Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,950 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

I lived in CA as well 25 years ago...[Am I still stuck on this feckin island? as FR Jack said].In San Diego, and TBH even then CA was turning into a Very expensive PC anti-everything unless it is sex between two people of the same sex , dump.
    I moved to Phoenix and apart from the heat,it was completely different and in my eyes a much more liberal state. Depends where you live over there. There are still some parts of America that you would think Norman Rockwell is still in residence. Others are complete and utter ****holes, usually, Democrat-run.

Granted the US has its share of problems. But if it is so terrible, why is everyone fleeing some 3rd world Hell hole trying to get to America, and not Venezuela ??

TBH if you are a shooter or any way out of the ordinary, or are outside a narrowly defined box of acceptability of norm. Ireland is no country for you. If it wasn't for family commitments, I'd be long gone here too.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭tac foley

I'm pretty lucky, in a way, as I have relatives and friends and homes in both Canada and the USA. Although Oregon has recently acquired a whole new set of anti-2A politicians, it's still well equipped with more ranges and guns-stores than you can shake a stick at, a good, if not overwhelmingly helpful set of CCW rules, and open carry if you feel like it in the boonies, which is where we live when there. The major city, POT-land, is picturesque with it's endless bridges, but has Democrats running it with all the skill of catching a downstairs runaway piano. We stay away in large numbers. But why do I stay here in UK, with the ability to go home and say ****- it to all the stupid laws here in yUK?

I have a disabled daughter, and a grandaughter, and I can't leave them.

Duty to family, no matter what,or how difficult comes first, second and all the way down the line.:( In that way the Irish are lucky, having even today by EU standards large families, where problems and duties it can be shared out...Most of the time.Try being a single child dealing with it all.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Seems our neighbours are prone to on the spot inspections, as i cannot think of another reason why he would be "caught" with the gun outside the safe.

Also interesting is the safe being under the bed, which i assume has more to do with it being on the floor rather than fixed to a solid structure.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Sometimes the floor can be more a more solid base than some walls to bolt things onto. Wonder was it bolted onto the floor or just lying under the bed?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Possibly, but judging by the article he had it on the wall, moved it, then never replaced it.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭judestynes

https://conservative-daily.com/2018/11/06/breaking-first-gun-confiscation-killing-reported-maryland/?fbclid=IwAR21lfixGeA22uJ_ZcGjRJIkocaUsCcobCs3xC9uzEpbpk_QlQPvKChZiRw

Not sure how to feel about this one. Of course it's tragic someone lost their life and i see the point if an individual acts like they pose a threat they should be interviewed 1st at least instead of a dawn raid.
    Thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭gunny123

So the police turn up to confiscate private property on the word of a relative ? No investigation ? No search warrant ? Smells a bit to me.

Going to be alot more fatalities on both civilian and LE in Maryland if that continues.This is one going to the US Supreme court as that is a violation of both 2nd ,4th and 8th Amendments.:(

Seems to be an idea drawn up by the democrats. That won't do them any favours in the polls.

Yup,but the Democrats these days are not your grandparents Democrats of the Kennedy era.[JFK these days would be considered an arch-Republican!]

They have become an anti-gun, multisexual, gender issue, hurt feeling, socialistic,finger-wagging incompetent bunch of killjoys fomenting racial and societal unrest in the US.:( And with Hilliary Clinton saying she will run again in 20 20,doomed to be in opposition for another eight years at least.

Killary has as much chance as i have of winning that election. Bernie saunders was who the dems should have gone with. Killary has too much of a sense of entitlement ("its my turn"), and too much baggage.

Bernie would be great craic alright..i dunno did Mc Williams include him in Kilekenomics as the comedy sketch or were we to take him serious??

Anyone going to sign up to the new EU army that everyone said would never happen ? Old grab a granny in france, Macron came out with it on Sunday, and now Merkel, who is living on borrowed time, has agreed with him.

https://www.politico.eu/article/angela-merkel-emmanuel-macron-eu-army-to-complement-nato/

Grizzly 45 wrote: »

They have become an anti-gun, multisexual, gender issue, hurt feeling, socialistic,finger-wagging incompetent bunch of killjoys fomenting racial and societal unrest in the US.:( And with Hilliary Clinton saying she will run again in 20 20,doomed to be in opposition for another eight years at least.

Sounds like Fine Gael :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭judestynes

gunny123 wrote: »
    Sounds like Fine Gael :rolleyes:

Funny coz it's true

We are signed up to it by PESCO and signed our so-called neutrality in the Maastricht treaty.[Remember the one Bertie told us he hadn't bothered reading himself,as it was too complicated?] Doesnt it also go against the very tenents of wht the EU was founded in the first place as a trading block,so why does it now need an army??

An arse over tit idea anyway. How can an EU army "compliment " NATO??NATO is already an EU army, minus the French, and as we have seen in most cases the EU cant even decides what to have for dinner,not to mind something as complex as sorting out standardisation of equipment.

Lets not even mention dealing with having NUKES!! I mean you aren't much of an army without them these days.Or research & development of weapons systems.

Angelika would want to have a word with her minister of defence about the state of the Bundeswehr before getting any ideas about a road trip to Moscow again.
    They are cannibalising about half the tanks and APCs to keep the other half going in the sandpits. Their troops rifles the G36 is now worn out and needs replacement,3/4 of the Luftwaffe is grounded due to lack of spares. They have had to beg planes and spares off Lufthansa to keep the cargo fleet airborne. Their last U boot is tied to the pier,and is only just about afloat due to the pumps working 24/7. Conscription is gone, the forces are under strength.
    The procurement channels are a bureaucratic nightmare that makes our lot look hyper-efficient.
    All Mrs Van der Leyen[German defence minister] is worried about is nasty "racist "traditional German army marching songs like "Erika" or Black brown is the hazelnut" offending minorities,or singing "Lillie Marlene" is offensive to female personnel.:rolleyes: And that personel suffering from PTSD should be taking up knitting to alleviate their stress.:mad:

The EU army,run by idiots in Brussels commanded by French generals, German bureaucrats, Spanish logistics, infused with Italian fighting spirit, and Dutch and Swedish discipline. Yeah, this one has me worried alright.:rolleyes:

We are signed up to it by PESCO and signed our so-called neutrality in the Maastricht treaty.[Remember the one Bertie told us he hadn't bothered reading himself,as it was too complicated?]

We should have hanged that twit from a lamp post like Mussolini :mad:.

But we had the nay-sayers saying it would never happen, and now we have the white flag-wavers and the germans wanting it.

They are more liberal than the UK and IRL and other "free countries" who went to "liberate" them from tryanny:mad:

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-iraq-guns-shops/baghdad-gun-shops-thrive-after-iraqi-rethink-on-arms-control-idUSKCN1L40DL

They are more liberal than the UK and IRL and other "free countries" who went to "liberate" them from tryanny:mad:

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-iraq-guns-shops/baghdad-gun-shops-thrive-after-iraqi-rethink-on-arms-control-idUSKCN1L40DL

The prices are a bit salty aren't they ? 1-4 k for a pistol !

We were paying that for Glocks back in 2006 in the Celtic Tiger here as well.:rolleyes:

Not from the lad i was going to, brand spanking new glock 17, in the box, 650 yoyo's. 9mm ammo, 12.50 a box. Happy days now sadly passed :(

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

Not from the lad i was going to, brand spanking new glock 17, in the box, 650 yoyo's. 9mm ammo, 12.50 a box. Happy days now sadly passed :(

Quit will ya, youll make some of us jealous:D

Go back and have a look in the archives of threads here in 2006/08. Lads were forking out ab- solu -letly stupid money for Glocks here,not to mind SIGs and others.And thinking nothing of it either.1200 for a Glock 17 is one price that sticks in my mind from days of yore.:eek:

Yeah, but your common or garden variety paddy, lost the run of himself back then, money meant nothing. "Shure the glock cost 1200, but i'll make that next week laying a few blocks".

I thought the whole "Celtic Tiger" thing was a load of crap, and me having a tight streak in me, wasn't buying into it. I did splurge on a sig p226, but that was a seriously well made pistol worth the money.

Yeah, but your common or garden variety paddy, lost the run of himself back then, money meant nothing. "Shure the glock cost 1200, but i'll make that next week laying a few blocks".

Yup,we were all sold a pup alright.That we bought eyes wide shut.And not helped by Fatty Cowen and company lecturing the very people loaning us the money.IE Germany on how to solve their financial crises by selling each other overpriced real estate and ponzi schemes.:eek::eek:
    I thought the whole "Celtic Tiger" thing was a load of crap, and me having a tight streak in me, wasn't buying into it.

If you were a builder,barrister or banker,it was great.
    I did splurge on a sig p226, but that was a seriously well made pistol worth the money.
    A good investment.Did you keep or lose it?

I sold it but i know where it is, and the lad that has it is talking about getting rid, so there might be a purchase in the offing :D.

This is the first time in my life that I can't support a fellow hunter.:mad:

Taking into account this is the DM so it has no doubt exxagerated the story,but the core of it is reprehensible. This was obviously done to get her name mentioned more on social media,but the damage it does to UK and our reputations as hunters is bad. In fact she just handed the antis both here and in the US a whole ship load of ammo to use against ligit hunters.:mad:

About the equivilent of showing up at somones party whom you dont know, dumping a kilo of coke on the table,dancing on their prized dining room table ,and getting lost once the police arrive.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-6410909/Notorious-huntress-poses-sheep-shes-killed-holding-bloodied-SEX-TOY.html?fbclid=IwAR3JCsrrM96cHwYnjQ3gkVYhulBoNFylgLZwND4e-THAtdzR7JQS3p9iHTs

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

That quote though from Jenna Gearing that she thought the sex toy was disrespectful to the dead sheep. :pac::pac::pac:

Lots of nice old mausers and enfields about to go up in smoke in the picture in the link below, sadly.

https://www.dailymaverick.co.za/article/2017-11-27-iss-today-are-west-africas-gunsmiths-making-violence-cheap/