Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

mickeyk wrote:
    I also reckon Crowley, Geaney and Murphy are at or near the level of most of the Dublin squad. Highly biased to say there are only two that would be considered.

I'd agree Mickey bar Crowley, I could see him push john small but our half back line of McCarthy, O'Sullivan and McCaffery would not have room for Crowley IMO

But let's be honest who knows, lads are picked in training, maybe there is nobody pushing Enright , Moran, Crowley etc for a place in the kerry squad and they are sure of a start. A fit Moran starts for Kerry, MDMA just picked up a club all Ireland was footballer of the year in 2013 and a 34 year old Bastic has kept him from starting for 2 years. Not sure who said only two would be considered but who wouldn't want Darren O'Sullivan, Gooch,Donaghy O'Donoghue, Geaney, Enright, Walsh and the others mentioned, O'Mahoney was winning All Stars 10 years ago and owes nothing to the game , but it's past him now imo same as MOS apart from that the rest of this kerry team are similar in age to Dublin's main performers with similar wins bar Gooch with 5 and 4 for Darren O'Sullivan.
    These lads are either not being prepared as well or are simply not good enough, but it's not age or hunger imo, Gooch looks hungry.

Perhaps. I have Cork winning Munster though. I really think Kerry are fecked.

I really cant see that happening. Cork at at a 10 year low, I'm only stopping at 10 because I'm old now and lucky I cant remember past 2006 ;)
    I think kerry will walk Munster, too much firepower for Cork atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Stoner wrote: »
    I'd listen to him talk about football anytime, he was a true great and a balanced individual not many would take on the analysis in the honest way he does. I would be very difficult being honest about your brother's and friends display in a national paper, but he did it all right.

When Donegal beat dublin in 2014 Billy
    Kane wrote about how he in doing his duty as a kerry man blew smoke up Dublin's backside to hype them up to make it easier to beat them. He wrote that in the paper and tbh I don't know if it was true or he was looking for a way to correct his predictions. Either way when lads do that you can see why people are suspicious.

But no-one takes Keane seriously. He should be reviewing soap operas or whatever he started at.

Tomás is a different kettle of fish. A great player and a good analyst and writer.

Not beyond lending his services still I would suggest, which is fair enough. Would be impossible for him to be neutral.

Bonniedog wrote:
    But no-one takes Keane seriously.
    Thanks for the correction, I'm in flying form lately

I was slagging him not you :)

I'd say his surname is about the only reason is writing about anything!

I know. I quoted you in electrical forum yesterday. I'm on a temporary phone so all my autocorrects are reset and it has my head wrecked, different app etc I'm going back to just using the mobile site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

I really cant see that happening. Cork at at a 10 year low, I'm only stopping at 10 because I'm old now and lucky I cant remember past 2006 ;)
    I think kerry will walk Munster, too much firepower for Cork atm.

I think Kerry will hand it to Cork this year to swerve the inevitable SF date with Dublin :D

.. and a bit of whatiffery for ya .. if the standard IC match returned to 60 mins it would be a toss of a coin between the 2 imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Bonniedog wrote: »
    I was slagging him not you :)

I'd say his surname is about the only reason is writing about anything!

Spot on. He comes out with some terrible drivel. He's a Kerry man, so he is well aware of the social value of being considered a cute hoor, by his fellow Kerry men. But he's not smart enough to actually be one. There is no way he would have the Indo gig, but for his late father - an absolute legend !

Tomas O'Se has far too much self respect & real intelligence to ever stoop to his level. I thought his phrase "not at the races" was a very kind one to use to describe his brother on Sunday. He (and others) could have said far, far worse. It can't be easy having to comment on a team that you played on fairly recently, as well as having a brother on it. But if he is taking the Indo paycheck, his editors and his readers are entitled to some measure of honesty and clear minded appraisal, regardless of the counties he is writing about.

I like Tomás.

Apart from anything else, his handing the ball to Cluxton in 2011 was one of the great acts of sportsmanship.

Bonniedog wrote:
    Apart from anything else, his handing the ball to Cluxton in 2011 was one of the great acts of sportsmanship.

It's a super picture. Worth framing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Linky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

ProudDUB wrote: »

"The defeated young Kerry player retrieved the ball, carried it up the pitch and presented it to the victorious Dublin goalkeeper"

He wasn't that young :D:D:D:D

Funny thing is, I heard a radio interview with the bould Tomas, and he down played the whole thing. He said that the ball just happened to land at his feet, as the final whistle went. He was closest to Cluxton at the time and he just handed the ball to him, without really thinking about what he was doing. He wasn't planning on it being this great, big gesture of good sportsmanship, that it has since become. If the Sportsfile photographer hadn't taken the pic, no one would be any the wiser.

Fierce modest them Kureee lads 'wha ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭BKWDR

Have it framed myself, have the link to the last 10 minutes of that match i watch every now and then, it still gives me goose bumps to this day.

The likes of O'Sé and Mahony has me thinking about Alan Brogan, i was watching league sunday again last night and they showed the montage of Alan's super point in the the 2015 final. Jesus did he retire too young?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,702 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

BKWDR wrote: »
    The likes of O'Sé and Mahony has me thinking about Alan Brogan, i was watching league sunday again last night and they showed the montage of Alan's super point in the the 2015 final. Jesus did he retire too young?
    Not if you look at the performances of O'Sé and O'Mahony on Sunday. He got out at the right time.

Nah i know and that's always the fear that you give it another year and it goes bad. And he had the fairytale ending after 2014 i suppose.

But he's a bit younger than those lads all the same...

BKWDR wrote:
    But he's a bit younger than those lads all the same...

He should have given it two more years imo, he might not have been happy with an impact sub roll

BKWDR wrote: »

He will be giving it one almighty effort with Plunketts this year I'd imagine. Watching Boden winning the AI must have been hard to take given how close Plunketts have come to winning Dublin in last while.

Bonniedog wrote:
    He will be giving it one almighty effort with Plunketts this year I'd imagine. Watching Boden winning the AI must have been hard to take given how close Plunketts have come to winning Dublin in last while.

SOPER Bonniedog, those hurling grounds still get used you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I doubt it was all that hard for them to take. It's a long way from being beaten in the Q/F of the Dublin SFC to winning the All-Ireland club championship.
    Apart from getting very close to Boden last year in that game, I think they have been quite poor in recent years in the Dublin SFC.

SOPER Bonniedog, those hurling grounds still get used you know

Apologies! Don't tell Joey :)

BKWDR wrote:
    Have it framed myself, have the link to the last 10 minutes of that match i watch every now and then, it still gives me goose bumps to this day.

I've B Rock scoring against cork in 1983 framed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

robbiezero wrote: »

I doubt it was all that hard for them to take. It's a long way from being beaten in the Q/F of the Dublin SFC to winning the All-Ireland club championship.
    Apart from getting very close to Boden last year in that game, I think they have been quite poor in recent years in the Dublin SFC.

I'm hoping SOPER go very well in the Senior B championship this year. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Past30Now wrote: »
    I'm hoping SOPER go very well in the Senior B championship this year. :D

Should be a good night in da 'nell

I'll be up in Garristown that night looking at this year winners ;)

He should have given it two more years imo, he might not have been happy with an impact sub roll

It is all he realistically could have expected to have, given that he took all last years league off. Jim Gavin was hardly likely to just hand him a starting jersey for the chamo, given his age, he played no league football, and he hasn't had a consistent run of starting games for us, since his glorious Footballer of The Year seaon in 2011.

That being said, I was surprised at how little Jim Gavin did use him last year. His performance in the semifinal replay and the brief cameo in the AI final, showed how much he still has to offer, even if it is off the bench. Perhaps, he may have given it another go, if he had been used more last year (even if it was as a sub) as long as he got decent blocks of 20, 30, 40 minutes of game time. The 5, 10 minute cameos he made, weren't really going to cut it, not with the amount of time and commitment players have to put in these days. It's not easy, when you have a young family. Maybe for him, the trade off just wasn't worth it, if he was facing another year, well down in the pecking order on the bench.

I think we'll miss him this year & our bench is sorely depleted by his absence. It's already depleted, as Jack Mc & Rory's replacements will be starting now. His pace, his guile, his agility, his telepathic understanding of where Bernard is and what he needs, his experience....are all things we could miss, come August and September. Oh well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

It is all he realistically could have expected to have, given that he took all last years league off. Jim Gavin was hardly likely to just hand him a starting jersey for the chamo, given his age, he played no league football, and he hasn't had a consistent run of starting games for us, since his glorious Footballer of The Year seaon in 2011.

That being said, I was surprised at how little Jim Gavin did use him last year. His performance in the semifinal replay and the brief cameo in the AI final, showed how much he still has to offer, even if it is off the bench. Perhaps, he may have given it another go, if he had been used more last year (even if it was as a sub) as long as he got decent blocks of 20, 30, 40 minutes of game time. The 5, 10 minute cameos he made, weren't really going to cut it, not with the amount of time and commitment players have to put in these days. It's not easy, when you have a young family. Maybe for him, the trade off just wasn't worth it, if he was facing another year, well down in the pecking order on the bench.

I think we'll miss him this year & our bench is sorely depleted by his absence. It's already depleted, as Jack Mc & Rory's replacements will be starting now. His pace, his guile, his agility, his telepathic understanding of where Bernard is and what he needs, his experience....are all things we could miss, come August and September. Oh well....

In fairness he gave huge service to Dublin over a long number of years. He has a small family now, and the time required at that level together with work and family commitments make it almost impossible to keep going.

Saw him playing the week before last in Somerton, and there's no doubt he still has a lot to offer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

This year we have Flynn, Connolly, Kilkenny, Rock, O'Gara, Brogan, Andrews, Costello, Brady, McMennamin and Mannion, all pushing for a place. 6 starters and 5 substitutes.

Based on last Sunday's team, at the back we have Lowndes, Daly and Fitzsimons as substitutes and McCauley and O'Conghaile as substitute midfielders. With a goalkeeper, that gives us the 11 substitutes.

It would need injuries for Alan to force his way in.

I know, I just said all that, only it was in a far less concise and succinct manner. :P

Interesting interview with Philly. He was sick with the flu on Sunday. Maybe explains his off day.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/you-cant-expect-not-to-be-challenged-dublins-philly-mcmahon-hits-back-at-eamonn-fitzmaurice-claims-34663046.html

He made interesting point about Footballers of The Year. This decade, has there been a FOTY who (a) remained healthy the next year and (b) built on the momentum from the year before & went on to have another really, really good year?

2010 - Berno. has a good 2011. Even got an All Star, but his year was no where near as good as the year before. Had a quiet Leinster. Was double & triple marked most of the time, which may account for it.
    2011 - Alan. Had a rotten 2012, blighted by his groin injury that totally wiped out 2013 for him too.
    2012 - Karl Lacey, had a rotten 2013, blighted by injury
    2013 - MDMA, did not have a good 2014. Had lost his starting jersey by the start of 2015
    2014 - James O'Donohue, his 2015 was badly impacted by shoulder troubles.
    2015 - Jack Flash - out forden for the year.

I'd say Philly is thanking his lucky stars he didn't win FOTY. It seems to be a bit of a poisoned chalice of late.