Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

Another low day. Basically it was a re-run of the All-Ireland final. I didn't expect a win yesterday but expected a strong performance. First half was ok in patches but again we conceded some ridiculously cheap scores to Kilkenny and while the sweepers worked reasonably well, our clearances were completely aimless at times. There was some good hurling to admire but really when Kilkenny introduced Hogan and Power they turned the screw very easily without ever really having to extend themselves. At 3 points up we weren't really on top but we looked like we'd do enough to bring it down to the wire at least. The goal was coming and was a very poor concession. Wouldn't really blame Callanan, letting a one on one happen at that range is a recipe for disaster.

Conor Whelan did quite well but missed a chance to level it and the 2nd Kilkenny surge saw us collapse completely. We were an utter mess by the end.

To win that match we needed a lot of things amongst them: multiple goals (never created a sniff of a goal chance apart from Cyril Donnellan's effort), Joe Canning to have a stormer (he knocked over the majority of his frees but contributed little from play), keep frees to a minimum, a number of brainless frees giving TJ Reid more shooting practice and keep Michael Fennelly quiet in the middle, again he ruled the middle sector, use the wings to try and open up the possibility of goals (multiple aimless boomers on top of one Galway forward which Joey Holden tidied up with ease). Late on one ball went in with us well down and Jason Flynn was the only Galway player against 3 Kilkenny backs which felt hauntingly like last September.

Basically since half time in the 2012 All-Ireland Kilkenny have outplayed/outfought and outthought us in every championship game we've played them. There can be no arguing against that point.

Fair play to Kilkenny and much as you'd love to see them beaten it will take a top side with huge mental strength to beat them. Where Galway go from here I don't know. The league was a disaster, we were relegated without finding any new players or learning anything significant. If we draw Cork or Wexford we may find our way back to Croke Park but we look a long way off skill wise, tactically and especially mentality wise.

I think Ger Loughnane has it spot on for once, when the heat came on we folded once again. I had hoped the manner of the victory over Tipperary last August might be a turning point for Galway mentality wise. We were going to win that day no matter what but we look as fragile mentally as at any point over the last 20 years now again.

Hopefully the football can give us a lift next Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

I at least wish someone in the 27 or so people involved in the team or management had the brains to instruct someone to go down injured once KK got their goal. KK have these hot spells unbelievably regularly. Surely it crossed someones mind when they levelled up that the game actually wasn't over, we were still level in that second half and we simply need to halt their inevitable momentum afterwards. Of course they tacked on 3 points soon afterwards. And when the sniff of a Galway comeback started with a decent score, down a KK player goes and the whole show gets halted. Simple stuff but it's stuff winning sides generally do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I at least wish someone in the 27 or so people involved in the team or management had the brains to instruct someone to go down injured once KK got their goal. KK have these hot spells unbelievably regularly. Surely it crossed someones mind when they levelled up that the game actually wasn't over, we were still level in that second half and we simply need to halt their inevitable momentum afterwards. Of course they tacked on 3 points soon afterwards. And when the sniff of a Galway comeback started with a decent score, down a KK player goes and the whole show gets halted. Simple stuff but it's stuff winning sides generally do.

at 1.17 to 17 killian buckley clears the ball off the line..if the ball goes in its a game changer and anything could have happened after..small margins and all. bottom line is too many of our big players didnt perform and the better team on the day won!

here's hoping daithi burke and john hanbury injuries are not too serious and wont be out of the quarter final. i would like to see some changes for the quarter final with one of perhaps kevin hussey/paul kileen/adrian touhy/colm flynn coming in for johnny coen and gearoid mc, with johnny moving to centre field and jason flynn for joe cooney. would also like someone with a bit of pace like brian molloy/eanna burke getting some game time in the forwards.

on a side note ger loughnanes article was way over the top - no need to give such a personal attack on micheal donoghue. fair enough micheal gets no where near as animated as cody on the sideline..but neither does jim gavin with dublin and hes not doing a bad job either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I think Callanan was bracing himself to try and save a rocket of a shot (which he already did in the first half) and in the end Farrell completely mis-hit it and it actually worked out better for him as Callanan was off balance and the dribbler along the ground actually went in under him.

Joseph Cooney sadly is just not up to this level. He tries but his hurling isn't slick enough and he doesn't have the fitness either to last championship pace. Niall Burke's hurling definitely is good enough. A lovely striker of a ball. However for a big lad he lacks aggression. Any time the intensity and physicality levels raise he disappears. Can't carry two passengers like that in the half-forward line.

I always liked Niall Burke as a player, bags of ability. But you're right about his lack of physicality and that's a deal breaker when you're playing Kilkenny. They have the skill AND the ability to win dirty ball, to put bodies on the line, to get stuck in and do whatever is required.

A similiar accusation could be levelled at Conor Cooney, he is another nice skillful hurler but struggles to win any ball once you put him up against a tough no-nonsense defender. Joseph Cooney always works hard and tries his best but he doesn't have the pace nor the touch to play centre forward at this level. Jason Flynn is a much better hurler and hopefully getting dropped might be the kick up the arse that gets him going again because on his day he is easily one of the best forwards we have and with the added bonus that he's an excellent freetaker if Joe is having an off day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

MfMan wrote: »
    Ridiculously too early to start judging MD. Yesterday's final for me was the end of an era, in that from now on the mgmt team have to put their own stamp on the squad. (They probably need to be a bit fitter / sharper for a start.) The same players who haven't been doing it need to be sidelined and I think the squad needs a bit of rejuvenation to freshen it up. From yesterday, the backs weren't at all bad I thought. Hanbury saw off C Fennelly, P Mannion didn't give Larkin a ball, Gearoid Mc was surprisingly good and gave W Walsh plenty of it, Daithi stuck as well as anyone has to TJ Reid, Harte could/should be under pressure as he just isn't sharp enough while Coen's form is a real disappointment, but maybe he could be pushed into midfield to complement David Burke. Fergal Moore isn't the future either, but Killeen didn't do so bad when he came on while Turlough' lads will tell you Kevin Hussey is close enough to making the breakthrough. The defence may be criticised for clearing the ball straight to KK players yesterday, but in reality they were under pressure anyway and the HF line faded badly in the 2nd half. Ignore criticism of Daithi Burke, I thought he and P Mannion were both excellent yesterday.

Midfield was really poor where David Burke didn't raise his usual gallop, while his misplaced clearance before ht was unforgivable for a man of his ability. Glennon scored a good point, but if he has to be moved out of it later and eventually subbed, then he isn't the answer there. Midfield should mostly finish as it started.

Forwards good and bad; Whelan and C Mannion's return to form are both promising, while Conor Cooney came into it well in the second half, though his best work comes in loose play, really needs to improve in tight exchanges. JC, as has been said, had one of his quietest days ever and will be very keen I'm sure to put it right the next day. On the bad side, Joe Cooney faded once again, and if he never seems to complete a full game for Galway then he just isn't good enough. Niall Burke's lack of appetite for the physical stuff is too much of a burden to carry and can no longer be started. Cyril D had the same game as he's nearly always had for Galway; couple of good catches, meandering run, fall down, cede possession, swing, hooked, blocked, an odd point. He has just never improved, and great lad with a great heart and attitude though he is, he just can't be carried anymore. Andy Smith did ok when introduced, but neither he nor Tannian are the future either, and are too well known and predictable at this stage too.

Off the top of my head, my team for the next day should be something like;
    Callinan
    P Mannion
    Hanbury
    Killeen / Hussey,
    Gearoid
    Daithi
    Harte (if he improves)
    Coen
    David Burke
    C Mannion
    ??? (Brian Molloy?)
    C Cooney
    Whelan
    JC
    Flynn

Mgmt have nothing to lose now by changing things around,

A lot of good points there.

But your proposed half back line is no where near good enough hurling wise. Harte's skill level is not at the required level, no where near. Daithi reads a game very well and a great man marker but he needs to up his distribution or start handing out more balls to midfield. McInerney did well on Walsh on Sunday but again his skill level and distribution are not up to it.

When you compare these guys to KK's half back line of Buckley, Joyce and Walsh, it's clear how far we are behind in that department. Buckley and Walsh in particular have the vision and skill level to set up the forwards. While the Galway backs gifted KK soft ball with horrendous clearances.

It could be worth trying David Burke at 6 and Collins is also better option than those there at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

How do people rate Galway's chances of getting to the AI again this year? Where we'll presumably meet KK again! I've seen a lot of comments saying that if Galway meet Clare in their next match (1/4 / final) we will be finished. Any substance to that or is it just nonsense talk?

Also..anyone read Ger Loughnane comments regarding Joe Canning and the team in general? Bit of sour grapes going on I think..considering when he managed them, Galway performed disgracefully. According to Ollie Canning, under Loughnane the team's highlight was their 10 point loss to Kilkenny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Lollipop95 wrote:
    How do people rate Galway's chances of getting to the AI again this year? Where we'll presumably meet KK again! I've seen a lot of comments saying that if Galway meet Clare in their next match (1/4 / final) we will be finished. Any substance to that or is it just nonsense talk?

Lollipop95 wrote:
    Also..anyone read Ger Loughnane comments regarding Joe Canning and the team in general? Bit of sour grapes going on I think..considering when he managed them, Galway performed disgracefully. According to Ollie Canning, under Loughnane the team's highlight was their 10 point loss to Kilkenny!

Depends on injuries. Daithi Burke possibly broke a finger and Hanbury has a leg injury. And of course how the Tipp vs Waterford game goes. Tipp win Galway probably play Clare 50/50 game. Waterford win winners of Cork vs Wexford Galway probably slight favourites. Wouldn't read anything into that Loughnanes comments. Gutter journalism. Lowest of the low what he said. Whatever about the players (I've a feeling he had a lot of this written last December and just dusted it off) but his comments about Micheal Donohoe were disgraceful. Not every manager needs to jump around like Davy Fitz or Cody to be affective.

A lot of what Loughnane said has some truth to it but he had no business in slagging off Michael Donoghue like that. The man is new to the job, seems a decent guy and needs to be given a chance without personal attacks from the likes of Loughnane.

As for next Sunday, I'd imagine same 15 again? I have to admit I wasn't overly thrilled when I saw the team selection for the Mayo game but they surprised a few people that evening and hopefully they can build on it. Roscommon will be a different proposition though, a team on the up whereas Mayo are probably going in the opposite direction at this stage. Should be a good game.

EDIT: just saw the team now. Same 15 as the last day with a couple of minor positional switches which probably won't mean much on the day. Comer and Walsh have swapped the 11 and 14 jerseys but I doubt that's how they'll actually line out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

I think that the 15 from the Mayo game deserve their starting places. This would be a great title to win. A Connacht final in Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,590 ✭✭✭MfMan

djPSB wrote: »
    A lot of good points there.

But your proposed half back line is no where near good enough hurling wise. Harte's skill level is not at the required level, no where near. Daithi reads a game very well and a great man marker but he needs to up his distribution or start handing out more balls to midfield. McInerney did well on Walsh on Sunday but again his skill level and distribution are not up to it.

When you compare these guys to KK's half back line of Buckley, Joyce and Walsh, it's clear how far we are behind in that department. Buckley and Walsh in particular have the vision and skill level to set up the forwards. While the Galway backs gifted KK soft ball with horrendous clearances.

It could be worth trying David Burke at 6 and Collins is also better option than those there at the minute.

Harte isn't the most skillful or intuitive of players and isn't having as good a year as last year, (when he wasn't actually too bad), but we're not blessed with too many alternatives. Agree too that McInerney isn't the greatest but I'm basing his selection there purely on his performance last Sunday when he surprised nicely on the upside. Collins probably a better hurler than these 2 but he's too slow; any of the remaining teams would run rings around him. Simply don't think David Burke is tough enough for CHB, and he's really needed in midfield now. Daithi is still our best option at no. 6; his clearances aren't always the lengthiest or his distribution the most accurate but these can be improved on with work. He's pacy enough, good at reading the play and covering his zone, good under the dropping ball and tough as nails to boot. (Dislocated his finger the last day I think but still kept going).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Lollipop95 wrote: »

A lot of what he said wasn't a million miles from the truth, but he definitely crossed the line ( not for the first time), he's personal attack on Donoghue was embarrassing.

In Tipp we're well used to this mouthpiece spouting his biased bitter crap, interesting to see he has for the time being switched his focus to someone else, it reads very much like Ger and Anthony Cunningham are best of buds and he is sticking up for his ousted mate, but he absolutely crossed the line.

He's like a slightly more articulate version of our own buffoon Babs. In fairness almost every county has one, they just don't always get a platform in a national rag.

Interestingly enough the last such attack that was as personal and scathing was probably the aforementioned Babs against Offaly and we all know how that ended, this should act as a serious motivation to Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

aidan24326 wrote: »
    As for next Sunday, I'd imagine same 15 again? I have to admit I wasn't overly thrilled when I saw the team selection for the Mayo game but they surprised a few people that evening and hopefully they can build on it. Roscommon will be a different proposition though, a team on the up whereas Mayo are probably going in the opposite direction at this stage. Should be a good game.

EDIT: just saw the team now. Same 15 as the last day with a couple of minor positional switches which probably won't mean much on the day. Comer and Walsh have swapped the 11 and 14 jerseys but I doubt that's how they'll actually line out.

I think the switch between Comer & Walsh is just to mess with Roscommon. Walsh will play deeper than Comer. Comer will probably drift out as the match goes on (if some early high balls into him dont work) leaving Cummins & Brannigan as our most advanced players.

You cant argue with the team. They beat Mayo and earned their places. Lets hope that they can keep up this momentum & win on Sunday. I am looking forward to a great game!

Massive massive opportunity now. Win and Galway are odds on to reach the Semi Final. Imagine saying that at the start of the year. Collins is a big loss for Roscommon. Really expecting a big show from Comer on Sunday, not sure Ros quite have anyone physical enough to deal with him. Think it'll be a big crowd, hopefully a dry day and an excellent atmosphere around town

It's sure to be a big crowd as the Rossies will travel in big numbers. Probably a sell-out or close enough.

And why would we be odds on to reach the semi final after winning this? Who would be our likely quarter final opponents? (I'm not familiar with exactly how the draw pans out)

It's sure to be a big crowd as the Rossies will travel in big numbers. Probably a sell-out or close enough.

And why would we be odds on to reach the semi final after winning this? Who would be our likely quarter final opponents? (I'm not familiar with exactly how the draw pans out)

I think the "odds on" needs to be replaced by "A good chance".

My understanding from previous posts were that the likely quarter finalists would be Cavan or Tipperary or to that effect.

I think we can give most teams a rattle but that's entirely reliant on having a kick out strategy and sadly KW doesn't see the benefit.. Maybe because he was a midfielder who's job it was to contest those and he doesn't want to admit that those players are obsolete now.

You could say we have one but the opposition pressed expertly but when the goalie doesn't have the ball and tee at the side of the goal ready to go as soon as the ball is evidently going dead... Then its clear its something you haven't even worked on.

You'll get away with it against the D2-D4 teams but against the Top 8 its a necessity otherwise you're giving the opposition an extra 5-10 attacks(if you kick long you at least need to force the same and we've given Mayo free reign in 15 and 16 to win theirs).
    We lost 5-8 of ours against Mayo and won 1 of theirs.
    I think that's what kept Mayo in the game tbh.

Anyway Roscommon are someone we can possibly get away with it against so lets just see can we end an embarrassingly long barren spell of 8 years.
    Small steps and all that.

Hard indeed to believe that there's a fairly handy route to the semis if we win Sunday. It can't, and won't, be that easy. Would like to see more scoring threat from Comer as he's not the most prolific in that dept. Then again, he banged in a goal in the league meeting last year and scared the hell out of them in that U-21 cracker in Tuam too, so the Rossies will be mindful of his threat.

Wisdom seems to suggest that Ros' are strong in the forwards, though Diarmuid Murtagh will be a major absence if missing, but not as strong in midfield or defence. Will Galway now play in a gear higher, having drawn confidence from the Mayo victory? Will the backs play with the same coherence again? Will home advantage swing it Galway's way or will the experience of a season in Div. I benefit Roscommon? Hard to call, even from the bookies, but maybe the Mayo win will have given Galway the shot of adrenaline they've badly needed for a while now.

Bad day promised however, which could be a leveler and lead to a poor enough match.

I think the "odds on" needs to be replaced by "A good chance".

No, odds on is quite accurate. The worst case scenario is Cavan if making a QF and even then that game is 50/50. Sunday's winners are fave against Tipp, Meath, Derry etc. See if you're able to get bigger than 8/11 on Monday about the Connacht Champions reaching the semi final (I can pretty much guarantee you won't be able). Having an accurate grasp of odds and probabilities doesn't make someone arrogant towards their teams chances. It's the most realistic way of gauging things by far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Who ever wins the Connacht final, plays one of Clare, Laois, Derry, Meath, Carlow, Cavan, Leitrim, Sligo or Tipp in the quarter final. It is a soft enough route to the AI semi final, considering who is on the other side of the draw.

You'll get away with it against the D2-D4 teams but against the Top 8 its a necessity otherwise you're giving the opposition an extra 5-10 attacks(if you kick long you at least need to force the same and we've given Mayo free reign in 15 and 16 to win theirs). We lost 5-8 of ours against Mayo and won 1 of theirs. I think that's what kept Mayo in the game tbh.

Being a bit liberal with the facts there in fairness!! We allowed Mayo go short with every kickout hence why the had such a high stat of own kickouts won. They got caught out with a short one and Tom Flynn got the goal. They went long with the next one and PC gets a point. Only two they lost but it cost them 1-1. Hard to know with Galway set up the same on Sunday allowing Roscommon to go short. Would like to see Galway press and force the ball to go long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Loughnane mouthing off again the bitter twisted old fcuk wit.

I said wrote:

He has a serious fascination with the Cannings. Especially Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

No, odds on is quite accurate. The worst case scenario is Cavan if making a QF and even then that game is 50/50. Sunday's winners are fave against Tipp, Meath, Derry etc. See if you're able to get bigger than 8/11 on Monday about the Connacht Champions reaching the semi final (I can pretty much guarantee you won't be able). Having an accurate grasp of odds and probabilities doesn't make someone arrogant towards their teams chances. It's the most realistic way of gauging things by far

At the moment, Paddy Power have odds of 6/5 for Galway and getting to a semi-final. There are 2 main reasons for this

1) Galway are still in the 2 bites of the cherry camp - even if they lose their next game, if they win the following game, they will be into a quarter-final

2) the level of opposition on that side of the qualifiers - Sligo, Clare, Laois, Cavan, Carlow, Derry, Meath are the 7 teams left in the qualifiers plus Tipp as Munster provincial losers (Galway can't play Roscommon again before the semi-final stage)

As a comparison Kerry who are the other provincial finalist on the same side of the qualifier are currently 1/12 to reach a semi-final.

While whoever wins Connacht is unlikely to be that short, they will definitely be odds on to get to the semi.

Being a bit liberal with the facts there in fairness!! We allowed Mayo go short with every kickout hence why the had such a high stat of own kickouts won. They got caught out with a short one and Tom Flynn got the goal. They went long with the next one and PC gets a point. Only two they lost but it cost them 1-1. Hard to know with Galway set up the same on Sunday allowing Roscommon to go short. Would like to see Galway press and force the ball to go long.

Not at all.

I'm not twisting it and its obvious we gave up the short kick outs which in itself is criminal really.
    Given how difficult it is to turn over the ball in Football it's given the opponents extra attacks.

The turning of the Donegal game last year was a period in the second half when Galway kept kicking it long and losing it.
    Contrast that to Mayo this year, after every Galway wide or point Mayo got an attack... No opportunity to build momentum.

I think we've a decent team, a good manager but his dismissal of what's the important facet of the modern game is a worry.

Dublin are the benchmark, watch their restarts, balls at the side of the net and Cluxton has it placed in a few seconds, from there you just need to set up and hit the same areas. Its something that can be copied easily enough in fairness.

I said wrote: »

Has he been on again since Monday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

MfMan wrote: »
    Has he been on again since Monday?

Today's paper having a pop at the cannings again

ProudDUB wrote: »

Who ever wins the Connacht final, plays one of Clare, Laois, Derry, Meath, Carlow, Cavan, Leitrim, Sligo or Tipp in the quarter final. It is a soft enough route to the AI semi final, considering who is on the other side of the draw.
    No, odds on is quite accurate. The worst case scenario is Cavan if making a QF and even then that game is 50/50. Sunday's winners are fave against Tipp, Meath, Derry etc.

I didn't realise we were on the relatively easier side of the draw. Thanks for clearing that up.

Cavan were superior in that final round league game though so we'd have ground to make up on them. The rest I think we'd probably beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

He has a serious fascination with the Cannings. Especially Joe.

Think Joe turned down an invitation from Loughnane to join the senior panel when Ger was in charge. In fairness Joe was barely out of minor at the time from what I remember. Loughnane seems to have held a bit of a grudge against the Cannings ever since.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

In regard to the official Galway adult jerseys. I know both are sponsored by Supermacs now, but are both the football and the hurling the same. I think in the past the football and hurling has a different crest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

In regard to the official Galway adult jerseys. I know both are sponsored by Supermacs now, but are both the football and the hurling the same. I think in the past the football and hurling has a different crest.

Now both the same with the same crest what was the hurling crest is now on both