Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

From Kerry- went to UCC and played football there for all 4 years.

I just want to say a bit on Eamon Ryan- an absolute event of a man.
    I suffered a number of injuries at different times and he always make sure you were looked after. Had great time for everyone involved with the club

His knowledge of club games going on was almost unparalleled- you’d land in after Christmas and he’d be asking you about duhallow tournament matches, etc.

As someone who played fresher, junior, intermediate and senior/ he treated every player there with the same level of respect and was a great man to knock into for a chat.

Would tell you that truth too- told me after one Christmas that I had gone too hard at it and needed to lose a few pounds! A gas man, a lovely man, a huge loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Very sad news regarding Eamonn. By all accounts and as stated here he was an absolute gent. I recall one of the Cork ladies saying (Brid Stack I think) that the first person she rang about getting engaged was Eamonn. He was like a father figure to them all. A legend of the game. Rest in peace.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

Donal O'Grady is joining Kieran Kingston's backroom staff in analysis and coaching.

Sport and performance psychologist Cathal Sheridan has also joined Kingston’s backroom team as well.

It should have been done years ago. Hopefully success will come Cork hurling way going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,164 ✭✭✭zetecescort

RIP Eamonn Ryan. Had the pleasure of a few words with him at different post All Ireland celebrations over the years. As others have said, a true gent who had time for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

RIP. Did not know him myself but never heard anyone have a bad word for him either who knew him or played for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Whats the view in Cork GAA of Mike Ashley of Sports Direct Slaves operation been their new sponser?
    Stories from the UK of his staff all on UK minimum wage without breaks, needing to use foodbanks etc etc are not what one likes to be associated with.

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Whats the view in Cork GAA of Mike Ashley of Sports Direct Slaves operation been their new sponser?
    Stories from the UK of his staff all on UK minimum wage without breaks, needing to use foodbanks etc etc are not what one likes to be associated with.

UK operation is a totally different thing to the Irish one. This deal was done with the Irish marketing HQ in Dublin. I would imagine Mike Ashley didn't even know about it.

The UK sports direct problem is just that, a UK problem, of which they have many.

Good deal for Cork GAA. Wouldn't have got that kinda money from many other places.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,176 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

From a financial perspective, it looks to be the best new deal of any county, done during a pandemic also.
    SD have a bad name across the water, but not so in Ireland but there will still be a negative side to them as a result, you say SD, you think Ashley.

Outside of how the New Jersey will look, I hope there wont need to be any other mention of them. Time will tell.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

LuasSimon wrote: »

Under the economic environment we live in, a v good deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 517 ✭✭✭benji79

Great deal with Sports Direct. Unreal deal in the current climate

Hopefully all just precaution but an unfortunate start for Brid Stack in Australia

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2021/0117/1190269-all-ireland-winner-stack-hospitalised-in-australia/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,176 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Looks like it's not as serious as first thought, erring on the side of caution and that she will make a full recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,357 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

If the fans of Cork GAA allow the deal with British worker abuse Kings Sports Direct, they might as well give up any further pretence of caring one eff about their principles in Gaelic games.

They might as well ground share PUC with Cork City FC, might as well allow hare coursing on the pitch, might as well let the National Party hold its AGM in the conference suite.

Not to mention that Cork GAA taking the Queen's shilling in a post Brexit world would make many great GAA people and nationalists puke in their graves.

If the fans won't oppose it, Croke Park must intervene. If that means breaking the contract and opening CGAA up to liability, then Croke Park can use it as an excuse to dismiss the mongrels in PUC who thought it was just grand to sign this deal in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

Larbre34 wrote: »
    If the fans of Cork GAA allow the deal with British worker abuse Kings Sports Direct, they might as well give up any further pretence of caring one eff about their principles in Gaelic games.

They might as well ground share PUC with Cork City FC, might as well allow hare coursing on the pitch, might as well let the National Party hold its AGM in the conference suite.

Not to mention that Cork GAA taking the Queen's shilling in a post Brexit world would make many great GAA people and nationalists puke in their graves.

If the fans won't oppose it, Croke Park must intervene. If that means breaking the contract and opening CGAA up to liability, then Croke Park can use it as an excuse to dismiss the mongrels in PUC who thought it was just grand to sign this deal in the first place.

Alot of bile and vitriol in that post. Probably abit of anti British sentiment aswell which is prevalent in certain sectors in Ireland and its not nice. Lots of republican tropes 'Queens shilling' is a classic ...im surprised you didn't mention 'Crown forces'.
    Cork are after getting a great sponsorship deal. They arent a union or socialists. They are trying to pay off a large debt in a capitalist (best system ever) world. I say fair play to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Not arguing any side but any sponsorship source has to be held to ethical standards. Personally I dislike soccer clubs being sponsored by betting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭RedRochey

Sure Dublin's sponsor's AIG had a major impact in the financial crisis and needed a $80billion bailout from the US government, don't see people saying Dublin should turn their back on them

Yes I would've preferred to seen a more local sponsor but as many people have pointed out, we're not in a position to be picky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

They said Formula 1 wouldn't survive without cigarette advertising.

Where do we draw the line with ethics if that's your gripe? Gaa players all over the country are wearing football boots made by unethical factories in asia.

Sportsdirect employ plenty of Irish people in this country and haven't treated them badly. Would you like to see them let go? I can't stress enough that the Irish branch is separate to the UK one.

Ephie Fitzgerald staying with the ladies football for a 6th year, Paudie Murray staying with the camogie for a 10th year

That's good news.

new jersey due on Thursday. will be interesting to see how the logo looks, can't be much worse than Chill

https://www.echolive.ie/corksport/arid-40217561.html

new jersey due on Thursday. will be interesting to see how the logo looks, can't be much worse than Chill

https://www.echolive.ie/corksport/arid-40217561.html

I’m afraid it could be worse. Can’t see that logo looking great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Tomás Clancy has retired from inter county football. He had an injury that kept him out last season.

Best wishes to him while he continues to play for his club after he recovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Photos of the new Jersey doing the rounds. Extremely boring looking unfortunately

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Coneygree

DuffleBag wrote: »
    Photos of the new Jersey doing the rounds. Extremely boring looking unfortunately

Thought it'd be worse. I was expecting a big fat rectangle of royal blue to be smack in the middle of the jersey.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Nash Bridges

DuffleBag wrote: »

It's an improvement on the Chill logo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭raddo

It's an improvement on the Chill logo.

Well they slipped up there first day by not using this one. Prototype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,675 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

48 euro on Sportsdirect and 70 on O'Neills.... why?

No personalisation options is disappointing

Kids love getting the number of their favourite player or their names etc

Wonder why we've now two stripes?

Decent saving from oneills but I bet that price will go up

Weird spot lads but the shirts on O'Neills have 3 stripes and on Sportsdirect have 2 stripes....

Nice looking Jersey. Better than what I was expecting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭raddo

As far as I'm aware, the 3 striped versions of all O'Neills gear can only be sold in Ireland. 2 striped versions are for all other countries.
    Big difference in price for a stripe though

raddo wrote: »
    As far as I'm aware, the 3 striped versions of all O'Neills gear can only be sold in Ireland. 2 striped versions are for all other countries.
    Really? That's very very strange wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭Plastik

Yeah the video jerseys are clearly 3 stripes.

Funnily enough, the shorts the guy is wearing on the sportsdirect page have 3 stripes.

2 stripe versions are always cheaper on UK o'neills page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭thefa

Not gone on the song but the video has some lovely shots.

Probably a bit too much changing in one go. Liked the simplicity of the collar, shoulders and sleeves in O’Neills last template versus their new one plus the vertical stripes. Ideally would want the sports direct smaller but at least no blue. Will probably have to reserve final judgement until I see it in the flesh or we win silverware in it!

Adidas have 3 stripes exclusivity in the rest of the world I believe.

O'Neills are taking the piss a bit with the €22 difference between 2 stripe and 3 stripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Only for the sponsor I think it be a fab jersey

O'Neills are taking the piss a bit with the €22 difference between 2 stripe and 3 stripe.

I imagine there's VAT etc, not just the cost of an extra stripe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭BobBobBobBob

I'll be buying mine and the kids jerseys off Sportdirects. G'luck O'Neills!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,700 ✭✭✭thesultan

You should see the cost they put in getting long sleeves

• Registered Users Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Only for the sponsor I think it be a fab jersey

True it ruins the Jersey.

At least they didn't go for the blue box with the sponsor

Don’t like the jersey because of the sponsor logo. But they probably couldn’t do much more with it, it’s just not a nice logo in general. Removing the blue was a good step

raddo wrote: »

Adidas tried to sue O’Neills years ago and lost. As a result O’Neills kept a right to use three stripes on gear sold in Republic of Ireland
    If you watch you’ll notice often that gear for say example Tyrone or Armagh will only have 2 stripes as they’re classed UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

benji79 wrote: »
    Adidas tried to sue O’Neills years ago and lost. As a result O’Neills kept a right to use three stripes on gear sold in Republic of Ireland
    If you watch you’ll notice often that gear for say example Tyrone or Armagh will only have 2 stripes as they’re classed UK

I don’t think that’s quite true regarding the counties in the North, they too use 3 stripes. But if you look at club jerseys from San Fran or Oz you’ll most likely see 2 stripes.