Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Gone full Bruce Lee trying to ''be water''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭califano

Upgraded to orange juice. Its definitely orange in his glass in the Irish Independent pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

Lads, this thread, like anything related to Conor on this forum, has gone to shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Duff wrote: »
    Lads, this thread, like anything related to Conor on this forum, has gone to shíte.

go comment on the bellator thread youre being too negative! :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Lads cut out the nonsense, there is little need to be derailing a thread with discussion on water consumption. Its bad enough that some of you are dragging up the same discussion points that were done to death here and repeating them on the 202 thread to stir things up. Some of you are walking a thin line in general and not far off a ban and would be be advised to start thinking before posting..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

Conor is number 85 on the Forbes rich list (Sports Persons) for anyone interested. His total earnings for the last 12 months of $22m were split between earnings from UFC of $18m and $4m for endorsements. Not bad at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I remember when there used to be debate in here as to whether he even had made a million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Well fair play to him anyways, I'm sure it'll spark another pointless debate but it's nice to see an Irishman doing well for himself at the end of the day.

He's also done wonders for Vegas tourism from the Irish! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Conor is number 85 on the Forbes rich list (Sports Persons) for anyone interested. His total earnings for the last 12 months of $22m were split between earnings from UFC of $18m and $4m for endorsements. Not bad at all!

Not bad at all! He was surprisingly low on the last Sunday Times rich list guessing he'll get a big bump there next time out too. No matter how much he has he should be short of a bob or two just have to hope he's got someone sensible looking after it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

What are the tax rates for sportsmen in the US? Pretty high I'd imagine. If he's half that he'd be lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

What are the tax rates for sportsmen in the US? Pretty high I'd imagine. If he's half that he'd be lucky.

Wish I was that lucky

McGregor pays his tax here still I'd say, definitely spends enough days in the country, also theres some tax exemption in nevada thats why theyve so many fights there!

just looked it up, 39.6 national tax for anything in nevada plus state tax on top of that if earned in another state, youch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,783 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Depp wrote: »
    McGregor pays his tax here still I'd say, definitely spends enough days in the country, also theres some tax exemption in nevada thats why theyve so many fights there!

just looked it up, 39.6 national tax for anything in nevada plus state tax on top of that if earned in another state, youch!

Ireland have a no double tax agreement so the us get nothing if he is taxed here. No mateer what way you look at it, he's well richer than all of us here combined

seriously? sweet enough so hes doing very well!

just as a side thought, one positive about this whole diaz thing is not having to listen to rda at press conferences, was getting mighty sick of him yammering on about how he was doing it all for jesus, and I'm religious!

Depp wrote: »
    seriously? sweet enough so hes doing very well!

just as a side thought, one positive about this whole diaz thing is not having to listen to rda at press conferences, was getting mighty sick of him yammering on about how he was doing it all for jesus, and I'm religious!

pretty sure, could be wrong but I remember reading about it before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,340 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,379 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Ireland have a no double tax agreement so the us get nothing if he is taxed here.
    I know that during the world series and other large poker events in vegas. Money is withheld from payouts to americans for tax, but if I irish person was to scoop a big win they receive 100% of it provided that have applied for a US tax number.

In terms of tax, I wish I was paying 40%+ tax on gross earnings of $22m in a 12 month period! Unfortunately my 40%+ tax is on a much lower gross amount! :p

I would imagine he is tax resident in Ireland and as mentioned above, Ireland and the US have a double taxation treaty. The other thing to keep in mind is that McGregor would be a sole trader/ self-employed for tax purposes in Ireland and would therefore submit a tax return rather than being taxed at source like any PAYE employee would be. For sole traders, there are ways of legally lowering tax exposure significantly. I would have no doubt that he has a good accountant who does this for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,379 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I remember around a year ago this topic cane up. A poster(s)here were claiming that he makes more than McGregor. :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Mellor wrote: »
    I remover around a year ago this topic cane up. A poster(s)here were claiming that he makes more than McGregor. :pac: :pac:

I remember this also. I think the guy was combining the salaries of his many alter-egos and multiple personalties.

Same fella is probably still lurking around here under yet another new name!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Can't believe no one has brought up Robbie Lawlors comments that he was due to fight Conor at 200 and wouldn't have taken the easy tapout, he would have stood it back up and "taken his soul!!!"

That would be a massacre. McGregor should never fight Lawlor.

Can't believe no one has brought up Robbie Lawlors comments that he was due to fight Conor at 200 and wouldn't have taken the easy tapout, he would have stood it back up and "taken his soul!!!"

No no no he could definately take him, How I laughed when people were suggesting that. There is a vast amount at 155 that would smash him and even more at 170.

He needs to stay at 145 as long as he can imo, Whats wrong with dominating 1 weight class.

The other intriguing thing that I read recently is that he has never defended any of the 3 belts he has held (Cage Warriors Featherweight, Cage Warriors Lightweight, and UFC Featherweight), not once. This is something I never really realised which is strange because I was aware of the fact that his last 2 fights in Cage Warriors were for the Featherweight and Lightweight straps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭newbbieb

No no no he could definately take him, How I laughed when people were suggesting that. There is a vast amount at 155 that would smash him and even more at 170.

He needs to stay at 145 as long as he can imo, Whats wrong with dominating 1 weight class.

Kinda agree with you and part of me wonders and i know he uses George Lockhart,but i wondered was his weight cuts someway inefficient or should he try to lose some muscle mass and focus entirely on 145.

When he first came into the UFC the Brimage,Holloway fights he didn't look anywhere near so gaunt and drained weighing in for them fights.I always figured it was the muscle he must have put on while rehabbing the knee that made the cuts more difficult.

Either way i think your overall point is right,he doesn't ever beat Khabib also someone like Ferguson who is a monster at 55 is just gonna be too big for Conor too,145 or just be a contender at 55 without ever holding the belt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

Interesting though that the UFC themselves tweeted a snippet of that.

https://twitter.com/ufc/status/740701608179208193

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭finglashoop

newbbieb wrote: »
    just be a contender at 55 without ever holding the belt.

Bisping is the latest proof that anyone can win on any given night Holm, TJ, Miocic were all considered to be fighting monsters as well.

Yeah thats true i spose i mean if you draw the right fight on the right night,but i can see a GSP style Khabib clean out of the division on the horizon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

newbbieb wrote: »
    Yeah thats true i spose i mean if you draw the right fight on the right night,but i can see a GSP style Khabib clean out of the division on the horizon.

He looked average enough against Horcher imo. What happens when he fights someone like Tibau again who can stuff his takedowns? If they have good stand-up they will butcher him on the feet, he can't punch or kick.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I wouldnt say he cant punch thats a bit harsh but hes gonna beaten like 99.9% of fighters are eventually,the amount of people that have looked untouchable then get beaten of late is crazy,I think that Rag Dolling of RDA has inflated his reputation,a beast for sure but injury prone which cant help his propects and hopes of domination.

Gamebred wrote: »
    I wouldnt say he cant punch thats a bit harsh but hes gonna beaten like 99.9% of fighters are eventually,the amount of people that have looked untouchable then get beaten of late is crazy,I think that Rag Dolling of RDA has inflated his reputation,a beast for sure but injury prone which cant help his propects and hopes of domination.

Yeah i am not a massive Khabib fan and like you guys say he will probably find a bad match up and lose but my overall point was just i think there is a couple beasts at 55 that i don't think Conor beats on his best day,Ferguson i think is a nightmare for Conor i really do,i think i would nearly rather see him tackle Khabib.