Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Detailing chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

picture with 56 at end in attachment I applied collinite and other is without.

You can see swirls in picture after rotary.

A rotary polishing machine should only be used to remove deep scratches and always with the plan of being followed up with a D/A polisher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

A rotary polishing machine should only be used to remove deep scratches and always with the plan of being followed up with a D/A polisher.

Finished off with black pad
    Have cutting police she and then final stage polish.

Values before and washed down with apc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

There was deep swirls it's 2006 vRS so has hard paint.
    Dam auto correction on last post...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

You would need practice to get perfect finish with a rotary.
    Those are not swirls.
    Can you borrow a DA as suggested above?
    It just needs more refinement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

How often would you lads de-iron, de-tar and clay your cars ? Would monthly be too often ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

How often would you lads de-iron, de-tar and clay your cars ? Would monthly be too often ?

Rarely for me, doing them well once is good enough for months on my cars, bar Tar of course, every few months for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,126 ✭✭✭job seeker

Curran wrote: »
    Something like CarPro CeriGlass and a Rayon pad with a machine polisher will be required if the glass is scratched in any way bad.

The CeriGlass is also available with a polishing block for doing it by hand, but it will only fix very minor scratching.

Hmm, How much would that set me back including the machine polisher?

Also this is very bad damage, it's where the wiper rubbed off the glass, without a blade. Last time I'm lending the car to my dad...:(

job seeker wrote: »
    Hmm, How much would that set me back including the machine polisher?

Also this is very bad damage, it's where the wiper rubbed off the glass, without a blade. Last time I'm lending the car to my dad...:(

If it is that bad I would be loking at my insurance policy and getting it replaced

vectra wrote: »
    If it is that bad I would be loking at my insurance policy and getting it replaced

Unfortunately that's not an option. Only driving since October and can't have it rising over a rear window..

However thanks for the feed back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

job seeker wrote:
    Unfortunately that's not an option. Only driving since October and can't have it rising over a rear window..

Is windscreen cover not on your policy. If it is, they usually allow for 3 replacements per year, which won't affect your NCB

Nope. I only have 3rd party insurance. The most basic you can get.. Doesn't even windscreen cover...

When I bought the focus the back wiper motor was seized, and the blade was perished. Mentioned it when collecting it, and they tried to free it up, could see them pulling the wiper freehand back and forth putting a scrape into the window as they did. My face dropped when I seen the mechanic at it. Still there to this day.

Whoops apologise Noccy, only seen this now!

Jaysus, that's shocking stuff! Ya, I find the scrap very annoying though...

Whoops apologise Noccy, only seen this now!

Jaysus, that's shocking stuff! Ya, I find the scrap very annoying though...

Aye, took a pic of it there, it's so hard to get it right in the sun, but you can make it out, I wiped the dust from around it.

Ohh, I seem to have left the dealer sticker in the picture.... woops :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

Aye, took a pic of it there, it's so hard to get it right in the sun, but you can make it out, I wiped the dust from around it.

I used to live in Collooney, that garage once had my car for 3 weeks and couldn't diagnose a fault. I brought it to another garage on a tow truck and it was diagnosed within half an hour! They've got a very bad reputation from anyone I asked, if only I knew that before they wasted my time for 3 weeks!

high horse wrote:
    I used to live in Collooney, that garage once had my car for 3 weeks and couldn't diagnose a fault. I brought it to another garage on a tow truck and it was diagnosed within half an hour! They've got a very bad reputation from anyone I asked, if only I knew that before they wasted my time for 3 weeks!

Was waiting for someone to say something negative about them. Know a lad from there who hasn't much to say about them either, but from my experience of them, they were ok to deal with. Didn't know any of the negatives until well after buying. He takes big dealers trade ins from what I was told. Attention to detail wasn't great (one black mat one blue mat) and some other bits I'd normally be sticky on. One or two bits were broke, and they just took them out of another car, putting the broken bits into the other car (glovebox and something else.)

Latest I heard, they were closed? Any truth in that.

Must take a spin down that area soon, wasn't near the place since buying.

Mine is like that only worse...

Whilst I definitely took the scenic route to get there, I'm finally finished with the shed (well, bar hanging a few posters/security lights, etc).

There's a corner full o' crap which is on it's way to the recycling centre tomorrow. When that's gone, i've got bicyle hangers i picked up and I'm gonna hang two bikes on the wall (by 'hang' i mean stand them against it, really). Then that'll be everything, I think.

Here's a few pics of my hard work :P

ZbMwiK7.jpg

oduMgNl.jpg

xy2CqqE.jpg

r3p23LN.jpg

2MQujrM.jpg

I know the car plan stuff isn't reall rated on here as being very good, but I've found their hi wax rinse and foam to be decent enough (although it's a mild false economy, as you do have to use a decent quantity to get anywhere really).

4 of the drawers are in use. One for mitts and towels/cloths, one for polishing and waxing stuff (DA pads, bottles of polish etc.) and one for wheel related bits (wheel woolies, tyre brushes etc.). Then one has the alternate heads for the pressure washer and steam cleaner, should I ever need them.

Halfords do 3 for 2 on a €1 bucket, so I buy 3 each time I go in, so in the unit with doors, there's about a dozen buckets. I reckon they'll break sooner or later, but seem good value (that said, I mixed cement in one and it didn't crack, which i anticipated it would, so.. maybe they might last!).

A lot of the shelves and drawers are empty and one or two have random shite just thrown on them that needs a bit of a clean up, the computer chair also needs to be replaced or binned, and then its all over with. Then I'll have run out of excuses to put off cleaning the car and will actually have to clean the car. Meh :( :P

Even though the car spends it's nights indoors now, it's still covered in bird siht all the time. Really annoying.

Have to pick up a few bits off detailing shed (keep meaning to go up to him but end up getting side tracked) as I'm lacking in tar and iron products, grit guards, an incredimitt and a microfibre machine polish pad (those are the bits I know i need off the top of my head anyway).

The car has a fortnight of silly mileage coming up, at the end of this week, so I'm gonna give it a quick rinse during the week, and then when all the driving is done with, I'll bring it in for a full detail over the course of a couple of days and go all out, nWo style on it. Hopefully it'll look the bees knees when it's done :)

That looks like a shop display.

Super work, looks great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Great looking functional space you've got now. It's really transformed the place, amazing what a bit of hard graft can achieve.

Looks fantastic KKV. Is that Keane from wwe up beside the bag? :)

Not far off, it's his long-estranged cousin; Kane :P

(I was a really big WWE fan growing up, and although don't really watch it as much anymore (only really the Rumble each year), I was always a big Kane fan and collected a lot of his merchandise, and still pick up a random bit here and there if something catches my eye).

Wow..!!
    Some shed.
    Now from an ocd point of view..
    CLEAN THE GLASS..!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

You can see swirls in picture after rotary.

When using a rotary you are more susceptible to leaving defects as a result of the polishing. What you are most likely leaving is holograms, due to not keeping the pad totally flat to the surface of the paintwork. Do not lean the polisher on the edges of the pad as the pressure is concentrated more in one area, thus leaving those defects.
    Also, be sure to work the polish well, if you dont work it and break it down, you might be leaving defects as a result of the polish's abrasive molecules remaining quite large and thus also leaving minor defects.

Ermmm??? What??
    You can finish with a rotary; but for the reasons mentioned above it is a more skilled task.

Hence when buying a machine you have to factor in all aspects of the machine.
    A DA being safe to use but correction being slow, a rotary will correct quicker but can be difficult to finish certain paintworks.

Curran wrote:
    When using a rotary you are more susceptible to leaving defects as a result of the polishing. What you are most likely leaving is holograms, due to not keeping the pad totally flat to the surface of the paintwork. Do not lean the polisher on the edges of the pad as the pressure is concentrated more in one area, thus leaving those defects. Also, be sure to work the polish well, if you dont work it and break it down, you might be leaving defects as a result of the polish's abrasive molecules remaining quite large and thus also leaving minor defects.

Tell me this, can you get these unsightly holograms with a DA. That's my biggest fear, making the paint look shyt in the sun.

Yes it's possible, is it likely to happen? no, unless you are acting the complete clown with it.

Ermmm??? What??
    You can finish with a rotary; but for the reasons mentioned above it is a more skilled task.

This is fine for someone with experience of polishing machines but from what I know punisher is a newbie when it comes to the job. I'm just saying that if using a rotary as the machine for your first time polishing you should have a plan of following it with a D/A if needs be.

KKV - that is an awesome set up you've got. It's exactly the kind of thing I want to do in my place. The only thing annoying me about those pics is the bird sh!t on your rear windscreen :P

The way you worded it, it was as if the only way was with a DA....having the poor lad thinking he has to buy a 2nd machine!! ;)

With a bit of practice it's not too hard....keeping the polisher parallel with the paintwork surface, don't lean it side to side and work the polish until broken down fully!! Worst case even if it wasn't perfect the minor defects remaining by taking those steps would be masked by a wax or sealant

The way you worded it, it was as if the only way was with a DA....having the poor lad thinking he has to buy a 2nd machine!! ;)

You make a valid point Mr. Curran.......apologies :o

vectra wrote: »
    Wow..!!
    Some shed.
    Now from an ocd point of view..
    CLEAN THE GLASS..!!! biggrin.png

I did, after the photos, but it's still crappy. The actual pane seems to have faded or have a whiteness through it (don't really know anything about glass, but it's double glazing and a chap I know said he reckons it needs to be re-gassed?!).

KKV - that is an awesome set up you've got. It's exactly the kind of thing I want to do in my place. The only thing annoying me about those pics is the bird sh!t on your rear windscreen :P

Also done after the photos :P I gave it a quick foam, rinse, 2bm, dry and tyre dressing today. It's looking well.

Does anyone here use Car Plan stuff at all? I find two of their products in particular great ('hi wax rinse' and whatever their snow foam is called). I also really like their glass cleaner. Tyre dressing is crap (unless Im just doing it wrong!?). But it seems like great value (especially if you're gonna be wishy washing regularly?!)

I did, after the photos, but it's still crappy. The actual pane seems to have faded or have a whiteness through it (don't really know anything about glass, but it's double glazing and a chap I know said he reckons it needs to be re-gassed?!).

Aye, must be a hole somewhere in one of the panes, allowing the argon gas out, and normal air in, which cools, giving condensation etc.