Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭corny

Yeah saw an interview with Flynn and apparently he beat all his KPI's from 2011 last year but the wider public had him marked as out of form. Shows you how arbitrary these things can be.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2016/0508/786991-greatness-and-scumbags/

Media making something of Tomas O' Se's interesting comments today.

I know what he meant and he's right but Jesus his choice of words:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

corny wrote: »

I know what he meant and he's right but Jesus his choice of words :pac:

Yup. Heaven help us with the comments below. So far this year he's been rather refreshing with his criticism of Kerry. It doesn't ever read like it's a typical Kerry-hack playing down their chances. He actually can speak the truth. Which is nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Kerry have a song about 1955 final and bating the head off Heffo. Did the same to Armagh in 1953 and others. They have some fkn neck I tell you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

I know what he meant and he's right but Jesus his choice of words:pac:

The only scumbag on show last time we played them played in a Kerry jersey. Awful choice of words. Mans gone down in my eyes.

Jesus, the shiiitte some Kerry teams got up to over the years. Teams he played in too. Well heres one for you. You are cheating f@ckers in the kingdom. Ah sure thats the Kerry way. If refs were paid id say they were paid by Kerry GAA.

Rant over...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Tomas O'Se played on the same team as Kieran Donaghy and Aidan O'Mahony, but we're the one with the scumbags? Is he taking the piss?

A blind man can clearly see what Donaghy gets up to on the pitch. Macho Man O'Mahony got his marching orders in the last two games we played them (as well as being caught red handed in that AI final documentary acting the hard man with Kev Mc,) but we're the ones with the scumbags?

No doubt the bould Daragh will weigh in soon too. He'll blather on about lads being "cute," about laying down "a marker" and showing the importance of not being bullied, or needing to the hammer the hammer, or the importance of having "scamps" who are into a bit of "scamping" (I think it's something you do at Butlins, with a fishing rod and some gaffer tape. :rolleyes:)

It's all well and good when they are being the wise old Kerry sages, talking about what the Kerry liginds do in a game do to get a win. We're all supposed to admire them for that.

But when we do the very same stuff & do it better than Kerry do, we're scumbags?

Jesus, you couldn't make it up !

Ha ha ha....

Right on cue.

Tomas just tweeted that he didn't mean to call us "scumbags."

We're just lovable aul scamps after all.

(Where did I put my fishing rod?)
    Tomás Ó Sé ‏@tomas5ky 12m12 minutes ago Cork, Ireland

Don't think the dubs are scumbags at all.poor choice of words. Meant that they have a few scamps. All great teams have them.

Good man there Tomas. Throw the comment out there. Then take it back, to show what a decent skin you are. But the comment will still ferment in the minds of the media, the supporters and most importantly, the officials & referees. Job done, as far as Tomas is concerned.

How stupid does he think we all are?

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Tomas O'Se played on the same team as Kieran Donaghy and Aidan O'Mahony, but we're the one with the scumbags? Is he taking the piss?

A blind man can clearly see what Donaghy gets up to on the pitch. Macho Man O'Mahony got his marching orders in the last two games we played them (as well as being caught red handed in that AI final documentary acting the hard man with Kev Mc,) but we're the ones with the scumbags?

No doubt the bould Daragh will weigh in soon too. He'll blather on about lads being "cute," about laying down "a marker" and showing the importance of not being bullied, or needing to the hammer the hammer, or the importance of having "scamps" who are into a bit of "scamping" (I think its something you do at Butlins, with a fishing rod and some duct tape.) It's all well and good when they are being the wise old Kerry sages, talking about what the Kerry liginds do in a game do to get a win. We're all supposed to admire them for that.

But when we do the very same stuff & do it better than Kerry do, we're scumbags?

Jesus, you couldn't make it up !

Fk them and keep beating them. They're afraid of the blue jersey now. Same as they were Down and Tyrone :)

Fk them. Princes of the pig skin my bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,794 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

And then you had Darragh O Se. A saint :rolleyes:

EVENFLOW

Aren't we all getting a wee bit worked up about nothing? Calm it lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

And then you had Darragh O Se. A saint
    A great player.

All good teams have and need those lads, we have them and I didn't read anything into the comments I knew what he ment.
    From Kerry to Derry lads in crowd will tell you the same thing.

Aren't we all getting a wee bit worked up about nothing? Calm it lads.

Eh, I don't think its dubs with the issue now, other Bonnie :)

it is also as we've seen with Philly and jonny and Dermot, an attempt to create a myth that Dublin are dirty team, and to influence refs/ Pst masters at it. Look at the way they denigrated Tyrone ffs!

I just don't see how all of the posts in the last hour on here are warranted. I mean Kerry are an irrelevance as far as I am concerned. They're a poor side who are not going to be next to near us this year.

Ó Sé used a poor word but we know what he was getting at. What I will say though, I honestly don't even think we have any "scumbags" in the team. To a man they play hard but just get on with it; in fact they're not allowed to.

Anyway we are all aware of the filth of Kerry (Ahem, Tadhg Kennelly). Let them live in their delusion.

I just don't see how all of the posts in the last hour on here are warranted. I mean Kerry are an irrelevance as far as I am concerned. They're a poor side who are not going to be next to near us this year.

Ó Sé used a poor word but we know what he was getting at. What I will say though, I honestly don't even think we have any "scumbags" in the team. To a man they play hard but just get on with it; in fact they're not allowed to.

Anyway we are all aware of the filth of Kerry (Ahem, Tadhg Kennelly). Let them live in their delusion.

A poor word!

You just imagine if Keith or Whelo described another county as "knackers" or whatever, and then tried to pass it off as some sort of compliment!

Fk them. Is all I have to say. We've gotten all that bollix over the years any time we have a good team. Fk them from a height and keep bating the fkers.

And as Forrest Gump said: "That's all I have to say about that".

I couldn't care less what he calls us. And yes, I get the over all point he was trying to make. What gets me is the sickening hypocrisy of it all.

Would Tomas O'Se use the term 'scumbag' to describe his former Kerry team mates, being cute or scampish?

Like hell he would !

There would be be lynch mobs out for him, from Kilorglin to Tralee, that would make Paudi's treatment (for his 'animals' comment) feel like a nice, warm bubble bath.

But it's ok to use the term for us?

Like I said - hypocrisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,794 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Stoner wrote: »
    A great player.

All good teams have and need those lads, we have them and I didn't read anything into the comments I knew what he ment.

A great player.

But also filthy when he wanted to be.

EVENFLOW

Some Dublin posters here seem compromised whenever Kerry are mentioned! What gives?

For what its worth if asked i'm sure Tomas counts himself as a scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Stoner wrote: »
    A great player.

Agreed. Every successful intercounty team has players with a bit of an edge who don't mind if things get a bit rough. That edge is often part of what makes them great. It was a poor choice of words on his part, but what he's actually getting at is true and every good team has at least one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,465 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

A great player.

But also filthy when he wanted to be.

Its only on recent years that Kerry fans are beginning to admit their team is and has been as cynical as any in the country.

We must be hanging out with different breeds (:D) of Kerry fans then. The ones I consort with, are 100% convinced their $hit don't stink. Dublin's does. Cork's does. Everyone's north of Dundalk does. But theirs doesn't. They're all just lovable scamps, who are very cute, who play the game with passion, who like to lay down markers, and oh yeah....won't be bullied. :rolleyes:

I'd say the Donegal folk who were down in Tralee in March, are pissing themselves laughing at the very idea.

Some Dublin posters here seem compromised whenever Kerry are mentioned! What gives?

For what its worth if asked i'm sure Tomas counts himself as a scumbag.

:) Go away out of that!

So Brolly writes an article describing Tomás as a "scumbag" ......

What you reckon? They think it be funniest thing ever? They would in their bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Bonniedog wrote: »

What you reckon? They think it be funniest thing ever? They would in their bollix.

Sure did'nt they take Páidí calling them the roughest type of f***ing animals in their stride

I don't think he called anyone a scumbag but yeah if anyone was to describe Tomas as a blaggard well up for getting his hands dirty they wouldn't be lying. He knows that, i've heard him say it before. Quite frankly he celebrates it. He thinks its necessary for a successful team. He might have point if we're honest.

So while others see it as a sleight, i see what he said as him elevating Dublin, himself and his team of 10 years ago.

Quickest youtube search ever. He's not a ****ing idiot btw. He know his **** stinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Very poor from a Kerry legend . His statement had its purpose and retracting it now is pointless . As a Mayo loyal it was very much pot calling kettle stuff .
    Dublin have been the best team in Ireland for almost 4 years now and like it or not you don't win and stay at the top by being nice footballers . Kerry like Mayo and the rest are a long way off toppling this Dublin team in their current shape . Not to say it won't happen but the league final was a good example . Playing big bulky men against Dublin is useless .

I don't think he called anyone a scumbag but yeah if anyone was to describe Tomas as a blaggard well up for getting his hands dirty they wouldn't be lying. He knows that, i've heard him say it before. Quite frankly he celebrates it. He thinks its necessary for a successful team. He might have point if we're honest.

So while others see it as a sleight, i see what he said as him elevating Dublin, himself and his team of 10 years ago.

Quickest youtube search ever. He's not a ****ing idiot btw. He know his **** stinks.

Did he call Dub players "scumbags" or did he not? Seems he did, because he is apologising.

By the way. I have huge time for him and said before that his handing the ball to Cluxton was one of best aacts of sportsmanship I've seen.

Anyway, all a storm in a tea cup probably, but I do suspect there are other agendas being played here.

Very poor from a Kerry legend . His statement had its purpose and retracting it now is pointless . As a Mayo loyal it was very much pot calling kettle stuff .
    Dublin have been the best team in Ireland for almost 4 years now and like it or not you don't win and stay at the top by being nice footballers . Kerry like Mayo and the rest are a long way off toppling this Dublin team in their current shape . Not to say it won't happen but the league final was a good example . Playing big bulky men against Dublin is useless .

I hate all this type casting nonsense. We were "losers" ten years ago. Mayo are "losers" now. Tyrone were "anti football", Down were - believe it or not and check it out - "Soccer players"!

Why? Because they had the audacity to beat them.

If we don't beat them again, I hope it's fkn Mayo, because would be another fkn pin in their balloon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

PressRun wrote: »
    Agreed. Every successful intercounty team has players with a bit of an edge who don't mind if things get a bit rough. That edge is often part of what makes them great. It was a poor choice of words on his part, but what he's actually getting at is true and every good team has at least one.

This.

But embarrassing the hysterical overreaction to it.

The point wasn't that the Dublin team are scumbags, it is when required they have people in the squad who aren't going to take any manner of shít and are willing to do what's necessary/get stuck in to get over the line.

He's right fwiw. And it's a compliment from where I'm looking at it. Poor choice of words like but jesus, less of the histrionics.

Did he call Dub players "scumbags" or did he not? Seems he did, because he is apologising.

I'm being pedantic now but “They have a mixture of great players. They have a mixture of, for the want of a better word, a scumbag when they need somebody on the team to do the nasty things."

In other words they have people who will do the nasty things (he thinks very necessary) and assume the 'scumbag' role. Is that the same as calling Dublin players scumbags. Again, pedantic to argue but for me not a chance.

This.

But embarrassing the hysterical overreaction to it.

The point wasn't that the Dublin team are scumbags, it is when required they have people in the squad who aren't going to take any manner of shít and are willing to do what's necessary/get stuck in to get over the line.

He's right fwiw. And it's a compliment from where I'm looking at it. Poor choice of words like but jesus, less of the histrionics.

If he had used the term to describe players from Donegal (either in the general sense, or in the aftermath of a particular game) I'm damm sure, your reaction would not be so dismissive. Nor would you be telling people to tone down the histrionics. It is easy to tell people to stop over reacting, when your own county isn't the one involved.

And I don't think that people here are over reacting. No one here is disputing, or arguing the basic point that he is trying to make, which is that every county need a few warriors who don't take any crap from anyone, if they want to win an All Ireland.

It is his blatant hypocrisy in using the term 'scumbag' to describe players from one county, when there are Kerry players much closer to home, that are equally (if not more so, if you look at Aidan O'Mahony's recent history) as deserving of the term.

I'm being pedantic now but “They have a mixture of great players. They have a mixture of, for the want of a better word, a scumbag when they need somebody on the team to do the nasty things."

In other words they have people who will do the nasty things (he thinks very necessary) and assume the 'scumbag' role. Is that the same as calling Dublin players scumbags. Again, pedantic to argue but for me not a chance.

I can sort of see where you are coming from, but finding it hard to see that "scumbag" might be a compliment :)

But just let's develop this a bit.

Ciaran Whelan is on SG, and says, "Yeah Kerry are great team. but knackers like Donaghy are essential to the game plan".

Now, what do you think the reaction would be?

But listen, if he thinks our boys are scumbags, that's his business.