Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Social farming is another great initiative. Gets people who wouldn't otherwise get a chance to partake in farming activities.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

I says wrote: »
    Do you know how much you get for fostering kids per week per child. It would open your eyes.

Slightly ridiculous comment. Foster parents do get paid well, but they work 24 hours a day, 7 days a week 365 days a year! And are constantly watched and assessed through all this. Not even taking into consideration the back ground some of the children will be coming from and all the problems that brings. There is no way in hell you'd do it for the money.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭emaherx

No more 3G/4G for me :D

492856.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Odelay

^ was waiting 2mins for that to download. Gave up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

emaherx wrote: »
    No more 3G/4G for me :D

492856.jpg

Jaysus. The only time my internet shows 277 is the number of seconds since the last ping.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,493 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Just saw the video of the GAA lads in Enniskerry falling of the trailer.
    I’d say there’s s few lads hurt bad enough.

Horrible thing to happen them.

Feel equally sorry for whoever owned the truck, they’ll be in for a world of pain after this. It’s the sort of incident that closes a business.

https://www.thesun.ie/news/4653309/enniskerry-gaa-lorry-several-injured-video/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,178 ✭✭✭orm0nd

_Brian wrote: »
    Just saw the video of the GAA lads in Enniskerry falling of the trailer.
    I’d say there’s s few lads hurt bad enough.

Horrible thing to happen them.

Feel equally sorry for whoever owned the truck, they’ll be in for a world of pain after this. It’s the sort of incident that closes a business.

https://www.thesun.ie/news/4653309/enniskerry-gaa-lorry-several-injured-video/

There were more detailed videos on line last night but have been removed after requests from family members of the team.

Some morons have literally no cop on,

Wishing the injured a speed recovery, no serious head or spine injuries thankfully m

• Registered Users Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Japan and Scotland really going for it, end to end stuff. Japan lead 14-7 after 25min

• Registered Users Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Japan and Scotland really going for it, end to end stuff. Japan lead 14-7 after 25min

Can't understand how Gray's tackle was grand when every other game its a card of some colour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Saw a deer on the farm here for the first time ever
    Heard the dogs barking and went to check
    The dogs chased him the length of the field and then he jumped a ditch and disappeared
    Sign of an explosion in population when they're here in coastal south Wicklow

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Young lad near here must have recently got the tractor licence. Up and down the road constantly in an 8360. And I mean constantly. Even seen it parked at the school one day. The last few days though I noticed it sounded different. Spotted it on the street yesterday and the exhaust looks fresh. And it's also after been fitted with one of those yokes that makes a whirring noise when ya let yer foot off the throttle (ala boy racers in their ****e cars). It's louder now too.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,135 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Young lad near here must have recently got the tractor licence. Up and down the road constantly in an 8360. And I mean constantly. Even seen it parked at the school one day. The last few days though I noticed it sounded different. Spotted it on the street yesterday and the exhaust looks fresh. And it's also after been fitted with one of those yokes that makes a whirring noise when ya let yer foot off the throttle (ala boy racers in their ****e cars). It's louder now too.

I'll swap ya your 8360 with it's fancy exhaust.
    For three Scania's with fancy exhausts.

The best of neighbours though and no need for an alarm clock to wake you in the morning. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,524 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

He didn't fit anything. He took out the silencer and put on a straight pipe. It's the sound off the turbo you can hear.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,150 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Local team were to play in the senior and minor championship final today. Both called off just over an hour before kick off due to the weather

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

whelan2 wrote: »
    Local team were to play in the senior and minor championship final today. Both called off just over an hour before kick off due to the weather

What weather do ye have Whelan?

Was expecting rain here today, and it turned out to be a lovely day. We went to the beach and the kids went in swimming... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 29,150 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What weather do ye have Whelan?

Was expecting rain here today, and it turned out to be a lovely day. We went to the beach and the kids went in swimming... :)

Was a horrible wet morning. I dont think it was forecast that bad. I left drawing in the bales we did yesterday until this morning. Some muck

The ploughing match will be back on the same site next year.

This might be interesting to someone.

It's a hippy dippy U.S. film about people and soil.
    It's only available for free viewing for the next two days.

https://grow.foodrevolution.org/screening/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Got a load of (small) straw bales yesterday. Sun splitting the stones until they had them thrown off and the lorry pulled away. The heavens them opened. Never moved stuff as fast. Went to bed hardly able to climb stairs last night. And today was the most beautiful day all day - all comes down to timing!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

All the cattle in the shed now since yesterday evening. Like that only had them in and the heavens opened!!

Never as glad. Raining here all night. The place is saturated!

All done by candlelight from now on!!

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Keep Sluicing

If any one is thinking of going to those IrBEA biogas workshops, be prepared to be disappointed. They are looking for a very specific type of business, nothing for the ordinary farmer.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

If any one is thinking of going to those IrBEA biogas workshops, be prepared to be disappointed. They are looking for a very specific type of business, nothing for the ordinary farmer.

Which is?

ganmo wrote: »
    Which is?

Farmer produced and farmer used biogas, not connected to the electricity grid.
    With feedstock either from waste from poultry, pig or bovine farms topped up only by surplus grass silage to milk and meat production. With the emphasis on not interfering with our national food production to our important secondary producer companies.
    The biogas can be used for heating on farm and house and any other businesses on farm or a neighbouring business.
    Electricity can be used on farm too.

Which is?

A farm that has enough free feedstock (slurry) all year round to run around 100kw chp engine, and has a constant on farm power requirement of approx 60 tkwo 80kw, while being able to use all the heat produced on farm.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

ah so the state still don't want to facilitate micro generation in anyway

Yes, that's it in a nutshell.
    Off grid plants. And they are giving partial capital grants for 3 of these types of plants.

For all the Liverpool FC supporters.
    I betcha never knew there was a connection with New Ross.

https://twitter.com/Johnglennon5/status/1183782625066049543?s=20

https://twitter.com/Johnglennon5/status/1183783617987776513?s=20

• Registered Users Posts: 21,144 ✭✭✭✭Water John

AFAIK no one died on the Dunbrody. It was a passenger ship.
    Interesting on Anfield.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Odelay

Water John wrote: »
    Interesting on Anfield.

I thought that was the Jeanie Johnson?

Water John wrote: »
    Interesting on Anfield.

The original was built in Quebec I believe as were the rest of their ships.
    They were all cargo originally converted to passenger for the famine, I believe.
    A good few of the passenger trips went to Quebec.
    It makes you wonder what was brought on the back load? Probably sawn timber or some it.

Edit: what am I saying. There's the liverpool connection. Backloads most likely cotton from that part of the world.