Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Didn't know you were an Isles man BD.
    Johnny Barr was an unlucky man.

I remember years ago I was standing beside him and he was jogging past me and I heard a crack and he roared, he broke his leg.

I was a challenge game against up in what was a new pitch for Cuala there was a hurling and football game on.

Johnny was always on the fringe of the team, injuries would catch up with him. Always had his leg strapped. That's my memory of him anyway. Never saw a leg break so easily before or since. It was like Mr Glass . I can still hear it.

Isles were some team back then.

He looked handy in that minor clip though I think that's his goal in it.

I have a feeling I've a night of you tubing ahead of me, so long as it doesn't end up looking a bully pay back clips I should get some sleep.

Bonniedog wrote:
    That the Barrs ended up with the Garda is one of more interesting and bizarre episodes in Dub GAA

Anyway, go on, tell us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Johnny McDonald for the flourbags.

Paddy Barnes for Dubs. What became of him? Brady was Vinnies I think. And Vinnie with the big hair :-)

Stoner wrote: »
    Anyway, go on, tell us.

Ah now, you've heard the story about johnny and the false gun surely? 1992 afters..

Was briefly sh!te hurler with the green and black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Good aul Johnny Barr .. "there'll be no cows milked in Finglas tonight" ..

I had to hurl with the Isles when things went títs up in Ballymun .. I'm not proud of it :o

Bonniedog wrote:
    Paddy Barnes for Dubs. What became of him? Brady was Vinnies I think. And Vinnie with the big hair :-)
    Paddy Barnes rings bell though he was around a bit in the senior team I think, wonder was Pat Galvin related to Mick.

Had Sheedy anything to do with the garda move. Didn't Alan McManus move clubs too (twice) so thats sheedy, both Barrs, Mick Galvin lots of club hoping back then, Jayo too did an over and back. Vinny ended up in kerry for a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

DoctaDee wrote: »

I had to hurl with the Isles when things went títs up in Ballymun .. I'm not proud of it :o

ehhh... I thought Setanta were around when kickhams quit the hurling lark, at least that's my childhood memory :confused:

Edit: Setanta were probably still kids only back then

DoctaDee wrote:
    I had to hurl with the Isles when things went títs up in Ballymun .. I'm not proud of it

I remember you mentioning that before Doc.
    I've written it down .

Fk off back to Ballymun so :o

Lynch wasn't it, Cork boy who made foolish decision to give sticks to you :o

Don't think they were. I remember a picture in the herald . It was a black guy playing hurling for setanta. First black guy I ever saw playing the game. It was a great picture. He had an Irish name.
    Brendan O'Sullivan but full Irish. I think that was his name

Paddy Barnes rings bell though he was around a bit in the senior team I think, wonder was Pat Galvin related to Mick.

Had Sheedy anything to do with the garda move. Didn't Alan McManus move clubs too (twice) so thats sheedy, both Barrs, Mick Galvin lots of club hoping back then, Jayo too did an over and back. Vinny ended up in kerry for a bit.

Disappointing that the Barrs, Charlie, Deegan didn't see fit to give their time after they retired to Isles rather than other clubs they use to bate heads off back in day....

Bambi wrote: »
    ehhh... I thought Setanta were around when kickhams quit the hurling lark, at least that's my childhood memory :confused:

Edit: Setanta were probably still kids only back then

Yeah.. most of the lads were hurling with Isles back then .. and a neighbour used to give me a lift over .. in saying that I could've hopped the back wall and walked a couple of fields over to Poppintree if I'd been bothered :D

Bonniedog wrote:
    Disappointing that the Barrs, Charlie, Deegan didn't see fit to give their time after they retired to Isles rather than other clubs they use to bate heads off back in day....

Didnt know that. I assume keith is still with Bridgets.
    They were some team local heroes.
    You never know. Might happen yet.
    They might read this and have a moment
    Right I'm off to look for some Joe McNally square ball disallowed goals .

Don't think they were. I remember a picture in the herald . It was a black guy playing hurling for setanta. First black guy I ever saw playing the game. It was a great picture. He had an Irish name.
    Brendan O'Sullivan but full Irish. I think that was his name

I remember as a kid bein told kickhams had packed in the hurling so we were getting some of their players. Probably mid 80s but my memory is notoriously....creative :D

Brendáin Ó G (not sticking his full name on the interwebs ), He was still playing until a few years ago the chap barely aged a day. One hell of a hurler, some turn of pace

I remember as a kid, maybe 12 years old, we were playing some team (whitehall maybe?) and the kid I was marking snarled at me with disgust "youse have a f***n n***r on your team". I was taken aback but I said "yeah and he's gonna play yiz off the pitch" And he did :D

Sad that kids picked that stuff up back then

I remember as a kid bein told kickhams had packed in the hurling so we were getting some of their players. Probably mid 80s but my memory is notoriously....creative :D

Brendáin Ó G (not sticking his full name on the interwebs ), He was still playing until a few years ago the chap barely aged a day. One hell of a hurler, some turn of pace

I remember as a kid, maybe 12 years old, we were playing some team (whitehall maybe?) and the kid I was marking snarled at me with disgust "youse have a f***n n***r on your team". I was taken aback but I said "yeah and he's gonna play yiz off the pitch" And he did :D

Sad that kids picked that stuff up back then

Setanta had black fella playing up to 6/7 years ago. Gearoid from Cork was still hurling with them. Has since concentrated on robbing us by being a ref..... Yes. McGrath we are looking at you :o

Didnt know that. I assume keith is still with Bridgets.
    They were some team local heroes.
    You never know. Might happen yet.
    They might read this and have a moment
    Right I'm off to look for some Joe McNally square ball disallowed goals .

Deegan is or was with Ravens, Charlie was with some other inbred north county culchies, Barrs might even be with the horrible ***** out in Margarets.... (no, that be step too far ,,,;)

When I was a kid I thought Erins Isle came from an island like Ireland Eye.. little did I know they were from the wild west :D

a
    When I was a kid I thought Erins Isle came from an island like Ireland Eye.. little did I know they were from the wild west :D

A bit like spiders that look like friendly birds or flowers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I used to confuse them with Éire Óg.

Then again... With my wandering history around D10 and D12 that was easily done.

Might have to hit up Réalt Dearg one of these nights

Try migrating from D12 to D11 :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    He is right.

There is no county that focusses on football in the same way that Kilkenny does on hurling; but Kerry is by far the closest.

I think you really have to spend time in Kilkenny to appreciate it; you drive around there on a Saturday, and the local radio is taking in reports from club senior hurling matches around the county for the whole afternoon - in the same way that Today FM and Newstalk do for premier league.

The wider population of Dublin isn't tuning in on a Saturday or Sunday to see if Balinteer St Johns are beating Parnells. Dublin excels at football; but football is not an all pervasive part of Dublin culture. The vast majority of Dublin people never go near a GAA ground.

Kerry in my view is closest to what Kilkenny is in hurling. And that is borne out in the fact that in Kerry, with 10% the population of Dublin, has 37 all Ireland football titles.....a figure remarkably close to Kilkenny's 36 hurling titles. The stats don't lie.

Regarding Brolly's comments; its not about the manager....Its not about Eamonn Fitzmaurice putting in a system, though that is important....its about the people. Kilkenny produces a Brian Cody, Kilkenny also produces the players that he manages, and will continue to do so when Cody leaves. Kerry does the same in football. Kerry will always produce great footballers. Stick Eamonn Fitzmaurice in charge of Westmeath and he will not win all-Irelands any more than Paudi did; or any more than Brian Cody would with the Westmeath hurlers.

I get that in terms of the bigger picture in both counties attitudes and traditions they are comparable, but he was talking about the team itself, how ruthless they were and how all has changed under Fitzmaurice.
    Anyone watching the show would have definitely got the impression he was talking about a TEAM equivalent to Kilkenny in hurling which the current Kerry side certainly is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

robbiezero wrote: »
    I get that in terms of the bigger picture in both counties attitudes and traditions they are comparable, but he was talking about the team itself, how ruthless they were and how all has changed under Fitzmaurice.
    Anyone watching the show would have definitely got the impression he was talking about a TEAM equivalent to Kilkenny in hurling which the current Kerry side certainly is not.

Kerry are probably more "wristy" than us now too. So that means we're doubly screwed. :rolleyes:

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Kerry are probably more "wristy" than us now too. So that means we're doubly screwed. :rolleyes:

Has anyone done a study to check if a teams "wristiness" is somehow proportional to the amount of almighty w***ers in the county :confused:

One thing is for sure, they will see the final as way to even the balance. Neither team will have another serious match for nearly two months so there be no excuses about it being only league or not risking injuries or suspensions.

Not to be missed I'd say!

I used to confuse them with Éire Óg.

Then again... With my wandering history around D10 and D12 that was easily done.

Might have to hit up Réalt Dearg one of these nights

Bonnie .. ever have the pleasure of stick fighting or playing football mortal kombat with Liffey Gaels ?

Has anyone done a study to check if a teams "wristiness" is somehow proportional to the amount of almighty w***ers in the county :confused:

It is a well known fact, that every time some one pens an ode to Kerry's "natural footballers," an angel in Cyril Loughnane's back garden (a very whristhy angel naturally) gets their wings.

I've no problem with citizens of The Animal Kingdom peddling this natural footballers line. They've been getting away with their raimeis for year, so why stop now? But when one of that Nordren crowd falls for it, you just have to roll your eyes. :rolleyes:

ProudDUB wrote: »
    ............I've no problem with citizens of The Animal Kingdom peddling this natural footballers line. They've been getting away with their raimeis for year, so why stop now? But when one of that Nordren crowd falls for it, you just have to roll your eyes. :rolleyes:

They must've been training a new fella in the day that Donnachadh Walsh passed the QA test in the football factory.

..... and in an ironic way if there were more D Walshs in that team they'd be a far better outfit imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

robbiezero wrote: »

I was bamboozled listening to him.

He actually said Kerry defend like Donegal during the programme. I think he was referring to the archetypal Donegal too. Believe that if you like but I still have the 2015 AI final recorded where he just wouldn't shut up at half time about how open Kerry were through the middle. Made the point (numerous times:rolleyes:) that Tyrone exposed it too. WTF.

They must've been training a new fella in the day that Donnachadh Walsh passed the QA test in the football factory.

..... and in an ironic way if there were more D Walshs in that team they'd be a far better outfit imo

Ah shure, everyone in Kerry (and by everyone, I mean anyone who isn't a dolphin in Dingle, a baby seal, or a Lithuanian dishwasher in The Gleneagle) knows that D Walsh was manufactured in the same Big & Schtrong factory (just off Junction 12 on the M7) that produced the Dublin hurlers, the Cork footballers, (except for Colm O'Neill) and Michael Daragh McAuley.

Think it's all a load of b0ll0x meself.

Everyone knows the factory is on the Long Mile Rd. :rolleyes:

It's still the one area they need working on - can't think of the exact number (maybe 14), but they shipped an awful lot of goals last year thru the league and championship v Tipp also, coupled with the number of goal chances they coughed up too.

He may well have to look closer at their archetypal Donegal performance in the 2014 AI to find the answers