Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

EA Sports UFC 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Axwell wrote: »
    Have you played the first one? Its a great game but theres a steep learning curve that probably isnt everyones cup of tea.

The last one I played was before ea took it over. Had Lesnar on the front. Undisputed I think it was called. Really enjoyed that one. I assume it's fairly similar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,520 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    . I actually let my opponent get me in the Thai clinch just to waste their stamina.

I did the same in the HW div last night on UT just without the sub. Guy would clinch me and id let him go through the different clinches until he got the thai and went straight for knees. I'd block 2 no prob and break with full stamina while he had zero. I like how for every overpowered move, there's a counter for it.

Yupp, if you like Undisputed, you should like this. This is miles better than undisputed imo. Some people online complaining about the striking but i think it's fine and it plays closer to ab mma for than any mma game before it.

Great stuff just bought it there on the ps4 store. Now the waiting begins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Gamebred wrote: »
    Mike Tysons take down defence is a joke btw hes like Aldo ffs.

Bit weird he can take people down? Guess its realistic with his OP power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,919 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Bit weird he can take people down? Guess its realistic with his OP power

He doesnt have a have a single or a double himself, but he can sprawl. I've picked him online a few times but it's usually a struggle with his small reach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Simply Red

Picked this up this evening, I think its gonna take me a while to learn the clinch and ground games. Enjoying it so far though

Live Event rewards are now live. Top place is Hunt's hook. 2nd place event card is a better prize imo.

New UT pack in store, Premium jumbo pack for 12.5k. 20 cards with 9 being 3 star or higher. Available for next 18 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

My favorite win online since i've started playing. Keep an eye on the clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Got this delivered on Friday night and have managed to play a bit of it. No way i'm going anywhere near online without a good bit of practice ;)

I must say, Career Mode is an absolute dog's dinner! They've put no effort into it whatsoever! Fight, then train, but wait, you've already done this one earlier in your career and got an A so no need to ever perform it again!

Gonna play through the career mode and then jump online.

Stupid question lads, can't seem to select a created fighter in exhibition mode.. Can this be done

Stuffins I'd recommend going with Ultimate Team, much more interesting than career and you can play against AI as it has seperate offline/online modes, both giving you points to unlock card packs. Enjoying going from my karate LW to BW Jiujitsu specialist. The card packs mean each of your fighters feel different so keeps things fresh.

DQ, I think you can only use fighters you create in Customise section on the main menu. Really stupid you can't use career or ultimate team guys in Fight Now.

Zero-Cool wrote: »

DQ, I think you can only use fighters you create in Customise section on the main menu. Really stupid you can't use career or ultimate team guys in Fight Now.

Something you can't fight with a created fighter? What's the point in creating them then Haha like I made a lightweight fighter, but when I go to fight now, he's just not in the division. Very odd.

I now know the feeling Blobby. Just tapped a guy out in UT with 1 second left on the clock. He had full stamina and I had zero. bolloxed after that!

I'M BATMAAAAAAAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,560 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

All of my fighters have stagnated in division 2 online in UT, I'm not bad enough to be relegated but I'm nowhere near good enough to be promoted either. One of them is 70 rated and the rest are 67, I thought that'd be good enough this early on but apparently not. Frustrating as hell.

Out of interest, what is everyone else's UT fighter ratings like?

martyos121 wrote: »
    All of my fighters have stagnated in division 2 online in UT, I'm not bad enough to be relegated but I'm nowhere near good enough to be promoted either. One of them is 70 rated and the rest are 67, I thought that'd be good enough this early on but apparently not. Frustrating as hell.

Out of interest, what is everyone else's UT fighter ratings like?

All 66 rated apart from 1.
    Only my best guy has upgraded, and that was only to 68.

I don't like how we can't see other people's rating after the fight. I'm positive i've came up against guys way above me.

My top guy is just in Div 2 with a 70 rating I think. The rest are low 60's. I was gonna stick with the strongest, earn points for packs and apply goodies to the lesser guys and build everyone up together but I've started trying to do the daily objectives as it sends the points up fairly fast and forces you to try different people.

Are ye primarily using 1 guy or the whole lot? I have 2 LW's, the 2nd isn't getting a look in though as all my LW stuff is going to my main guy.

The dev in charge of Ultimate Team and Live Events is now posting on the official forum. I told him the Live Event top prize was crap. He replied
    The way the mode is set up right now, you get the highest tier prize that you qualify for.

However, I have heard your feedback and I guarantee that, for the next Live Event, the top prize will be much better (and much harder to obtain, as a consequence)

Actually, the next event Rothwell v JDS in Croatia only has 2 fights where both fighters are in the game (awful card). Will be interesting to see if they still have a live event.

So, do ye wanna kick off a tourney on PS4 next week? Keep it simple enough and then try a league after it to last a bit longer. Myself and Axwel were looking at the roster last night and fighters 90 and below seem like a good cap. Anyone over that might be a bit OP'd. Also, no legends ie Bas, Bruce Lee, Royce, etc. Maybe like last game, best of 3, each person picks a division and if it goes to a 3rd, you both use HW. Any other suggestions or ideas?

If that sounds okay, you can post here if you want in and then this weekend or early next week, I can enter names into a random tool online to match up and then you have 3-4 days to arrange a time to fight each other as everyone is on at different times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,560 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Yeah I'm in. Can't say I'll be proud of my tactics but dammit I wanna win this at all costs!

Came across some bollix last night on UT. Went to touch gloves and just as the animation started he nails me with a headkick that put me into an instant rocked state that i couldn't recover from and got finished fairly quick. He must have been beaming with himself the gowl :)

I only noticed you get a reward pack at certain team levels so check yer inboxes. Also when you reach level 15, you get a pack with a guaranteed 5 star move or signature, can't remember which.

I'm absolutely destroying people in fight now mode. Something about using slow weak fighters in UT that I can't get used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,919 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

I was playing a chap in UT who did the same. First round he went to glove touch and hit me with a flying knee. Start of round 2 I'd completely forgotten and went to touch glove out of habit, with the same result. The ****er probably couldn't believe his luck when I appeared in round 3, gloves outstretched. When he went to knee me, though, I parried and knocked him out with the counter :D I celebrated like a madman.

Sweet revenge!! :pac:

Bas gives tips for KO Mode. Classic El Guapo DANGITY DANGITY DANGITY

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

What a legend Bas is,

Im in for the tournament anyways!

The guy who created the ground game explains Grapple Advantage. Very interesting stuff. Works beautifully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I'm on the hone stretch of my first career mode in this and it's obvious what I need to work on. Need to work on blocking transitions and my submission defense! Other than that i'm ok. Think i'm 22-5 and have won the LW title twice. I like that the CPU is tougher this time around. In the last game I was smashing the AI every time.

Think I might dip my toes into the online part tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Simply Red

I'm loving how fights can actually go the distance in this, last time I played a UFC game they rarely went to the 2nd round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha