Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

Depp wrote: »
    call me deluded here but the fight is still 10+ weeks away? and this whole incident has produced ten times the publicity any press conference could have? is it all part of the plan?

Yeah but who gives in? IF it is a ploy, Conor is not going to give in and the UFC will look like clowns if they give in.

So I can't see this turning around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

call me deluded here but the fight is still 10+ weeks away? and this whole incident has produced ten times the publicity any press conference could have? is it all part of the plan?

It really seems like it's beyond a publicity stunt at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Yeah but your in Vegas, with the lads and having the craic.

Now you can be over in Vegas having the craic with all the eejits who booked early :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

The part of the story that nobody is talking about is that Zuffa has been in advanced negotiations to sell the company for the past few months, and their already ludicrous valuation of the company just took a massive hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Lukker- wrote: »
    Well there is no guarantee you'll get a ticket to the main event and be stuck with useless flights. You can get f*cked both ways.

Certainly no guarantee, but damn close when you have a Fight Club membership. Anyone who books flights and hotels without being certain they can afford an inflated, black-market ticket in the worst case scenario is indeed, "fair soft" as you put it. I don't think that's very many people though.
    Gamebred wrote: »
    Thats the gamble,you get cheaper prices for taking the risk of booking early,cant have much sympathy for anybody ''stung'' here,they still get to see a good weekend of serious fights.

Exactly, I certainly didn't go over just to see Conor McGregor like so many did (tonnes of clueless Irish out there who didn't know a heel hook from a head kick tbh) and the whole experience was just unreal. I get where both of ye are coming from but I would highly advise anyone to book flights and hotels before tickets go on sale if going over to any UFC event, I've seen prices nearly double a couple of hours after general sale, it's a necessary risk IMO, and a small one when you have a Fight Club membership which gives you access to the first presale.

Anyway, I have gone waaaaaayyy off topic. :pac:

Tinie wrote: »
    The part of the story that nobody is talking about is that Zuffa has been in advanced negotiations to sell the company for the past few months, and their already ludicrous valuation of the company just took a massive hit.

Works both ways, new owners will obviously want the big stars but they won't want to deal with an unruly workforce.

Probably does hurt the UFC more though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

Wouldnt be surprised in the slightest the WWE lately,sorry UFC.

Too small for Vince Mcmahon in reality

He will come back to UFC with his tail between his legs albeit an orchestrated return where Dana doesn't have to cave into to his fighters demands whilst at same time Mcgregor can claim to be making more $$$$ for his efforts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I can picture them all rosey in New York in November,''we never had a falling out it just a misunderstanding''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,261 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Has he even made enough money to keep fuel in the cars he has bought, never mind retiring now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,775 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Could he fight on his own PPV without a promotion company behind him? Just a thought. He has talked a few times about being bigger than the UFC....

I'm late to the thread but was the Diaz tweet a piss take?

GDY151

Could he fight on his own PPV without a promotion company behind him? Just a thought. He has talked a few times about being bigger than the UFC....

It would be all locked in to UFC, he most likely couldn't fight someone at his local without approval.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Yes.

No he can't compete in any MMA event or even something like a BJJ tournament without the UFC's blessing.

He'd have to buy out the remainder of his contract and given the size of it I'd be surprised if any other promotion had the balance to pay out his contract and then begin to pay him an equally bigger contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

I reckon Tim Kennedy-Chael sonnen gets dropped in to 200 which is gunna get buys no doubt about it, then by the time NYC rolls around conor and frankie do the business in the main event in msg in a title unification bout and all this is forgotten about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,775 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Ah! Ok so...

I'll just go back to after hours :P

I reckon Tim Kennedy-Chael sonnen gets dropped in to 200 which is gunna get buys no doubt about it, then by the time NYC rolls around conor and frankie do the business in the main event in msg in a title unification bout and all this is forgotten about

Tim Kenedy is on the UFC **** list for banging on about fighters rights. He has talked recently how the UFC aren't offering him anything at all so I don't see them throwing him a bone to fight a washed up Sonnen for a big payday anytime soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

too many theories, hopefully we learn the truth and his future plans asap

Lukker- wrote: »
    Tim Kenedy is on the UFC **** list for banging on about fighters rights. He has talked recently how the UFC aren't offering him anything at all so I don't see them throwing him a bone to fight a washed up Sonnen for a big payday anytime soon.

you reckon? I dunno seems like sonnen coming out of retirement after the suspension is up is the worst kept secret in mma, also the two seem to be starting a bit of a beef, two guys with huge fanbases would be a massive draw

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Chael is banned until after ufc 200,they should've made Condit Lawler rematch in the first place for this card or Wonderboy MacDonald.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,386 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Such a bs excuse as well. Nick D missed loads of press stuff before and nothing ever drastic like this happened.

They pulled Nick Diaz from his UFC137 fight with GSP for that exact reason.
    Pretty sure recreational drugs arent tested for by Usada out of competition,if he popped for ped's it would be announced by Usada anyways not the ufc.
    USADA don't make the announcement. They inform the fighter and the UFC for the provisional, and its up to them if they go public.

Which makes the whole criticism of USADA announcing provisional results a bit pointless (not here, in recent threads, oher forums etc)

Chael is banned until after ufc 200,they should've made Condit Lawler rematch in the first place for this card or Wonderboy MacDonald.

ah feck thought it was up june not july! well theres that theory down the drain! can see alvarez losing his shot to diaz also

GDY151

I hope it's all just some stir it up marketing strategy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Wait and see, somehow we'll end with Conor vs. GSP in the main event of 200. It's so ridiculous it might actually happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

If the rumour, in the sea of rumours, is true that Conor wanted 10 million and walked after the UFC said no, you got to respect him for that.

He told his boss what his time is worth and refuse to undersell himself, I know most people will love to be able to do the same.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,329 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Mellor wrote: »

They pulled Nick Diaz from his UFC137 fight with GSP for that exact reason.

Ah shyte, thought he still fought. Still BS reason anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

I'd say McGregor tested positive for being a drama queen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,280 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Conor v john cena anyone??

#takeoverwwe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,280 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

has to be trolling followed three major wwe celebrities straight after tweeting he retired