Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on onlyfans and adult entertainment industry

• Registered Users Posts: 18,401 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Just on the 'revenge porn' thing which works both ways, let it be said.
    There are two things that are slightly connected:
    I don't think 'people' get the fact that prosecuting someone in this area would be extremely difficult for a number of very obvious reasons and indeed relatively easy for someone to avoid prosecution in this area. It'll require a shed load more specialists and will provide lucrative gigs for solicitors.
    People, in general, need to made aware that posting images in a digital format, even privately is not something you should be doing unless you'd be happy for your granny or parents to see those images. There are so many avenues open to have those images made public or even exposed to more than the intended recipient, it's scary.
    This is not 'victim blaming' before anyone hits me up on it. It's asking for people to have a bit more cop on.
    I said it earlier but as good as things generally are nowadays there are many pitfalls of increased technology usage.

Mr.S wrote: »
    Fairly weird you made an account just to post in this thread, tbh.

How do you know that?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,488 ✭✭✭✭banie01

How do you know that?

10 posts, joined today and 1st post was on here as were the majority of the rest of their posts.

banie01 wrote: »
    10 posts, joined today and 1st post was on here as were the majority of the rest of their posts.

Still though. When I re-regged I think I went straight back to a particular thread. I am very naive though in the ways of other re-reges :D

kippy wrote: »
    People, in general, need to made aware that posting images in a digital format, even privately is not something you should be doing unless you'd be happy for your granny or parents to see those images.

Very true.
    It needs to be appreciated just how easily private moments can be shared.

Similar situation with Gmail and iCloud storage.
    If someone has your email and you don't have a string password and 2FA enabled, there is a possibility that you will at least be targeted for a hack and without a complex password, 2fa and log in alerts you might not even know.

There is a long history of Onlyfans stuff been shared on 4chan and other sites, Reddit used to be a big hub for it too but the onlyfans stuff they now take down as DMCA violation.

Rte are reporting that the Gardaí are investigating and hopefully if the purported cache of images exists?
    It will be investigatedd appropriately and action taken.

There is a huge degree of convenience in the timing, and tbh the amount of talk around the existence of pictures, on the net, out there in the ether yet not actually being presented in any form other than as hearsay and 2nd hand just wakes the cynic in me.

Very true.

If someone has your email and you don't have a string password and 2FA enabled, there is a possibility that you will at least be targeted for a hack and without a complex password, 2fa and log in alerts you might not even know.

There is a long history of Onlyfans stuff been shared on 4chan and other sites, Reddit used to be a big hub for it too but the onlyfans stuff they now take down as DMCA violation.

Rte are reporting that the Gardaí are investigating and hopefully if the purported cache of images exists?

There is a huge degree of convenience in the timing, and tbh the amount of talk around the existence of pictures, on the net, out there in the ether yet not actually being presented in any form other than as hearsay and 2nd hand just wakes the cynic in me.
    I suppose the timing is convenient however I'd hope it's a warning/reminder to those that need it most that sharing nude pictures of yourself in any digital format is risky......
    (Of course I know there are allegedly lots of pictures of people who did not know they were being photographed, that is a totally different issue but unfortunately the damage done is far greater now due to technology) - this area is also very difficult to prosecute in, one would think.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,217 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Very true.

It's odd for this cache to be circulating, but has anyone seen it. All I'm seeing are third hand reports.

Feels like Momo all over again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

If photos are public in the internet what are be done?

So if a 17 year old posts a picture in social media is it against the law to share it?I see my cousin's Instagram its very sexual at times

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

So:

1. Unauthorised sharing/distribution of OnlyFans/commercial stuff - copyright issue?
    2. Distributed intimate photos of former partner (AKA revenge porn) - grey area?
    3. Voyeur stuff - already a crime?
    4. Child images - already a crime?

Would that be correct?

Are the people who sell nude images trying to get #1 made a sexual abuse crime?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

So:

1. OnlyFans/commercial stuff - copyright issue?
    2. Distributed intimate photos of former partner (AKA revenge porn) - grey area?
    3. Voyeur stuff - already a crime?
    4. Child images - already a crime?

Would that be correct?

Are the people who sell nude images trying to get #1 made a sexual abuse crime?

Isn't number 1 just photo piracy?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,590 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I do not have a problem with either of them. They have to get money somehow.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Isn't number 1 just photo piracy?

Yeah, I would have thought so, I think in law it would be a copyright issue as the pics are owned by an individual or business.

I do think #2 should be criminal because it's a fierce scummy thing to do and should come with consequences.

#3 and #4 are already criminal I would have thought.

But are some photos just sexy posing from Facebook Instagram etc

• Registered Users Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

bigpink wrote: »
    So if a 17 year old posts a picture in social media is it against the law to share it?I see my cousin's Instagram its very sexual at times

Is it something you’re planning to do?

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭Shoelaces

bigpink wrote: »

You might enjoy a little hamlet called Shelbyville

The copyright issue, while an issue, is also extremely difficult to practically prosecute on.
    These are individual copyrights not big multinationals with legal teams at their disposal, and one would wonder the rationale of law enforcement investigating every copyright violation of this nature.....
    I am not even sure if this is a criminal or civil offence.

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Larsso30

Starting to question the legitimacy of the "leak" at this point myself 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 15,288 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Long article in Irish times today on this

The guards are saying the only fans leak is unlikely to be prosecuted

At most it’s a civil matter under copyright law

• Registered Users Posts: 11,863 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Long article in Irish times today on this

The guards are saying the only fans leak is unlikely to be prosecuted

At most it’s a civil matter under copyright law

That’s why the campaign is going on to change the law on sexual images.

anewme wrote: »
    That’s why the campaign is going on to change the law on sexual images.

So the campaign is to change copyright law and make it a criminal offence?
    I think you may have your wires crossed.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Isn't the purpose of Only Fans to use your body and looks for likes?
    cash

kippy wrote: »
    So the campaign is to change copyright law and make it a criminal offence?
    I think you may have your wires crossed.

No I haven’t got my wires crossed- have you?

The campaign is to have image based sexual banned, irrespective of where the content comes from.

I heard about it from my young niece, so perhaps you might be out of the loop, but it’s generating a lot of interest from that demographic of people. They are also having a class on it in school- to make sure they are aware of how the law is currently- to protect themselves.

“A digital protest is being organised in Ireland to demand that image-based sexual abuse be banned after tens of thousands of nudes were stolen from women, LGBT+ people and OnlyFans stars only to then be leaked online.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Paul Weller

The campaign is to have image based sexual banned, irrespective of where the content comes from.

“A digital protest is being organised in Ireland to demand that image-based sexual abuse be banned after tens of thousands of nudes were stolen from women, LGBT+ people and OnlyFans stars only to then be leaked online.”

I actually can't understand what you're trying to say here
    Only fans is sexual abuse?...or its sexual abuse when not paid for?

I actually can't understand what you're trying to say here
    Only fans is sexual abuse?...or its sexual abuse when not paid for?

Yeah I asked how it works.

It is about consent.

Same as a sex worker can have sex for money, but can still be raped.

Yeah I asked how it works.

It is about consent.

Same as a sex worker can have sex for money, but can still be raped.

Rape is a crime on its own feet though because of its violent physical nature.

Onlyfans leake is different. the issue is the model didnt consent to her images being shared however they were legitimately obtained in the first place, someone did pay to view them.

Its the same as sharing books, DVD's, etc as technically you do not have the creator / authors permission to do so. Should it only be a crime if you lend your mate a copy of Playboy but not womans own is the question then.

Again, and this is quite important in the context of this story.
    As of yet, now over 3 days into this scandal.
    There is zero credible evidence of this leak existing.
    None.

Yes there is a need for legislation in the area, but the current furore is based on something that is being presented as a mass hack of thousands...
    But there is zero actual evidence the incident has happened.

The women who sell their adult stuff to subscribers would have known the risks of it being shared without their consent. It's not the same as women who shared intimate images with a former partner having their stuff made public, equating the two is doing the latter no favours.

Rape is a crime on its own feet though because of its violent physical nature.

Onlyfans leake is different. the issue is the model didnt consent to her images being shared however they were legitimately obtained in the first place, someone did pay to view them.

Its the same as sharing books, DVD's, etc as technically you do not have the creator / authors permission to do so. Should it only be a crime if you lend your mate a copy of Playboy but not womans own is the question there

I’m not saying it’s my opinion. I’m saying that’s people are where people are (younger group) are protestingI was answering the person who thought I got my wires crossed.

It’s not just women, either, it’s all genders.

I heard about it from my young niece, so perhaps you might be out of the loop, but it’s generating a lot of interest from that demographic of people. They are also having a class on it in school- to make sure they are aware of how the law is currently- to protect themselves.

You have completely lost me. Sorry