Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,590 ✭✭✭MfMan

As a hurler Niall Burke is absolutely nothing like Johnny Glynn. I think he'll get back in the team alright and I think he's a better option for centre forward than Joe Cooney but he certainly won't be in the "Glynn role". Johnny is a far superior ball winner, both in the air and on the ground and works much harder. But Burke is the far more skilful hurler and superior striker.

Conor Cooney should get ahead of Moloney too. Both lovely hurlers but Cooney is the far more physically strong man which we need in the half forward line.

I also think if Donnellan gets fit that he'll get close to the team. Might be tough for him to nail down a starting position now though having missed so much hurling but a great sub to have. Good ball winner, very direct, works hard and is unselfish with the ball. He's the most similar player we have to Glynn.

Provided all fit, think I'd go with a forward line of:

C.cooney Burke Canning
    Mannion Whelan Flynn

Agree with a lot of this, but trouble with your starting 6 above is that you're not leaving too much for an impact off the bench then; i.e. I think that Conor Cooney and Niall Burke more than most others can make an immediate impression upon being introduced. Maloney, Brian Molloy, Eanna Burke (still on panel?) are all a bit similar and may take more time to get into the game, especially in a game against better opponents that Galway may be chasing. There's definitely room for a Donnellan-type honest workhorse there, but as we've said here so often, Cyril's hurling ability and decision making isn't always top notch, he needs all the lads around him to work off him and be hurling well themselves.

Is Turlough's Sean Linnane on the panel? Worth a look IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

MfMan wrote: »
    Agree with a lot of this, but trouble with your starting 6 above is that you're not leaving too much for an impact off the bench then; i.e. I think that Conor Cooney and Niall Burke more than most others can make an immediate impression upon being introduced. Maloney, Brian Molloy, Eanna Burke (still on panel?) are all a bit similar and may take more time to get into the game, especially in a game against better opponents that Galway may be chasing. There's definitely room for a Donnellan-type honest workhorse there, but as we've said here so often, Cyril's hurling ability and decision making isn't always top notch, he needs all the lads around him to work off him and be hurling well themselves.

Is Turlough's Sean Linnane on the panel? Worth a look IMHO.

We're low on depth in fairness, I think the first 15 will be as good as anyone's really but we don't have a great panel really in terms of having lads to bring on or cover an injury crisis. I wouldn't be jumping up and down at seeing Moloney, Molloy or Burke getting ready to come in. These lads are all pure finishers really, lovely hurlers but there'd be question marks over their ball winning ability at the top level. As it is in that forward line I named we have two of these types in Mannion and Flynn and I don't think there's room for anymore than that to start. Canning (who has had a superb year so far) is the only forward we have that's a top class ball winner and finisher

I suppose if Donnellan could get in a few good weeks of training then we could push him into a half forward position, put Conor Cooney on the edge of the square, Whelan in one corner and let Mannion and Flynn fight it out for the other corner forward position leaving the other one as a great sub to bring on.

Glynn is a miss this year, of that there is no question.

But to be honest the backs are a bigger worry. The 6 we started the last day are probably just about good enough but if one of them goes down we're in huge trouble. Paul Hoban did ok in a few league games but the fact he wasn't even brought on the last day must indicate he's well down the pecking order. Don't really want to see Tannion in the backs again. After that it's probably Collins who hasn't been going well at all so far this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

As a hurler Niall Burke is absolutely nothing like Johnny Glynn.
    This is very true but I don't think the last day proved they've given up on a target man that isn't Joe Canning up top. Offaly should show us a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

Any news from the football camp, possible team for Mayo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

RobbieRuns wrote: »
    Any news from the football camp, possible team for Mayo?

Let's assume that we are being this quiet so that we can catch Mayo off guard! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,550 ✭✭✭✭cson

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ciar%C3%A1n-murphy-apathy-draining-the-life-from-galway-football-1.2685965

Interesting piece there ahead of the weekend. Incredible figure if true, that 52 players turned down a invite to the panel. Unthinkable only a decade ago. Maybe it's the players not wanting to give their youth over to GAA anymore? It's not as if it's just because the footballers have no chance - look at Johnny Glynn leaving the AI finalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

cson wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ciar%C3%A1n-murphy-apathy-draining-the-life-from-galway-football-1.2685965

Interesting piece there ahead of the weekend. Incredible figure if true, that 52 players turned down a invite to the panel. Unthinkable only a decade ago. Maybe it's the players not wanting to give their youth over to GAA anymore? It's not as if it's just because the footballers have no chance - look at Johnny Glynn leaving the AI finalists.

Apparently Galway have by far the most footballers of any county playing in the US this Summer. Some number in the 50's. The next closest is Cork with 31 I think so they are way out in front of even 2nd place.

Can't stop young lads going abroad but it shows that the draw of possibly pulling on the maroon jersey for the Summer just isn't there anymore. Many young lads around the county can either take or leave it.

Galway v Offaly

Colm Callanan
    Johnny Coen
    John Hanbury
    Fergal Moore
    Padraig Mannion
    Daithi Burke
    Aidan Harte
    David Burke Cpt
    Davey Glennon
    Niall Burke
    Joseph Cooney
    Joe Canning
    Conor Whelan
    Cathal Mannion
    Conor Cooney

No real arguments with this side. Maloney maybe had a better day than Joe Cooney against Westmeath but if they're bombing ball in Cooney has to start. Delighted for Conor Cooney.

Galway v Offaly

Colm Callanan
    Johnny Coen
    John Hanbury
    Fergal Moore
    Padraig Mannion
    Daithi Burke
    Aidan Harte
    David Burke Cpt
    Davey Glennon
    Niall Burke
    Joseph Cooney
    Joe Canning
    Conor Whelan
    Cathal Mannion
    Conor Cooney

No real arguments with this side. Maloney maybe had a better day than Joe Cooney against Westmeath but if they're bombing ball in Cooney has to start. Delighted for Conor Cooney.

I'm going to assume all players are fit so Flynn and Maloney are on the bench.

Id take either over J.Cooney. He was average against Westmeath and that's not a good barometer to be below at his age.
    The ball just constantly fumbles off his hands and hurl, he gets into the positions and gets the chances but just cant get full control of the ball enough.

Jesus H.

Why are we letting Mayo kick all their restarts short(they got their second free directly from).

They've won every kick out while we've lost a few of ours.

If we pushed up on them and won all ours we could be a few ahead.

We won't win any AI while we need 45secs to restart which means a team sets up and be so slow to push up on theirs.

Infuriating as its the solely keeping them in this and getting most of their chances.

Its so sad to see us throw away games over something so basic.

I'm writing a letter for KW and I'm going to hand it to him out training if they're there in future on Monday.

Cause from what I'm seeing, he doesn't see something so basic.

Every single restart.... Hennelly like Cluxton has a ball beside the net and Mayo have possession before the replay ends.
    Every Mayo wide, we see our goalie placing the ball after 45seconds.

We've lost about 5/6 kick outs while Mayo have won every single one.

We're losing again to our rival because mgmt cant see such a basic and simple restart as something we need.

Wouldn't mind if we hadn't the players or something complex but its literally as simple as kick outs.
    Mayo scored a few points of ours and theirs.

Inexcusable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,454 ✭✭✭Grueller

Great to see competition back in the western province. Well done to Galway.

Great win for us in the end. Fair play to the squad and all who travelled to Castlebar. The lads who were out there a lot of them are limited but they fought hard for the victory. To say Mayo were atrocious would be an understatement. They had obviously believed the hype and the few points either side of half time was the worst thing to happen to them as 25 minutes of muck was papered over and they fell back into cruise control. They never killed us off and the goal while very soft gave us the drive to go on and finish the job. I'd still have us as 2nd favourites for the final but we're there and have a chance at least.

I'll be honest looking at Galway all year we looked like we were going nowhere fast. We won 2 games out of 7 in a woeful division 2 but we were at the right pace tonight and hopefully it'll kickstart a decent summer.

Hopefully the hurlers complete the double tomorrow.

Delighted to see our (mine anyway) cynical predictions were way off mark.

Kyne and the backs were superb in that second half and I'm legit proud of their bite.

Feels great to end the Mayo rot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

cson wrote: »

Says more about those 52 than it does about Galway GAA.!!
    Fantastic win for a proud football county, delighted for Kevin Walshe, fine manager and genuine nice guy.
    Noel Connolly and Pat Holmes must be having a great laugh now at the small bunch of primadonnas that got them the sack.;)

Delighted we finally ended their run.

I'm not coming back after slating players thinking we were useless, I stand by what I said, and it didn't reflect the personal but just the basic necessity of a restart.

I honestly think, and I said it last year after the Donegal game... Our kick out strategy is killing us.
    We kick long, we give up short.
    Donegal only got on top later year after a period in the second half where we kept kicking out and losing and they strung a few scoring shots together over a 7/8 min period.
    Same as today before half time really, we lost 3/4/5 kickouts and went from 5-2 to a HT deficit.

We just need to copy Dublin and get the number restarts in quick and we can give teams a rattle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Angry bird

Great win

Ooh ya a big FU to that sideline reporter from the Sligo and Roscommon game.
    Maybe someone here who watched can shed light on his name,(I'm guessing Roscommon) who just spent the post game talking about "Mayo and Roscommon" like Galway were already beat.... Goon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

Well done Galway! The new goalie made a huge difference from the start, kyne had a great game and will be a great fullback or centre back in time. I was amazed Mayo opted for short kick outs when they normally win midfield, rossies will now get cocky and we'll do the same to them!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 144 ✭✭blazermel

Ooh ya a big FU to that sideline reporter from the Sligo and Roscommon game.
    Maybe someone here who watched can shed light on his name,(I'm guessing Roscommon) who just spent the post game talking about "Mayo and Roscommon" like Galway were already beat.... Goon.
    That was jarlath burns - no-one from Roscommon you can be assured. A hearty congratulations to ye on a win full of fight and pride - it will be a cracking connacht final.

blazermel wrote: »
    That was jarlath burns - no-one from Roscommon you can be assured. A hearty congratulations to ye on a win full of fight and pride - it will be a cracking connacht final.

Fair dues... I hadn't a clue who he was or where he was from but just assumed he was from one of the two playing that day(Roscommon and Sligo).

Think the game is Salthill isn't it?(last I can remember is 2012 in Roscommon when we followed up with a loss to Sligo)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 144 ✭✭blazermel

Fair dues... I hadn't a clue who he was or where he was from but just assumed he was from one of the two playing that day(Roscommon and Sligo).

Think the game is Salthill isn't it?(last I can remember is 2012 in Roscommon when we followed up with a loss to Sligo)

Yep in Salthill now. I thought it was completely disrespectful for the media to be completely writing off Galway and placing Mayo on some kind of pedestal as untouchables. A shock like this is exactly what the Championship needed and given Mayo's dominance over the last 5 years it's great to see Roscommon and Galway facing off. Complacency, lack of bite and real hunger cost Mayo today but full credit to Galway on a well earned victory.

It's amazing what time does.

I think id actually treasure a Nestor Cup win.

I took them for granted growing up but I wasn't a million miles out of secondary school when I saw us win our last.

I think you'd have been led away in a straight jacket if you told Galway fans that day we wouldn't win a Connacht for at LEAST another 8 years that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

well done lads , great win , a connacht final is a great start in the development of a young team , think 1996 loss to sligo and where it led to a 1998 win over rosscommon , i still have reservations about the management but i expect ye to have a good year on the back of today

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

well done lads , great win , a connacht final is a great start in the development of a young team , think 1996 loss to sligo and where it led to a 1998 win over rosscommon , i still have reservations about the management but i expect ye to have a good year on the back of today

Are we getting a small bit carried away though. I hear
    Mayo were atrocious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Are we getting a small bit carried away though. I hear
    Mayo were atrocious

i am not saying galway will win anything but but with a young team they could have a good year , surly a connacht tittle and maybe an all ireland semi final wouldnt be seen as a bad year in galway ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Well done to Galway. Shocking last 15 mins of the first half, but cracking last 15 of the second half. There was only one team in it after that Flynn goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭King Mallie

Well done GALWAY great win but Mayo were poor. But I think that there is a lot more still left in this GALWAY team and if they all clicked together they might go a long way in this championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,560 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Delighted with todays result. Well
    done to all.
    But have to say I'm disappointed with the paltry support Galway had
    in Castlebar today. As it turned out we didn't need The 16th man.
    But it would be nice of we had it.