Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

ProudDUB wrote: »

Think it's all a load of b0ll0x meself.

Everyone knows the factory is on the Long Mile Rd. :rolleyes:

Are they the mannequins in the O'Neills shop ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,252 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Good aul Johnny Barr .. "there'll be no cows milked in Finglas tonight" ..

I had to hurl with the Isles when things went títs up in Ballymun .. I'm not proud of it :o

I remember an auld fella from Erin's Isle after a Dublin match telling me that Johnny Barr was a better footballer then Kieth Barr.
    But Johnny Barr's problem was that he was too much of a "head case".

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

I remember an auld fella from Erin's Isle after a Dublin match telling me that Johnny Barr was a better footballer then Kieth Barr.
    But Johnny Barr's problem was that he was too much of a "head case".

You tell him.... then run, fast :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

DoctaDee wrote:
    They must've been training a new fella in the day that Donnachadh Walsh passed the QA test in the football factory.

This is 3 time All Ireland medal and current All Star Donnachadh Walsh yeah?

I've seen some ****e spouted down the years, but if Donnachadh Walsh is now apparently a laughing stock when it comes to natural footballers then this really takes the biscuit.

This guy is IMO the second best footpasser on the Kerry team behind Cooper. He's as natural a footballer as they come. Not to mention the intelligence to get himself in behind the defence to create goal scoring opportunities. Check out who lays the ball on for JOD for his first goal in the 2013 Semi Final, thanks to a great run and pass.

All of this on tip of bursting his bollox tracking back etc.

Silly argument in the first place, but an absolutley ignorant choice of player to target.

P.S My man love for D.Walsh knows no bounds ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

ProudDUB wrote:
    Kerry are probably more "wristy" than us now too. So that means we're doubly screwed.

It's natural, only your father can pass that on, you can't train that into a fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

DDC1990 wrote: »
    P.S My man love for D.Walsh knows no bounds

Sheesh. You don't say.

Don't worry. Tomorrows topic will be: "Kieran Donaghy - An unmerciful b0ll0x, or simply misunderstood?"

Dublin and Kerry slagging each other off in a spring game, that means something (or so we're told) is just as new to us, as it is to you. But we can't let Mayo & the Rossies steal our thunder !

He's a poor man's Paul Flynn. Just like Alan Brogan is a poor man's C Cooper.

Some people have a terrible way with words, but still make valid points.

I think it's just Brolly and his need to have a favourite team that gets up people's noses. He likes Cian O'Sullivan because he's a sweeper, he loves sweepers, his second favourite player is C Cavanagh another sweeper. The more sweepers you play the better you are. He says some stupid things about players but dusts it with enough truth to make it niggle.

Donegal are off his radar now. The boys in kerry are his new love but he's been making eyes at Tyrone since the games vs kerry last year.

ProudDUB wrote:
    Dublin and Kerry slagging each other off in a spring game, that means something (or so we're told) is just as new to us, as it is to you. But we can't let Mayo & the Rossies steal our thunder !

No chance of that, serious ground to make up there .:)

DDC1990 wrote:
    Check out who lays the ball on for JOD for his first goal in the 2013 Semi Final, thanks to a great run and pass.
    Only watched that last night, great goal. I'd no luck finding clips of Joe McNally scoring goals.

Stoner wrote: »
    He's a poor man's Paul Flynn.

And Flynner is a poor man's Paul Galvin ;)
    Only watched that last night, great goal. I'd no luck finding clips of Joe McNally scoring goals.

Still haven't watched the game back in full. Hurts :P Great scores throughout that game from both sides. The best game I've ever seen in Croke Park, but one I never want to revisit :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I think it's just Brolly and his need to have a favourite team that gets up people's noses.

He has a favourite team, but also seems to take some enjoyment from it when said team lose. He's laying it on thick about Kerry and Tyrone now, but if they get beaten later in the year, I'm sure he'll be ready to get the boot in.

1985 final? He was also robbed of stone wall penalty when we had the fkers on the back foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Bonnie .. ever have the pleasure of stick fighting or playing football mortal kombat with Liffey Gaels ?

I did indeed, back in the early nineties in my much more youthful days. You know the days when a blitz was a blitz and running full pelted into the square was all the skill we had as 8 yos.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Try migrating from D12 to D11 :-)

D7 and D3 is as Northside as I have ever gone thank you very much.

So you've never been to a game in Parnell Park then? :eek:

Finding out that, unlike Greenhills, Finglas people do not dress for dinner was major culture shock.

That, and the simple pleasures of knife fighting....

ProudDUB wrote: »
    So you've never been to a game in Parnell Park then? :eek:

I've never LIVED in Donnycarney.

I've acquired many a cold of a January in PP. How very dare you sir.

Oh deary, deary me.....Parnell Park is in Dublin 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I've acquired many a cold of a January in PP. How very dare you sir.

Pfft come talk to me when you've a scar on your palm from it being that cold in PP you didn't feel the staple from the programme bury itself in your hand!

Fair play to the groundsman he got a vice grips and tore it (and a chunk of my palm) out :eek:

Defo was a Dublin game years ago can't remember what game it was though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

DDC1990 wrote: »

Check out who lays the ball on for JOD for his first goal in the 2013 Semi Final, thanks to a great run and pass.
    That was a great 'move' or 'play' that goal. Walsh is passing backwards without looking at the exact moment JOD arrives at that space behind Walshs left shoulder.

GAAman wrote: »
    Pfft come talk to me when you've a scar on your palm from it being that cold in PP you didn't feel the staple from the programme bury itself in your hand!

Fair play to the groundsman he got a vice grips and tore it (and a chunk of my palm) out :eek:

Defo was a Dublin game years ago can't remember what game it was though

Touche sir. Touche.

Are they the mannequins in the O'Neills shop ?

I don't know. But I am a little bit worried that the Waterford Whisperer is divulging our secrets to the entire world. :eek:

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2016/04/15/dublin-unveil-8-new-brogan-brothers-ahead-of-this-years-all-ireland/

I presume there is enough money left in the AIG kitty, to have them "taken care of?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

It's a well known fact that the hacks trawl discussion boards to uncover speculative rumour PD .. I think you're the author of our destruction .. you gave him the bone he put the meat on it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Good start to the day with the minors beating Offaly by 10 points at Parnell Park.

LMFC2016 ¼ Final -
    Dublin 2-14 (20)
    Offaly 1-7 (10)

Over too the U21s now,too hopefully continue what could be a great 8 days for Dublin GAA.

COYBIB.

Wake up lads. FFS.

7 down after 10 minutes and not a score on the board.

Mayo 1-07 Dublin 0-04. HT. Horrible performance.

GOAL DUBLIN 1-09 Mayo 1-08

Absolute disgraceful referring,handing the game too Mayo with as easy a free as you could hope for,in the last minute of the game. Credit too the lads though,a great fightback too make what turned out too be a great game,only for it too be ruined by a inept referee and all that after being 6 down at the break.

Mayo 1-14 Dublin 1-13.