Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Duffy, International Man of Misery, sez Farewell to Fungus

• Registered Users Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Friend of de show Sil Fox is to sue de state now apparently for damages after the sexual assault case dismissal according to the Indo. Article is behind a paywall so I can’t share it.

In fairness,I think he should
    If its unfounded allegations he should sue.
    And as much as I dont like the guy, I think Al porter should do the same

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

In fairness,I think he should
    If its unfounded allegations he should sue.
    And as much as I dont like the guy, I think Al porter should do the same

Big difference now between those two cases caller. Are you fully familiar with the Porter case?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,135 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Next topic on Da LavLahn, payday loans.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Next topic on Da LavLahn, payday loans.

It’s going to be death for 8weeks as payback for yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Just listening to this now
    Joe did not have a broken leg to stand on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Loved yesterday. Not often you hear somebody standing up to Joe, but yer man Malachy was well able for it. Joe Duffy's portrayal of himself as merely the "Devil's Advocate" is completely disingenuous. He plays Devil's Advocate any time he doesn't agree with the caller. If he agrees with the caller they get free reign.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Jeff2 wrote: »

Just had a look at that - very interesting - but it reminded me just what a sewer Twitter is and why I very rarely use it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭KevRossi

I listened to the clip of him with Malachy last night and it was a brief summary of every reason why I stopped listening to Joe Duffy.

He started off by interrupting him to explain where the statue is, saying you would pass it if on the way to Croke Park from the city centre. Ehhhh.... no, Joe. If you're passing it then you've gone well past Croke Park (you've crossed the Tolka, which is a clue).

It went downhill from that, the usual constant interruptions, talking over the guest, accusing them of interrupting him, making false and inaccurate statements, ignoring historical evidence to push his point, etc. etc.

Any presenter on local radio can debate better than him; most earn in a year what Joe Duffy warns in 2 months. It's just more proof that he cannot handle basic debate, and begs the question why he's paid so much.

Some people say the proof of how goos he is, is in his viewership figures, well The Sun if the UK's largest selling paper, doesn't mean it's a quality paper.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭KevRossi

One other point, he constantly referred to Sean Russell as a Nazi supporter/sympathiser. He has no issue taking money from a paper (Mail/Mail on Sunday), who openly supported fascism and Hitler back in the 1930's.

Have a read of their ownerss support of 'Superhuman' Hitler annexing Czechoslovakia. https://www.theguardian.com/media/2005/apr/01/pressandpublishing.secondworldwar

Me too. Did it this morning in Dawson St. Result in few days.

Must have bumped into you!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,708 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

KevRossi wrote: »

Some people say the proof of how goos he is, is in his viewership figures, well The Sun if the UK's largest selling paper, doesn't mean it's a quality paper.

Not recently.

https://www.theguardian.com/media/2020/jun/19/daily-mail-eclipses-the-sun-to-become-uks-top-selling-paper

If you did bump into him, pray he doesn't test positive.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,049 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Jeff2 wrote: »

Seems poor Joe had a very very very bad day overall :(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

For surely that man has done the state some service, we must in unison cheer loudly for it is indeed a thing of beauty to hear that ego being brought to heel and scewered so beautifully no matter the bearer of the sword

He was left so metaphorically beaten up and battered after that show, that you almost expected him to write a book about himself.

Very interesting about that Dara Connemara guy. Anybody know any of the background? Dara is certainly not pulling any punches for sure, so he must be sure of his facts to post such things.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,871 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Well fock me, some people on twitter and on other RTÉ threads on boards and elsewhere actually think Mr. Duffy won that “debate” today. I must have been listening to a different show than them.

To be fair to Joe (as ever -hahah), the two circus clowns he was up against only had one trick and were pretty adept at it after decades of rehearsal. When challenged, they went silent and made blustery clanging noises, like the wind lifting the rusty sheets on a creaky old barn.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

Friend of de show Sil Fox is to sue de state now apparently for damages after the sexual assault case dismissal according to the Indo. Article is behind a paywall so I can’t share it.

Good for him, I hope he succeeds.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

There was one lad in the small waiting room alright around 11.00. Were you made to lie down for your test? Never had to lie down for a blood test before.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Good for him, I hope he succeeds.

No fan of Syl's "comedy but that's neither here nor there". I said after the first court report I read Thad she had no case. Did the DPP or the guards not see the CCCCVVTV footage until the same day as the judge?

Waste of state resources and precious court time not to mention ruining an innocent man's reputation.

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    To be fair to Joe (as ever -hahah), the two circus clowns he was up against only had one trick and were pretty adept at it after decades of rehearsal. When challenged, they went silent and made blustery clanging noises, like the wind lifting the rusty sheets on a creaky old barn.

Well to be fair to Malachy he landed the killer blow when he asked Mr. Duffy WHOY when Trump says anything it leads to people doing what he said and he gets criticsed by de meeja for doing so, but Leo gets a free pass for the same issue.

Also, Mr. Duffy sank very low yesterday attemptin to imply Malachy's motivation was somewhat anti-gay, and feigning compete ignorance on the Pride colours issue.

As another caller pointed out, Mr. Duffy doesn't seem to have such a strong opinion on nazi and facist-sympathising and anti-Irish publications such as The Daily Fail when they pay fees for his column. I assume he'll reflect on that today and announce he's writing for dat paper no more after this "discovery". :rolleyes::rolleyes:

sligojoek wrote: »
    No fan of Syl's "comedy but that's neither here nor there". I said after the first court report I read Thad she had no case. Did the DPP or the guards not see the CCCCVVTV footage until the same day as the judge?

That really is a question that needs to be answered in this case. It would seem bizarre if they hadn't, but then again........maybe de fella who checks de CCCCCCCCTV was on holidays....for a year....just like in RTE

Loved yesterday. Not often you hear somebody standing up to Joe, but yer man Malachy was well able for it. Joe Duffy's portrayal of himself as merely the "Devil's Advocate" is completely disingenuous. He plays Devil's Advocate any time he doesn't agree with the caller. If he agrees with the caller they get free reign.

It's up there with Cllr. Seamus Treanor and the canary to be fair. Shane O'Curry was aso excellent, but he only lasted 5mins.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,472 ✭✭✭cozar

hopefully Malachy will be on again today to discuss the vandalism of Luke Kelly's statue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

cozar wrote: »
    hopefully Malachy will be on again today to discuss the vandalism of Luke Kelly's statue.

Stripped away his diggin-attie and pride.....so to speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Were the vandals racist so to speak as they used white paint.

#blackpaintmatters

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Cheap white paint.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Right off the bat the interruption of the stupid Dublin geography lesson set the tone. Also what's the point in using one Dublin landmark as a reference point in directing people to another Dublin landmark. You either know them or you don't, in which case you wouldn't care. He might have 'Dublin Geography' as a skill on the c.v when NK is negotiating the contract renewal.

bcklschaps wrote: »
    Stripped away his diggin-attie and pride.....so to speak.

Mr. Duffy is no ordinary man so to speak.....despite his claims.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

PieOhMy wrote: »
    Right off the bat the interruption of the stupid Dublin geography lesson set the tone. Also what's the point in using one Dublin landmark as a reference point in directing people to another Dublin landmark. You either know them or you don't, in which case you wouldn't care. He might have 'Dublin Geography' as a skill on the c.v when NK is negotiating the contract renewal.

Goo Gull Maps does it anytime for me when I wanna foynd a place.

WHOY don’t day put Luke Kelly’s head on top of a big tall slippery spike on Sheriff Street, beyond de reach of paint an dat?