?
    The evidential burden is huge, and criminal conviction requires a high bar.
    It's unlikely to ever be successful and more importantly would be an explicit admission that the harm was financial, it wasn't an assault or harm.

In a civil case, the evidential burden is still high but the burden of proof is far lower.
    There may well be a win but again, the harm would be monetary as would the compensation awarded.

Neither of those options fit the narrative of victimised and exploited sex worker that those who are loudest about their images being shared are making.
    So it's better to tag the sharing of content produced for public exhibition, on to the emotive and wholly necessary laws to address exploitation and harm against victims of IBSA.