Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Too hipster for school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

All of which is irrelevant to this issue.

There are rules in all walks of life that we have to follow whether yer man in Monaghan wants to or not.

So educating is irrelevant. Cheers.

Rules are not the same as laws, and there is no law anywhere in the world than bans beards.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

It's not solved simply by uniforms but schools are a place of learning not a place to be comparing style, so it's good that any thought of fashion are removed from school.Whenever my sister had a free dress day she got into a real state about how good she would look the next day at school (I assume she wasn't the only person in the world like that).

That's why uniforms in school are a good idea as they get rid of any of this nonsense and everyone rich or poor is on the same level in this regard when they go into school.

Erm, were you homeschooled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Carnacalla wrote: »
    It's not the beard I'm getting at, its the fact that he refused to abide by the rules, went on a Facebook rant looking to defame his principal and gain attention and also that he seems to not understand the term racism and basically calls anything he doesn't like racist.

ah now, maybe there is loads of Muslim students going around with giant beards :pac: The school is targetting Hippety McHippster, its clearly racist :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭rsh118

Weren't uniforms a contest in how many buttons you could undo and how high you could roll your skirt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

rsh118 wrote: »
    Weren't uniforms a contest in how many buttons you could undo and how high you could roll your skirt?

And the biggest/smallest/most lopsided knot you could get in your tie.

Omg the giant tie knots, how could I forget?!

Also good craic to sport a few badges on the lapel! Always loved that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

I actually liked having a uniform, kind of miss it and the simplicity of knowing what you're wearing every day and the communal feeling I had wearing the same as everyone else tbh.

That said, I don't see a logical reason for preventing someone from having facial hair, long hair, piercings, make up etc. The Finnish education system is ranked highest in the world I believe and they don't wear uniforms in their schools so I don't buy any of this academic benefits. This school is top 10 for non fee paying, why would it slip out of that if uniform regulations were removed or loosened?

The guy is 16, yes he doesn't come across that well in that post but he's 16. I guarantee most of you would've been just as bad, possibly wouldn't have had the medium of facebook or the confidence to air your views but most 16 year olds think they're the best, they're always right and the school is out to get them. It's normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Erm, were you homeschooled?

Nobody in our school was comparing their clothes with each other as we all had to wear black shows and uniform so there was nothing to differentiate anyone when they went to school.

How did you manage to stop it at weekends and evenings?

It's kinda weird, because continentals education systems don't have uniforms and yet, don't have competition or style-contests either.

So educating is irrelevant. Cheers.

Rules are not the same as laws, and there is no law anywhere in the world than bans beards.

Your point is irrelevant to this issue.

He knew he had to follow a dress code he decided not to he has been punished for not following the rules.If he wants to go to school there he has to follow the school rules if he doesn't want to follow the rules he can attend another school same way I have to follow the laws of this country or risk being punished.

How did you manage to stop it at weekends and evenings?

It's kinda weird, because continentals education systems don't have uniforms and yet, don't have competition or style-contests either.

School is not a place for differentiating between people due to their personal style and wealth outside school you can do whatever the hell you want.

Your point is irrelevant to this issue.

He knew he had to follow a dress code he decided not to he has been punished for not following the rules.If he wants to go to school there he has to follow the school rules if he doesn't want to follow the rules he can attend another school same way I have to follow the laws of this country or risk being punished.

My point was about actual education, so once again, it appears that you are saying is that education is unimportant.

Again, rules are not the same as laws. If he has the option to go to another school, I agree; he should. And very, very quickly - as the bunch of self-important morons currently "educating" him are doing a dangerously bad job.

They're educators - not the ****ing fashion police.

My point was about actual education, so once again, it appears that you are saying is that education is unimportant.

Again, rules are not the same as laws. If he has the option to go to another school, I agree; he should. And very, very quickly - as the bunch of self-important morons currently "educating" him are doing a dangerously bad job.

They're educators - not the ****ing fashion police.

Grand.But this case isn't about education it's about somebody not following the rules of his school.Everything else is irrelevant.

He didn't follow the rules , he has been punished .

The morons educating him are doing a good job with everyone else seeing as it is the 11th best boys school in the country.

Maybe he is the problem and not everyone else.

Grand.But this case isn't about education it's about somebody not following the rules of his school.Everything else is irrelevant.

He didn't follow the rules , he has been punished .

The morons educating him are doing a good job with everyone else seeing as it is the 11th best boys school in the country.

Maybe he is the problem and not everyone else.

It's the need for such a rule I'm questioning in the first place. If said educators need rules on facial hair (and you have to question why) and are more concerned about enforcing them than they are about class and curriculum content, they are morons.

I don't know if he's a problem or not - there's no mention made of whether or not he studies and gets decent grades or not. Clearly not an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,416 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

The principal should have just said - we are the Borg, you will be assimilated. Then there would be no issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

No beards in school? Is this a thing? When did that happen? I had various kinds of facial hair failures throughout secondary school, and many of my classmates had impressive beards. Never a word said to anyone about it, at least not in an official capacity.

Some of the teachers were dicks about it, but there was no policy to back them up. Did I just go to some weirdly progressive 90's Catholic boys secondary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

School is not a place for differentiating between people due to their personal style and wealth outside school you can do whatever the hell you want.

The rest of Europe seems to have no trouble with it. A lot of them with much higher regarded systems than ourselves.

The problem with uniform is that parents like it, because it's Victorian, you know, back when everything was better for everyone.

There's scant evidence uniform improves outcomes in any way.

The problem with uniform is that parents like it, because it's Victorian, you know, back when everything was better for everyone.

There's scant evidence uniform improves outcomes in any way.

While I can see the argument in favour of a uniform, I've never had anyone successfully explain to me what a uniform achieves that a good sensible dress-code (no brands, football shirts, ripped or torn jeans/shirts) does.

The argument usually stems from 'that's the way it's always been' which as we know is a ridiculous point of view.

Uniform no more improves learner outcomes than walking or driving to school. It just doesn't matter. Parents like it because it reminds them of the past and that's it really. Same reason you still have to address your teacher by surname like a character in Oliver Twist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

When I was in school, there was no rule against beards. If you have a pointless rule, as this school does, then some students are going to dig their heels in and resist. Then you have a stand-off where neither side wants to lose face.

These situations could be avoided if schools examined their rules and removed the ones that were unnecessary, before a stand-off develops.

Resistance is the correct response to rules that have no purpose. You have to start life as you mean to go on, and not back down to petty authoritarianism. This kid shouldn't have gone home, or walked out, or posted on Facebook. He should have informed the school that he was going to take his seat for class, and that they could either forcibly remove him or do what they should have done in the first place and remove the pointless rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Seen the fb post
    Yes he looks like a tool
    Yes he should have been sent home to shave
    Yes he should follow the school rules and charters
    No, saying your beard reminds someone of the Amish is not racist
    Feckin geebag of a young lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Less competition in clothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

The argument usually stems from 'that's the way it's always been' which as we know is a ridiculous point of view.

Uniform no more improves learner outcomes than walking or driving to school. It just doesn't matter. Parents like it because it reminds them of the past and that's it really. Same reason you still have to address your teacher by surname like a character in Oliver Twist!

Actually uniforms weren't always common in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

sugarman wrote: »
    I
    A lot these school rules and policies need to get updated and/or become more relaxed, especially where the student is a good student.

Not a great idea... Open to abuse (as much as I agree with you that it would be ideal)

Actually uniforms weren't always common in Ireland.

I know, but parents look at private schools and decide that being unable to have a high staff to student ratio they'll just go for the uniform instead.

Less competition in clothing.

Did you actually read the post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Whatever about the beard, he should be in trouble for bad-mouthing the school on social media.

More and more companies are vetting potential candidates on how they use social media and in this case he looks like too much trouble to be bothered with.

That school has always been like that. Lads not allowed in till they shaved off their bleached hair.

It might look bad but who cares. Denying education for no reason. I assume it's like that in most schools.

It's the need for such a rule I'm questioning in the first place. If said educators need rules on facial hair (and you have to question why) and are more concerned about enforcing them than they are about class and curriculum content, they are morons.

I don't know if he's a problem or not - there's no mention made of whether or not he studies and gets decent grades or not. Clearly not an issue.

But are the more concerned about enforcing the rule than teaching or is it just a case that there is a rule,he refused to follow it and he is being told to follow the rule or he can't attend.It's his own fault if his education suffers and nobody elses. Education is mainly down to the person being educated.

It doesn't matter whether there is a need for the rule or not there are dress codes rules everywhere when he gets out of school and the school have decided that there is going to be a dress code and he needs to comply with it whether he wants to or not.He's the problem in this situation not anyone else.