Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,110 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Everton actually had their home ground at Anfield before liverpool did and then moved over the other side of Stanley park to goodison park. Going over to a game soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,087 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Bloody hell these abbreviations on social media really have to get you thinking.

ICH
    IFA
    MII
    F1
    F2
    F3
    ESN

• Registered Users Posts: 18,480 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

_Brian wrote: »

That was on the Moncreiff show today.

I think it's deadly. Pun intended.

You're dead and will always be dead after and the family knows you'll always be dead. So why not, add a bit of humour at the funeral and leave on a high and laughing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

https://www.farmersjournal.ie/teagasc-appoints-two-new-cattle-specialists-501298

Problems for beef farming over......Teagasc have appointed 2 new cattle specialists...just what we needed more experts as if we don’t have enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

I see one of our climate change activists our beloved president is abroad again, how did he get there..... between him and mary Robinson they have my head busted:eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    https://www.farmersjournal.ie/teagasc-appoints-two-new-cattle-specialists-501298

Problems for beef farming over......Teagasc have appointed 2 new cattle specialists...just what we needed more experts as if we don’t have enough.
    I'm starting to hate the word specialist

• Registered Users Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I've as pair of muck master wellies that have served me well. Need a new pair for the coming winter. Any suggestions on what to get ?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,284 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

davidk1394 wrote: »
    I've as pair of muck master wellies that have served me well. Need a new pair for the coming winter. Any suggestions on what to get ?

Dunlop purofort

• Registered Users Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

davidk1394 wrote: »

I've a pair of muck boots as well. Really like them but not much grip. Herself has a pair of skellerup quattro and I'd go for a pair of them the next time. Way better grip on the soles of them and insulated as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I've a pair of muck boots as well. Really like them but not much grip. Herself has a pair of skellerup quattro and I'd go for a pair of them the next time. Way better grip on the soles of them and insulated as well.

Where did you pick up those wellies ? Would they be hot in the summer ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭Rosahane

The Hoggs of Fife wellies have a Vibram sole which has great grip. You can get them with either cotton or neoprene lining. I couldn't wear the neoprene wellies unless it was freezing but the wife can wear them all year round, but she's skinny and I'm not.
    I find the cotton ones great with lots of support and comfort. They are tight fitting around the ankles which aids support and comfort but sometimes necessitates a boot jack to get them off.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

https://twitter.com/SkyNewsAust/status/1184044492745334784?s=19

Tough going down in Aus. Phone call in the middle of the piece demonstrative of how bad it is

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Keep Sluicing

Arr you allowed spread slurry today or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Arr you allowed spread slurry today or not?

Midnight last night was the closing time so no more spreading till January.

Didn't seem to bother the 4 of 5 lads I passed today spreading though.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,690 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

No drought here in East Clare. That's for sure. 33.4mm of rain fell here yesterday. (We're not far from Shannon Airport and that's what was recorded there.) Place is swimming here. Never seen it so wet. Will have to house soon. They're ploughing thru grass.:mad:

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

At this stage with the weather the way it is, easier on yourself to have them in. No fun looking around the ditches for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,480 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Muckit wrote: »
    At this stage with the weather the way it is, easier on yourself to have them in. No fun looking around the ditches for them.

Half of ours will be going in on Saturday.
    The other half will have access to the yard and get meal there so be easy getting them on dark evenings after work.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,970 ✭✭✭emaherx

First few in today, but hopefully a few weeks before they all come in still a good bit of grass to get through on out farms.

A link here to what's coming down the tracks re worldwide methane measuring via high resolution satellite imagery.

GHG Sat and Methane Sat will be online in the not too distant future. With Methane Sat available free to view.

https://youtu.be/62VXwjT-csQ

• Registered Users Posts: 29,110 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The pitch is fairly bad in the Switzerland Ireland game

• Registered Users Posts: 3,790 ✭✭✭Odelay

whelan2 wrote: »

The swiz manager is some smug looking bugger

• Registered Users Posts: 9,636 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

whelan2 wrote: »

Probably a good thing given another sorry performance:(

Mooooo wrote: »

Tough going down in Aus. Phone call in the middle of the piece demonstrative of how bad it is

If there is any hope on the horizon is that the eastern pacific is cooler than normal off Chile which may herald in a La Nina.
    We've just come out of an el Nino which brings the dry to Australia and this cool water is pushing the scale back to neutral.
    But if the cool water moves westwards across the pacific it should increase the chances of rain for those that need it.

The same conditions don't offer much hope for the U.S. farmers as it usually means cold snowy winters.

Not to frighten people.
    (Ok I mean to frighten people).

La Nina kicked in in the middle of 2010.
    It was also a solar minimum time also like now.

This was the weather of 2010.
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/subzero-temperatures-make-2010-a-recordbreaking-year-26609480.html

The wavey jet stream of then to now recently sounds familiar too.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,157 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Midnight last night was the closing time so no more spreading till January.

Didn't seem to bother the 4 of 5 lads I passed today spreading though.
    https://www.farmersjournal.ie/no-extension-to-slurry-spreading-dates-501428

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

I cannot understand the fuss being made about closing dates for slurry, I assume it's just lads looking for notice?
    The weathers so bad it's pointless and anyway youd wonder what some people were doing all summer? Is it only after Lisdoonvarna they think of it?
    "That reminds me, I've another tank that I've to empty a few loads out of as well..."

• Registered Users Posts: 11,157 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Eldest sent me this tonight from Aus - https://www.facebook.com/TeamAmericaMovie/photos/a.286144898097863/2678598728852456/?type=3&theater
    I can't believe that it's been 14 years :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,636 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I cannot understand the fuss being made about closing dates for slurry, I assume it's just lads looking for notice?
    The weathers so bad it's pointless and anyway youd wonder what some people were doing all summer? Is it only after Lisdoonvarna they think of it?
    "That reminds me, I've another tank that I've to empty a few loads out of as well..."

THe rules need to be simplified on this ie. slurry out during growing season, no spreading otherwise. The nonsense that seems to happen every year does the image of Irish farming no favours:(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Birdnuts wrote: »
    THe rules need to be simplified on this ie. slurry out during growing season, no spreading otherwise. The nonsense that seems to happen every year does the image of Irish farming no favours:(

Are the rules not simple enough as it is - spread between 2 dates? In a month or 2 they'll be out looking to spread before the start date. Same craic every year.

If anything, the dates will be further restricted, and most likely ya won't be allowed spread even this late in the year.