Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

humberklog wrote:
    That attack last night was interesting. It shows a good level of intelligence gathering and audaciousness. To get assassins into that area, get a kill and get out at such a time of heightened alertness was really quite something.

I could be totally wrong but I'd imagine that the lads that actually pulled the trigger are even more lowlife than the gang members themselves? I would have thought that they get idiots to do the dirty work for a few bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Not much tit for tat about it..... I make it 5-1 to the Kinahans to date.

That's not an impressive score by Mexican cartel standards.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    I could be totally wrong but I'd imagine that the lads that actually pulled the trigger are even more lowlife than the gang members themselves? I would have thought that they get idiots to do the dirty work for a few bob.

Maybe. But it's still getting armed people into a very risky area and out again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Capone79

WhiteWalls wrote: »

I doubt they will receive actual money.. More than likely wipe the slate on an ounce or two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

3 simple ones to start with...
    • Freeing up Gardaí from doing mundane desk work that could have all been done with either computers in the patrol car or tablet computers out in the field.
    • Tracking of all mobile phone activity of known criminals and their associates to see what area they are in and police that area accordingly.
    • ANPR throughout the motorways and Dublin city would track curently stolen and cars currently being chased.

Only a few months back everyone was up in arms with the fact that the Gardai were accessing phone records

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Only a few months back everyone was up in arms with the fact that the Gardai were accessing phone records

Plus any criminal worth his salt will use a burner.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Capone79 wrote: »
    I doubt they will receive actual money.. More than likely wipe the slate on an ounce or two!

The problem there though is the risk of errors occurring and having someone vulnerable getting caught and giving information to the police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Don't expect much to be done about this unless there's another Shane Geoghegan scenario, working class people are hated and derised in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,664 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Maybe not, but this isn't Mexico.

And it's still a lot more tit than tat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

bubblypop wrote: »
    Dissidents don't exist in Dublin?
    Your gas!

They most certainly do, in fact this particular dead dissident was supposed to be in the special criminal court this Thursday, for a sentencing hearing.
    Trials in the special criminal court are being listed for 18 months later, that's how busy it is, there is in fact a 2nd special criminal court opening soon to relieve the pressure on the one.

So, maybe you know a few lads who like to pretend to be in the Ra, but there are many members of dissident organisations in Dublin, and throughout the country.

Ever heard of Ronan McLoughlan? aka Riddler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

BattleCorp wrote: »

It's not a competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Has anyone a rough idea how much the Kinahans are worth?
    Odd question I suppose, but I was told a figure today, and it seem not credible. Massive amount.
    I didn't ask for a "link" :P and it wasn't the type of person I wanted to question. I asked where did they hear it but a few others were talking at the same time and it went unheard.
    No doubt it would all be guessed, but I mean to the closest €1, €5 or €10 million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭xabi

Allyall wrote: »
    Odd question I suppose, but I was told a figure today, and it seem not credible. Massive amount.
    I didn't ask for a "link" :P and it wasn't the type of person I wanted to question. I asked where did they hear it but a few others were talking at the same time and it went unheard.
    No doubt it would all be guessed, but I mean to the closest €1, €5 or €10 million.

About three fiddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

xabi wrote: »
    About three fiddy

That even seems like a crazy amount to me, but at least a bit more normal.

I was told close to €900 million. Heading for the Billion this summer :eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭xabi

That even seems like a crazy amount to me, but at least a bit more normal.

I was told close to €900 million. Heading for the Billion this summer :eek:.

Three Fiddy was a guess ;) I have no idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

Allyall wrote:
    Has anyone a rough idea how much the Kinahans are worth? Odd question I suppose, but I was told a figure today, and it seem not credible. Massive amount. I didn't ask for a "link" and it wasn't the type of person I wanted to question. I asked where did they hear it but a few others were talking at the same time and it went unheard. No doubt it would all be guessed, but I mean to the closest €1, €5 or €10 million.

When Paul Williams was on the late late show after the regency incident he did mention a figure but it escapes me. It was a very interesting piece he did in fairness. He claimed that they are one of the major drug cartels in Europe

HensVassal wrote: »

Ronan mcloughlin? Shot dead in a foiled armed robbery in Wicklow? 18 years ago?
    Yep I know him.
    I must be missing some point here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,130 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Silly question I know but why are the Gardai not watching the pubs these people frequent the area these people are operating in is very small

I heard a report on some radio station today, sorry cannot remember which one that said an armed Garda patrol was parked around the corner from the Sunset.

Now that made me think....did they know something might happen, were they trained up enough to deal with it, or did they just say feck it, let them at it.

Noirin, over to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

HensVassal wrote: »

aka Riddler? Are you making this guff yourself or is that a Paul McWilliams/Jim Cusack special?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,947 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I heard a report on some radio station today, sorry cannot remember which one that said an armed Garda patrol was parked around the corner from the Sunset.

Now that made me think....did they know something might happen, were they trained up enough to deal with it, or did they just say feck it, let them at it.

Noirin, over to you.

or perhaps they just happened to be in the area.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭poa

# Name: Net Worth:
    4. John Cunningham – Net Worth €50 Million
    3. Christy Kinahan – Net Worth €50 Million
    2. Thomas Murphy – Net Worth €60 Million
    1. George Mitchell – Net Worth €70 Million

Kinahan is behind Slab Murphy in terms of net worth, but that may change while Murphy is in jail. Fuel laundering and cigarette smuggling are as lucrative as drug smuggling.
    Figures quoted of Kinahan heading for 1 billion net worth are just Sunday World salacious speculation. The Mexican cartels are operating at that Pablo Escobar level, but Kinahan is no where near it.

or perhaps they just happened to be in the area.

Of course. It is routine to have an armed patrol around there, I forgot that, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,947 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Of course. It is routine to have an armed patrol around there, I forgot that, sorry.

ah sorry, i didnt realise you had intimate knowledge of the movements of armed gardai.

Which is exactly my point.

If armed patrols are NOT routine, why were they just around the corner when the assassination took place?

No connection with crime/security/gardai etc. Just an observer of things that happen, as you do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

^^
    I would have thought it would be the norm (for now) for armed patrols to be in the general area of Ballybough, summer hill and Sheriff st. No?

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    ^^
    I would have thought it would be the norm (for now) for armed patrols to be in the general area of Ballybough, summer hill and Sheriff st. No?

Yes, I would have thought so too.

Seems, like the Regency killing that the Gardai are around alright, but not much intervention to be seen. So what is the actual point of it all? Optics maybe?

I am not criticising the Gardai, but the management really. They call it surely.

So as I said, has Madam Commissioner made a statement on the matter yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭PEACEBROTHER

1 thing I've wondered since reading about this is it said in Sunday World
    Gerry paid 250k to spare Gary's life but then Kinahans reneged on this and wanted another 250k ??
    Why start all this over 250k if there worth 900million ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Capone79

Compared to the Mexican Sinaloa Cartel, El Chapo could buy and sell the Kinahans or use them as errand boys! The Mexican cartels cut people's heads off,chainsaws,Swiss army, butter, any knife really, day in, day out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Amazing how all these 'hitmen for hire' can swan around freely, their known by the media and gardai....you see the reports linking them to the death of A, B and C

if I was known to be driving with no tax and insurance I'd be up in court in the morning.....if I was known to have shot dead multiple people? ...bit trickier that one :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Peter Anthony

Capone79 wrote: »
    Compared to the Mexican Sinaloa Cartel, El Chapo could buy and sell the Kinahans or use them as errand boys! The Mexican cartels cut people's heads off,chainsaws,Swiss army, butter, any knife really, day in, day out!

They work in tandem. They are one of the biggest drug cartels in the world. They have connections in every corner of the earth.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/revealed-kinahan-gangs-links-to-cocaine-empire-of-feared-el-chapo-syndicate-34610034.html