Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rachel Allen's son arrested again...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

It quite probable that this young lad has issues - yet plenty of you having a great laugh at his expense.

Most families have someone with issues - either mental health or addiction. Would like people to act the same way and make disparaging comments about someone in your family with similar problems?

I doubt it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

What a lovely family

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

silver2020 wrote: »
    the problem for those with privilege is that they are tabloid fodder whenever they do anything wrong and on places like boards you'll have hundreds of derogatory comments.

If it was "under privileged" it would not make any headlines

Eh, no one would even know his name if he hadn’t been misbehaving.

To be honest I think there’s something massively amiss there. Be it the parenting received, a trauma of some kind or psychiatric illness. Just goes to show it can happen to anyone regardless of background. I feel sorry for him more than anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,706 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Such extraordinarily privileged children with so many advantages... and still complete "criminals."

Fixed that for you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

Yup, that stood out to me in a previous article. Like, I didn't go to the most ritzy school, just a bogstandard community and even at my school, people who didn't do the Leaving Cert were considered wasters, never mind the Junior Cert.

Yeah same here, my school was rough enough and it would be fairly unusual for someone to not to do the Junior Cert. Even lads that were expelled or transferred elsewhere. Several wouldn't have done the Leaving though.

I always thought you were required by law to complete the Junior Cert, only after it could you drop out?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

gmisk wrote: »
    He served a whopping 3.5 months of his 15 month sentence...
    He was caught drink driving last month...
    And now seemingly he has crashed his car while drunk...
    On temporary release...so why wasn't he locked back up?
    This isn't going to end well.

cos he hasn't appeared before the judge yet

File only with the DPP - gardai can't send you to jail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

emeldc wrote: »
    Sounds like he's on the spectrum to me. Surely nobody could be that thick.

He is not on the Autistic Spectrum. That does not excuse or explain why he was doing drugs. Those diagnoses can be bought if you have enough money. There may be different motivations by parents to get ASD diagnosis or not get them.

You go private you can buy whatever you want. I have lost all faith in the western medical profession.

Yeah same here, my school was rough enough and it would be fairly unusual for someone to not to do the Junior Cert. Even lads that were expelled or transferred elsewhere. Several wouldn't have done the Leaving though.

I always thought you were required by law to complete the Junior Cert, only after it could you drop out?

You can have a sit down with the social worker and bring in your own education specialist and private social worker (if you have the money) and then work out a plan to make it go away. Isnt great to have money to make problems go away?

tdf7187 wrote: »
    He should be in rehab.

Tried and fail at Ard Cluain. This lad couldnt pass urine to save himself.

paw patrol wrote: »
    cos he hasn't appeared before the judge yet

File only with the DPP - gardai can't send you to jail

Isnt it an automatic violation of his parole?

whether you are rich or poor you can still struggle in life and make mistakes

"Life is hard, its harder when you are stupid", John Wayne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Could be a cry for help- who knows. Something is amiss for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Isnt it an automatic violation of his parole?

no cos it's not proven yet , must go to the judge.
    judge also has discretion - doesn't have to apply it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭Trouser Snake

Poor Josh.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,114 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

nthclare wrote: »
    At least he's a bit of a rebel, and if you look at a lot of family's around the world there's always one, I suppose in my family I'm the odd one out.
    Never drank a drove, but I'm the quirky oddball who goes against the grain and have no shame or blame...

Throwing stones at glasshouses and all that, I worked in their gardens in the 90's great family and I have fond memories picking fruit and pruning apple trees, maintaining a maze etc..

You may be what you term an oddball and a bit of a rebel, but have you been found in possession of copious amounts of drugs for sale and supply, been sentenced to jail time, gone to rehab and then been found drunken driving numerous times ?

Things have moved on from the 90s.
    Maybe the young fella might have been using the maze to hide some North African type plants.
    Then again that seems like too much like hard work for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

gmisk wrote: »
    I can see thread on this has been closed...and can't see another.
    But it seems Joshua has taken the range rover for another spin while drunk
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-40052942.html
    He was also caught at a checkpoint last month over the limit as well....

legend

• Registered Users Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭randd1

It quite probable that this young lad has issues - yet plenty of you having a great laugh at his expense.

Most families have someone with issues - either mental health or addiction. Would like people to act the same way and make disparaging comments about someone in your family with similar problems?

I doubt it.

Or he could be just a complete di*khead either who thinks he can do what he wants. He doesn't seem to have between his ears at the very least.

And he's 20. Unless he's braindead, he'd have to have some level of understanding of his behaviour.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Could be a cry for help- who knows. Something is amiss for sure.

You give a brand new audi and load of money to a teen not smart enough to complete school, what do you expect to happen?

Donal Skeehan but laughing himself silly at the competition.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Oh for forks sake joshua....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I don't think there's any law that requires you to do the Junior Cert, the law only requires that you attend school till you're 16.

If some kid decides not to bother turning up for the exams, there's feck all anyone can do about it.

Seems like a very troubled kid any road. Comes from a dark family with a dark history. I'd suggest he needs a lot of help to recover from his upbringing, but it's unlikely to be forthcoming.

paw patrol wrote: »
    no cos it's not proven yet , must go to the judge.
    judge also has discretion - doesn't have to apply it.

Not a legal expert here but didnt the last judge say he wasnt accepting any extravagant submissions and he would have to stand on his own two feet? ie No charity pilgrimages to africa mittens for kittens and socks for the homeless etc etc.

seamus wrote: »
    If some kid decides not to bother turning up for the exams, there's feck all anyone can do about it.

Seems like a very troubled kid any road. Comes from a dark family with a dark history. I'd suggest he needs a lot of help to recover from his upbringing, but it's unlikely to be forthcoming.

He is not a kid, he is a man and he knew well what he was doing and what it was for. Rachael was warned and she didnt take enough appropriate action. These are the consequences.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,114 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I doubt it.

Well that family made their family into a brand and traded on it.
    And it wasn't just his mammy that started it, but previous generations.

Their brand was effectively built on so called good old family values, good old fashioned cooking, etc, etc.

I always used to wonder why the whole thing focused on the women in the family, and most especially the ones that married into it.
    First Myrtle, then Darina to be followed by Rachel.

Looking at the fookups the males have made it is now perfectly understandable.

By the way Rachel didn't exactly get it hard either growing up so understandable how sonny boy gets everything thrown at him.

I don't pity poor little rich kids who some it appears give a pass precisely because they are rich.
    If this kid didn't come from the Allen conglomerate you would have people calling him a toerag for not finishing school and dealing in drugs.
    He has had advantages that other kid could only dream of and he has wasted them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

nthclare wrote: »
    At least he's a bit of a rebel, and if you look at a lot of family's around the world there's always one, I suppose in my family I'm the odd one out.
    Never drank a drove, but I'm the quirky oddball who goes against the grain and have no shame or blame...

Throwing stones at glasshouses and all that, I worked in their gardens in the 90's great family and I have fond memories picking fruit and pruning apple trees, maintaining a maze etc..

Well Isaac how are ya?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Nexytus

nthClare was just stirring the pot.

I doubt it.

Plenty of others with issues that aren't bating around gargled in a 2 ton killing machine, putting countless others at risk. To take a leaf out of your own book, would you have a similar reaction if he killed or maimed someone in your own family? Would you be as quick to admonish others, telling them to be a bit more restrained as the chap had issues if you were looking at burying a loved one in the next few days?

I doubt it.

The chap was given a second chance, which should have served as a wake up call. It didn't, he never wised up and obviously hasn't learned anything. He should serve whatever remains of his suspended sentence plus whatever these new offences have added on. No excuse.

seamus wrote: »
    I don't think there's any law that requires you to do the Junior Cert, the law only requires that you attend school till you're 16.

Normal kid stops going to school, you take away his xbox and scratch his copy of Grand Theft Auto.
    Little Josh stops going to school, you enable him to play Grand Theft Auto in real life.

Coming next Christmas: Shanagarry Games presents, Grand Theft Auto VI: The Ballymaloe Diaries. Cars, Hash, Coke and what not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

Plenty of others with issues that aren't bating around gargled in a 2 ton killing machine, putting countless others at risk. To take a leaf out of your own book, would you have a similar reaction if he killed or maimed someone in your own family? Would you be as quick to admonish others, telling them to be a bit more restrained as the chap had issues if you were looking at burying a loved one in the next few days?

I doubt it.

The chap was given a second chance, which should have served as a wake up call. It didn't, he never wised up and obviously hasn't learned anything. He should serve whatever remains of his suspended sentence plus whatever these new offences have added on. No excuse.

He's been given a lot more than a second chance.

You couldn't make this stuff up actually.
    Absolute little toerag imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Nexytus

It's interesting that the Judge at his last trial believed a particular sentence was appropriate. And they decide according to a comprehensive sentencing guidelines. This would factor in a lot of things and include keeping the public safe and teaching the convicted lad a lesson - making him a better person.

And then the Irish Prison Service without any referral back to the Judge can decide off its own bat - its completely unqualified bat - to apply a completely different sentence. 'Temporary Release' or 'Early Release'. And then when it goes wrong - as happens every day of the week - nobody in the Prisons is asked to account for it.

And before anyone mentions prison spaces has the governor of the prison that Joshua was held in written an urgent letter to the government stating that his prison is too small and he is being forced to let convicts out the door inappropriately and dangerously? I haven't heard of any such communication being discussed by government or in the Dáil.

If someone is sentenced to fifteen months then they should serve that to the day. Time should be added on for bad behaviour. No discounts.

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭eastie17

I think at this stage you do have to say he has got some serious issues, and while we all like to see the uppity gang get their commupance at a human level you have to say i have some sympathy and wouldn't wish it on any family.
    Regarding multiple cases of breaking the law, well that just seems to be the way our judicial system works, we've all seen the cases of people having multiple, multiple convictions and barely getting a tap. I'd nearly go so far as to say if he was an average scumbag he might not even had gotten any jail for the drugs rap. Look at the scumbag tearing it up in Sydney who only served 3 years for killing a completely innocent youngfella.

The less charitable part of me still thinks (completely contradicting my opening statement) that they do deserve some misery for the completely cynical way they handled the child porno case. I live locally and have completely boycotted them or anything to do with them since then, somethings you just cant forgive.