What your pet did to make you smile today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

aonb wrote: »
    GREAT to read the progress of a rescue dog! Just goes to show that a bit of TLC is what it takes to get past the fear. You must be thrilled to see that you are getting there :) More photos please!

Since you asked nicely, here he is looking out the window, 30 seconds before he told some passers by to get off his territory

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

What a GORGEOUS animal... I can just imagine his voice... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

New Home wrote: »
    What a GORGEOUS animal... I can just imagine his voice... :D

He's handsome alright!

And it's a kind of 'woaw!' Noise

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

kylith wrote: »
    He's handsome alright!

And it's a kind of 'woaw!' Noise

Then I was right. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I think my cat, Pepper, is feeling a bit jealous of the kittens. The kittens are really snuggly but she's not. Anyway they all went out to the garden this morning but within an hour, Pepper had climbed the house up to the bedroom window and kept knocking until I let her in.

She's been so affectionate ever since! She's kneading me, licking my nose, rubbing her head on my face and following me around the house. She hasn't done any of the above since the kittens arrived. She's so cute :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭VonVix

I love the way that every morning, like clockwork, when I wake up Mo starts rolling around on my pillow grunting and growling his little head off. I love this dog.

[Dog Training + Behaviour Nerd]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Eric Marley

My cat just caught this one particular rat that has been in my kitchen store for over a week now. The rat made noisy and annoying movements at night while searching around for food. It has been so costly to me cause I had to throw away all the food that was in the store for health concerns. Am really proud of my cat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,762 ✭✭✭my3cents

Just nearly stepped on an egg in our front room. The only way it could have got there is if one of our dogs brought it in from outside :)

Both big dogs (GSD and Newfoundland types) have a blanket indoors on the front room floor and I was just straightening out a vacated one and there was an egg.

Outside each dog has his own kennel each with about 10 blankets in it and a couple of chickens have taken to laying eggs in the kennels. Its not unusual to have a giant GSD cross go and route around in his bed in the morning and then present you with an egg when the dogs are let out of the run, he must sleep with the egg all night, but this is the first egg thats ended up brought indoors.

Now the Newfoundland cross is far more stomach orientated and learned very quickly that eggs if dropped break and can be eaten, so it had to be the GSD that brought the egg in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Shivi111

Willow cat is just starting to go outside, she has spent the morning collecting all the bread the neighbors left out for the birds and bringing it back home to me, I've the best part of a sliced pan here now! 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

Shivi111 wrote: »
    Willow cat is just starting to go outside, she has spent the morning collecting all the bread the neighbors left out for the birds and bringing it back home to me, I've the best part of a sliced pan here now! 😂

Why on earth would she do that? I'll never understand cats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭Latatian

Both to feed you and to attract more birds. She's bird-farming, clearly.

She's been having difficulty climbing trees, I think she's hoping to starve them until they fall to her level... She also brings me leafs, flowers and any rubbish she finds... Who knows!?

Aaaaaawh, what a sweetheart... she's bringing you presents, she wants to look after you like you did for her... :o:)

Lots of cuddles for wonderful kitty. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I came into the kitchen to find my female African Grey parrot getting amorous with an upturned mug on the kitchen sink :o

We always have the crows around when we feed the chickens but especially so when they get an extra treat of stale bread.

Anyway today one of the hens had had enough of one crow coming down and stealing bread. The crow successfully got one bit of bread and as he was trying to get another one of the hens puffed herself up to nearly double her normal size and threw herself at the crow pecking him on the back of the neck. The crow flew off, but I'm quite sure he'll risk another attack for the sake of free food.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

Yay! We've been working loads on seperation anxiety with my big lump of a dog who once left 2mm gouges in our hardwood door when she had to be left for an evening. I popped out to the shop this morning and had to run back in for my shoes (I'd left the house in slippers - I am a muppet) and she was too engrossed in her kong to even come and check who was at the door. Result! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I went to London for 5 days so the cats were home with my boyfriend.

Luna (the boy) wouldn't go up to our room at all and stayed downstairs in his bed all alone every night.

Last night when I was home, he was obviously delighted I was home because at 4am he was all over me trying to wake me up to play. Funny little thing :)

my3cents wrote: »
    We always have the crows around when we feed the chickens but especially so when they get an extra treat of stale bread.

Anyway today one of the hens had had enough of one crow coming down and stealing bread. The crow successfully got one bit of bread and as he was trying to get another one of the hens puffed herself up to nearly double her normal size and threw herself at the crow pecking him on the back of the neck. The crow flew off, but I'm quite sure he'll risk another attack for the sake of free food.

well done that hen!
    Hey, if crows stealing your hens food is an issue (apart from the disease/mites etc that they spread) I found a perfect solution - well 2 solutions,

putting the rain-covered-hoppers up on a couple of bricks, the crows with their long beaks cant get into the pellets. I have these ones:

https://www.maceoinltd.com/poultry-equipment/poultry-chicken-feeders/outdoor-poultry-feeders/25-kg-plastic-outdoor-poultry-tube-feeder-with-hat/

I bought a fish pond net, and put it over the area where my hens hoppers were - handily it was a small enough area, that I could put the net over the top like a 'roof' - no more crows/wild birds

aonb wrote: »
    well done that hen!
    Hey, if crows stealing your hens food is an issue (apart from the disease/mites etc that they spread) I found a perfect solution - well 2 solutions,

putting the rain-covered-hoppers up on a couple of bricks, the crows with their long beaks cant get into the pellets. I have these ones:

https://www.maceoinltd.com/poultry-equipment/poultry-chicken-feeders/outdoor-poultry-feeders/25-kg-plastic-outdoor-poultry-tube-feeder-with-hat/

I bought a fish pond net, and put it over the area where my hens hoppers were - handily it was a small enough area, that I could put the net over the top like a 'roof' - no more crows/wild birds

Getting off topic here... I had the whole hen run covered but it eventually got damaged and I didn't replace it as the hens are out during the day and the crows then just walk in through the open door for a free feed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I came into the kitchen to find my female African Grey parrot getting amorous with an upturned mug on the kitchen sink :o
    There must be something in the air in my house because today my cockatiel stepped onto my hand for what I thought would be a head scratch but then proceeded to get amorous with my hand :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,044 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Yesterday Jasper, our big, not very bright, ginger cat did a first for him. He tried to pounce on a yellow wagtail - through a glass door. The door has always been there and is nearly always closed but the bird was so close to the door that he lost the run of himself.
    Nothing hurt but his pride! He hates being laughed at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Meemars

Last weekend we went to our Holiday place in Donegal.
    While Token, my aging LabX ex-rescue girl, is not fond of the long drive, she loves the freedom when we get there.
    She sleeps in the kitchen, and there she has a choice of bed or couch :rolleyes:(also her own bedding, which gets ignored on holidays!). During the day, some of us humans also use the couch.
    She's not usually the cuddling kind, or fond of too much close contact, particularly in her bed area, but something about this couch arrangment really suits her. I got cuddles, snuggly times, and much demand for rubs and belly scratches, & she even slept with her head on my knee!
    She hasn't looked to recreate the situation on the home couch since our return, but it may happen yet!
    Happy holiday times!

Not my pet, but it really made me smile:
    sitting at traffic lights at a crossroads, a couple came along with a REALLY REALLY happy looking golden retriever - tail/ears/smiley face/bouncing - he was on a retractable leash. Arrived at first traffic light - sat, looking back at its owners, with that HURRY UP look :). Owners arrived, dog jumps up, and presses the pedestrian button. Dog sits again, waits for green man, and zips across the road. Sits again, looks back with the same impatient look. They arrive. He jumps up to hit the button. Sits, and zooms across the road when the green man appears, with a HUGE happy look on his face :):):) All the drivers at the lights that I could see, were smiling too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Dandelion6

Great story aonb! It reminds me of this from one several years ago: I was cycling down the Navan Road towards Phibsboro, and stopped at the light at the junction with the Old and New Cabra Roads. A Yorkie, unaccompanied, was crossing the intersection in such a way that he really looked at risk of being hit. A woman driving up from the Old Cabra Road, turning left onto the Navan Road, was looking over her shoulder at the dog, obviously as worried as I was. He finished crossing safely just as the woman was about to pass by me, still waiting for my light, and a huge look of relief came over her face. Our eyes met as she passed me and we shared a big, knowing smile. I'll never forget this, or the Yorkie who helped create such a great human moment between strangers!

The Willow cat's presents are getting more exciting, we went from flowers and leaves, to little pieces of bread, to an entire slice of soggy bread yesterday, finally, a huge big wriggly worm today. She's gone back out on the hunt, waiting with equal parts excitement and dread for the next gift... has started to bring living gifts, I'm dreading the day she finds a mouse.

She's adorable!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

We bought the cats one of those balls you can put treats inside.
    https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/G/01/kolpakov/orangeslimcat._V398607070_.jpg

Henry dismantled it in the first 4 hours.

Smart kitty, Henry!

Willow is fabulous!
    Ive never had a cat before (dogs/horses/hens yes!) - when my little rescue started bringing dead and live mice/shrews/birds home to me I freaked :eek: What can you do - short of putting a bell on her, and worrying about her getting snagged/choked with the collar. she hasnt brought home any prey for a while, hopefully shes realised we're not impressed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

My two (neutered) boy cats are sitting side by side having seen off the local intact tom who had the temerity to stick his nose in their cat flap. There was much growling and yowling from both sides but the boys got the job done and yer man stalked off, waving his intact manhood in their faces.

They've calmed down and are sitting peacefully together, if they were human they'd be patting each other on the back!