Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XII - 4,604 in ROI (137 deaths) 998 in NI (56 deaths)(04/04) **Read OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 23,447 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users Posts: 23,104 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Can you as a healthy person fed up with all these goings on, sign up to get the virus and declare yourself stronger when you recover?

"Gimme the virus so I can get it over with it. Look how hard I am. Rawr."

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Still way better than the uk and with a similar population.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,018 ✭✭✭Ficheall

J. Marston wrote: »
    "Gimme the virus so I can get it over with it. Look how hard I am. Rawr."
    I mean, if we knew what the story with immunity was, and such people were planning to go out and do the necessary jobs in the community thereafter, it could perhaps be deemed a noble endeavour, but if that is not the aim, then it is simply f*ckwittery at its finest.

Jin luk wrote: »

If he wants to run a petri dish, let him.

But no one will touch his diseased country afterward.

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭ThePopehimself

Can you as a healthy person fed up with all these goings on, sign up to get the virus and declare yourself stronger when you recover?

No, absolutely not. This is up there with signing up for your kids to get Mumps and finding out 17 years later that your son is sterile.

You are only healthy until the day you find out you're not.

No one ever knows they have Cancer, cardiovascular disease, an aneurysm or Diabetes Type 2...until they have it and then everyone around says 'Oh My God! We had no idea!...we would never have guessed...!!!'

So no.

That's the thing about underlying conditions - you never know until the second you know that you have one.

Behold! Coronavirus is, in fact, the saviour. Fewer accidents, fewer dopes on the street, less crime...

https://twitter.com/SidSanghi/status/1244268782341799938

source.gif

I am really worried that the govt really hasn't a clue of how many cases we have here. I have a sinister sinking feeling that they do not.

Kermit, I wonder, if you are permitted, could you post some of the content of the article; you can reference for safety sake.

The article is subscribe only. Much appreciated if you can.

eldudebros wrote: »
    Why are people so quick to rubbish the effects of 5G? What do we know? Nothing at all really.

Not one of us would have expected a pandemic like this to occur this time last year.

Already scientists and doctors have appealed to the EU to reconsider it due to health effects it may cause. Why bother their hole if there wasn't cause for concern.

Because short of swallowing or embedding a 5G mmWave transmitter into your body and letting it run for a long time, you’re safe.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,344 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

I am really worried that the govt really hasn't a clue of how many cases we have here. I have a sinister sinking feeling that they do not.
    To take this in context, it's useful to compare Ireland vs other countries to determine the standard to which other countries are achieving. It's easy to be idealistic and assume the Government should have data on each and every case in Ireland but with a novel virus, that has a large proportion of asymptomatic carriers and limited testing kits combined with limited testing capacity, Ireland is doing quite well in this regard. Many countries, including the UK and the US (which is catching up) are lagging seriously in testing which is the number one weapon currently advocated by the WHO for fighting the virus in the absence of confirmed treatment and vaccines.

South Korea and Singapore appear to be exceptionally good at this, but they learned the lessons of SARS which Western countries did not. Ireland has adapted quite quickly given the unprecedented nature of this event and the relative recency of the first cases in Ireland. Ireland was one of the last countries in Europe to have a first case.

(don't have IT account so can't post any more of the article)

Looks like kites being flown for a further tightening of restrictions.

marno21 wrote: »
    South Korea and Singapore appear to be exceptionally good at this,

They are also demonstrating the dangers ahead.

They have a sealed lid on it but still can't prevent circa 100 new cases per day each.

Like a pressure cooker - they are in a situation where they can't remove the lid.

Need a vaccine.

Cheers!

I'm hearing the same thing. Do you ever wonder that George Lee is our 'between the lines' guy? He does preparatory hints very well.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,538 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

It's been two days!

Kermit, I wonder, if you are permitted, could you post some of the content of the article; you can reference for safety sake.

The article is subscribe only. Much appreciated if you can.

The Government should consider closing the country’s borders to prevent new coronavirus infections coming into the State, one of the leading infectious diseases experts has said.

Dr Paddy Mallon, a consultant at St Vincent’s University Hospital in Dublin and professor of microbial diseases at UCD, said a major risk to the State was more new Covid-19 infections coming in.

“We have got our own outbreak in the country that we are trying to extinguish but the big threat is new infections coming in,” he said.

“We should be looking seriously over the next week at protecting our borders and stopping new infections coming in because it will give us the ability to control the infections that we have.”

The warning comes as the Health Service Executive said it was “impossible to predict” the timing of the peak of infections but it was planning for the worst of the crisis to hit by mid-April.

Prof Sam McConkey of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland called for political leadership to build a “unity government that helps us beat the virus in the next few months” in order to fast-track debate on possible stricter travel and quarantine rules and tracing technology for individuals.

“In a political system that is used to slow deliberation, it will not be an easy task to achieve an agreed outcome in a few days,” Prof McConkey writes in an opinion piece in Monday’s Irish Times.

Related
    Cliff Taylor: A big recession is coming but it’s not a rerun of 2008
    Share your story: How have you been affected by the Covid-19 crisis?
    In pandemic, individual rights secondary to those of public

Gallery
    Coronavirus 'cocooning' is the new normal
    VIEW NOW

Ages of dead
    State officials reported another 10 deaths from coronavirus, bringing the death toll from the disease in the Republic to 46. There were a further 200 cases confirmed, bring the total to 2,615.

A further six deaths and 86 new cases were reported in Northern Ireland, bringing the total number of deaths on the island of Ireland to 67 and cases to 3,025.

Details of the ages of the first 33 people to die from coronavirus in the Republic were disclosed in official figures over the weekend. Some 29 of the dead – as of March 26th – were over the age of 65, while one person died from each of the 25-34, 35-44, 45-54 and 55-64 age groups.

The number of critically ill Covid-19 patients in intensive care units (ICU) was more evenly spread, with the youngest aged between five and 14. Thirty-three were aged between 45 and 64, and 24 people were over 65.

The HSE said it was preparing for a surge of coronavirus cases with 1,200 critical care beds, but could not say by how much the State’s ICU capacity would be exceeded at peak.

ICU concerns
    Some 88 Covid-19-infected patients were in ICU on Saturday and there were 167 ICU beds still available, as the HSE scales up the number of critical care beds with life-saving ventilators.

Army vehicles escorted by An Garda leave Dublin Airport with a cargo of newly delivered Covid-19 equipment just in from China. Photograph: Tom Honan
    Paul Reid, chief executive of the HSE, said given the surge in critically ill Covid-19 patients needing ICU beds – almost a sevenfold increase in over nine days – the possibility of the State’s ICU bed capacity being reached in just more than two weeks was “a very significant concern”.

Health officials warned the public that complying with the Government’s “cocooning” direction for the over-70s and the medically vulnerable to stay at home for two weeks was “critical” to avoid ICU units being overrun by mid-April. Such compliance was also critical to avoid those at greatest risk of death being infected.

The first shipment of vitally needed personal protective equipment, part of a €28 million order, arrived on an Aer Lingus flight from China on Sunday afternoon.

However, new issues emerged with testing for Covid-19 as Mr Reid said the State was “hitting very significant pinch points” in carrying out tests, due to the shortage of reagents, the extraction element used in test kits that go to laboratories.

A lack of testing kits led to the closure of the State’s largest testing facility at the Páirc uí Chaoimh GAA ground in Cork. The HSE said there had been “limited testing nationally” on Sunday due to the short supply of testing materials.

More than 15,000 people are still waiting to be tested

They are also demonstrating the dangers ahead.

They have a sealed lid on it but still can't prevent circa 100 new cases per day each.

Like a pressure cooker - they are in a situation where they can't remove the lid.

Need a vaccine.

Same with China.

Vaccine is the only way. A lot of things have been published about the 'END GAME'. A vaccine is the START of an end game.

Remember the vaccine was found for small pox in 1796 but smallpox was only declared eradicated in 1980. The last known natural case was in Somalia in 1977.

Cheers!

I'm hearing the same thing. Do you ever wonder that George Lee is our 'between the lines' guy? He does preparatory hints very well.

What the govt does is fly "kites" in the media to test reaction. That is what the IT is doing today.

It's about scoping how far people are willing to go?

It's a tactic used for decades with any event.

What the govt does is fly "kites" in the media to test reaction. That is what the IT is doing today.

It's about scoping how far people are willing to go?

It's a tactic used for decades with any event.

Well then they are dumb.

If they haven't realized that people are not their 'reactions' and never go 50% as far as they publicly claim to they are stupid.

There is a special place in hell reserved for stupid people ...and then a separate space within that for stupid politicians.

• Registered Users Posts: 988 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Yes and lets not forget either that the Authorities admonished Nursing Homes Ireland when they did decide to shut down the Nursing homes back on the 6th.

They called it on March 6th and were publicly scolded on March 7th for doing so.

Big mistake, big mistake.

"Chief Medical Officer Dr Tony Holohan has insisted the risk of contracting Covid-19 in Ireland remains low.

He appealed again to organisations... not to act unilaterally...following the decision of the Nursing Homes Ireland to implement visitor restrictions nationwide."

I remember Leo Varadker using the same words later that day in his briefing.

NHI made their decision on March 6 and even if it was too late, they had the nerve to act unilaterally - even if they were told off.

This one isn't on NHI and just to add, their staff urgently need PPE.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0307/1120765-coronavirus/

Just further highlights how out of their depth Holohan and Varadker area.
    Barely three weeks ago telling everyone things were rosy.

This thing is going to cut through nursing homes like a knife through butter and those two along with many others are to blame.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,344 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Open it in an incognito tab.

Have to say I disagree with much of that article. The measures being implemented in Ireland are showing promise both here and in other countries such as Italy and Spain. Turning the country into a full blown authoritarian state is not the answer here and is likely to cause more trouble than the trouble being caused by covid-19 under the current restrictions.

The primary benefit of the current restrictions is that they buy us some time. Time to throw every effort at these actual solutions:

1. Improving public awareness of social distancing, hygiene and other non pharmaceutical methods of restricting virus transmission to get the R0 value below 1.
    2. Rapid expansion of the health system's ability to deal with increased number of patients requiring hospitalisation and critical care
    3. The trialling of existing pharmaceutical treaments to assess their effectiveness in nulling the severity of SARS-CoV-2 on patients (hydroxychloroquine, remdesivir etc, along with plasma transplants)
    4. Rapid, highly accurate and mass produced testing kits - which enable the isolation of cases and antibody tests which allow us to determine who isn't at risk
    5. Preparation for a vaccine down the road.

The consequences of implementing North Korea style governance on countries such as Ireland badly need to be weighed against the current approach including focusing on the above 5 approaches. There has to be a line drawn here. This virus isn't going to wipe out half of humanity. Other countries, Italy even, are having serious discussions about how long these restrictions are feasible to retain and the long term consequences of extending them.

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭marilynrr

The Government should consider closing the country’s borders to prevent new coronavirus infections coming into the State, one of the leading infectious diseases experts has said.

100%, they absolutely do need to!!
    It's mad because we're in this now and kind of used to it, but would any of us a a few months back have ever expected a situation where we are not allowed to leave our houses except to go for exercise within a 2km radius from our homes or to the shops, with garda checkpoints set up everywhere asking you where you're going!!!

We're all doing our bit...and a lot of us have stayed in as much as possible since the kids were off school, kids are barely allowed to step inside some shops.
    This obviously is not sustainable long term and even Simon Harris said that today.

The government need to protect us...unless their plan is to keep going into lockdown when a cluster of new infections keep coming into the country from outside.

No one is going to accept that, and it's not fair on the vulnerable or elderly either.

This virus isn't going to wipe out half of humanity. Other countries, Italy even, are having serious discussions about how long these restrictions are feasible to retain and the long term consequences of extending them.

Italy is saying June at the earliest for obvious reasons.

They are trapped. They face social and political disorder but they can't open up or there will be an explosion in cases and deaths way beyond what has been seen through the lock down so far.

The gravity of what has happened maybe is not getting through to some people, even most people.

The world will never be the same again after this in my opinion.

The notion of anywhere in the west opening up by the end of April - that's just not going to happen. June/July, maybe?

It's just a dreadful situation the world has been landed in because China would not restrict it's wet markets, lied about the extent of the problem throughout, silenced whistle blowers, and rejected offers of help from the United States in the very initial stages in Wuhan.

The reckoning for this when the west has things back under control is going to be so severe...we don't know the half of it yet.

This will never be allowed happen like this again, that is certain.

Italy is saying June at the earliest for obvious reasons.

They are trapped. They face social and political disorder but they can't open up or there will be an explosion in cases and deaths way beyond what has been seen through the lock down so far.

The gravity of what has happened maybe is not getting through to some people, even most people.

The world will never be the same again after this in my opinion.

The notion of anywhere in the west opening up by the end of April - that's just not going to happen. June/July, maybe?

It's just a dreadful situation the world has been landed in because China would not restrict it's wet markets, lied about the extent of the problem throughout, silenced whistle blowers, and rejected offers of help from the United States in the very initial stages in Wuhan.

The reckoning for this when the west has things back under control is going to be so severe...we don't know the half of it yet.

This will never be allowed happen like this again, that is certain.

I can see a partial reopening in early summer - when testing is improved and possibly treatments have been found. Health systems will be more able to cope.

Italy has discussed a partial reopening with less at risk people allowed back to normal with special measures for those at risk. How it’ll work is unclear yet

Antibody tests will be crucial, to determine possible cases who were asymptomatic and may now be immune. I count myself as someone who very likely had a case of the disease without showing any respiratory symptoms. There are many people out there in a similar scenario but are currently unable to verify this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Jayzee.

About 2 years with lockdowns and waves of infection I reckon

I can see a partial reopening in early summer - when testing is improved and possibly treatments have been found. Health systems will be more able to cope.

Italy has discussed a partial reopening with less at risk people allowed back to normal with special measures for those at risk. How it’ll work is unclear yet

Antibody tests will be crucial, to determine possible cases who were asymptomatic and may now be immune. I count myself as someone who very likely had a case of the disease without showing any respiratory symptoms. There are many people out there in a similar scenario but are currently unable to verify this.

Italy can't reopen, even partially.

If they do the markets will be closed to them, so they face insolvency. Same with Spain and any other infected country that wants to try.

We are trapped.

There are only two ways out - a mass distributed vaccine or draconian measures.

The UK and French are already indicating that the draconian way is going to be the way until there is a vaccine they can distribute to the population.

I don't want to see that but I don't see any other way.

I don't see "partial" openings going to happen, it's not possible in my view.

You may be right in the end, maybe they will try that, but I don't see how anything like that is possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,369 ✭✭✭irishgeo

I reckon we will be over the worst by June lads. Air travel not be the same again for a while. One of these off the shelves drugs will be successful or plasma and the viruses spread will slow down. We may not get a vaccine because the virus could be gone before it's ready. Secondly the funding for a vaccine will dry up if the virus has disappeared. That's what happened with SARS.

I'm fairly certain this is all just one massive April Fools joke.

Would be funny to see Leo give a speech on April 1st saying "aahhh!!! Got yous!!" and everyone had to pay back any money they claimed from Welfare/Revenue. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Jin luk

I cant understand how they havnt had a serious outbreak and then here in europe we have surely the amount of travel between japan and china would be ridiculous?

Has to be some number fiddling going on somewhere their